Germany Bike Tour Reviews 961 to 990 of 1032

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia Scullin 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food could be a lot better, and we would even pay more. Other than that the trip was lovely.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joe Rine 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow! Last year we did a bike and barge; Koblenz to Saarburg on the Patria and loved it. This tour on the MV Story was even better. Boat was a bit more upscale, food and service was better; and the biking along the Danube was beautiful. The City visits were very good.
    The hotel Manager on the boat, Paval, was tremendous. And under his leadership the rest of the staff was also very, very good.
    My wife rented an E Bike which was well worth the money. The 21 speed I got was also very nice for a comfort bike.
    The other guests were also great!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tess Tholstrup 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What I didn't like was the fact that the ships organisers would have known that the Water levels in the Danube would not be sufficient for the boat to moor in Budapest long before they told us. I feel that we weren't told as it would have put in jeopardy people attending the trip.

    Otherwise everything else exceeded my expectations. The only staff member who could have done better was the guy in charge of the bike courses.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Ray Damijonaitis 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Good job in organizing the trip. The only suggestion I would have is for the route organizers to take construction projects into account when giving the directions . We encountered 2 cases which made us deviate from the stated route. One of which go us quite turned around.

    In any case it ultimately added to the adventure.

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Maribel Colon 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was everything we expected and more! Beautiful scenery, made great new friends, attentive staff, fantastic meals and wonderful weather. Our first experience, fantastic! We shall return!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Hazem Zayed 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    wonderful tour around the Constance perfect roads visited Switzerland, Austria and Germany perfect organizing and extremely caring team despite that we made the booking at the very last minute.
    Hazem Zayed

  • Around Lake Constance
    by ryan 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is an awesome bike tour, great work.

  • Mainz to Basel
    by Paula Birch 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed the bike/boat tour on the Rhine. Accommodations on the boat were very good and the meals were excellent. On our arrival we found that our boat was not at the dock as listed but had changed locations and was on the other side of the river. This created a longer taxi drive thus a much bigger fare (54 euros instead of 21 euros) for the 3 of us in each taxi. We had a briefing each morning by our tour guide and on almost every day, the directions were not detailed enough. One of the people we biked with had a GPS and with that and along with discussions among all of us, we managed to find our way back. I really feel this was a big gap and should be rectified before another tour. However it was a wonderful experience and we met many lovely and
    interesting people. I would love to do a different bike/boat tour at some time in the future.

    Boat: MS Andante

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Harry Krebs 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Trip was great fun and as promised. I recommend this bike ride. We road in September and it was a little warm so I recommend an early start to enjoy all the sights along the way .

  • Kevin Purdy: Mosel River Bike Tour Through Time
    by Audrey 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Ok, you've convinced me to add this trip to my wish list!

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Kevin Purdy: Mosel River Bike Tour Through Time
    by Keith Bimson 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great article, Kevin. I can't figure out which would draw me there more: the scenery or the food. Okay, I admit, it's actually the bier.

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Three Country
    by Cheryl Williams 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hello some feedback from our bike trip to better the experience.

    We had a flat tire and the bike pumps didn't work. We were in a group of four and none of them worked. Also there were no tire tubes! Should we have taken some with us? If so I didn't read that suggestion in the info provided.

    We only had two saddlebags
    No knobs on kick stands
    No stem caps
    Odometers only worked on one bike and one bike didn't have one at all
    Bells didn't work on all bikes
    The handle bars were loose on one bike and that was quite worrisome going down hills
    On the bike trip from Dresden to Wittenburg we did a couple of years ago we were sized to our bike by a nice gentle man who took the time to explain aspects of the bike and we appreciated his efforts. We didn't have that attention this time so wondered if the bikes actually were road worthy, especially when we came to facing a fairly challenging route. The feed back from the bike Read more… shop in Huckelhoven was that the man caring for the bikes or owning the bikes was not as committed to his responsibilities to do so.. Just a comment they passed on and I am passing on to you.

    We do appreciate the ease with which to book these bike trip through emails on line etc.
    the hotel people along the trip were so friendly and accommodating and made us feel very welcome.
    Thankyou
    Cheryl

