4 star rated Germany Bike Tour Reviews 91 to 120 of 125

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
    by Joseph Paladino 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A great trip overall and a good value. I would've preferred an upcharge option for better hotels. The downside was the directions book, though well made and attractive, it was not helpful or practical. I found it was much easier to follow the road signs and ignore the book. Also, the book needs to point out attractions and diversions and points of interest. People are coming from all over the world to see this one particular area, it is so important to know what there is to explore in the countryside rather than just following the route.

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra Dusseault 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The guide was awful. We would only stop when he wanted to, and that was on the side of the path so that he could have a cigarette. When we suggested a stop in a small village, or somewhere interesting, he would say no. When I told him that I was going to go ahead on my own, he spoke to me like I was a child, telling me I was to stay with the group. The route descriptions in the evening were excellent...the main guide was fantastic, it was just the guide that we paid extra for that soured our trip.
    The boat was great, the staff was phenomenal. Our rooms were really good, an incredibly clean.

    Boat: My Story

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Thomas Rorabaugh 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We enjoyed the trip but felt our guide could have provided more detail on points of interest along the way.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by John Heinze 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our guide was ok but I've had better ones on previous trips. It was a lot of going through the motions since he had done 15-20 trips prior to ours it was maybe a case of being burned out. A bit more interaction on where we were going and what we were seeing would have been nice. Overall trip was top notch though as usual.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joseph Rine 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Boat and staff were fantastic. Daily rides were good, but routes could have been better. The Devlin loop circled us around several gravel dikes for about 10 miles. Trails were rough and not well marked. But there were miles of great bike paths along the Danube that we motored past on the boat....

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan Joe 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Would have been nice to have a guide but our trip was the last of the season so no guide was available.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diana Collins 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Even with the age of the boat (1970's!!), we totally enjoyed the cruise. The staff was great and the food was wonderful. The bikes were comfortable and in good repair.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brent McLean 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Would be nice to sit with other people at meals. Everyone was great and it felt like we were on a camping trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Charles Coggins 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Excellent staff, excellent food. Very professional.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janet Creighton 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything was great. The only thing we didn't like was the guide we had for our guided tour. All other staff were fantastic.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lois Farmer 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    At times the trip leading gave incomplete information regarding routes, detours and conditions although the German speaking people received better information - he should use a specific outline when giving such information to be sure it is complete.

    The food was great except for the Wiener Schnitzel which was not interesting at all. A real disappointment in fact. (I have traveled to Austria often and know a less than impressive meal when I receive it.)

    I had booked an extra night in Passau but could not use it due to airline delays. I called Tripsite which could not reimburse me, which I understand. However, I have twice requested a statement from them that I cannot be reimbursed so that I can use it for my trip insurance - I still have not received it.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Mainz to Basel (no longer available)
    by Linda Callard 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat was great and we all got the cabins we were hoping for – the food was really good. The girls commented that they weren’t expecting the food to be as good as it was.
    • The biking was as easy as we expected, I didn’t like the bikes as much as the bikes we had on the Danube the year before but the bikes were exactly what they said on the web-site. Pretty well all the trails were paved – makes it hard to come back to PEI trails!
    • Apparently we weren’t on as pretty a section of the Rhine as we could have been but we saw some great scenery and little villages were so clean, friendly and relatively easy to get around. The crew said they didn’t like this route because it wasn’t as scenic and not as many places to stop. Apparently, they are not going to do the same route next year.
    • I don’t think the tour itself was quite as well run as the one on MV Story on Danube IN 2014. I didn’t think the tour guide this year gave nearly as good instructions as the previous year and often it was difficult to figure out exactly which trail to take. The book with maps had a number of errors but guy said that would be fixed. I think they were some translations errors as well.. Last year, the tour guide always biked the route (he would wait until boat left so was always behind us and we knew he’d catch up). This guy said he was always behind us but we only saw him once and very briefly. He didn’t give suggestions of places to eat etc like they did last year. We always found good spots so that was not an issue but not because he provided suggestions. In 2014 the directions were very very clear and the company put arrows on the sign posts to show the directions. That was very helpful but non of that happened this year 2015. Maybe if they had continued the tour they would have done that as well.
    • The directions we got for where the boat was docked in Basel were wrong – the directions said to go to West side and that was where the boat was always docked!! Well, it wasn’t there it was on the east side. Thankfully when it wasn’t where it was expected to be, the cab driver knew where it “probably” was. We did NOT feel the cabby took advantage of us as a few other couples has same issue and one of them had taken a bus to the dock!!. Tripsite was very responsive when we explained this and you were very generous in reimbursing us for cab fares (should have been 21 E per cab but was 54E per cab). I saw the meter and he only charged us what the meter said, plus he turned meter off a couple of times. We did give him tip. We took 2 cabs for the 6 of us and they followed each other so we all had same issue.
    • We would absolutely go on another Tripsite trip and we all had a great time – just wanted to give you the feedback. If asked, I would recommend the Danube over this section of the Rhine. I would however try a different section of the Rhine and we may look at Holland another year.

    Boat: MS Andante

    Countries: Germany, Switzerland, France

  • Four Country Tour
    by Thomas Brandt 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Some hotels were too far from the center of the city. Directions need more detail, such as recommendations for lunch or rest stops, and places where you might want to bike on the road rather than a gravel or hilly bike route. Detailed maps of town and cities would be good.

