Germany Bike Tour Reviews 241 to 270 of 1032

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dean G. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was more than we had expected in most ways. The highlight was definitely the sights we saw and as we cycled along bike paths that were so well kept and safe. Time spent on the boat was enjoyable-the food was varied and tasty. The servers and dining staff were very attentive and helpful. We have shared our experience with many friends and highly recommend the Danube bike and boat trip to everyone we talk to.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Marc V. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike / boat trips are such a great way of seeing a lot of the country without the hassle of having to change accommodation venue every night! You meet great interesting people who share a love of an active holiday.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patty S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What I appreciated was the response from staff when things went wrong. Which happens! It is how it is handled that matters. You will have my participation in any future trips! 100% satisfied with your service!

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Ray B. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I completed a trip along the Danube. The riding was very easy, the scenery fascinating and the staff on the barge both friendly and helpful. We were very appreciative of the standard of food and professionalism of the staff. We organized this trip from Australia and found this to be a very easy process. We will definitely be looking to do more bike/barge trips in the future.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Leonidas R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have completed 7 bike and barge trips with Tripsite and every one of these trips has been a wonderful and memorable experience. The latest one was a trip from Koblenz to Saarburg and even though we had already done this trip on the Patria on the reverse we wanted to enjoy the Mosel River once again as it truly is the most picturesque and enchanting route in Germany. The MS Patria and her crew are dedicated in making the trip a success by providing us with clean and comfortable even though small cabins, an outstanding menu on each and every night by a chef who for a very good reason has been on this ship for a very long time and a bike maintenance crew second to none. The bikes are ready when you get there and every night they are cleaned, inspected and ready for the next days adventure. That has made me and Clara to take 3 trips on the Patria and have enjoyed every one of them and have become a family with some of the crew members. Every route has its own beauties to show and every Read more… trip provides a very different taste of Europe. The Danube is fantastic, the Rhine is a water highway and the Neckar and Mosel are simply beautiful. Budapest is a great city of the east, Passau a small gem, Koblenz dazzling, Heidelberg an absolute delight and Bordeaux has it all. We have made life long friends and we enjoyed every day we have been on board one of the ships from Amsterdam, to Bruges, to Dusseldorf, to Manheim and beyond. Highly recommend to every one who enjoys cycling and the beauty of traveling through small and wonderful towns and cities to take advantage of these comparatively low cost river cruising and get to have fun and exercise. Thank you to all the crews and to all the staff at Tripsite but an especially HUGE hug to the crew on the MS Patria.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

    • Koblenz to Saarburg
      by Donna Collier 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Hi Leonidas,

      We are looking at doing this trip and wonder whether later part of August or September is preferable. Worried that August might be really busy. Also you did both directions, for a first trip is Saarburg to Koblenz preferable? I read downriver direction better for wind but did you find wind a factor in any of your three trips on the Moselle? We talked to some people on another trip who enjoyed this trip very much but not sure what time of year they went. Thanks very much.

      Donna

      Countries: Germany

      • Koblenz to Saarburg
        by LEONIDAS ROUSSINOS 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

        Sorry I did not see this until just today Feb 11 2020.
        Either direction the trip is just great and this boat and crew are second to none. It is by far the best river to ride particularly for first timers and for those who do not wish to ride many hours per day. An easy, wonderful, fun trip and in my opinion best time is early September when every little town on the river has a wine festival in the evening. Oh what fun....

        Countries: Germany

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Sue S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We biked around Lake Constance in August and can’t speak too highly of this great cycling adventure! Mostly on well- marked, dedicated, flat bike trails winding through apple orchards, vineyards, sunflower and strawberry fields with stunning views of the lake. We loved exploring the pretty, small towns, castles and churches and savored lots of local delicacies. We swam in the clear, blue waters, soaked up some sun on pretty beaches, and enjoyed lots of art - interesting statues, an international sandcastle building competition, and an art exhibit at the top of Pfander Mountain. The joy of this type of trip is that you go at your own pace and get to spend time doing whatever appeals! We got lost almost daily, but somehow this added to the adventure... directions to hotels in bigger towns were poor, with maps often leaving out many road names. Accommodations were varied - some basic hotels and some charming family owned inns. Breakfasts were generous feasts and hotel staff helpful Read more… and friendly. This was our second Tripsite adventure and we will certainly be back for another!!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Laura Z. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have to say the whole trip was amazing! We biked around Lake Constance! The hotels were clean and the breakfast at each hotel was delicious!

