5 Star Germany Tour Reviews — 391 to 420 of 664

4.6 out of 5

 


Jim M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The most memorable parts was the Saar River part of the ride, biking above the River with our guide and riding thru the vineyards. The little towns and the Roman History. Had no idea about the Roman history in this region before this trip. The Levees on the river. Just the general beauty of the area. The grapes growing on the sides of the mountains. Both our barge crew and all the people on the trip. FUN! FUN! FUN!

Leo R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The total crew got involved in the trip and were always available to assist us with any problems or questions. It helped to break the ice with other bikers and soon we were one cohesive and fun group.

Patricia B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

Most memorable are the meals. The daily ports and after dinner walks. 1 issue - directions to the barge were horrible.

Wendy & Robert K.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

It is very hard to say what was the best, as everything was so great, beautiful, and interesting. The staff and bike guide went above our expectations, we would recommend this trip to all.

Garnet T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The whole trip exceeded our expectations but the barge Iris and the crew were outstanding.

Colin M.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part of the trip? Everything: the boat, staff, accommodations, food, cycling director, bicycles were far better than I expected. The daily orientations by the cycling director were very informative, not only about cycling conditions, but also about refreshment stops and sightseeing. This trip could not have been better.

John and Janet B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

The most memorable part was clearly the scenic routes, food, friendly people and cities selected for lodging. Great hotels! Tripsite delivered on services as promised.
We were disappointed/frustrated with the lack of route details and direction into and out of the cities. Despite the network of paved bike trails/paths, we spent too much time confused asking locals for direction to our destination. Perhaps for persons accustomed to biking in Europe, the vague directions presented no difficulty, but for persons from America not familiar with the signage and more accustomed to turn by turn cue sheets, we were frequently challenged to find our path. Asking directions from local residents did give us an interesting opportunity to communicate across languages. We would recommend you add more detailed directions into and out of cities.
Thanks for your arrangements to make our trip possible. We really did enjoy our bike tour around Lake Constance.

Raylee F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
Germany

Most memorable part: The scenery, food and the cycling on quiet roads or bike paths.

Rick F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
Germany

I am not a bike rider and was very concerned about how difficult it really would be. Well, it wasn't that difficult and was very enjoyable. The bike trails are amazing and stunning. This was the first Bike Barge experience and it was fantastic. There is no better way to experience Germany. The staff on the Merlijn are amazing. The food was delicious and plentiful. The experience on a smaller vessel was as good or even better than on a cruise ship and I have been on over 25 cruises all over the world. I highly recommend this adventure.

Gwen H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
Germany

Enjoyed the trip immensely. Scenery was fantastic. Ship and staff were excellent. Food was accommodating for vegetarians, non fish eaters and was plentiful. Would like to see an additional excursion included with the tour. Beer tasting night and castle tour were excellent.

Garnet
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

A group of 8 friends from Western Canada recently completed the Metz to Cochem tour on the Iris and all of us have nothing but good things to say about the experience. The barge Iris was everything we expected and more. Immaculately clean, well equipped, comfortable rooms and beds, small but efficient bathrooms, great lounge and dining areas, outside sitting area, etc., etc. The crew was outstanding in every way from Chef Bas to guide Wouter, to crewman AJ and so on. The crew added so much to the overall experience and always with humour, local knowledge and great attention to detail. The daily rides were a feature that we looked forward to each morning and the scenery was wonderful each day. And to top it all off, the weather for the most part cooperated for the whole trip. I can't recommend the barge, the crew and the trip highly enough and as a group, we are already talking about our next barge/bike tour

Dale B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Best Part: The ride from Vac to Esztergom! Beautiful.

Larisa L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Most Memorable Part: Biking along the forested area near Minau, biking through cobblestoned streets, and seeing a wide variety of things in such a short distance (orchards, cathedrals, castles, swans, mountains, etc).

Barbara E.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was my first time to cycle by the Danube and it far exceeded my expectations. The whole experience was awesome. I loved to be able to exercise while enjoying the pretty scenery and exploring villages and meeting people from other countries. Such a wealth of history and culture!! Truly amazing!

Raylee F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
Germany

We absolutely loved our Romantic Road cycle. Cycling in Germany is very scenic. People we met were friendly & helpful. Beer was great bread and pastries delicious. The route was well marked. We had a really wonderful holiday.

Byron E.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I will definitely do another bike and barge, it was terrific. My only complaint would be that the food provided for the vegetarians was not well thought out. It wouldn't take much to make this a fabulous plant-based experience. The staff tried as best they could...but it was lacking. But, overall, the trip was fabulous.

