Croatia Bike Tour Reviews 121 to 150 of 229

 

 Country: Croatia • REMOVE

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Franziska G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Highlights:
    A walk through the old city of Rab at sunset
    Enjoying the scenery from the upper deck while sailing close to the shore
    A dip into the warm Adriatic after a bike ride

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Kvarner Bay
    by Dennis B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guides were great. The islands were very fun to visit.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Gary A. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guides were excellent and the biking was gorgeous!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by Barry D. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Catching bronchitis in our rain sodden cabin as it leaked all night.

    Countries: Croatia

  • National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Joseph S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was beyond the expectations of everyone on the trip. The guides were great as was the boat and food. It can't get better than this!!!

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by Rudy R. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most of the boat staff were great, personable and added to the quality of the trip. The food was DELICIOUS! The boat captain was generally ok but he had moments when he his language was offensive. There was a bit of conflict between our biking guide(s). I enjoyed our time on the boat. The biking was mixed. Some routes were in beautiful settings but along narrow and sometimes sidewalks shared by oncoming people walking, laying or oncoming bikes. I much more preferred the open roads, come cars but more enjoyable. Overall, I enjoyed the trip but the itinerary could use some tweaking.

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by Laurie F. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The scenery along the Dalmatian Coast was spectacular. A young Croatian guide (Ben) was hired to replace the usual Dutch guide (Bernard) who had broken his hip seven weeks before in a bike accident. Ben was kind, knowledgeable and fun. Bernard and his girlfriend were along on the tour as we only had six members in our group and a cabin was available. Apparently Bernard has some "financial interest" in the boat as well as being the usual tour guide. Bernard seemed to have something to prove from the first day. He had a problem letting go of control and letting Ben do the job he was hired for. When Bernard was along on the days' excursions he was overbearing and sometimes suggested unsafe maneuvers on the bike. I overheard him say American women were wimps. His girlfriend suggested that it was not just American women but men as well who might not be comfortable with a particularly dangerous turn off a road and onto a bath along the sea. By the end of the week he Read more… had mellowed somewhat. I suspect mostly due to his American girlfriend.

    The captain was loud, drank too much and changed the itinerary to suit his needs. Yes, some of it was weather related. But, we were told the first day by other staff that the captain had a woman at every stop and expect our schedule to reflect it.

    The food was awesome!! The gals doing the cooking, Ivana and Antonia were fun, very smart about Croatian history and funny. Without the Croatian staff the trip would have been a bust.

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by Onja B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Croatia is gorgeous and the food was great. The cook, ivanna, and the guide, ben, were amazing with understanding the participants skill level and dietary needs. The cycling was not as described or the descriptions could have been better. One full day we were on a pedestrian path with many people to dodge- not fun and not real cycling. Molat was the best route!
    The captain was difficult, drunkenly, egotistical, chauvinist and making lewd comments whenever addressing women.

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by Cathy Butler 2 years ago        

    I had no idea that this was posted on their site. But since you have asked, I will briefly reply. We had many issues but I would say the biggest one would be smoking on the ship. It was allowed anywhere, even at dinner table. We had to have a discussion about this when we got on board and that didn't make us very popular. Spent a lot of time avoiding the smokers. Also, lunch is to be included but tour guide preferred to stop at a restaurant for over an hour and buy lunch. We still packed a basic lunch, and always ended up waiting for the others in the restaurant. We had other issues as well but the scenery was stunning and it was a beautiful place to ride. I would not say no to this trip, but it depends on your expectations.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by nancy busboom 2 years ago        

    We are interested in this trip for our 50th anniversary. Why did you only give it 3 stars. How were the cabins on the ship

    Countries: Croatia

  • Istria to the Adriatic
    by Yael S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was beautiful and what I would describe as completely worthwhile work/play.

    Countries: Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by Monika M. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    It was 38 degrees in Croatia with very little shade to be found on the biking route. Tip: Recommend an Ebike.

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Istria to the Adriatic
    by knut S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable: The local tour operator (Good Places) arranged a lunch and wine tasting at a small winery/restaurant. Excellent food, good wines, tour of the winery, interesting lessons about local wines in Croatia, excellent service and a welcoming atmosphere.
    Suggestion: We enjoyed staying in the small hotels with atmosphere and a la carte dinners much more than the big resort hotels serving big buffet dinners. So please look for cosy, smaller hotels with atmosphere.

    Countries: Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

  • Istria to the Adriatic
    by Michael E. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tour route was beautiful, some costal some inland, hotels and food were excellent, I liked the smaller hotels much better than the large one as the small ones were very personal. Local wines were great. Had so much fun that I'm thinking about the next trip.