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Gord W. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Off ride to the Arnhem museum. What a memorable day!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dean P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike/barge trip and it opened a whole world of adventure for us. We have introduced this form of travel to many friends.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Doug N. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The accommodation and the bikes were great and the trip was very affordable. Our server for the week was terrific.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The route was well planned. The views were spectacular. Couldn’t have imagined a better place to have done this (Austria). We biked approximately 50 miles a day. It was exceptional.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Wilma C. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The bike route and tour help from the staff

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
    by Nancy M. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved going around Lake Constance. We experienced three different countries and loved the food in each one.

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Garnet T. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The preparation and presentation of the meals, especially the evening meals was outstanding. And the fellowship with the other passengers was also a great highlight aided by the small number of guests.

    Boat: Iris

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Anna A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? Cycling the afternoon around Vienna

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Sara B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Merlijn & her staff are amazing. Our trek from Mainz to Metz was gorgeous & fully exceeded our expectations. We would’ve turned right around & done it again if we could!!!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Jennifer B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved riding through Grein and the Wachau Valley, just beautiful!

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Brian K. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip with a nicely balanced pace to the days varied activities: tasty breakfast followed by several hours of scenic easy cycling; back to the Carissima for a little deck time, beverage or two; good food, good company at dinner; perhaps up to the lounge for some entertainment or nicely tired back to the cabin to sleep. What’s not to like?

    Boat: Carissima

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Darryl S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed the relaxed pace, mingling with local village people and enjoying what Austria and Germany had to offer. The guides for the bike route were excellent, we had local people enjoying the bike paths with us and gave us a chance to practice our german. The accommodation and meals were of a high standard, after a day in the saddle the "Hugo" cocktails where very refreshing to end the day.
    Thank you Tripsite for a great holiday.
    Darryl and Brigitte

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Walter Z. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Moment? Late afternoons on the sundeck after the bike ride. Watching the castles and quaint villages on the shore as the boat glided by. Perfect end to a great day.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Lynn F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our first trip with Tripsite (bike/barge on the Mosel River) was fantastic! Our “barge” was charming, neat, well run... my idea of a barge. The bikes were good, our route along the river could not have been more beautiful, with the little towns and all the vineyards. The food was great, the other passengers were nice and friendly, staff were wonderful, the weather perfect... we all had a great time.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Lynn F. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our second trip ( the Danube to Vienna) was different, but equally as nice. This time the “barge” was a huge river boat (a la Viking), but that was OK. The scenery was lovely, the little towns quaint, they could have done better with the information about our route, but I guess it was OK. A bit different in that the boat traveled at night and moved us up the river to our next starting point. Again, the food was great, the passengers friendly... only one rainy day that time... not bad! I’ve told friends about this company and I look forward to our next trip with Tripsite!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Martin K. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part? Biking the Danube with castles on the hills

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Eliz P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable was the experience of the bike and barge itself, as well as the scenery, the evening dining, and the fellow bike travelers. One tip would be to do your research ahead of the trip for cities where the boat docks (as in Budapest & Vienna) to be able to make the most of your time there. Overall, great experience; would definitely recommend this bike & boat trip along the Danube...

  • Ludwigsburg to Mainz
    by Vikki Z. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There is a serene, calm beauty when one is slowly boating along the Neckar River in the early fall morning, with mist rising off the water and castles nestled among the trees which are beginning to turn colour. What better way to enjoy an early cup of hot tea before having breakfast and heading out for a day's ride?

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Edie D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved riding through the little villages and getting a sense of how people actually live from day to day. All the senses are stimulated- smelling the fruit trees, feeling the wind, hearing the laughter and different languages, touching the handcrafted cloths, and of course experiencing all the sites and lights as you float along at night.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jacques B. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Tripsite made our first bike tour so memorable we have booked another one for next year. It was perfect!!!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Carol E. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on our trip from Bruges to Amsterdam, everyone was so friendly and helpful...we have booked another trip next Sept.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vern O. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was "The Entire Trip"!!! We met so many wonderful people. Our guide Jürgen Gehrke was "The Best"!! So much fun and really went above and beyond taking our group on special tours and always knowing the best Pubs for "The First of The Day"!!!

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC