Germany Bike Tour Reviews 271 to 300 of 1032

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Bavaria Tour
    by Jim W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Awesome experience. Our guide was okay, but not great - and that did not take away from the beautiful scenery and meeting new friends.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Linda B. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? Exploring new places in a relaxing way and getting exercise at the same time.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Margaret B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery along the Danube was beautiful and we had lots of fun. Two things I would mention to people planning to do the trip 1) Realize that there is only time to see 1 or maybe 2 of the many sites listed for any given day. There is a small window of time that the barge will be in dock. We had envisioned having a leisurely ride seeing all these great sites and getting back to the barge by the end of the afternoon but thats not how it works. 2) Pay attention to whether you bought bike insurance through Tripsite b/c the barge staff will also sell it and they don't seem to know whether you have it already. We couldn't remember and the wifi was so bad that we couldn't verify so we ended up double paying for it.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Robert F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything about the trip was great. Each day was a new mini adventure. All the members of our group were very friendly and interacted very well together. The whole trip was very well organized.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jane F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every minute of this trip was amazing. Would do it all over again!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Laura M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking beside Lake Constance, stopping for a beverage along the way and the complete satisfaction of a great week! And as always spending time with great friends!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Nita W. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My sister and two friends are not hard core cyclists and found our jaunt down the Danube, from Passau to Budapest just the right degree of difficulty, enjoying the Hospitality aboard the My Story when not exploring by bike. Sufficient time was allotted to get to the next boarding spot and it was wonderful to compare the days adventures with our English speaking table over a tasty dinner. I loved not having to pack and unpack as one does on many tours. Our berth was tiny, but not much time is spent there besides sleeping.
    My low point for the trip was the onboard entertainment. Then again, I’m just not a big ABBA fan or fan of one man band keyboards. Others seemed fine with it. The staff created a fun international atmosphere and pirate night was a blast. We Canadians were largely responsible for that. One of us in particular.
    The additional excursions were worth it. I’ll not forget the schnapps and goulash and wild dulcimer music in Budapest!
    I did Read more… fine riding Vienna somewhat challenging as I’m not used to city cycling, but it was optional. I loved the hop on hop off in Budapest. Loved the quaint statues and architecture of Bratislava. Loved riding the wine region in Austria.
    We four talk gloat about this trip with such fond memories, it was a truly amazing, friendship time -literally!

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by Gail M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great staff making us feel very welcomed and well cared for, from our guide Pete to the lady captain. I would highly recommend this company.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Cheryle C. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    It was wonderful being with the tour guide, both relaxing and visiting places we would not have found on our own. The wine tasting and lunch stops were great. Also, we had a very blustery day and our guide found a route to get the wind behind us instead of sideways! There were a couple of issues with government closing roads and the staff got us where we needed to be on time regardless of the intrusion. Wonderful barge, great food and awesome people in our group.
    Our second trip with Tripsite.....we plan on a third next year!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Janis B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery, hotels and food were great. People were very friendly. The maps for this self-guided trip around Lake Constance were not detailed enough, did not provide information for intersections and turns. We had many times that we did not which way to go. Definitely need better maps.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to see quaint villages and remote hard-to-get-to places. I was able to do that and pleased with our itinerary. Bike was awesome and made me want to change my bike at home. I had non- electric.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Suzanne B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The incredible scenery and the wonderful people. We met some incredible new friends on the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brent F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bikes were in terrible condition. My while broke down with 10 miles left on the first day. My wife’s bike had a flat that the crew was just going to fill with air. My sister-in-laws bike broke down 5 miles out on the third day. Food was poor. Very few English speakers among the crew. Directions and maps for the rides were poor or non existent. When we complained we were told. “Well you made it back didn’t you?”

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sheri S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My most memorable part of the trip was traveling with friends who have different cycling abilities. There was a something for everyone. The staff was helpful and very professional.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Gayle D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Simple the thrill of cycling through Europe along the Danube River.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeanne D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Mainz to Ludwigsburg
    by Joan S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time riding through the vineyards along the Rhine and Neckar Rivers and explore that small, picturesque towns along the way. Our tour leader made every effort to enhance our experience with interesting information and spontaneous adventures. Very much enjoyed the evening walks as extra value. Fine trip. Be aware that road surfaces vary.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laney B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was beautiful and the accommodations were great. The riding was a pleasure start to finish. We loved it all and would do it again in a heartbeat!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Mainz to Cologne
    by Sandra D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding through the country side of Belgium was like riding through a fairy tale. Picture Perfect!

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ken S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the Abbey in Melk, Tulln Gardens and the short walk about tour in Bratislavia

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was sitting on the top deck in the evening, wrapped in a blanket, watching the clouds sail past the moon as the barge moved on to our next city on the Danube.
    Ensure you respond to the call to choose a table for meals on the barge if you wish to sit with or close to friends.
    Stay an extra night in Passau if you have the time...there is a lot to see and do.
    If possible, do some cycling before your trip to prepare you for the daily tours.
    If you would prefer to cycle with a guide let your agent know and they may be able to arrange it. It may be an option and worth an extra cost if it would make your trip more enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Mainz to Ludwigsburg
    by Deborah G. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The rides along the Rhine and Neckar rivers were beautiful. My two favorite memories are very different. The first one was riding through the vineyards during harvest. The other special memory was traveling over the bridge into Heidelberg with the castle on the hill to the left and the archway into the old city framing the the entrance to the city beyond. It was something I hope I always remember.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Cheryle C. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Our bike tour guide was terrific. It was wonderful to not have to worry about missing sites. Riding in Vienna was made easy by 2 tour guides. Our group was like family by the end of the trip. The director of the boat made sure we made it to the opera night on time despite heavy traffic and extra security due to an important government meeting. Our rooms were immaculate. Our second trip with Tripsite and we plan on doing another next year!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Mainz to Ludwigsburg
    by Vikki Z. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every day our biking adventure was a delight. We especially loved riding along lovely pathways through the vineyards, stopping to watch both mechanical and manual harvesting, with the fabulous aroma of ripened grapes filling our senses. Coupled with beautiful early morning sunrises while on the Neckar River....mists rising off the water, castles nestled into the forested hillsides, this entire trip was a delight.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeanne D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The serene beauty of the country side of Germany, Austria and Hungry. Riding a bike through these wonderful countries was very special. The barge ride was very relaxing after a day of riding.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Allison B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Quaint towns, lovely countryside, old world charm. Our trip will linger in our minds.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Joanne B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great Bike & Barge with the QuoVadis. Food was excellent, friendly people, lots of exercise. We will do this again, maybe a seven day instead of ten :)

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Jacqueline E. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It would be hard to decide on the most memorable part of the trip as there were so many. The barge Quo Vadis was exceptional in every way. Clean, bright and comfortable and so obviously cared for by the owners Captain Rendert Jan and his wife Ina. They had a great chef, Franco, whose meals were so good I even ate things I normally wouldn't. Our guide Peter led us with enthusiasm and humour and we enjoyed lovely scenery and many historical sites along the route from Cologne to Bamberg. The cycling was mostly on good bike paths away from traffic and where we did have to ride for short periods on the road, the drivers were considerate. We are looking forward to our next trip, hopefully again on the Quo Vadis.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Brenda H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Staff on boat, people traveling and the scenery.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Danube Bike Path - Donaueschingen to Ulm
    by Susanne R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The diversity in hotels was a nice feature. Luggage transport was always timely. The distances allowed for extra kms to visit historical points of interest.

    Countries: Germany

PWPC