5 Star Germany Tour Reviews — 511 to 540 of 664

4.6 out of 5

 


Deborah C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

This was a very nice trip. Scenery, bike routes, side trips were all very good. We had a terrific guide who interacted well with the group. The barge was very nice and the owners/crew were exceptional. The dinners could not have been better - Els is an amazing cook.

Gregg Z.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Sandra V.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
Germany

Loved the entire experience. Barge accommodations and food amazing. Staff superb. Lea, our biking guide had such knowledge of area and was an expert at leading a group of different ability bikers. Also solving any problem which would arise. Cannot say enough positive about the Merlijn and her staff. Wonderful trip on so many levels. Kudos to Jantien and Henk for providing me with a trip to cherish!

Cathie C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
Germany

We had a great time!! Our guide was fabulous!! Staff on the boat couldn't have been better. I would definitely recommend this tour. We would go on another trip on this barge in a heart beat!!

Jeffrey C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Cologne to Bamberg
Germany

The itinerary times/distances covered was not necessarily followed because of where the barge could dock and time allowed to get through the locks. Minor problem. People should have been given more instruction/introduction for the ebikes. Guide was excellent except he was not always knowledgeable about the route. His first time in that area. Otherwise, my wife and I loved the trip. Extremely difficult if not impossible to name a most memorable part of the trip!

Carol M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Cologne to Bamberg
Germany

The guide, Cornel, was great, despite the fact that this was his first time guiding this route.

Craig M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Great trip but two minor issues
Room - hopeless shower curtain meant water went all over the floor. Other rooms had screens so why not all rooms?
Ride into Bratislava is ugly - need to find a better to arrive at this lovely city. A real low point in an otherwise fantastic itinerary - last 3 days were sublime.

Saul L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The trip overall was great. The boat is showing its age, and the cabins are adequate but not overly comfortable.
The route descriptions provided by the cruise director could have been much better. Simply using visuals to indicate map directions would have helped a lot. There was some unnecessary confusion on our trip. A friend who took the trip two weeks earlier on the same boat with the same crew made the same comment.
Overall the lovely scenery, the interesting people on board and the beautiful cities we visited made this trip very worthwhile.

Marion M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

The city maps could be better! We met 2 couples from Australia and teamed up and rode as a group! Great experience. However, on the last day on the boat trip to Budapest, the boat loaded a group of 19 bikes in addition to all the ones on the scheduled trip. When we got to Budapest only 1 in our group were able to unload, before the boat headed to the other shore. That left 5 of us on the wrong side. The last day did not end as planned. There were way too many bikes on the ship!

Vicki H.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I loved every moment of the trip. The boat and the meals were far better than I had expected, the staff was super friendly and the fun activities were great. I look forward to booking another trip. I recommend that people read their information prior to daily outings as there is a lot to absorb. Also, take time on the first day to be sure your bicycle is a good fit. It was a magnificent adventure!

Patti P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

The scenery was spectacular and our guides were knowledgeable, so much fun and made our journeys safe and memorable. This was a top notch holiday for us.

Evan C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Munich to Vienna
Austria, Germany

A big thank you to all your staff and to Austria for making my journey a wonderful experience.

Lynne Z.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Wolfsburg
Germany

Second time I have done the Berlin trip (albeit the reverse itinerary and the addition of Wolfsburg ) it was as interesting if not more so the second time. The VW Plant tour was amazing.

Regina D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Wolfsburg
Germany

The wonderful people on the trip & excellent staff made this trip most memorable! Would highly recommend it to friends!

Judith A.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

I feel our guide could have been a little more organised with our daily route but I also have to remember that the biking from Berlin to Malchin is a route that has not been done very often.
I am unable to pick one outstanding moment. Just being able to bike in eastern Germany & Poland was so outstanding & while biking to think of all the history of the area. It is also wonderful to think that efforts are being made to make a vast ecological area over the next few years in some of the region along canals where we were biking.

Jack G.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
Austria, Germany

Very satisfied with Route, only comment the finish was not as clear a couple times to find the Hotel location.

The guide needed to be more clear on the final route to hotels .

Heidi L.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
Austria, Germany

The route (along the Danube) was excellent - all paved, mostly with a view of the river and away from traffic. Markings were great and easy to follow.

We were provided with a lot of information (maps, routes, suggestions), but they were in separate books and materials. It would be helpful if they could be integrated more, or if we could have received more of the information ahead of time. It took us a couple of days to sort through the various pieces.

