5 star rated Germany Bike Tour Reviews 61 to 90 of 669

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Colin F. 6 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    This tour was very well organized and it was a fabulous trip. We did the self guided bicycle tour and it was was easy to follow the suggested cycling route. The tour director, Andreas, did an excellent job providing us with information every day about the cycling route and he made the trip flow smoothly. Our boat did not go to Bratislava because of the water level of the Danube, so we spent an extra day in Vienna. There was an optional bus trip to Bratislava for the afternoon.
    The scenery along the Danube was beautiful. We really enjoyed meeting interesting people from all over the world and socializing with them afterwards in the bar. Our tip: if you want to book a Tripsite tour, do it early because the rooms fill up fast. We waited too long and got the last room on the Theodor Körner, an eco bunk bed room.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Mosel and Saar
    by Randall O. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed everything about this tour - great accommodations on the Zwaan, wonderful meals, outstanding staff, and beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janice M. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Danube 4-Country bike and boat tour, Our ship the Carissima was very comfortable and the staff were great. The food was amazing- beautifully prepared and good variety for meat eaters and vegetarians alike. The bike trails were easy to follow for the most part and the scenery spectacular. We had so many memorable moments. One of the highlights were the bonds we formed with our fellow passengers. We got to meet some terrific people who became instant friends and who we will stay in touch with.
    My only suggestion would be to provide easier trail maps and directions. The briefings were helpful, but hard to remember all the details. Finding our way at times was a comedy of errors and we muddled through with other fellow riders. I guess all part of the experience.
    Overall an amazing trip and would highly recommend to others.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Teresa I. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling was a fantastic way to experience and travel threw the Czech Republic to Germany. A big thank you to our tour leader Vítek and his crew for taking such good care of the group.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by John C. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was a joy.

    Our guides Vee Tex, Harvel and Jara were both enthusiatic and knowledgable about the route, the landscape and the history.

    The accommodation on the trip was great, varying from a former manor house, country village hotels and more contemporary funky locations.

    My fellow cyclists were companionable and talkative with people from Canada, USA , Australia and Germany.

    The route was managable, and consisted of around 80-85% level/easy inclines along old toll paths or the old rail track, and usually 5-6 hours per day ranging from 25 to 50 klms per day.

    Highlights for me were Prague, Litmorvice, Terezina, the mountain hike to the stone bridge - (worth every upward step!), plus I spent two nights in Dresden - and encountered striking buildings, excellent food (think pork knuckle in dark beer), easy of movement through a well organised transport system.

    Would I recommend this trip? Yes, and if apprehensive about the length of the daily Read more… rides - there are e-bike available at reasonable prices, a boon for perhaps the less experienced and those allied to cycling devotees so they can join the fun.

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Suzanne F. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful with the steep vineyards on either side of the Moselle River. We loved the Quo Vadis boat and the staff were all so professional, yet friendly and fun. Cabins were nicely appointed and the food was delicious. It was also great to have the option to try out an e-bike for the day, even if you hadn't reserved one for the week. A memorable day was finishing off the cycle part to attend a wine tasting night at Leo Schwab's winery...very entertaining. I feel totally comfortable recommending this particular cycle trip to anyone who is interested. Thanks so much for this wonderful experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Christine A. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Self guiding our way along the Danube through amazing countryside.

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Jennifer S. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was perhaps the star of this trip with gorgeous views of vineyards and quaint villages all along the Mosel River. But also we had a wonderful group of staff on the Quo Vadis who were lots of fun and thought of every detail. Meals were amazing. This made this trip probably our favourite trip ever. We travel with a group of friends and have done several other barge and bike trips.
    The daily biking was longer than some other trips but most enjoyable with stops for points of history or picnics, coffee etc.
    It will be hard to improve on our Metz to Cochem experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Nancy B. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip was really wonderful. Being from North America, we don't have paved bicycle paths on both sides of our rivers, especially out in the coutnry side. As a result, I was just amazed at the fact of being able to ride beside the Mosel River through the vineyards and be able to soak in the atmosphere without having to worry about traffic or rough roads. The Quo Vadis was a treat. The cabins were a decent size, the crew was friendly, knowledgeable and lots of fun and the food, prepared in the relatively small galley, was fabulous. All that were highlights for me.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Darren B. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Touring on bike different areas of the Danube and meeting new people that were enjoying the same sites.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Debra N. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the arrival by night in Budapest! It was unexpectedly gorgeous with all the lighted bridges and buildings. Truly amazing. Fireworks were an unexpected highlight of the evening in Linz which just happened to have a celebration. Our third highlight was the last biking day through the Wachau Valley--such beautiful vineyards and small villages! One tip: bring a multi USB plug and more than one adaptor for use in the room.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Ida L. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Dancing the polka with local croatians. Thank goodness a fellow tripster took a video