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Amy Rowland 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My mom and two sisters and I did this trip last month to celebrate my mom turning 75 this summer. We had a blast! The boat was comfortable and food was delicious, including lots of healthy salads and fruit. The crew was top-notch; keeping things running smoothly and on-time. The riding was wonderful every day, even with a few rainy days. The routes were fun, and full of countless "photo-ops" with picturesque villages, castles, churches and vineyards. We rarely had to climb any hills or interact with cars, so the riding really was suitable for beginners or seniors. We werewith the smaller "English-speaking" group, so had our orientation to the next day's route the evening before. Somehow, despite the four of us thinking we were paying close attention, we always managed to forget something about the route instructions, but part of the fun challenge was finding our way back to the route when we took a wrong turn or crossed the wrong bridge. By the last few Read more… days, we started adding a few side trips and explorations to our routes, but still always managed to find our way back to the Patria in time for the coffee, tea and fancy cakes in the early evening. Though the majority of our fellow passengers spoke German, and we don't speak the language at all, we still felt very welcomed. Our only suggestion would be for someone to provide notation on the maps of the public w.c.'s available along the route. As an all-female group, we spent a little more time than we wanted to tracking those elusive locations along the route. Thanks for a great vacation!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Harvey & Sharon Rishe 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Although we are seasoned travelers and fairly fit cyclists, we were new to bike & boat touring, and as a result we probably drove TripSite's Carla crazy! But her patience never faltered; she was generous and gracious with answers to our interminable questions and we arrived in Passau well informed and ready to have a great time.

    Our expectations were met and exceeded. Not only had Carla prepared us well, but Rad & Reisen proved to be a world class organization. The accommodations were lovely, the gourmet meals splendid, the route information excellent, the professionalism and friendliness of the crew impeccable, and the camaraderie among fellow travelers delightful. Not to mention the gorgeous Danube scenery, the interesting villages, and beautiful Vienna!

    We were so happy with TripSite and Rad & Reisen that we are already researching our next bike and boat trip with them! Thank you for a lifetime of wonderful memories.

    Harvey & Sharon Read more… Rishe
    Salt Lake City, Utah

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • More Than Travel: The Final Days
    by Clare MacKeigan 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have been on 4 bike and barge tours and I still think the scenery along the Moselle was my favourite!!

    Countries: Germany

  • Photo Friday: Emily Hull-Parsons
    by Carla Sprout 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Beautiful!! Thanks for sharing, Emily!

  • Remagen - Rhine Valley
    by Dennis Milling 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    September 2014...Arrived Frankfurt from Australia and caught train to Remagen. The walk from the station to the hotel took all of 30 seconds....the delightful receptionist had us booked into our room within a few minutes. Rooms were 10/10. Meals throughout our 7 day stay were all satisfying and scrumptious. Rental cycles albeit a bit on the heavy side were most reliable and well geared..and we should know as we rode up most of the cycle paths which the provided cycle maps suggested we ride down. One of the highlights was the Remagen Wine Queen celebrations held over the weekend in the Alstdt...plenty of wine beer food singing and dancing. Our weeks stay was so enjoyable we are going back in 2015.

    Countries: Germany

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Dennis Milling 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Walked onto the Allure at Koblenz in Sept 2014 and immediately knew that the week ahead would be enjoyable. Skipper Martin's smiling face was ever present and the crew were simply obliging. Our cycle guide was a scream...we lost her regularly as we stopped off for the occasional German ale. It was with heavy heart that I left the Allure in Merzig 7 days later.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by K. Augustyn 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I will say that this Danube barge/bike trip was probably one of the best vacations I have ever taken. My friends who took the trip with me feel the same way and we are considering doing another one next year. We will definitely consider the barge/bike cruises that you have to offer. Again, thank you very much!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Joe Rine 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow, just finished the Koblenz to Saarburg on the Patria. The Patria and crew was great; meals were very good and plenty of food. Drinks were reasonable on board. Room was small, but enough storage and bunk was comfortable. Biking was very good, despite the three rainy days. Most important this is a cozy atmosphere where you can hang out at the Lounge at night, have a few drinks and socialize. We asked for a guitar and Gottfried, the tour guide found us one. Much to the enjoyment and maybe consternation...we did a sing along a couple nights. already planning next years trip!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Margaret Collins 5 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The four country tour on the My Story was an amazing adventure. From the time we boarded the boat til the last evening it was very well organized. The staff were friendly and fun and helpful. The bikes were comfortable and the staff made sure they fit each person. The bike rides each day were well planned with lots of information on the wonderful stops along the way. The meals were amazing with lots of choices.

    Thank you so much to trip site and the staff on the My Story for making our holiday a very memorable one. We enjoyed out trip so much we are looking forward to doing another one in the near future.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Joanne MacRae 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our best trip to Europe as it involved lots of fresh air and exercise in a dream like setting. We sang "the Sound of Music" as we cycled across the German border into Austria.

