France Bike Tour Reviews 181 to 210 of 512

 

 Country: France • REMOVE

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Margie A. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Elodie bike/barge trip was fabulous in terms of scenery, routes, staff, food. However, 2 couples on the barge were not able to keep up with our very leisurely pace. I would advise your company to stress level of fitness for participants, and also to recommend 2 guides for different ability levels.

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Lisa S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We traveled on the ship Bordeaux in France. The bike routes were beautiful, but the instructions provided by not so great. No worries, we had maps and a GPS, we made each day into an adventure!!!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Angela R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was great. Other passengers on the barge were great, weather was good, one couldn't ask for anything better. The Tripsite staff were extremely helpful and I have always found them to be most professional.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Stephen M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Visiting Arles was particularly memorable, but we very much enjoyed the trip itinerary.

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Gilles P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the "flag" system. Excellent guide (Antonella) that made it possible to stop and discover the sites. Adored stopping in bistros and similar. Great suppers.
    I would recommend splitting a group of 21 in two or even three smaller parts when on public roads; the flag system assures you that you will not get lost from your group.
    OK, when do we leave?
    Gilles XX

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Elizabeth C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I took the Lorraine Tour this September. I was happy I chose to go Toul to Wasserbillig direction since it ended in a greener, more rural area. I love the countrysides and small villages best so this ended my week on the most positive note for my personal taste. There were interesting towns/cities to see along the way but this was also a bit more industrialized in some areas than tours I have taken in the past. If you are from the American midwest (I grew up in Ohio) you will swear you have been transported home many days it looks so similar. Others on our tour found it quite beautiful however. I was very impressed with the WWII memorials along the way. Even though I prefer a self guided tour I found our tour guide to be very pleasant and considerate of our physical abilities. I was disappointed with the conditions of the path one (our longest) day since I have been accustomed to fully paved trails on all my other tours. That day was exhausting due to the conditions of the route. Read more… They say this will eventually be fully paved at some point though. The La Belle Fleur was an excellent, clean, comfortable, and well maintained boat. The staff took good care of us and the food was fine. I especially enjoyed the camaraderie of the very small group. Having taken both large and small bike-boat tours I think this is one of the best aspects of a small tour. If I were traveling solo this size group would definitely be my preference. Overall, another wonderful week doing what I love and loving what I did.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Noel J. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Jantien and Henk, our hosts on the Merlijn, were the daily highlight. Amazingly gracious, spirited, knowledgeable people.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Champagne Tour
    by Ray S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? How beautiful the country looked. Our first time to Europe. France made a big impression and hope to return. Merci beaucoup

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Ginny D. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Tips: Pack light. Bring layers of clothing. People great. Barge crew and bike guide wonderful!!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Around Paris
    by Jenny D. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The trip was amazing!! It was exactly as described. There were no surprises. The bikes were very comfortable and perfect for the trip we were on. The boat and the sights were amazing. I loved the staff, the food, and the guide. If you are new to biking, I highly recommend spending some time on a bike before you go just to get used to handling it in both traffic and on dirt trails in the forest. Enjoy!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Michelle H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The scenery & the crew from the Feniks.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Brent M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The friendly relaxed and welcoming atmosphere of the barge and staff.

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Jehiel from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Linda,
    We have followed up with this feedback and wanted to let you know the guides name was Arie and he no longer works as a guide.

    Countries: France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by John G. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The group was excellent. We had a great time together. Jean and I were the only Americans aboard but everyone spoke English.
    This trip, rated moderate, was the most challenging of the four tours we have booked thru Tripsite since 2012. It stretched us to the limits of our biking abilities.
    The tour was thru pleasant countryside but lacked the highlights of our previous tours- no Eiffel Tower, Venice canals or Pont du Gard.
    The barge itself was a weak point, although it was not advertised as a strength.
    Most disappointing was the food, especially the evening meals featuring mostly starches- pasta, mashed potatoes, quinoa and rice. Don't know whether this was a budget or skills problem.
    The guide was excellent, competent, friendly and caring.
    The bikes themselves were mostly good although there were some minor problems-with a tire once and an ebike battery that didn't fully charge overnight. Giro Libero bikes were in better condition than those Read more… of Hat Tours based on our two tours with each of them.
    The Loire Valley tour was enjoyable, but the weakest of the four trips we have taken.
    Our fondest memories will be those of great conversations, lots of laughs with new friends we will probably never see again and a sense of accomplishment for what was for us an arduous trek.
    As a tip for others, as I mentioned to bike and barge rookies, check out other trips as advertised in Tripsite's catalog.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Linda johnson 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

    Would appreciate the name of your guide

    Countries: France

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Linda johnson 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

    Would appreciate the name of your guide

    Countries: France

  • Paris to London
    by Peter M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Scenery along the route and the knowledge and experience of our guide.

    Countries: France, England

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Leo R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Excellent group that interacted very well from the onset.

    Boat: Iris

  • Around Paris
    by Robert M. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Biking into Paris with a very experienced and supportive guide.

    Countries: France

  • Castles of the Loire
    by Ann S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have enjoyed the Castles of the Loire bike trip in France very much. This was my first organized bike trip. The scenery was beautiful, and the architecture was stunning. The meals were delicious. I have recommended this trip to my friends. I am looking forward to my next bike trip in France.

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Rodney W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The friendliness of the local villagers and our fellow travellers.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Champagne Tour
    by Barry B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    When a vacation is better than your expectations, as it was, it is vundarbar.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: France

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Anieta W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat and the bikes were good, the food was good and sufficient, the crew was friendly and helpful. The scenery was not always beautiful, part of the tour leads through industrial area.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Garnet T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Barge Iris was outstanding to say the least. 24 guests were the perfect number, not too many, not too few, the crew was over and above terrific, the food was something we looked forward to each day and the whole experience was memorable.

    Boat: Iris

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Gloria P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Itinerary was very well planned out and the staff were all amazing!!!! This was the perfect trip for our group!!!!

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Robert W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Getting to pilot the boat for a few minutes.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Janet N. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Comfortable riding each day through lovely French countryside. A map of the day’s route for personal use would be a big help. Stefan and Florence are delightful, welcoming hosts providing excellent delicious meals. Make sure to spend a day on the barge during your trip - a definite highlight.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Richard N. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through the small villages from Bruges to Paris. Nina was a great guide also. I really enjoyed the night walks for a better inside view of village life... the Van Gogh experience was the highlight for me.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Alan S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    After bicycling over 300 miles it was good to relax and see Paris from the water as we cruised to our final moorage on the Seine.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Jerry K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We met a lot of really nice people. We were surprised that our guide was largely unfamiliar with the route!

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

PWPC