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Maureen B. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of this trip to me was the Operetta symphony concert at Schlosspark in Vienna. This is an experience that no one should miss.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Scott A. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I would definitely recommend this tour. Hotels were all first class. Luggage was always at hotel no matter how early we arrived. No complaints on any part of the tour. We did use GPS on route which was helpful especially when trying to find hotels.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Chris S. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I just completed the 7 day tour and had a wonderful time. The cycle trail around Lake Constance is mostly dedicated bike trail and the many towns and villages are beautiful. We did side trips to both Reichenau and Mainau islands. Reichenau island is near the bike pickup location in Constance and is an easy warm-up ride. Mainau island is well worth a couple of hours. We used standard bike which were fine (we are both in our 60s) but most people seemed to have e-bikes. Highly recommend this tour.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jean B. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just returned from this trip on the Carissima and it was a wonderful way to see the Danube. Booked the guided package and Axle was wonderful-took us to out of the way places we never would've found on our own and no other guests saw. Glad we rented Ebikes as there were a few long climbs and stiff winds several times. Kalkoff bikes are fantastic! Light rain a few days but nothing which impeded our rides--just be sure and take waterproof everything so you can still bike. Crew on the Carissima are great--rooms are clean, beds comfy, sufficient air con, nice hot water and water pressure in the bathroom. No real TV except a European sports channel and a few other Austrian channels--we didn't miss it at all. Meals were good but VERY small portions at dinner--not a problem for us but others complained. House white wine was good, red not so much. Packed lunch consists of a bottle of water, small sandwiches, fruit and granola bars--sufficient but we opted to eat at a local cafe Read more… a few times when we stopped. Two complaints: the boat doesn't dock at town centers every night so you can wander around and hit a pub or listen to some live music. Understandably some nights its moving and a few guests complained that the lower deck cabins were very noisy, especially when going through locks. In Passau, it docks several miles from the town center, and we were told there were only SEVEN taxis in the entire city and nearly impossible to get one. So the cruise director, Albert, said he hired a bus to take us to the train station upon disembarking, and the charge was 15 Euros per person. For a 10 minute ride--he only took cash and gave no receipts. This is highway robbery given that upon arrival in Passau we hired a taxi at a cost of 10 Euro for 2 of us. We would've taken a chance on an Uber but the ship was over 30 minutes late getting into Passau and we had a tight train connection on Sunday. We didn't do any of the optional activities however others said they enjoyed the concert in Vienna, but no one liked the Hungarian Folk Show in Budapest. Be sure and hike up to St. Mattias Church in Budapest at night--the view is spectacular! Finally, the Danube shoreline is largely undeveloped (a great thing), so you don't see a lot of towns and villages-I mention this because lines like Viking and AMA promote their balconies,huge window walls and gyms/spas/etc-and charge thousands of dollars more for the same itinerary-but you're not ON the boat for about 8 hours of the day, and when you are, 90% of the time you're looking at trees. If we'd spent $5000/pp to do this trip we'd have been really disappointed--bottom line--this trip is a great VALUE and you're seeing what everyone else sees. This was our second trip with Tripsite after doing the Tulip Tour last spring, and again they handled everything flawlessly--another couple on our trip also booked with them and said the same. Very satisfied and looking forward to our Mantova to Venice bike and barge trip next year-

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Francine P. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a real memorable trip. Everybody in our group of 20 peoples loved it . Everything was great the cabin, the foods, the staff ,the entertainment and specially the bike ride . We had great bikes , the maps were good even the weather was hot and dry. We had a lot fun during the bike ride and when on board . Would love to do it again

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Douglas C. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything! The trip was very well planned and easily do-able. The bikes were great and were very comfortable. We had thought about bringing our gel seat covers, but did not and they were not needed. The routes planned were great and having downloaded the gps tracks we had no problems finding our way. The food on the boat was fantastic, my only complaint would be the length of time some meals took. The rooms on the boat (Carissima) were very comfortable.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Sheila S. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: How Saunder, Els, and Rola were all so committed to making sure we had a great trip with terrific cycling, fantastic food, and comfortable accommodations.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Pat L. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The last day of the beautiful rolling hills and gorgeous monastery on the hill and quaint historic towns along the way were the highlight of the trip.

