4 star rated Germany Bike Tour Reviews 61 to 90 of 125

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Susan W. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat was well maintained. Beds were comfy for bunks. Our cabin [#9] had huge bathroom. With the hot Aug temps, a fan would have been appreciated. Bring a small personal 4" or 6" USB fan if you can find the space in your luggage. A small soaking pool on the deck was a welcome relief from the heat.

    Meals were basic, but tasty and filling. Els did a nice job of accommodating my dietary restrictions. Ample cooler filtered water was available on the boat - remember your water bottle. Lunches were packed in zip lock baggies. Bring your own insulated lunch bag / Tupperware to keep your lunch fresher.

    GIANT bike were like new and well maintained. I was disappointed we could not use the bikes during the city stops that were part of the day trips or after dinner when we returned to the barge. Even though the bikes have locks, Sander and Els don't allow this to minimize theft risk. Besides my husband and I, all participants were in there mid-60s to mid-70s and didn't seem to mind.

    Our guide, Weiger, did an outstanding job of leading our daily tour as well as guiding us through the cities we were docked in at night. He managed the multiple languages within our group with ease. The participants on our trip were German [6], Spanish [3], Austrailian [2] and American [2-us]. By the end of the week, our group had bonded even though our shared vocabulary was easily less than 50 words!

    The countryside between Thionville and Wasserbillig was very beautiful and what I had envisioned - river and hills covered with vinyards. The other days were nice paved bike trail with the river on one side and trees on the other. I could have taken a picture and convinced friends that I was still in the US Midwest. I guess that is why there are so many French and Germans in Wisconsin and Iowa! I think I would have preferred more time off of the trail and in the countryside, but perhaps if we did do that, the car traffic would cause me to have a different opinion. Certainly the cities we stopped in were old and had a quaint European feel.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: France, Germany, Luxembourg

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Pat L. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part was Day 6 Rossatz - Pochlarn was the most scenic part of the trail. Magical small villages - wish the whole route could have been like this. Most of the trail was uneventful, some of the trail was in poor shape and rough riding.
    Unfortunately, there was a language barrier between the Americans and the tour guide, so instructions were not always clear, and we needed to fend for ourselves most of the time. Certain sections of map were confusing and trail was not well marked. We made it though, and enjoyed the adventure!
    Beautiful cities and villages to visit - wish we would have had more time to explore! All in all very good trail ride and good trip!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Mark G. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall a great trip and experience. The Mosel exceeded my expectations.
    Collaborative and friendly staff; very good chef, very good captain and crew. Host was efficient but not overly friendly. Bike tour guide was ok but not very organized.

    Countries: France, Luxembourg, Germany

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Sinéad D. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was my 4th cycling holiday but this year the quality of bikes was poor, only had 7 gears, had 21 gears every other year and did not like the back pedal brake.

    Most memorable part was Stein am Rhein, and also liked the fact we could stop cycling and jump into the lake whenever we wanted.

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by Robin V. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Fantastic dinners & wonderful guide, captain, staff!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by Susan B. 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the Netherlands countryside. Beautiful flowers and farmland and great trails.
    Also the friendly and professional staff.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Magdeburg to Berlin
    by K. Macwilliams 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a lovely time. The barge and entire crew were wonderful. We were very disappointed with the bike guide though. She was not at all knowledgeable with her directions and we many times retraced steps on the bike. We feel we could have seen much more but her choices for stops were terrible. We would spend way too much time at a stop when we could have been seeing a lovely park nearby. Her choices for stops were not well planned out and some were just very disappointing. The captain, in our opinion should consider another guide for this trip. There is much to see in this area and easily done so on a bike. The guide was not good with directions and perhaps a bit more planning on her part would have made it a far more enjoyable trip. Berlin and the surrounding ares are beautiful and offer a wealth of history to be seen. We have taken other bike and barge trips and honestly, the guide truly is the person that makes or breaks the trip.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV (no longer available)
    by R. Kocher 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery between Passau and Vienna was the most memorable part of the trip, even when we were away from the Danube. Beautiful.

    The reason I gave the first question a 4 out of 5 is because the daily rides were long enough that it was hard (tiring) to get back out in the evenings to see the local sites or to see some of the sites along the way. That was probably also a result of trying to coordinate and corral too many people (9 on our trip) to get things done in a timely manner. I suspect the 10-day option for this trip might have been better for us.

    Regarding route and description guides, sometimes it was a little too much to remember to coordinate the route book, the additional instructions in the travel documents (voucher) book, and Rad & Reisen's Travel Information book, not to mention the daily itinerary in the literature advertising this trip. In fact, the worst mistake we made was the worst one we could have made: ignoring the instructions to take the van transfer from Grein to Gasthof zum Aigner Kreuz, Bad Kreuzen to avoid very steep inclines. However, some of the literature given to us suggested we go to Klam Castle (a good way up the incline to Bad Kreuzen), which was not on the way to Grein, and that is what we did.

    I've now taken 5 bike trips in Europe: 2 using hotels, 3 using boats/barges. Barges are easier: you only have to unpack and repack once while riding.

    Thank you for all your help putting this trip together. Overall, it was a great experience.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by M. Collins 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat was not in location we were told it would be. But once there the boat was good. The tour guide didn't seem to know the route as well as he should have. The directions on the maps could have been a lot better But we did have a great time but would recommend a different route next time.

    Tripsite was great. Would highly recommend booking with them.

    Boat: My Story

  • Dresden to Magdeburg
    by C. Thompson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Some of the directions from the bike path to the hotel were not great. In 2 cases, when hotel was far from bike path, it was only with GPS in our phone that we were able to find our way. Loved having the meal plan where possible. Thanks for setting that up.