    The bicycles were top notch. The food on board was fabulous and the customer service was excellent. We were so pleased with the Pack and Pedal Europe organization for giving us lots of valuable information before we arrived on board. We felt we were well prepared for the bike and boat adventure. The whole experience exceeded our expectations! I would definitely advise anyone to take the "Comfort Relaxed Tour" as it identified us with a group of fellow cyclers on journey with an experienced guide who introduced us to the culture and cuisine of local villages in Austria. We appreciate all of the travelling tips and advice we received from Pack and Pedal as all of our inquiries were answered promptly. I highly recommend this tour to anyone. The bicycles were in top working Read more… order and cycling on the paved pathways along the Danube was a breeze for anyone in decent physical shape. We can't wait to return and take another trip!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Judi 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    If you want a great bike-and-barge trip, the My Story "4 Country Tour" should be high on the list for consideration. All of the staff are polite, courteous and helpful, full of energy and enthusiasm to help make your trip a pleasure. We didn't have the best weather, but even so, the rides were beautiful, safe and fun. They were accurately described as easy to moderate and the morning briefings with the maps were most helpful. As an American, I was so impressed with the European bikeways, which are well maintained in all the countries visited. The staff, cruise director and hotel director were terrific and ready to help with any concerns. They saw to it everyone had a great time! The bike tour of Budapest and the music concert in Vienna were our favorite extra tours. I would recommend this trip for anyone who would like a vacation with exercise to work off the great food and who wants to see a lot of country in a short time.

    Boat: My Story

  • Miltenberg to Koblenz
    by FRED 6 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Good trip, crew great, not one meal however with a German main dish!

    The guide needs to get off the Dutch bias. We were in Germany so we would have liked to see some things from the German point of view not the Dutch "bias" to say it nicely!

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
    by Kevin Wolley 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a beautiful part of the world to see, and doing it via bike is excellent. We wanted to do it on a tandem, which the tour operator did not offer, so we rented one from a bike shop in Freiburg, and that worked out fine. The hotels were good, and so were the breakfast buffets that they offered. The distances cycled each day were good, which is to say short enough to allow stopping along the way as suited us, and arriving at the hotel in the evening with some time left to look around. We found part of our prescribed route to be flooded by the Rhine, so we had to divert to the roads through nearby German villages. This turned out to be fine, as a few miles on the Rhine levee is enough--after that, it gets a bit monotonous. The flower bedecked villages of Alsace are sensational. We ate wonderful French cuisine, and came home with a trove of beautiful pictures from this trip! On the negative side, the tour maps need to be improved. They are not detailed enough, far too often Read more… making it hard to know where the turn points of the route are. North is not always at the top on the maps, and there are no markings to indicate where north lies. The print is miniscule, so street names are almost impossible to read. The written directions accompanying the maps need improvement, too, due to occasional lapses of detail. The tour operator could solve these problems by offering handlebar mounted moving-map GPS rental. I believe people would be willing to pay for this additional aid. Overall, we are satisfied with this tour, and hope Pack and Pedal/Tripsite will work at refining their guidance to make it even better for those who take it later.

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jose Mª Duque Heras 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    * Impresión general: muy buena, satisfechos con la organización

    * el equipo entregado y la infraestructura muy buena

    * personal y atención : buenos

    * régimen de comida muy bien

    * rutas programadas: muy adecuadas, fáciles y atractivas

    * como aspecto negativo: falta de guias en español

    Gracias por todo

    Boat: My Story

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Chris Prince 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely the greatest vacation I've ever had. My wife and I did this for our honeymoon- Tripsite made planning this an absolute breeze. Picturesque sights, loads of activities and things to do. This was the quintessential vacation/honeymoon.

  • Main Trail
    by William Osborn 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just back from Germany yesterday and I just wanted to say thank you for helping with the arrangements for the trip. We really enjoyed ourselves. Everything worked out perfectly for the bikes, hotels, and transportation.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Wendy Davey 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a fantastic trip. From the moment we were on board we knew it was going to be well organised and professional. The barge "My Story" was always very clean and the food was fantastic along with the staff very helpful and accommodating. The cycling along the Danube was picture perfect. All the extra tours were well organised. Wonderful memories! Thankyou.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Marilyn Kuntze 6 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did the four country tour along the Danbue with 11 others. We booked through Tripsite. From the beginning I was impressed with the friendly and professional backup from the staff. The trip was better than expected. The boat "My Story" -friendly staff, delicious Food, nice atmosphere. We had good weather, tours well explained and organized with no time pressure. My husband and I did the trip six years ago and enjoyed it and recommended it to friends and Family in the USA. I believe that all were very pleased with everything, This is ideal for a bike that is doing something like this for the first time.

    Boat: My Story

    • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
      by Annette Horner 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Hi, I hope this is the Marilyn (Roos) Kuntze I am looking for! I have tried to contact you for several years through the only email address I had for you. Obviously, it no longer works. Please contact me, I would love to reconnect with you! Annette (Caldwell) Horner

PWPC