5 Star Germany Tour Reviews — 211 to 240 of 664

4.6 out of 5

 


Maria Tereza and Arturo
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This trip was much better than we expected. The service on the boat was one of the best we have experienced. The food was very good. The cabins confortable, very good shower. Good and very well adjusted bicycles. Precise information each day of biking. Scenery gorgeous. Completely safe even for children and older people. The cycling distances were appropriate for all. Very tasteful sandwiches for those who were biking. The cities we visited are amazing. Congratulations to the team working on Carissima.

Jenny B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

We had many memorable experiences! Starting in the beautiful city of Prague with it's history & culture, biking through the Czech republic was the best way to experience this wonderful country, meet the Czech people & appreciate the changing landscapes. We were extremely fortunate with brilliant sunshine for the entire tour. The side trips provided further insight into this amazing country. Arriving in Dresden & exploring the side streets away from the main tourist areas was also a bonus.

Valerie P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was a terrific trip. The scenery was outstanding and the bike trails were great fun. More biking would’ve been even better. The MS Arkona was a very nice ship, all recently remodeled and the staff all did a great job. I enjoyed all the breakfast choices. We would make our lunch at breakfast time to take with us for the day. Dinners were good but more salads would be a nice addition.
Our boat was unable to reach Budapest due to low water levels. We were however taken by bus to Budapest and enjoyed a city bus tour. It made for a long day but at least we were able to see some of the city. This gave us more time in Vienna and an opportunity for a really fun afternoon bike ride there. Our tour director gave us excellent instructions for this ride since it was not part of the original tour itinerary. It offered shorter and longer distances that seemed to meet everyone’s needs.
The directions in the map and narrative book were often lacking. I would Read More

David R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Hard to pick one part...The cycling and scenery each day was stunning. Vienna must be experienced. The staff and the food on the Arkona was outstanding.

Sherry
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Just completed the Prague to Dresden tour and am giving it 5 stars based on the overall experience, although I'm going to lead with some negatives. Our group size was 15. I had asked the question early on before booking about size and was told usually 10-12. With 2 guides and a support van we were able to divide on most days, as part of the group was habitually late. It was also an issue for lunches since a group of 15 slows things down for restaurant service. Our lunch stops often approached two hours. In addition, there were times that we were down one guide apparently due to overbooking issues, plus one unexpected issue with the overnight bike storage that caused a huge delay in the start the second day. That was the Terezin day, and while we got into town, the sites were already closed.
But now for the positive, this is a great ride on mostly good bike paths. If you are in any way concerned about hills, weather, trail conditions or stamina, I highly recommend an ebike. Read More

Pilar Parra
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Copenhagen
Denmark, Germany

Ha sido un tour fantástico. Hemos hecho la ruta desde Copenhague a Berlín, con unos paisajes increíbles, disfrutando de estupendos carriles bici. Es nuestro cuarto tour y esperamos continuar con un nuevo destino. Unas vacaciones inolvidables!!!
It was a fantastic tour. We have made the route from Copenhagen to Berlin, with incredible landscapes, enjoying great bike lanes. It is our fourth tour and we hope to continue with a new destination. An unforgettable vacation!!!

Randy M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Bamberg
Germany

Best part was picking grapes at the community Arbor along the route. Sharing with the entire group. Our guide led us to many quant and tasty coffee, beer, wine and pastry stops...

Bruce R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Bamberg
Germany

Most Memorable Part? Having a cold dark stout at a hillside restaurant with the whole biking crew while overlooking the Main River and vineyards on the hillside simply beautiful.

Michael S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

There were so many great memories, but I really loved the town of Melk and all the little towns in the Wachau area that we passed through our last day. It was like biking through fairy land. Fall is the perfect time for sampling the local new wines. And our guide, Regina, was tops!! Can’t imagine a better tour guide!

Cheryl H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Wonderful trip. Beautiful scenery and the boat staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Phyllis C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Very pleasant trip. The route included portions along the river as well as through picturesque villages, farmland, and vineyards. Daily mileage was perfect for us casual riders. The last day of riding through the Wachau area was the most enjoyable; we wish there would have been more time to explore the tasting rooms and shops in Dürnstein.
There was only a minor problem in communication with the tour director over the the time of an optional paid activity that several members of the group did not get to attend. I didn't feel the problem was addressed well.

Deirdre R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

Most Memorable Part? The biking, totally. It’s ok if your friend chooses not to ride, there are others en route who make it pleasant. The staff were overly attentive! So helpful

Lindsay Z.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

Biking the "Prague to Dresden - Tale of Two Rivers" trip was a very enjoyable experience. We enjoyed the lovely scenery and our hotels along the way. We liked biking at our own pace with our detailed route instructions. I have been highly recommending this trip since we returned home, and I can't wait to do another cycling adventure in the future.

Laura W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Along the Danube Four-Country tour far surpassed our expectations. The cabins on the MS Carissima are more spacious than large cruise ship cabins I've had in the past. The food was truly amazing, and the chef endeavored to offer the option of a dish native to the country we were in each night. The staff was wonderful and went above and beyond for us.

And then there was the scenery! It was simply breathtaking! The comfort bikes are appropriately named; so much so that I would love to buy one to replace the bike I have at home. Riding along the Danube was such a spectacular way to really get a feel for the country.

