Germany Bike Tour Reviews 361 to 390 of 1032

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Wendy T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The beauty & grandeur of the Danube...and the ability to enjoy this while riding a bike!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Earl W. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Best part of the trip was bicycling through the scenic Wachau wine region. The views of the Danube River and vineyards were magical. Views like you see in PBS commercials for Viking cruises. Bratislava was the most pleasant surprise. A beautiful city with an active cafe culture that is not as big and intimidating as Vienna.

    If you are unsure of your bicycling skills consider the hop-on hop-off tour option for Vienna instead of the bicycle tour. The crowds and heavy traffic make the bicycle tour slightly treacherous.

    The hardest bicycling day ironically was the first day with steep hills up to the Mauthausen concentration camp and the Clam Castle both of which were worth seeing. If you question whether you are in good enough physical condition for this trip rent the electric bikes, they make a huge difference.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I would highly recommend this trip. The food was fantastic. The rooms were of a good size and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cycle route were scenic and enjoyable. I would definitely do another.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Three Country
    by Yael U. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My third trip booked through Tripsite.com and my third wonderful summer of biking! Three years ago, We traveled through Provence Villages. Last year through Slovenia and Croatia, and this year through Three Counties - Netherland, Belgium and Germany. We have LOVED each of these explorations: countrysides, villages, forests, inns, seasides, agriculture, architecture and delicacies. The days were never dull, they were not too difficult, they filled us with a sense of peace and joy. We completed our trip in Europe excited to dream of where our next Tripsite adventure might take us!

  • Mainz to Cologne
    by Louise M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved our bike and barge tour from Mainz to Cologne. The food was great, the scenery amazing! Biking is the perfect way to appreciate the environment in a relaxed way and truly immerse yourself in the experience. Two suggestions - have the tour briefings in the evening between Entree and Main course (it was a pain having to wait til 9am in the morning when we are early risers) and have branded reusable water bottles that can be filled up at water stations each day (instead of contributing to plastic bottle waste). Thank you.

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna aboard the Primadonna
    by Janet C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding along the Danube river was fantastic! We loved all the port cities and the scenery was picturesque. Our favorite memory of the trip was being able to explore on our own each day. Guiding ourselves on the daily rides was challenging but very rewarding. Usually we saw our fellow shipmates along the way and had lunch companions for our daily Danube picnics!

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Paul H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What an unforgettable trip! We were able to take our 75 year old dad and he cycled the whole thing easily. The touring days in the cities were full, overwhelming, and inspiring for someone who's never seen the rich history of Europe. Cruising down the river while eating a 4 course dinner was a perfect finish to cycling though forests and orchards all day. It was a perfect combination of cycling, cruising, relaxing and sight seeing. I would recommend it to anyone!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Paula H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip provides a chance to explore the rural areas along the Danube by bike and to visit the great cities of Budapest and Vienna. There is a lot packed into this trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sherry D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a perfect way to spend a holiday. The food was AMAZING! The staff was personable, kind, and so very efficient with all they do. I was pleasantly surprised with all the paved bike paths and the number of cyclists out traveling on vacation. It was inspirational to interact with them along the way. Thank you, Normandie and staff. We had a fantastic time!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Brad C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Prague to Dresden bike ride was an amazing vacation. Everyday there were beautiful sites and scenery that made the journey a really memorable trip. Each night we lodged in picturesque towns along the route and always near the city square where we enjoyed great dining and sightseeing. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a really unique biking vacation in the heart of Europe.

  • Berlin to Malchin
    by Nancy B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of our bike and barge trip from Malchin to Berlin was the day we biked on the Isle of Usedom. The landscape was beautiful, the beach front area was full of interesting shops and restaurants where we ate spaghetti ice, a childhood favorite treat of my husband. He has waited years to share this moment with our kids. We topped off the day with a swim in the Baltic Sea which was full of big waves and surrounded by soft, white sand.

    Countries: Germany, Poland

    • Berlin to Malchin
      by sandy 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Nancy
      Thank you for your review. I went on a tour from Amsterdam to Brugges.
      It was rated EASY and was NOT because some days the biking was
      40 miles on fat tire bikes. I cannot get an explanation as to why this trip has an easy/moderate rating? Are there long hills??
      I'm debating if I should go and if I do rent and e-bike.
      I do hope to hear from you
      Sandy

      Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Berlin to Malchin
    by Kathryn H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    One of my favorite parts of the trip was jumping off the boat into the canal. It was the end of a long, fun day of bike riding. The canal was clear and perfect for jumping. Everyone jumped off and everyone did fun tricks. The funniest was when Paul fell off and I never could keep a straight face around him again (Paul didn't get hurt except his pride btw). Captain Henk even put down a ladder to make climbing to the dock easier.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandi B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling past the remnants of the Iron Curtain. WOW!
    There were so many highlights, but having Axel as our guide certainly added a great deal to our daily rides. Thanks Axel!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Diane W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful scenery along the river was the most memorable part of the trip. We also loved all the little cafes right by the path for lunch and breaks.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ursula T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along the Danube and in the evening sitting watching the sunset on the top deck. I would like more time on the bike, but happy we got to see so much!

    Boat: Arkona

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tracy F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was wonderful! The food was great, accommodations were perfect and the scenery is spectacular.

