Croatia Bike Tour Reviews 151 to 180 of 229

 

 Country: Croatia • REMOVE

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Joanne P. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous guides who were very knowledgeable about the history of the region we were cycling in. Great people on the trip...met many interesting folks of various abilities who all got on bikes and enjoyed the rides.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Kathy H 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Southern Dalmatia tour was the 2nd of a 2 week back to back bike tour we took in Croatia (first week was National Parks of Dalmatia). The cycling on this tour was considerably more challenging compared to our first week ... "moderate to difficult" is an appropriate descriptor if a non-electric bike is used. With more challenging cycling there less emphasis on site-seeing while cycling. However one hour walking tours before dinner at destination sites were interesting and appropriate.

    The Croatian Coast and countryside is absolutely beautiful with it's small towns and marinas in every cove. Cruising among the islands in a beautifully clear sea was an unexpected highlight... and a welcome break after a morning or afternoon of strenuous cycling. The frequent opportunity to swim off the boat was amazing!

    Romantica was a clean sailing yacht with good amenities. Although rated as "Comfort Plus", we would consider it on the lower end of that scale Read more… (relative to some of the other "bike and barge" boats that we have been on). But we recognize that "you get what you pay for" and the Romantica was in our view good value.

    We found the ship's crew to be accommodating and friendly. The food was fabulous with 4 course lunches and dinners that went beyond our expectations (thank goodness we burned calories during biking!). Our guides Jelena and Ivan were very professional and explanatory, had great command of the group and emphasized "safety first". They contributed significantly to the quality of our biking and enhanced the total tour experience greatly.
    Overall, we had a fabulous 2 weeks of biking in Croatia. We so appreciate the assistance of Tripsite in helping us plan this trip (and others). We look forward to another "bike and sail" next fall.

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Kathy H 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first "bike and sail" and we found it quite different than the "bike and barge" tours we have done in the past. There was less cycling (cycling distances were less than advertised and usually only in the morning or afternoon) and more cruising. However, cruising among the islands in a beautifully clear sea was an unexpected highlight... and often a welcome break after a morning or afternoon of moderate cycling! One hour walking tours before dinner at destination sites were interesting and appropriate.
    The Croatian Coast and countryside is absolutely beautiful with it's small towns and marinas in every cove. Swimming off the boat was such a fabulous experience!
    The Romantica was a lovely clean sailing yacht with good amenities. The rating scale for the "bike and sailing yachts" however is different than the "bike and barge" boats; Romantica was rated as "Comfort Plus" but we would consider it on the lower Read more… end of that scale (relative to some of the other "bike and barge" boats we have been on). We recognize that "you get what you pay for" and the Romantica was in our view good value.
    The-food was outstanding - with 4 course lunches and dinners that were delicious!
    In summary, a great trip - and we look forward to another "bike and sail" next fall.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Magic of Croatia
    by Elliot F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The variety of scenery around Karlovac Croatia was awesome: rivers, farms, war ruins, small mountains, churches and more. The hotel was very nice and well-located along the river for a refreshing swim. The fixed menu was the same two night in a row until we finally asked for something different. Biking to the sister property in the mountains was far more strenuous than most would handle, so I'd caution anyone against staying at the rural hotel or biking there unless you are in fantastic shape. We loved it, of course. The only suggestion I'd make is for the hotel to provide printed maps and suggested routes. They had us rely upon a website and we have a difficult time matching up the website information with the routes described in the trip brochure/materials. We ultimately did fine (with one notably long detour upon getting lost!), but we like a logistical challenge. Others less inclined might become quite frustrated. Overall, it was an excellent trip and excellent value!

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Robert!
    Thanks for sharing this feedback. You are right that parts of the tour the shoulder and streets can be narrow. This is very common in this part of Europe. I can assure you that we take safety very seriously and work with our local partners to provide cycling routes with your safety in mind. You will also find the terrain and difficulty rating described on this tour page. Both should be taken into consideration when evaluating this tour. Glad you had an enjoyable and safe trip!

