Croatia Tour Reviews — 121 to 150 of 233

4.6 out of 5

 


Gary A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

Croatia island trip was fantastic. From the boat to the crew to the guides to the food to the bike routes, it is hard to imagine any ways to improve the trip.

Susan M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

Great views and biking. The ebike really helped on the climbs but you still get a workout if you want one. Great weather and scenery and great guides. It was nice to get off the bike and go to Bosnia mid week. Eating so much on the boat wasn't my favorite and the fact that we had to pay extra for the day at the farm/winery seemed a bit cheap as I know other tours pay for these types of things. Having to get instructions in two languages (German and English) seemed a bit long. But the boat was nice and enjoyed it. If you are a swimmer you might might to come a bit earlier in the season.

Patricia S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

The islands of Croatia are exquisite and the boat Harmonia is beautifully designed and cared for. Cycling in Croatia was breathtaking.

Sue P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The scenery and the weather made this a wonderful trip-- however, the participants were unusually amiable and everyone got along famously. One of the waiters was a real clown and kept us all entertained at mealtimes. The chef and his assistant put out some amazing food, and so much of it! The bikes were probably as good a fit as possible on this kind of trip. Our guides were great-- one wouldn't have known this was the end of their season. I can't think of anything that might have been improved upon. Good work!

Valentina L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Odisej Along the Dalmatian Coast
Croatia

I loved cycling along the paths that hugged the ocean. So scenic and beautiful.

Claudia H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica Southern Dalmatia
Croatia

Most Memorable Part: The beautiful scenery, the people and guides and the biking

Steve S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

Biking in Dalmatia islands is spectacular, and Harmonia crew and guides were particularly accommodating. We never could have seen these places on our own. That's a point worth reinforcing: don't expect to go off on your own too much--you need to stick with the group to make sure that you're at the boat at the time of departure, but the payoff in info and support from the guides is well worth it.

Bikes were excellent quality--make sure you make clear whether you want a regular bike or e-bike well in advance--staff will strive to meet your needs but it pays to be sure.

It was also a treat to get to know an international group of similarly inclined people--very friendly people who all meshed well.

Bet C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Andela Lora Kvarner Bay E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Most memorable part of trip was the beautiful little towns on the Croatian Islands with their medieval streets and the historical aspect of the towns with Roman remains.

Heather & Bob D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Andela Lora Kvarner Bay E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

We were totally looked after with no glitches and great service.

Wes J.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Venice to Poreč
Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Great scenery and a very good vacation. I recommend taking the boat out of Trieste to avoid the traffic.

Terri Z.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The guides Dora and Marcus were great. The ship Romantica, and its crew were wonderful and the food was more than I expected. There was only one day where the riding seemed a bit short and not a great route but it was still a great view when we got to the top of the too steep hill. The whole trip was definitely a great experience and the scenery and other passengers on the trip couldn't have been better.

Franziska G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Andela Lora Kvarner Bay E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

Highlights:
A walk through the old city of Rab at sunset
Enjoying the scenery from the upper deck while sailing close to the shore
A dip into the warm Adriatic after a bike ride

Dennis B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Andela Lora Kvarner Bay
Croatia

The guides were great. The islands were very fun to visit.

Gary A.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

The guides were excellent and the biking was gorgeous!

Barry D.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Dalmatian Coast
Croatia

Catching bronchitis in our rain sodden cabin as it leaked all night.

Joseph S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princess Diana National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
Croatia

This trip was beyond the expectations of everyone on the trip. The guides were great as was the boat and food. It can't get better than this!!!

Rudy R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Odisej Along the Dalmatian Coast
Croatia

Most of the boat staff were great, personable and added to the quality of the trip. The food was DELICIOUS! The boat captain was generally ok but he had moments when he his language was offensive. There was a bit of conflict between our biking guide(s). I enjoyed our time on the boat. The biking was mixed. Some routes were in beautiful settings but along narrow and sometimes sidewalks shared by oncoming people walking, laying or oncoming bikes. I much more preferred the open roads, come cars but more enjoyable. Overall, I enjoyed the trip but the itinerary could use some tweaking.

