5 Star Belgium Tour Reviews — 181 to 210 of 507

4.8 out of 5

 


Pierre S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The two-week trip on the Zwaantje from Paris to Bruges was awesome! The crew of the ship and the tour guide were exceptional. The food, prepared by Frank, was consistently top-notch and interestingly varied day-to-day. Our guide, Geert, provided us with an excellent selection of sites, of which he had encyclopedic knowledge. The captain, Martijn, was also very engaging with the guests. Daily rides were easy to occasionally moderate, providing us with a satisfying riding experience. Almost all of the riding was in open country or small, rural towns, which we loved. However, riding in and out of the larger towns, while of necessity, did present some typical urban challenges to the bicyclists. Overall this trip is highly recommended. Pierre and Laurie

Pat M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The Bruges to Amsterdam BOAT-BIKE tour created memories that will last a lifetime! We really enjoyed the people we met. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. The guests were interesting and fun to get to know - we hope to keep in touch with several of the couples that we met. The cycling was at a good pace and the frequent breaks for coffee and regional treats added to the experience. We toured through a nice mix of historical sites and local neighborhoods. After cycling, arriving back at the boat to have a glass of wine while dinner was prepared was the ultimate in being pampered. We will definitely book another tour through Tripsite.

Joanne M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Brussels to Bruges
Belgium

"Taking a vacation aboard the new Magnifique III is a ""must do"" for cyclists in Europe. We received a warm welcome as soon as we arrived and we were invited to a walking tour of Brussels by our guide on the first day. When we returned to the ship for dinner, we were introduced to an amazing team of individuals who went out of their way to ensure our vacation experience was outstanding. The chef announced the menu enthusiastically each evening which we followed with applause as our palates drooled in anticipation. We were never disappointed as the dinners were fantastic. We even had a barbecue on the deck, one evening, with a tasty selection of chicken, sausage, steak, or shrimp available to us.
The competent tour guides led us through the sights of Belgium each day and gave us a host of valuable information. We all appreciated the option to join a slower group or a faster group of cyclists each day. The cycling was well paced with appropriate Read More

Kathleen S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

I broke my wrist while half way through the trip. Everyone was very kind and supported me to make sure I was included in most activities.

Diane F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Bike riding in Europe has been on my 'Bucket List' for many years and experiencing the Bike and Barge Tour on the Magnifique from Amsterdam to Bruges was perfect. The itinerary was varied and picturesque; things you never see when you go on typical tours of European countries. The bikes were comfortable and the rides offered the right amount of challenge for my first experience riding in Europe. The Barge was like a 5 star accommodation in your cabins and the common areas were perfect for relaxing and mingling with fellow travelers. The crew and guides Fred and Corrie were friendly, sincerely interested in you as a person, knowledgeable and very hard working. The food was delicious. I still marvel at how the chef prepared such high class meals in a small space and it was served to 30 passengers hot so we could all eat at the same time. I would recommend a Bike and Barge tour to anyone who wants to see Europe in a personal way. If I was to give a tip to people looking Read More

Janet J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Number of people was just right. Excellent choice for routes each day and enjoyed the end of day walks into the beautiful cities.

Roger S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We truly enjoyed our barge, tour guides, barge staff and biking tour through the Netherlands and Belgium. The best way to see a country is through the back roads and trails. We will be back for another bike and barge trip!

Gary F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

Great trip, great barge, well organized, a list of fellow passengers for each cabin would have been helpful from the start
Keep in mind the MPS Zwaantje does provide hairdryers for each cabin, provides WiFi- a truly upscale barge.

Steve S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The scenery - Bruges was like a storybook. The food - The chef on our barge went out of her way to accommodate my family’s vegan requirements, and she did it with style.

Ross M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Great experience, highly recommend this trip. You have made us bike and barge travelers TIP: Bruges to Amsterdam is with the wind recommend this direction.

Pauline J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

The crew of the Feniks, provided the most amazing experience. The food simple satisfying and enjoyable. Food fresh, tasty, and cooked well by the Nelje. Marius and Reinhold, provided amazing care of all our needs The accommodation small, efficient and clean. You always slept well. The guide Nina with her amazing knowledge showed us her secret places, backroads, canal paths, and bike paths. She encouraged all riders while challenging us beyond what we thought we could do. As a experience it exceeded my expectations. Looking for a different French/Belgium experience do this trip you never forget it. Will do another trip this way, and if possible on the Feniks...

Sue J.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The cycling, the food, and the crew were all amazing!!

Dylan Y.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Wow, such an amazing experience! Our tour was aboard the Zwaantje, traveling from Amsterdam to Bruges. I can not say enough about how fabulous the crew (Sam, Heather) and captain (Martijn) were. We also had an incredible chef (Frank), who spoiled us each day with amazing meals. We travelled with a barge full of friends and shared so many laughs a long the way. Our guide (Wieger) was very knowledgeable about every town we travelled through and was a pleasure to bike with each day. Such a wonderful way to see the countryside and experience the local charms of each city we visited. Loved our trip and we hope to experience another bike trip in the future. Zwaantje Bike and Barge Tour exceeded our expectations in every way.