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Robert G. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Croatia/Dalmatian Coast and islands are a beautiful vacation destination that we highly recommend. However the roads, lack of a shoulder, narrow streets, and lack of safety make it a very difficult and unnerving biking destination. Bikers need to fully understand that this area is not bike friendly.

    Boat: Melody

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Sandra M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a great trip. The Romantica is a newer ship and therefore the rooms were a little bigger and the bathrooms comfortable. The two guides, Marko and Ivana, were excellent. The bike riding was good, although not many miles, maybe 90 over 6 days. One thing that was also different is all 32 guests rode together with the two guides. This had it's benefits, but for avid bikers like us, we spend a lot of time waiting. The food on the boat was outstanding, including many local dishes made with fresh ingredients.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Danube Experience
    by Mike W. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The trip was well run and organized. The bikes were in excellent condition and easy to ride. The selected routes were easy to follow and offered many sights and excursions. Would highly recommend this trip.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by D. Hansen 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The short 13 km bike trip to Vodice was not scenic and seemed not a good choice for biking at all. Otherwise, the biking was great, scenic, nice villages, good stopping places. Thanks for a great week, great crew, great food and great company of others!

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by M. McPhee 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A fantastic tour. Really well organised and the guides had great local knowledge. One of our guides even spoke 5 languages so he made everyone feel welcome. The scenery was amazing especially the island of Brac with the most wonderful early morning reflections of the beautiful village in the bay. The food was tasty and plentiful rivaling the odd episode of "Masterchef"
    At the Captains dinner we also learnt that the boat was built by the captains family over 4 years with no design drawings. Amazing. We met some great people on board from Brazil and Germany. A fantastic adventure. We enjoyed the Croatian undulations!!! There are a few hills but it is worth it!!!! Enjoy

    Boat: San Snova

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Carla from Tripsite 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi M. Towle - Thanks for your feedback! On all of our tours, our goal is always to find the quietest and most scenic route, avoiding the main roads at all costs. However, at some points there is no way around cycling a few kilometers along a main road (although never a highway!) These stretches of road are clearly communicated and the guide does his best to separate the group into smaller groups so that cars can pass safely.
    In any case we've put this tour under the microscope and we will make sure that if there is a possible alternative to this stretch of road, that it will be used!
    Thanks again!!

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by S. Makin 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I've just returned from a wonderful trip, the National parks of Dalmatia. We had a fabulous time. Our two guides, Ivana and Ivan, were marvellous. Captain Tomo and his crew were top notch. The food was amazing. My only small criticism was the distance biked every day. Our longest day was 25Kms and I would have loved longer and perhaps slower days. I felt the distance was too short and we biked too fast. Otherwise, I loved every second of our Croatian adventure!!

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by C. Radcliffe 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall I was very pleased. Croatia is a beautiful country. The Romantica was perfect! Thank you to all the staff.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by M. Towle 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was amazing. The only negative were. Lunch on the boat was over the top. (it was more like a dinner), I would have preferred a lighter fare. One day of the biking was on a VERY busy road. I am not sure if there were other route but it was definitely NOT safe. The guide needed much stricter riding rules in this situation if it could not be avoided. On a positive note the country is safe and beautiful. The tour included a perfect balance of riding, touring and exploring the sea.

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Linda Reiland 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We just completed this tour and enjoyed it BUT there are some caveats to be aware of. We did not follow the itinerary as described. We did not tour Nin even though it was listed in the itinerary. We rode on some very busy roads/thoroughfares which were not fun. The map was not an accurate depiction of what we actually did on the mainland. That part was very disappointing. The food was great... The e-bikes were very heavy but the only way to do this tour. There were some VERY long hills to climb. Our guides were good, especially Bjoran. Just be aware that the itinerary changes and that seems to be at the whim of the boat captain, guides and weather. I was really looking forward to seeing Nin and spending a little more time in Sibenik. The boat was very nice and generally comfortable. Igor, the bartender and waiter, was fabulous. I'd rate the trip as a 3.5-4 star.