    Boat: Arkona

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Andrea S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable thing from our Lake Konstanz trip?? How in the world do I pick?? The Biergartens? Picnics in medieval towns? Watching World Cup with locals in small family cafés? The acres of apple orchards? Seeing zeppelins flying over crystal blue water? Feeling the thunder of Rhein Falls? Getting lost and finding amazing parks and kind people? It was the BEST vacation we’ve ever had, and we’re already talking about which one to do next year!

  • Bavarian Lakes
    by Jeffery G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    From forest paths at the outskirts of Munich to steep gravel trails en route to the source of the Isar, the tour featured a mind-blowing range of scenery and terrain. We pedaled more than 300 km in five days. Just one rainy day; we had to imagine the approach to Garmisch-Partenkirchen would've been all the more impressive under clear skies! Our bikes were custom made for touring, with seamless gear shifting and panniers. We built a couple of rest days into the schedule (we're by no means Tour de France contenders) but on a "day off" I got back on the horse and did a loop through the rolling forests and farms between Bad Tölz and the lakeside town of Bad Wiessee, on sparkling Tegernsee, a favourite of kitesurfers. By the final stage, Bad Tölz to Munich, the Alps had receded but the spectacular landscapes continued: woods, ravines and the crystal clear Isar River never far from our puncture-resistant tires. An amazing experience.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Larry B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along river was the greatest. Budapest and Bratislava wonderful. Time in Vienna too rushed. Strongly advise participants to take an extra day or two in Passau before the trip—a lovely small town.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Tama L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My dissatisfactions, two nights in the suburbs of Constance, out of the way, should not be used. Konono staff excellent, but cost us for taxi to get there and back to the train. Route book imprecise. What is the route sign we were supposed to follow? What good is a dotted line on a map when there are multiple routes? Which are more scenic? Less hilly? Passing by cafes? Unpaved in a forest? Exactly how do you get to the Rhein Falls ferry? Book never mentioned the three elevators that take you up and down. We had frustrations every day.
    Is it a beautiful trip? Absolutely. The Mozart and Park Villa are beautiful hotels, although not air conditioned.

    • Around Lake Constance
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Tama,
      Sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with certain aspects of this tour. As far as the hotel locations, we always try to provide the best hotels possible (location, quality, reputation) but this is based on availability. This region is very popular and hotel development hasn't quite caught up with demand.
      In reference to the Route Book....we strongly recommend that clients also request GPS tracks to supplement Route Books. The tracks are more interactive and tend to be more precise. If requested, these tracks can be downloaded beforehand and used with a GPS or your smartphone. See this Blog to learn more.
      Im glad you still had an enjoyable time and appreciated the beauty of this region. We hope to help you plan your next trip!

  • Mainz to Strasbourg
    by Brad W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Much of the bike ride was difficult to navigate. Signs on the road are not always clear. Expected more country rides but much of the bike ride was through cities with many vehicles (somewhat dangerous). If we elect to travel with Tripsite again, we will do more research to determine ease of navigation along the bike route and how much of the route is through traffic.

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Peg Hanson 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did the 7 day Around Lake Constance. This was my 4th Tripsite bike tour. I will list the positive things first.
    I booked the Category 4 hotel package and was extremely pleased with all the hotels. Location was good for all except the Park Hotel in Uberlingen. It is located at the top of a very steep hill and was very difficult to find even after you saw the sign pointing the way!!
    The breakfasts at all the locations were amazing and so beautifully displayed. A wonderful way to start the day!
    The bikes were comfortable and almost brand new. Panniers, front bag and trip meter were all very nice.
    Now the not so positive...
    I had read all the reviews before booking and noticed the negative comments about the bike route directions. Since these comments were from a year and 2 years ago I assumed they had improved this info. NOT TRUE. The book with the routes is almost worthless. Getting from city to city was not always the problem but once in a city the Read more… situation changes. It is even more challenging when you do not speak the language. The locals are more than friendly and always willing to help. However they often assume we know more than we do and even their help does not get us to our destination. A suggestion would be to provide the cyclists with GPS or a HOTSPOT so that we could download the routes on our phones. I realize that if the customer is from Europe they can do that easily but those of us from the USA depend on a wifi connection for this service. I stayed recently at a hotel in Madrid that provided each room with a Hotspot at NO EXTRA charge. If a mid level hotel can afford to do this you would think a cycling touring company could do the same. I realize Tripsite does not have control over some of these situations but if they could encourage this company to try some more advanced methods of guiding their clients I am sure everyone would be happier. I had a wonderful holiday with fabulous weather, beautiful scenery and memorable meals. I will be booking with Tripsite for my next cycling tour. Just wanted to raise this issue to help future travelers be aware.

    • Around Lake Constance
      by Annette 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      I have found I download the app mapsme and put in the hotels before I leave home. I can still access this by satellite and not needing data when getting near. or can probably do the same with the Google maps app and again use offline...also helpful en route.
      Pleased the trip went well, we are looking into it for next year.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dean Y. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great bike routes. Vast majority on nice bike paths.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Bremen to Magdeburg
    by Darlene D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Merlijn and it's crew are extraordinary! Jantien and Henk treat guests like family. We had a great time riding in central Germany. Lots of agriculture, forests, small villages and history. Our guide, Ilsa, is extremely knowledgeable and makes the rides fun and interesting. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable trip!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Bremen to Magdeburg
    by Judy J. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew of the Merlijn were fantastic and very concerned with guests comfort. It was a great combination of leisure and biking, a well seasoned and flexible guide, and great food beautifully presented.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

PWPC