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Robb Mary 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We were switched to the Mosel at the last minute and apparently our guide didn't feel the need to learn much about this route. He was less than helpful and in a few cases gave wrong information that cost some individuals time and energy.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Sharon Cratsenberg 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Perfect weather, gorgeous scenery, wonderful riding--loved every minute of the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by John Bowyer 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wonderful trip along the Danube. If you are biker you will find the bikes lacking. My wife with her spinal cord injury used an electric assist which worked very well.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Barbara Berling 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the trip and the Merlijn. Hoping to do another tour in 2017.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Prague to Dresden (no longer available)
    by Mei Regan 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We were told the distances we would ride each day but these did not match the GPS we were given. Each day was longer and harder than we were led to believe. You need to make it clear that the ride is not for beginners as there are many hills and long distances most days. I would rate this as a medium ride, not an easy/medium ride. Our group could not complete the ride as it was too hot.

    Countries: Czech Republic, Germany

  • Mainz to Basel (no longer available)
    by Susan Miller 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The guide was not well prepared with maps and the boat kept changing docking locations. The Rhine is very industrial from Basel to Mainz. The rides were not very interesting or long. It was not one of your better offers.

    Boat: MS Andante

    Countries: Germany, Switzerland, France

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Sabina Zutter 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I ordered an electrical bike and found it VERY TOP heavy, causing me to take a fall and injure my hip.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan Knight 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Amazing scenery, great company, delicious food, kind staff and somewhere comfy to sleep - with no unpacking! However,the crux of these trips stems from the quality of the guides. Our first trip, to Vienna, Had a guide that knew the route well, but smoked at every stop, and wanted to always eat dinner at somewhere he could buy alcohol; we preferred to eat our rolls in the fresh air, which sometimes was tricky. He tended to ride off without checking we were all ready, leaving riders behind until someone caught him. Our second trip (Merzig to Koblenz) had a lady guide who was not at all familiar with the area, but used her GPS to locate landmarks and routes (sometimes taking the shortest, not the most scenic). She didn't give an initial safety talk, she changed the route from the easy one offered to a more scenic but quite difficult one, causing one older, inexperienced lady to fall (end of trip for her and her husband,, hospitalisation for almost a fortnight, skingraft). Our replacement guide tried hard, but couldn't seem to match the route to the one we'd booked, so we missed seeing things we'd looked forward to. So our last trip, Koblenz to Amsterdam, was not one we would recommend unless they sorted the route out. Apart from the above, we'd recommend this mode of travel.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Lois Requist 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The guides are young and very athletic. People who sign up for this level of bicycling aren't usually top bikers, unless they are doing it to be with friends or spouse. I think a bit more thought could be put into the introductory ride the first day, bridge crossings, sudden merging into traffic, sudden turns to go steeply uphill. I've done much longer bike rides, but at this age, I didn't want that much challenge.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: France, Luxembourg, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joyce Lear 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I thought we would bike every day, not a problem, but it would have been nice to know.

    Boat: My Story

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Erin O'Conner 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wonderful trip. Great descriptive guide book. Look forward to another trip soon.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Anne Gilbert 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I had a good time on this trip, however, there was not enough time on the bicycle. As well, compared to the other biking trips we have taken, this one was very dependent on time. We did not have all day to get to the next spot. I felt rushed on three of the days, and we only biked on four. Also you lose the sense of discovery when every spot is picked out for you ahead of time, as to where to eat, shop, etc. The cruise staff were wonderful, but it seems to me that they think people only want to see cities, whereas I love the countryside and the villages. I would not do a combined boat and bike again.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan Viggiano 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Great way to do an active vacation. Will definitely book again!!

    Boat: My Story

  • Mainz to Basel (no longer available)
    by Anna Zdancewicz 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat itself is nothing remarkable, but quite comfortable and clean. The staff was amazingly friendly. Route descriptions were sparse in some sections so there was some guessing involved. The maps themselves didn't have any road names on them if you did get lost they were of no use. We honestly didn't rely on the maps/route descriptions as much as the info from our daily meetings with the tour guide. There were good and bad days as far as scenery on the rides, a few days were pretty boring with not a lot to look at, while others were quite beautiful. We docked within walking distance to town on all days except one (where you had the option of one lonely restaurant). On board you are provided with maps and flyers for each overnight town. The bikes were super heavy and cumbersome (not bikes I am used to) but this is the norm in Europe. The food on board was excellent. I would recommend this trip as I know the routes are being reviewed and descriptions/maps updated.

    Boat: MS Andante

    Countries: Germany, Switzerland, France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janet Humphrey 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    They need to provide better maps or route sheets. Manager of the boat (Peter) was very unfriendly and sometimes rude.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Robert Vinton 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Food was only average. Breakfast buffet was good, but the dinners were mixed. If you could find a way to upgrade the dinners, that would be great and worth more money. For biking trips, given it is a healthy, active crowd, even more healthy meal preparations would likely be welcomed. We did appreciate the vegetarian options though Vegan would also be nice. Overall a wonderful trip though, we enjoyed it very much.

    Boat: My Story

  • Mainz to Basel (no longer available)
    by David Miller 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Garrit, our bike tour leader, was a novice on this route as well as a poor communicator to the english speaking clients. The docking area changed at each stop from the printed instructions, and the maps and turn-by-turn instructions were only partly correct! Everyone got lost at some point in the trip!! I had asked for GPS routing for my bike Garmin GPS but was told the route was to new and that it was not available! I think some accurate preparation would have made the trip more pleasant.
    Second - the route along the Rhine is not scenic (as on the Danube) with few small towns to stop and look/snack on the way. The most notable sights were gravel pits and cement manufacturing. Of course, that is not the fault of the tour operator, however, they should have provided a detailed description of the small towns on the way (although not on the river) to give us the option of exploring the interesting ones and forgetting about the towns with 3 streets and no interesting sights.

    Boat: MS Andante

    Countries: Germany, Switzerland, France

PWPC