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by M. Watjen 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved our trip! Everything about it brought us delight. Southern Croatia is simply beautiful, the bike riding was perfect for us (we live in western North Carolina which is mountainous), we enjoyed our guides very much, & were taken care of extremely well by the crew on the boat. Look forward to the next bike trip!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Venice to Poreč
    by MARCOS FERRAZ 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Estamos super-satisfeitos com voces e a Giro Libero. Tudo transcorreu muito bem de forma profissional e organizada, superando ate nossas expectativas.
    O material distribuido (mapas e guias) foi otimo; as bikes todas aguentaram bem sem darem qq problema, em otimo estado de manutencao e apropriadas ao trajeto; o percurso muito bem marcado; o funcionario da reuniao inicial foi pontual e nos atendeu muito bem e orientou sobre tudo; os hoteis super de acordo com o contratado, bem localizados e confortaveis; enfim, um passeio que nos alegrou em muito com paisagens lindas e repleto de experiencias culturais.

    Countries: Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by jeff marantz 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just returned from E bike trip on the Meldoy
    I was totally impressed with the trip as a whole. The organization punctuality and attention to detail was superb.Considering my son and I were the only North Americans which in itself is a bonus to talk and socialize with people from different countries we never felt left out. . The week went by too quickly. . The staff was cordial and helpful , meals and cuisine were excellent . Would recommend this trip for individuals who enjoy moderate luxury yet require some organized quality activity . E bike is well worth the money and is a bonus.

    Boat: Melody

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Neal & Lisa 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a fantastic trip. The boat, and crew were great. We had lots of fun with them (Dino) and the tour guides (Marko & Lucy). Riding in and out of the beautiful Croatian Harbors was the best. There is NOTHING I can find to say that wasn't above and beyond our expectations. The bikes were good, the food delicious, the crew & tour guides exceptional. Meeting people from all over the world, priceless! Do not hesitate to take this trip!!!

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • The Receptive (and Responsible) Traveler
    by Terri 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I would love to be a receptive traveler! I think what you are doing is wonderful!

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by J Anderson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were excellent and the food was excellent. Captain was somewhat aloof, but the rest of the staff were very friendly. The bikes were excellent and the daily routes and trips were just what we wanted.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Lindsay 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

    We did the Tyrrhenian Sea tour of southern Italy in May 2014. This was also an amazing trip - I highly recommend it!!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Martin Walsh 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was an excellent trip. We have already recommended it to friends.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Blake Butcher 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour was great. Croatia was super. The guides were great. The food and accommodations were excellent. I want to go back. I have and will continue to recommend this to everyone.

    Boat: Melody

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Valerie Purcell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our only real complaint is with the description of our South Dalmatia Island Tour. It was mentioned that the bike ride was moderate to difficult but we (and I speak for all 28 of us because we all thought the same and there were some riders that were very experienced) that the ride was mostly difficult. There was no mention of this in the description that it would be "mostly"! There were a lot hills with very steep grades that would go on for kilometers, something that I was not prepared for. I don't know if bike tours can be rated (perhaps like white water rafting) so that one can have a better feel of what the ride will be like or perhaps train or prepare for it. It was our first bike tour so we now know more of what questions we can ask so that we can see if the tour is the right one. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and were proud of what we achieved (what a fantastic feeling!) and the views were awesome! Really appreciated having two guides one at the Read more… front guiding our way and one bringing up the rear which always insisted to take our time whether it was for taking photos or for that much needed break! Jesse always said "It's your vacation!"

    Boat: San Snova

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Myra Hollie Nielsen 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Electric bikes, the black ones, were excellent. The food was a bit disappointing.
    The guides were excellent. Cabin was very nice.

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Penny Keys 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip to Croatia and the guides were top notch...the best! Thank you

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by James Purcell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was more challenging than expected, but very rewarding. Great value.

    Boat: San Snova

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia
    by Nancy Leach 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time! Boat, guides, food, and bikes were all better than we had imagined. Highly recommend the trip and can't wait to do another.

    Boat: San Snova

    Countries: Croatia

  • Multi-Adventure Tour from Trogir
    by Sherrie Bennett 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved our Croatian holiday! Fabulous boat, Outstanding food, Fantastic Guides,
    Gorgeous scenery, Would highly recommend Tripsite and this trip:-)

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

PWPC