Germany Bike Tour Reviews 331 to 360 of 1032

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Michael S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There were so many great memories, but I really loved the town of Melk and all the little towns in the Wachau area that we passed through our last day. It was like biking through fairy land. Fall is the perfect time for sampling the local new wines. And our guide, Regina, was tops!! Can’t imagine a better tour guide!

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Cheryl H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip. Beautiful scenery and the boat staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Phyllis C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very pleasant trip. The route included portions along the river as well as through picturesque villages, farmland, and vineyards. Daily mileage was perfect for us casual riders. The last day of riding through the Wachau area was the most enjoyable; we wish there would have been more time to explore the tasting rooms and shops in Dürnstein.
    There was only a minor problem in communication with the tour director over the the time of an optional paid activity that several members of the group did not get to attend. I didn't feel the problem was addressed well.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Deirdre R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The biking, totally. It’s ok if your friend chooses not to ride, there are others en route who make it pleasant. The staff were overly attentive! So helpful

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Lindsay Z. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking the "Prague to Dresden - Tale of Two Rivers" trip was a very enjoyable experience. We enjoyed the lovely scenery and our hotels along the way. We liked biking at our own pace with our detailed route instructions. I have been highly recommending this trip since we returned home, and I can't wait to do another cycling adventure in the future.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laura W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Along the Danube Four-Country tour far surpassed our expectations. The cabins on the MS Carissima are more spacious than large cruise ship cabins I've had in the past. The food was truly amazing, and the chef endeavored to offer the option of a dish native to the country we were in each night. The staff was wonderful and went above and beyond for us.

    And then there was the scenery! It was simply breathtaking! The comfort bikes are appropriately named; so much so that I would love to buy one to replace the bike I have at home. Riding along the Danube was such a spectacular way to really get a feel for the country.

    We had two people in our group who elected not to bicycle, for health reasons, and they loved the trip too. Apparently, relaxing with a drink on the sun deck was another very pleasurable way to see things.

    I highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Mosel and Saar
    by Bob T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The opportunity to experience rural Germany close up was awesome and made even better with the efforts of our guide and crew.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time. The bike rides were so much fun with ferry rides and beautiful scenery. The staff on board were excellent. Food, OMG, it was fabulous and served so elegantly. They very graciously accommodated my gluten sensitivity. And we had two great parties. I have recommended this trip to many friends. What a great way to see the country.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jennifer G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on the bike/boat on the Danube.
    The guide Axel was terrific. He took us to some out of the way places. He offered suggestions. The ride was scenic and easy to ride. 90% if the bike paths were paved which made riding easy. The bicycle crew was awesome. The bike were lined up and ready to go each morning.
    The accommodation and food exceeded my expectation. Rooms were clean but walls between rooms are thin.
    We will definitely do another trip with Tripsite.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dale K. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We biked the Danube, 7 days departing Passau and had one of the best weeks ever. Our cabin was beyond what we expected and very comfortable. The tour director gave us great information for our following days cycle. The dining both breakfast and dinner couldn't be faulted.
    A peaceful, relaxing week, where we only had to think about the experience.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Anita G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The MS Arkona was a lovely ship, very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately The Danube River was low and we were bus to Budapest where we had a nice tour. The biking on the trip was scenic, and a lot of fun. Due to a change in itinerary we were shorted a day of biking but that was out of anyone’s control. The bikes could have been newer because they were not operating at their best.
    My e bike was wonderful but was grinding gears quite often.
    The food on the ship could have been better. Breakfast could have had more fresh fruit, granola, oatmeal with other breakfast specialties. The dinners lacked fresh salads. My favorite meal was when we were on the boat for lunch one day and had a fresh salad bar with soup and pasta.
    The tour guide on the boat could have been more communicative and answered questions more readily. The explanation of the bike riding should have included an overview map of the riding from point A to point B everyday.
    Overall the trip was Read more… good and the weather conditions with the Danube were out of the tour company’s control. The biking that we did do was spectacular!

    Boat: Arkona

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Greg T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Relaxing, easy route coupled with comfortable boat made for a memorable trip.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Bavarian Lakes
    by Maria L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best part was the Tirol, and the lakes were amazing.

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Merzig or Merzig to Mainz
    by Lisa S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were on the Merlijn from Merzig to Mainz; biking along the Mosell and Rhine Rivers. We biked through vineyards, sunflower fields and picturesque, quaint towns. This was our fifth bike and barge tour booked through Tripsite and we are looking forward to the next.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lisa H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The beautiful bike paths along the Danube and the great food on the MS Arkona. Found the unguided bike tour confusing. Comfortable beds but loud vibrating boat motor at night made it impossible to sleep. Yay sleeping pills.

