Germany Bike Tour Reviews 841 to 870 of 1027

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve Slinkard 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guides should have provided a little more detail (distance between turns, landmarks, areas to pay extra attention, etc)

    Boat: Normandie

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Cecil Harris 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    One of our hotels was not up to our expectations or the trip rating. Most of our maps/directions were good but missed a detour/construction.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Art Shotwell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife & I had a wonderful four country bike-boat trip on the Danube. Saw wonderful little towns, met good friends on the trip, and enjoyed good food and wine.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gail Black 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed staying put at night better than the barge moving at night. We have done both and I enjoy walking around in the evening.I also would not have so many ferry crossings in the next trip. Puts a time factor in the ride.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra Stocks 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Despite nasty weather conditions, which no one can control, the crew made our trip fun and exciting.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kristi Sinkus 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    AC did not work
    BargeBoat needed updating
    Crew was accommodating
    but moody
    Overall my biking experience was terrific!"

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Rafael Camarota 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I enjoyed eating off the boat. It was our choice to have more local flare and maximize time off boat. It did feel wasteful. It would be great if there was a reduced meals option or an option to "donate" meals or value of meals to charity.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gary Saelens 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great bike/boat trip along the Danube!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Anne Gilbert 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip is for the person who does not want any surprises. There was nothing wrong with the food or the bikes or the staff. However there was also no sense of discovery, as every detail of your day was planned out for you, what to order when you stopped for lunch at the only place recommended, what sights to see in the cities, etc. I personally like to explore along the way and take my time in the countryside. This is the only Tripsite trip I have taken that has left me feeling a bit let down, and I have taken several.

    Boat: My Story

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by David Fish 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was our first bike and barge trip and we loved it so much we've already booked next years trip!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
    by Heidi Coleman 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The route descriptions were mixed. Some were excellent. Some were not. But our overall experience was wonderful. When the route descriptions were not as good, it added to the adventure and, as a result, we met additional people, who were generally warm and helpful.

    It would be most helpful to have both detailed instructions (which are confirmed, e.g., make sure there's a street sign if the cue is to turn at a street or provide odometers if the cue is the travel a certain distance), and also decent maps."

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathleen Josten 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The captain crew and trip leaders all went out of their way to make us feel at home and special. The bikes were ready when they needed to be. The dinners were ready on time. We were prepared for the next day's ride. I could not ask for a better experience! The My Story crew and Lesley as trip leader were the best!

    Boat: My Story

  • Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
    by Joseph Paladino 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A great trip overall and a good value. I would've preferred an upcharge option for better hotels. The downside was the directions book, though well made and attractive, it was not helpful or practical. I found it was much easier to follow the road signs and ignore the book. Also, the book needs to point out attractions and diversions and points of interest. People are coming from all over the world to see this one particular area, it is so important to know what there is to explore in the countryside rather than just following the route.

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra Dusseault 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guide was awful. We would only stop when he wanted to, and that was on the side of the path so that he could have a cigarette. When we suggested a stop in a small village, or somewhere interesting, he would say no. When I told him that I was going to go ahead on my own, he spoke to me like I was a child, telling me I was to stay with the group. The route descriptions in the evening were excellent...the main guide was fantastic, it was just the guide that we paid extra for that soured our trip.
    The boat was great, the staff was phenomenal. Our rooms were really good, an incredibly clean.

    Boat: My Story

  • Bremen to Magdeburg
    by Barbara Shah 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very good experience generally. However, a slower cyclist was asked to pick up their pace or consider using an e-bike or bike alone - not good! A very different experience from the previous year's trip on Iris - Amsterdam to Bruges - where everyone was welcomed no matter what skill level.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Thomas Rorabaugh 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed the trip but felt our guide could have provided more detail on points of interest along the way.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by John Heinze 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was ok but I've had better ones on previous trips. It was a lot of going through the motions since he had done 15-20 trips prior to ours it was maybe a case of being burned out. A bit more interaction on where we were going and what we were seeing would have been nice. Overall trip was top notch though as usual.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Arthur Armstrong 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was one of the best I have taken.

    Boat: Iris

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Maribel Colon 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful trip. Some routes could had better directions since in several occasions we got lost, yes we made the best out of the experience. The staff was excellent, at critical times during the trip the staff pull together and made the trip as comfortable and pleasant. They are champions, no doubt about it!!!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Susan Roeterink 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Trip was excellent. the boat is really bare bones but that was okay. Wifi was spotty and difficult at times.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Sydney Cullis 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    superb all round -organisation, food, scenery , amusing but booking proceedure not very efficient

    Boat: Iris

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by S. Rishe 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Starting with Carla whose patience and friendliness and kindness enhanced the reservation process, through the gorgeous boat, great bikes, incredible food, fun fellow guests of several nationalities, friendly and cheerful staff and the utterly delightful Dietmer our trip guide, we were thrilled.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Koblenz to Merzig or Merzig to Koblenz
    by Susan Donnely 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The journey was well organized. The crew were fantastic, friendly, obliging and fun. The food was world class delicious and beautifully presented at all times. Our guide was very nice and did her utmost to adapt to the differing expectations of individual riders. We loved that she also took us on evening walks after dinner.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joseph Rine 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Boat and staff were fantastic. Daily rides were good, but routes could have been better. The Devlin loop circled us around several gravel dikes for about 10 miles. Trails were rough and not well marked. But there were miles of great bike paths along the Danube that we motored past on the boat....

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn Smith 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour guide, Jan (not sure of the spelling) was amazing! He was funny, helpful and friendly. All the logistics with the bike stuff worked very smoothly.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Paul Finger 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We couldn't be happier. Everyone from the trip "arrangers" to all the personnel on the barge could not have been more helpful. This was our first trip like this, everything was superb.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan Joe 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Would have been nice to have a guide but our trip was the last of the season so no guide was available.

    Boat: My Story

  • Koblenz to Merzig or Merzig to Koblenz
    by Ivy Higgs 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were a bit late in the season so weather not great. Food brilliant.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jill Roach 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved everything about this trip. The bikes were in excellent condition, the cruise director was very helpful, the boat's staff was super attentive. The boat is definitely older but it was very clean and we loved having drinks on the top deck every night under the stars. My two teens had a great time as well and the staff was wonderful to them. The scenery was incredible and the tour excursions were a great value and well worth it.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diana Collins 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Even with the age of the boat (1970's!!), we totally enjoyed the cruise. The staff was great and the food was wonderful. The bikes were comfortable and in good repair.

    Boat: My Story

PWPC