    Countries: Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Janet C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guides were excellent for our amazing bike rides and boat vacation. The boat was well-appointed with clean, comfortable rooms. Our food was delicious and plentiful! We loved the beautiful scenery and would love to go back. Wonderful!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Barbara!
    Thanks for submitting this feedback. In pricing options it lists a discount for using a 21-hybrid bike. We do our very best to inform our cleints of the discounts we have available and are sorry you missed this detail in the pricing section.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Barbara T. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was a combination of the boat, guides, people on the tour, food, scenery, biking, weather - it all added up to a great holiday.
    One thing which could be improved is information about bike options. We assumed since an E bike was included in the price that everyone would have an E bike and we didn't want to get left behind! There was no indication there was a discount for a hybrid bike. Only about half our group had E bikes and we would definitely have selected a hybrid bike if we had known that. (Those who booked directly with Island Hopping paid extra for an E Bike).

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by Catharine B. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The bike riding and the scenery in Croatia were stunning. Many interesting things to see and the beaches are beautiful and refreshing after a hot day of bike riding.

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Chelton T. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip - exceeded my expectations- first class in every respect.
    Bike courses were challenging but you can't beat the scenery.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by Jenny M. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part were the people we met, both crew and guests. The route had been well chosen to let us experience the beauty of the area. I would have rated the guide and food higher except for the following reasons: although the guide was very personable and knowledgable he did not carry a first aid kit or tools to deal with emergencies. I think this could be easily remedied. Although the food was well prepared the captain could have spent a little more money on his selection of meats, cheese, and wine.

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Nianne F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There is a reason why the default bicycle on the Southern Dalmatia Plus trip is an e-assist model; the islands of Croatia are very hilly! The e-assist made it easier for me to stop on an uphill, take photos of fellow riders or the amazing scenery, get re-started easily, and make it to the top without holding up the whole group. Everyone, from the guides and crew on board to the locals in cafes and restaurants, was very friendly, helpful, and willing to speak English for the benefit of us uni-lingual folks!

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by Ailsa W. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Our trip was limited due to strong winds that had us harbour bound for a few days, but this is part of the adventure. Therefore we did not get to all the islands as planned. But the scenery and experience were all good.
    We were the first trip of the season and our bikes were not in top notch condition. They should have been ready to go. I had to use an electric bike the first day due to my assigned bike skipping gears.
    The crew were super - good natured, helpful and loads of laughs. It was a delightful tour.

    Countries: Croatia

  • The Receptive (and Responsible) Traveler
    by MaryAnn Ley 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved reading your perspective and it's very inspiring. I too, vow to be a receptive traveler. One of my favorite things to do is travel and meet people and participate in the local culture. We have been on 2 bike trips and have fallen in love with this type of vacationing. Planning our next trip- Croatia!

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Patricia T. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our trip to Croatia was wonderful.
    Everything was perfect, from the size of the boat, our room, the food, the ebikes and especially the helpful and friendly staff.
    Our guides were fun, had great knowledge and love for their country.
    And yes, I have recommended this trip to everyone I know.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Southern Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Brent H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Food was ok but not great. A little more variety and quality with a little less quantity would go a long ways to correcting this.

    Boat: Princess Diana

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Laurie T. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing guides - Senad and Lucia!! They were so fun, informative, professional! Boat experience exceeded my expectations in comfort, great food, friendly helpful crew, size of room.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Catherine B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Senad and Lucija were an amazing team; they really made the trip a spectacular experience. Our entire group seemed to enjoy the history lessons that were incorporated into our daily biking adventures. Biking ability in the group was varied and they managed us very well.
    Mention must be made of the professional way that they handled 2 incidents that resulted in hospital visits, one of which was very serious! They are to be commended!

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Kim G. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guides, Senad and Lucija, were outstanding. The food was great and almost too plentiful! The kitchen staff and waiter did an incredible job of meeting my specific dietary requirements. Our only suggestion is to change the pricing to include water, bike insurance, etc. We would rather pay it all in one shot as the extra costs were mandatory.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Janis W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip exceeded our expectations! The guides, Senad and Lucija where both excellent. There were a few safety issues that came up on the trip and they knew exactly how to handle them. They were both professional and personable and were a huge part of the trip being so enjoyable.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Kelly F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat staff and guides were fantastic! Would like to have had more time to roam the old cities of Korcula and Ston. The food was very good and plentiful- perhaps, the daily menu could be posted so one could pace themselves.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

PWPC