    Boat: Arkona

  • Mainz to Bamberg
    by Bruce & Dianna Reynolds 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We just completed this tour and had a great time. Jantien prepared some amazing meals for all of us and went out of her way to help any guest who may have a question,a problem, a dietary concern or any other matter. At night after all her chores were done she would sit down with us and join in with a glass of wine to talk about the days bike tour. Henk, our captain, crew Klara and Ahmed always had a smile on their face , kept the boat spotless, ready with a glass of wine or beer after a day of biking and just nice people. Finally our guide Lia, she was one of us. Whether it was talking about a certain Benedictine Abbey, sampling barley at a brewery or adjusting a bike seat she was special.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes
    by Bonnie W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Be adventurous and try a self-guided trip in Germany. You'll enjoy beautiful scenery, lakes warm enough to swim in and charming Bavarian towns. The routes are well marked. If you enjoy cycling at your own pace, this is the trip for you.

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Merzig or Merzig to Mainz
    by Pat C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is a must trip for anyone who embraces the Bike and Barge experience with a small group. The Merlijn is an extremely well managed boat with the owners attending to every detail in a friendly and caring manor. This trip checks off all the boxes, good food and drink, comfortable accommodation and arguably some of the most beautiful scenery in Europe. My only suggest is to book it early as it fills up quickly and in particular on this boat.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Baltic Sea
    by Vincent D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Baltic Sea cycle was one of our best cycle experiences with magnificent forest, sea and landscape. Tripsite took care of everything including The Weather. It was the German Riviera with the most beautiful towns in which we stayed from Lubeck to Stralsund.
    Thank you Tripsite and your wonderful staff.

    Countries: Germany

  • Mosel and Saar
    by George P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was gorgeous, there were quaint little towns around every bend of the Saar and Mosel rivers. Our bike guide was excellent and very knowledgeable about the areas we were at. The food was plentiful and dinners were way above average. Great tour!

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kieron G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I just finished this trip with another couple. First of all, remember that you get what you pay for. This cruise is much cheaper than Viking or Avalon or some of the others so you can't expect as much opulence or fine cuisine. That said, everything was fine. The food was good but not great. The walls to the cabins are thin so if the person in the room next to you is a loud talker, you will hear every word. Also, try to avoid the lowest level of rooms - the windows don't open and are noisier as you are close to the engine. The trip it self was great. The cycling was easy and scenic. We had Axel as our guide, and seriously, he ruins you for any other guide. If we went on another cruise, it would have to be with Axel - any other guide would suffer in comparison I suspect. He is Austrian with a very keen sense of humour (He would have to be as he is an Arsenal fan). He went above and beyond.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Denise G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a mixed experience on this trip, having completed two other bike and barge trips on smaller boats (and smaller waterways). This is a wonderful region for riding - much of the route follows bike paths that parallel the river and provide gorgeous views of river towns. Unlike our other trips, participants ride on their own without a guide, and this worked well for us. Because the boat travels from Passau to Budapest and back again, there is quite a bit of travel time on the boat. At times, we enjoyed watching the scenery, but this also meant that our time on land was quite limited. Food was decent and several options were available at each meal. The dining room was noisy and it does take quite a bit of time to serve everyone, with the staff clearly working hard! During our tour, there were engine problems which resulted in a change in itinerary. The company struggled to manage this and identify reasonable options. In the end, they have promised us a partial refund, which Read more… seems quite fair. We would have preferred that this offer had come sooner in the process, without the numerous conversations that were needed to help the company understand the concerns of passengers.

    Boat: Arkona

    • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
      by Carla - Partner at Tripsite 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Denise,
      Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
      It's unfortunate the ship had engine troubles during your tour. These ships are machines and sometimes things can go wrong. I know it is always a very stressful time for everyone involved. Our local partners work hard to make the best of the situation. I'm glad in the end everything worked out fine. Another adventure in the books! I hope you will be back for more....
      Thank you again! ~Carla, Partner at Tripsite

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dan C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part? The cycling along the Wachau valley

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Lois K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was greater than expected! The staff bent over backwards to accommodate. The gorgeous Danube!

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lori C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I adored the trip from start to finish. The scenery, the towns and cities and of course seeing everything by bike. I met wonderful people who share a love of travel and adventure. The only problem with the trip was the tour leader. He was condescending and rude to several guests. The rest of the staff was phenomenal. I would do this trip again tomorrow.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gail W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike Boat 4 countries Germany, Austria, Slovakia and Hungary - most memorable part of the trip was experiencing the Danube River up close; boat was comfortable and so smooth sometimes I had to look out the window to see if we were moving

    Boat: Arkona

PWPC