Laurie F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Odisej Along the Dalmatian Coast
Croatia

The scenery along the Dalmatian Coast was spectacular. A young Croatian guide (Ben) was hired to replace the usual Dutch guide (Bernard) who had broken his hip seven weeks before in a bike accident. Ben was kind, knowledgeable and fun. Bernard and his girlfriend were along on the tour as we only had six members in our group and a cabin was available. Apparently Bernard has some "financial interest" in the boat as well as being the usual tour guide. Bernard seemed to have something to prove from the first day. He had a problem letting go of control and letting Ben do the job he was hired for. When Bernard was along on the days' excursions he was overbearing and sometimes suggested unsafe maneuvers on the bike. I overheard him say American women were wimps. His girlfriend suggested that it was not just American women but men as well who might not be comfortable with a particularly dangerous turn off a road and onto a bath along the sea. By the end of the week he Read More

Onja B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Odisej Along the Dalmatian Coast
Croatia

Croatia is gorgeous and the food was great. The cook, ivanna, and the guide, ben, were amazing with understanding the participants skill level and dietary needs. The cycling was not as described or the descriptions could have been better. One full day we were on a pedestrian path with many people to dodge- not fun and not real cycling. Molat was the best route!
The captain was difficult, drunkenly, egotistical, chauvinist and making lewd comments whenever addressing women.

Jim S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia

We traveled aboard the Theodor Korner, a classic river boat with loads of character and an extremely helpful and courteous staff. We enjoyed sharing the experience with fellow travelers we met on board. Dinners were great as were evenings spent on the deck relaxing with a drink and discussing the day's ride and excursions with our new friends. There is no better way to see and experience places - villages, cities, and rural countryside - than by bike and a boat and bike trip can't be beat for convenience and comfort. We also liked that this tour lasted for two weeks, allowing us to feel truly connected to the places we were visiting.

Yael S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

The trip was beautiful and what I would describe as completely worthwhile work/play.

Monika M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Odisej Along the Dalmatian Coast
Croatia

It was 38 degrees in Croatia with very little shade to be found on the biking route. Tip: Recommend an Ebike.

knut S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

Most memorable: The local tour operator (Good Places) arranged a lunch and wine tasting at a small winery/restaurant. Excellent food, good wines, tour of the winery, interesting lessons about local wines in Croatia, excellent service and a welcoming atmosphere.
Suggestion: We enjoyed staying in the small hotels with atmosphere and a la carte dinners much more than the big resort hotels serving big buffet dinners. So please look for cosy, smaller hotels with atmosphere.

Michael E.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Istria to the Adriatic
Slovenia, Croatia, Italy

Tour route was beautiful, some costal some inland, hotels and food were excellent, I liked the smaller hotels much better than the large one as the small ones were very personal. Local wines were great. Had so much fun that I'm thinking about the next trip.

Janet C.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

The guides were excellent for our amazing bike rides and boat vacation. The boat was well-appointed with clean, comfortable rooms. Our food was delicious and plentiful! We loved the beautiful scenery and would love to go back. Wonderful!

Barbara T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

The most memorable part was a combination of the boat, guides, people on the tour, food, scenery, biking, weather - it all added up to a great holiday.
One thing which could be improved is information about bike options. We assumed since an E bike was included in the price that everyone would have an E bike and we didn't want to get left behind! There was no indication there was a discount for a hybrid bike. Only about half our group had E bikes and we would definitely have selected a hybrid bike if we had known that. (Those who booked directly with Island Hopping paid extra for an E Bike).

Catharine B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Odisej Along the Dalmatian Coast
Croatia

The bike riding and the scenery in Croatia were stunning. Many interesting things to see and the beaches are beautiful and refreshing after a hot day of bike riding.

Chelton T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Harmonia Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
Croatia

Great trip - exceeded my expectations- first class in every respect.
Bike courses were challenging but you can't beat the scenery.

Jenny M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Odisej Along the Dalmatian Coast
Croatia

The most memorable part were the people we met, both crew and guests. The route had been well chosen to let us experience the beauty of the area. I would have rated the guide and food higher except for the following reasons: although the guide was very personable and knowledgable he did not carry a first aid kit or tools to deal with emergencies. I think this could be easily remedied. Although the food was well prepared the captain could have spent a little more money on his selection of meats, cheese, and wine.

Nianne F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princess Diana Southern Dalmatia E-Bike & Boat
Croatia

There is a reason why the default bicycle on the Southern Dalmatia Plus trip is an e-assist model; the islands of Croatia are very hilly! The e-assist made it easier for me to stop on an uphill, take photos of fellow riders or the amazing scenery, get re-started easily, and make it to the top without holding up the whole group. Everyone, from the guides and crew on board to the locals in cafes and restaurants, was very friendly, helpful, and willing to speak English for the benefit of us uni-lingual folks!