    Countries: Germany

  • Southern Alsace
    by K. Hagan 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is our third trip with Tripsite and this was our least favorite so far. The scenery was not particularly stunning and in France we were on more roads than we would have preferred. We also stayed in larger cities such as Basel and Freiburg than in previous trips. It is a personal preference, but we prefer the smaller towns such as the ones we encountered on our trip from Amsterdam to Brugge and from Prague to Dresden.

    On the positive front, the lodging and equipment were the best that we have had from the three trips. The hotels were quite nice and truly were 4 star accommodations. The bikes had cushy seats and comfortable handlebars. Even the panniers were a step up with easy snap on and off functionality and very good water proofing.

    We enjoyed the trip and it was high quality as we have enjoyed with Tripsite. The scenery just wasn't as nice and that's why we rank this as our least favorite of our trips so far. Have no fear, we will go again next year and are already looking at the Barcelona/Girona trip. We love working with Tripsite and will be long-term customers!

    Countries: Switzerland, Germany, France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by S. Burwell 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The plan changed from recommending biking in Budapest...to it not being recommended - and therefore no briefing/description of the route was provided. While the stickers on signposts helped to guide the way, the book could have been more fully annotated. The boat was too full, there were not enough dishes for all passengers, dinner took 3 hours (2 hours too long). Bikes were generally in good repair and available when promised. Although the food was very good, bottled water was not provided every day as contracted.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by R. Bass 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a problem with sewage odor in our room - which they boat crew was unable to fix - Also room was hot and we had to use a fan. When we complained to Rad and Reisen about the temperature they denied that the AC was not working. We complained to Rad and Reisen and they issued us a 10% refund which Tripsite matched. We appreciated your concern attentiveness to these problems and you willingness to offer some compensation.

    Despite these problems, overall the trip was great - good people, great rides and beautiful scenery and points of interest. We would definately book another trip with your company, but not with Rad and Reisen.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by K. Sattler 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Only thing missing was quality wifi on the boat. The trip more than met our expectations

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by E. Heide 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We would have like more written details of the areas we were seeing. We also would have liked a stronger wifi connection. Food and service was excellent.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vivien Watts 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Overall great trip, really loved it. Did feel the duration and arrival time in Vienna was disappointingly limited - nowhere near long enough to see sufficient in daylight hours.

    Unfortunately one major problem became apparent. The tour director was charming and affable when presenting to an audience, but his manner often vacillated (changed) when talking with individuals. On many occasions he was rude and dismissive, including sometimes making derogattory comments. Due to his public persona (welcoming and friendly), I was really shocked by this. At times he gave the impression that he was putting on an act, that he really did not like or enjoy his job and the guests were an infuriating annoyance to him. Even allowing for tiredness and stress, I do not think there is any excuse for rudeness to friendly (and paying) customers. I was not the only one to observe his changeable attitude or bear the brunt of his dismissive rudeness. As it wasn't possible to pick what his response would be (ie positive or negative), I only spoke to him when spoken to. I shudder to think of his treatment of the genuinely lovely and diligent cleaners and kitchen staff. Perhaps it's time for Leslie to retire.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah Waldo 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Food was not we are accustomed to on trips of this type.

    Boat: My Story

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Chris Pavich 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    One problem became evident at the time of the one significant incident when one client while riding her bicycle down a sloping gravel road ineptly/incorrectly applied her front brake only, and somersaulted, leading to a serious leg injury. The group problem as far as I am concerned was only the lack of easy communication between the cycle group leader and the last riders in the group. The designated last rider needs a device such as a small UHF transceiver, or where mobile phone coverage is a certainty a tested/checked cellphone link, to be able to immediately alert the leader of any problems behind.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Hazem Zayed 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a great trip very well organized the team is very supportive, will definitely repeat with my wife and kids I enjoyed big time.

  • Berlin to Copenhagen
    by Caroline Thompson 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We have taken European trips put together by Pack and Pedal Europe for 12 years and will continue to do so every summer as long as possible. They are always wonderful. I cannot think of any bad experience. I always like the hotels, and their prices are extremely reasonable, a tremendous value! I highly recommend this company for bike trips.

    Countries: Denmark, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve VanderWeide 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We did have rain quite a few days on her trip. But we were prepared and so we wore our raingear. Our guide Pieter, was very good at watching the weather and getting us inside or out of the rain if he could

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia Scullin 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    There was a chemical odor in the hallway outside our room, and the food was not good.

    Boat: My Story

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Eileen Biggs 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We were pretty unlucky with the weather. Exciting trip in spite of that

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ronald Allard 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Was not always easy to "stay on course" on the bike tours. Directions and/or course markings could have been better.

    Boat: My Story

  • Berlin to Stralsund
    by Virginia Cullen 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Have taken several trips with Tripsite......not one of my favorites. Biking wasn't as interesting as many of the other trips you represent.

    Boat: Princess

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Carol Reimann 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Awesome experience! Can't wait to plan my next adventure with you.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve Slinkard 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Guides should have provided a little more detail (distance between turns, landmarks, areas to pay extra attention, etc)

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gail Black 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I enjoyed staying put at night better than the barge moving at night. We have done both and I enjoy walking around in the evening.I also would not have so many ferry crossings in the next trip. Puts a time factor in the ride.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kristi Sinkus 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    AC did not work
    BargeBoat needed updating
    Crew was accommodating
    but moody
    Overall my biking experience was terrific!"

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Anne Gilbert 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This trip is for the person who does not want any surprises. There was nothing wrong with the food or the bikes or the staff. However there was also no sense of discovery, as every detail of your day was planned out for you, what to order when you stopped for lunch at the only place recommended, what sights to see in the cities, etc. I personally like to explore along the way and take my time in the countryside. This is the only Tripsite trip I have taken that has left me feeling a bit let down, and I have taken several.

    Boat: My Story

PWPC