    I loved Jan's presentations. He was very well prepared and his delivery was great. You should keep him doing that. However, his personal customer service leaves something to be desired. He had no patience for details that were not perfect.

    All guides except for one were exceptionally good. The one guide in Budapest was so bad we got our money back for the bike guide in the city.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gayl G. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Two wonderful ways to travel and see the world: on a bike and on the sun deck of a boat.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Donald K. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had such a wonderful time - The bikes were great, the accommodations were very good, and the total experience was just suburb! We were a large party of 14, but all was taken care off, and we had a great time - a trip of a life time!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Rhonda G. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This cycling tour was amazing. I would have to say the Rhine Falls were spectacular. Riding into the Stein am Rhein village was simply breathtaking. To see how people live and still live in this village was simply amazing

  • Aschaffenburg to Stuttgart
    by Arthur S. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great barge, good people, great guide and good food. The only thing missing was a good detailed map of where we were riding.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Germany

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Janet Zimmerman 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our week on the Quo Vadis was fantastic. The Captain,crew and cycling guides were all wonderful. The served up tasty, beautifully presented, filling and nutritious meals. Our cycling routes were interesting and fun. I’d do another trip on the Quo Vadis

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Therese Z. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband, son (16), nephew (17) and myself did the 7 day Lake Constance tour in Germany in August. It was an awesome experience from the booking, payment, tour, and hotels. We travelled from Canada and stayed in Zurich the night before tour. We took an Uber from Zurich to Lake Constance (approx 1 hour). The train was also available and the station in Lake Constance was directly across from our first night accommodation, Hotel Halm. The Hotel was quite nice with a beautiful dining room and incredible breakfast. All the hotels were clean, easy to ride to and had super friendly staff. We stayed in 3-5 star hotels as we wanted to be close to town centers.
    The bike tour itself was mostly flat with a few hills. You must pay close attention to bike signs as we got lost a few times. Even with this, it was easy to get back on track. My husband had google maps that showed bike routes. Although I am an avid road biker my family is not. They had no problem biking 40km to 65km Read more… (our longest day) without training.
    Our luggage was picked up around 9am everyday and was at the next Hotel each day before we arrived. We opted to eat our dinners on our own and did not include this in our tour. This was a good idea as it was nice to walk around the new towns and decide where we wanted to eat.
    Lake “Konstanz” “Bodensee” was beautiful. We road through cornfields, next to vineyards, near the lake, and had endless opportunities to find places to eat. The bikes have a nice pack on them to accommodate water, food, extra clothing, a lock that came with bike, and the map given to us before we began. The bikes were smooth to ride and the gears were just enough to bike the terrain (mostly paved). I would ask for a male bike the next time as I missed the crossbar across the top.
    I would certainly recommend this tour. There was just so much to see and bike and the tour was organized so well by Tripsite. I honestly have only good things to say.
    We were e-mailed 2020 tours and I was already eagerly looking at Bike and Barge tours. Make sure you book early as the tours do book quickly.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Amanda S. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best way to have a holiday - you do not have to think about logistics, unpack and enjoy:) The Carissima was awesome, our every need was taken care of - the staff were super friendly and the food amazing!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Peter B. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Easy riding in a beautiful settling with a great group spirit. The boat was very comfortable and clean and the staff made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. Would recommend to anyone to have a look at this trip to see if it will suit them, all the information on the site was reliable and the experience was really enjoyable.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Libby Stupak 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did the Cochem to Metz boat bike tour on the Quo Vadis August 3-10, 2019. The boat itself exceeded my expectation, as did the captain (owner of the boat), his family and the crew. Out bike guides, Ferry and John, were exceptional and so personal. Their knowledge of the area was great. I'm an avid biker for both recreation and commuting so the bike provided took a little getting used to. Also I'm quite short so could have used a bit smaller bike, but it worked out. Daily mileage was perfect which allowed us to see the sites and make stops. The food was fantastic, the scenery along the Mosel so beautiful. The stops we made each day were perfect and the time we were able to spend in Saarburg, Trier and Metz was great. I felt the attention paid to our having a great trip was exceptional. I booked my trip through Eurosail, and there were many blips in that process with that company, but in the end it all seemed to work out OK.

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Donna Martin 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on the Quo Vadis could not have been more accommodating,
    Helpful, or fun. Our two bicycling guides, Ferry and John, were excellent and went out of their way to make this trip enjoyable for all. I wholeheartedly recommend this boat
    and this trip.

PWPC