Martin T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Since we returned from our trip, a few of us have been discussing another bike and barge trip but sadly we are not sure we would go again simply because it could never be as good as the one we just took. The captain and crew of the Zwaantje were amazing, the food was a ten out of ten and our bike guide was fantastic. There is no way this trip could be improved upon.

Mark E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We were lucky to be on board the beautiful boat Zwaantje. The Captain, Martin, our bike guide Weiger, 1st mate Sam, hostess Heather and cook extraordinaire Frank were absolutely the best you will ever get on a bike and barge trip. This small review does not do justice to the exceptional staff and food that was on this trip. All I can say is if you want a fantastic 5 star excursion of this kind, this is the boat to have it on. Again THANK-YOU to Captain Martin, bike guide Wieger, Heather, Sam, and the best cook in Europe, Frank for a once in a life time trip that my wife and I, along with the other 11 couples that we were with, will never forget. Trip of a life time!!

Neil V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Martin and the crew of the Zwaantje made our trip unforgettable, the food and service far exceeded our expectations. Weigier, our guide was informative and made the rides a lot of fun. Highly recommend the Amsterdam to Bruges tour, especially on the Zwaantje. Look forward to trying one of your other tours.

Herbert C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The quality of life in both Holland and Belgium, what a difference from Spain!!!

Jon T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Middelburg was the highlight for us - the town, our hotel, and the surrounding countryside were beautiful. Overall we had a great time on our bike trip. A few details:
- I had to reschedule our trip after initially booking. Tripsite staff were super helpful and I was relieved at how easy rebooking was.
- Our bikes didn't come with waterproof panniers, GPS, or a repair kit as promised. We got the repair kit and GPS at our third hotel but were bummed we never got the panniers
- Our original itinerary had a mistake that had us riding 100km miles the first day and 10km the second day. It was fixed after we pointed out the issue.
- The route was very pleasant and well-paced.

Pam B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Enjoyed the accommodations, crew was great, and cycling was easy . Looking at another Bike & Barge adventure!

Holly B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most memorable part? All of it. Loved everything about it. Loved the cities and biking through the beautiful bike trails and seeing the countryside.

Alice C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Loved the whole experience - the scenery, everything about the ship (comfort and food), and the people on the tour. The staff was outstanding the entire time. I had such a great time that I'll be doing another bike tour next year! This was my first, and the Magnifique II sets the bar so high that it'll be tough to meet, never mind beat, that! My suggestions are primarily around the bike itself, which could be better. It was really old and rusty in some places, and the gear indicator was so smudged that I couldn't tell which gear I was in. Also, was not convinced that the lowest gear on the bike was actually the lowest, as it felt harder than the 3rd gear on my bike. I had no previous experience with bikes with paddle brakes, so it took some getting used to, especially with starting and stopping, since I couldn't kick up the paddle on my starting foot to push off and mount. I'm very, very glad I brought my own saddle. I know the rental ones bothered at least one Read More

Kathy B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This was my first bike and barge trip and it won't be my last. The barge, staff and food were all excellent. The trail system in the Netherlands and Belgium was easy to follow and the countryside was beautiful. I'm ready to book my next trip.

Houry S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I loved the biking through the country roads and the small towns that we stopped at were awesome!! This trip allowed us to visit and see places that the average tourist doesn't experience. Loved it!! Can't wait for another trip.

Doug K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The staff on the barge were always very helpful and friendly.

Carol D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Absolutely stress free opportunity to experience real heart of Netherlands and Belgium. Really enjoyed meeting new like-minded tripping companions.

Yael U.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Three Country
Netherlands, Belgium, Germany

My third trip booked through Tripsite.com and my third wonderful summer of biking! Three years ago, We traveled through Provence Villages. Last year through Slovenia and Croatia, and this year through Three Counties - Netherland, Belgium and Germany. We have LOVED each of these explorations: countrysides, villages, forests, inns, seasides, agriculture, architecture and delicacies. The days were never dull, they were not too difficult, they filled us with a sense of peace and joy. We completed our trip in Europe excited to dream of where our next Tripsite adventure might take us!

Ron H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The staff on our Amsterdam to Bruges trip were all fantastic. Our cabin was a wonderful retreat at the end of the day. The cycling was easy even for someone who does not cycle. The one area where I could see some improvement was in the breakfast and lunch offerings. There was very little variety from day to day. Would have been nice to have some other options.

Suzanne D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Amsterdam to Bruges July 2018. We loved the whole aspect of cycling to meet our barge (our floating hotel) at the end of each day. The accommodations on the Sailing Home were great and the barge is a handsome one. Staff were friendly and relaxed but attentive and personable. Our cycling guide Karline was very competent and kindly took us into almost every town each night for a walking tour. Her historical knowledge of the areas in the Netherlends and Belgium we visited were an unexpected bonus. The food was great on board and most enjoyable. I will definitely recommend this trip to others.

Jackie S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Our guide, Geert, would take us on an after dinner historical walking tour of each town where we were staying the night. Geert was extremely knowledgeable about every place we went. Between all we saw during the day while we were biking, and the after dinner walking tour, we learned so much! If Geert is your guide, don't miss a minute of his walks!

Donna E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Really enjoyed the dedicated bike paths, the small villages/towns we stopped in for breaks. My only concern was the sometimes intermittent contact with the ship (cell service) and contingency plan should a participant become ill or injured or if the bike broke down.