Linda T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We really enjoyed our experience on the Primadonna! Food was delicious and staff were very attentive. Biking the countryside was a definite highlight! Our most spectacular and memorable part of the trip would be cruising into Budapest at night! It was breath taking!!
We really had a great time and look forward to doing another bike trip soon.

Rachel J
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

An Amazing Adventure! I enjoyed every minute of this trip. The staff was courteous and accommodating, the food was delicious and the biking and sites were extraordinary. I'll recommend this to all my friends and family.

Jim S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube-Iron Gates
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary, Serbia, Romania

We traveled aboard the Theodor Korner, a classic river boat with loads of character and an extremely helpful and courteous staff. We enjoyed sharing the experience with fellow travelers we met on board. Dinners were great as were evenings spent on the deck relaxing with a drink and discussing the day's ride and excursions with our new friends. There is no better way to see and experience places - villages, cities, and rural countryside - than by bike and a boat and bike trip can't be beat for convenience and comfort. We also liked that this tour lasted for two weeks, allowing us to feel truly connected to the places we were visiting.

Alex B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Mainz to Metz
Germany, France

Amazing scenery, fantastic hosts, first class accommodations - a winner all around! Highly recommended, and would take another trip on the Merlijn in a heartbeat.

Diane H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
France, Germany

It was a fantastic way to experience several new cultures, communities and cities all while loving the interactive journey! We loved the challenge of finding our way and the delightful anticipation of our next destination and accommodation - which always truly splendid! Without speaking the language, ( German or French ) we met several wonderful nature loving and kind ppl who helped us when we seemed to veer off the route. We always got to the next destination and spent time exploring area and local cuisine. The best part of my experience was the sense of overwhelming ahh and appreciation I experienced when I had my 'around the corner 'experiences' - meaning that I suddenly came upon a fantastic site that I did not anticipate in magnitude or beauty and there I was, right there with it! Beautiful.
Thank you sincerely for the amazing trip! We loved every moment and strongly recommended to to all the soul inspired adventurers out there!! Xo

Duncan B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Passau
Czech Republic, Germany

Fantastic countryside, towns and beers!!

Jenny S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Metz
Germany, France

Highlights: Our daily biking trips, having a varied ride each day with different kms, visits and scenery, plus even a hike to a castle as well. My only suggestion is to keep this spontaneity as each day is an adventure with the known luxury of the barge awaiting us at the end of each ride.

Gina F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Metz
Germany, France

Most Memorable Part? That is so hard to answer because there were so many of them. I do plan to enter your contest very soon. As for tips or suggestions for others...By all means considered a Tripsite bike trip for your next vacation. It has so much to offer. And don't let your fear of being able to complete the daily bike rides stop you. We had in our group of 21: an 80-year-old, a person with a "boot" on his foot due to an injury, a person with a sore back, and several people who don't bike regularly. All of them were able to not only complete our daily rides, they did so with no struggles and enjoyed themselves. E-bikes can be used by those who have trouble with longer or more challenging rides. There is something about riding in a group that bonds cyclists together. You go slow enough to have conversations and see all the details you could miss when going by bus or car, yet fast enough to cover miles of interesting terrain.

Barbara H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Fabulous bike/barge adventure in Germany/Austria! We'll be back! The cycling was on beautiful paths along the Danube. The food and service onboard were extraordinary.

Paul R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Metz
Germany, France

Most memorable part: Discovering new and very interesting places with good friends.

Lynn L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
Germany

Not only was the bike route scenic, it felt very safe, even for the short periods we were off the bike path. The Regensburg to Passau route was perfect for our group of four adults and four teenagers. None of us are experienced cyclists so three days of biking on a flat path was a perfect introduction to bicycle touring. We loved touring each of the cities on our trip.

Charles O.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Metz
Germany, France

Traveling on the Merlijn is always a delight. The accommodation are great and the food was delicious. Our trip along the Mosell was utterly charming. This was my third sailing with Jantien and Henck and I hope it wasn't my last.

Noel J.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Metz
Germany, France

Memorable and very satisfying tour. The Merlijn and her crew were wonderful, friendly, and efficient, even while operating one member short (due to illness). The route along the Rhein and Moselle Rivers was beautiful, historic, and made for great cycling. The extras offered by the tour, wine tasting trip, winery tour, Roman mosaic and others, were highlights, and the food on board was great. I'll be back.

Michael R.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Four Country
Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland

Cycling through the countryside, seeing Stein-am-Rhein, the Rheinfalls, taking the boat across the Wallensee, seeing the Schattenburg in Feldkirch, and visiting the Abbey Library in St. Gallen were all highlights.