The best hotel was in St. Agatha. The best meals were at our hotel in Melk. Grein was a very cool town, with lots of art and theater. It was also very picturesque as we approached. The most beautiful site was the Abbey in Melk; the most meaningful was the Mauthausen Memorial. The biggest surprise was the swimming pool at our hotel in Krems. We loved the Wachau Valley, where we had vouchers for a bottle of wine and a tasting of liqueur. We also loved having the bikes available to explore Vienna, on the last day of our magical week.

Ann R.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The owners of the barge are on board and are involved in daily running of the ship. They made me feel like a guest in their home!

Shirley P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

Hotels varied. My daughter stayed at Hotel Krenn-- not great. Food in Rhein am Stein not good. Hotel St Leonard and Hotel Cholsteroff had the best food. The rides were fantastic, would say the last day was a bit boring and less scenic (especially the second half). Would have been nice to include the Rhine falls. Would love to do it again as there were many sights we didn't get to see! Loved the trip and have highly recommended it back home.

Julie M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Cologne
Netherlands, Germany

The trip was an awesome experience! Loved everything!

Rita D.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

EVERYTHING stands out! From the greeting & service by the staff, (Lydia/Denisa) the guide Jack, the Captain & Jontein who ran the whole enterprise, Merlijn. The food. Lovely ever-changing table settings, The ample, fresh cabins, fresh flowers, excellent bikes and super maintenance & care, knowledgeable, friendly guiding thru the towns, memorials, history of the area. Capable, expert, amazing,skill of the Captain thru the narrow canals & rivers. The homegrown entertainment. We are putting a deposit on '18. ('17 is BOOKED!)

Christopher P.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The Merlijn is a terrific vessel and the owners, Jantien & Henk and their staff are first rate.
Highly recommended.

Lisa W.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

Everything was great but it was our crew that made it so special.

C. Whytehead
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

A good combination of biking and seeing the sites along the way. Plenty of time in the cities (Nancy, Metz) to wander around. This trip was not about putting on the miles every day on the bike but a good balance of biking and site seeing. Easy biking along canal paths mostly. Our guide got turned around a couple of times getting out of the cities. Els and Sander were great hosts on the barge. Very friendly. Els cooked me a birthday dessert one day that we enjoyed with our group after a day of biking. It was very hot in July and the air movement in the rooms was limited. A small fan would have been very much appreciated. As it was we slept with our door open (as did the others) just to get more air circulation. The barge is in very good condition. The bikes were brand new this season. They are owned by Els and Sander and not leased through a secondary company so they were in good working order.

M. Linwood
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We found the boat comfortable and the staff really helpful and friendly. The trip was most relaxing and a good insight into the Danube countryside.

M. Mander
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The most memorable part: The staff on board the ship, our guide, the beautiful sights and most importantly the people we met in the countries we visited. They were warm, welcoming and really made you feel like a special visitor.

Mark Mander
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Started our tour July 17th. Things went smoothly after they had gotten the engine fixed which caused a change in our first days agenda. They really came through in making up for the inconvenience. Staff on the ship and Stephan our Rad and Reisen rep were great.

All in all it was an excellent vacation, very well organized. All the ships staff were friendly and willing to go that extra step to make it a great experience. The food was wonderful, accommodations great.

I thought our Rad and Reisen biking guide Hugo did an excellent job navigating our group from spot to spot. Despite having quite a large group( English, German and Dutch speaking) he was able to spend time with all of us making sure we had a great experience. He was very personable and got our group from point A to B safely, making sure we had time to see and experience the many special places communities along the Danube.

He even went above and beyond to make my experience extra special. Having MS Read More

L. Schmidlin
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Was a great trip. Boat and tour guide were outstanding. Some of the staff were a bit stand-offish, but within reason. Just didn't make you feel 100% welcomed all the time (made you feel more of a guest than family) but again, well within reason. Got lost a few times so perhaps the maps could be a bit more directed, but again, not bad. Overall, it was a great experience and I would highly recommend it. Thanks - Larry

D. Valkenaar
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Patria Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

The boat staff were outstanding! The boat dinners were outstanding! The boat breakfasts and lunches were just okay.

The biggest downside to the trip were the totally inadequate route guides. They were not written for new-to-the-route riders. On one hand, they assumed the user was familiar with the route and knew where they were going. On the other hand, they seemed to have been written by someone who had never ridden the route, who just looked at a paper (or electronic) map to write the guide.

Finally, the on-boat guides were of minimal help. While they seem to have ridden the route, they did not explain the complexities a new rider would encounter along the way. They did, however, explain the highlights to look for on each route.

With those two exceptions, the trip was wonderful! As for the most memorable, being dog people, we really liked having the captain's dogs on board.

D. Fish
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The trip was enjoyable. Only drawback was that follow along Moselle River, some of the scenery of the vineyards became boring after a while. On previous trips we traveled more inland, seeing sights and then meeting up with barge at next destination.