We had two people in our group who elected not to bicycle, for health reasons, and they loved the trip too. Apparently, relaxing with a drink on the sun deck was another very pleasurable way to see things.

I highly recommend this trip!

Bob T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Mosel & Saar
Germany

The opportunity to experience rural Germany close up was awesome and made even better with the efforts of our guide and crew.

Kathryn G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a great time. The bike rides were so much fun with ferry rides and beautiful scenery. The staff on board were excellent. Food, OMG, it was fabulous and served so elegantly. They very graciously accommodated my gluten sensitivity. And we had two great parties. I have recommended this trip to many friends. What a great way to see the country.

Jennifer G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We had a wonderful time on the bike/boat on the Danube.
The guide Axel was terrific. He took us to some out of the way places. He offered suggestions. The ride was scenic and easy to ride. 90% if the bike paths were paved which made riding easy. The bicycle crew was awesome. The bike were lined up and ready to go each morning.
The accommodation and food exceeded my expectation. Rooms were clean but walls between rooms are thin.
We will definitely do another trip with Tripsite.

Dale K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

We biked the Danube, 7 days departing Passau and had one of the best weeks ever. Our cabin was beyond what we expected and very comfortable. The tour director gave us great information for our following days cycle. The dining both breakfast and dinner couldn't be faulted.
A peaceful, relaxing week, where we only had to think about the experience.

Anita G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The MS Arkona was a lovely ship, very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately The Danube River was low and we were bus to Budapest where we had a nice tour. The biking on the trip was scenic, and a lot of fun. Due to a change in itinerary we were shorted a day of biking but that was out of anyone’s control. The bikes could have been newer because they were not operating at their best.
My e bike was wonderful but was grinding gears quite often.
The food on the ship could have been better. Breakfast could have had more fresh fruit, granola, oatmeal with other breakfast specialties. The dinners lacked fresh salads. My favorite meal was when we were on the boat for lunch one day and had a fresh salad bar with soup and pasta.
The tour guide on the boat could have been more communicative and answered questions more readily. The explanation of the bike riding should have included an overview map of the riding from point A to point B everyday.
Overall the trip was good and the weather conditions with the Danube were out of the tour company’s control. The biking that we did do was spectacular!

Greg T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Patria Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

Relaxing, easy route coupled with comfortable boat made for a memorable trip.

Lisa S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Mainz
Germany

We were on the Merlijn from Merzig to Mainz; biking along the Mosell and Rhine Rivers. We biked through vineyards, sunflower fields and picturesque, quaint towns. This was our fifth bike and barge tour booked through Tripsite and we are looking forward to the next.

Bruce & Dianna Reynolds
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Mainz to Bamberg
Germany

We just completed this tour and had a great time. Jantien prepared some amazing meals for all of us and went out of her way to help any guest who may have a question,a problem, a dietary concern or any other matter. At night after all her chores were done she would sit down with us and join in with a glass of wine to talk about the days bike tour. Henk, our captain, crew Klara and Ahmed always had a smile on their face , kept the boat spotless, ready with a glass of wine or beer after a day of biking and just nice people. Finally our guide Lia, she was one of us. Whether it was talking about a certain Benedictine Abbey, sampling barley at a brewery or adjusting a bike seat she was special.

Bonnie W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes
Germany

Be adventurous and try a self-guided trip in Germany. You'll enjoy beautiful scenery, lakes warm enough to swim in and charming Bavarian towns. The routes are well marked. If you enjoy cycling at your own pace, this is the trip for you.

Pat C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Mainz
Germany

This is a must trip for anyone who embraces the Bike and Barge experience with a small group. The Merlijn is an extremely well managed boat with the owners attending to every detail in a friendly and caring manor. This trip checks off all the boxes, good food and drink, comfortable accommodation and arguably some of the most beautiful scenery in Europe. My only suggest is to book it early as it fills up quickly and in particular on this boat.

Vincent D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Baltic Sea
Germany

The Baltic Sea cycle was one of our best cycle experiences with magnificent forest, sea and landscape. Tripsite took care of everything including The Weather. It was the German Riviera with the most beautiful towns in which we stayed from Lubeck to Stralsund.
Thank you Tripsite and your wonderful staff.

George P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Mosel & Saar
Germany

The scenery was gorgeous, there were quaint little towns around every bend of the Saar and Mosel rivers. Our bike guide was excellent and very knowledgeable about the areas we were at. The food was plentiful and dinners were way above average. Great tour!

Dan C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Best part? The cycling along the Wachau valley

Lois K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The entire trip was greater than expected! The staff bent over backwards to accommodate. The gorgeous Danube!

Lori C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I adored the trip from start to finish. The scenery, the towns and cities and of course seeing everything by bike. I met wonderful people who share a love of travel and adventure. The only problem with the trip was the tour leader. He was condescending and rude to several guests. The rest of the staff was phenomenal. I would do this trip again tomorrow.

Gail W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Arkona Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Bike Boat 4 countries Germany, Austria, Slovakia and Hungary - most memorable part of the trip was experiencing the Danube River up close; boat was comfortable and so smooth sometimes I had to look out the window to see if we were moving