Germany Bike Tour Reviews 721 to 750 of 902

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Kristi Sinkus 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    AC did not work
    BargeBoat needed updating
    Crew was accommodating
    but moody
    Overall my biking experience was terrific!"

    Boat: My Story

  • Rafael Camarota 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I enjoyed eating off the boat. It was our choice to have more local flare and maximize time off boat. It did feel wasteful. It would be great if there was a reduced meals option or an option to "donate" meals or value of meals to charity.

    Boat: My Story

  • Gary Saelens 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Great bike/boat trip along the Danube!

    Boat: My Story

  • Mary Anne Gilbert 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This trip is for the person who does not want any surprises. There was nothing wrong with the food or the bikes or the staff. However there was also no sense of discovery, as every detail of your day was planned out for you, what to order when you stopped for lunch at the only place recommended, what sights to see in the cities, etc. I personally like to explore along the way and take my time in the countryside. This is the only Tripsite trip I have taken that has left me feeling a bit let down, and I have taken several.

    Boat: My Story

  • David Fish 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was our first bike and barge trip and we loved it so much we've already booked next years trip!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Heidi Coleman 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The route descriptions were mixed. Some were excellent. Some were not. But our overall experience was wonderful. When the route descriptions were not as good, it added to the adventure and, as a result, we met additional people, who were generally warm and helpful.

    It would be most helpful to have both detailed instructions (which are confirmed, e.g., make sure there's a street sign if the cue is to turn at a street or provide odometers if the cue is the travel a certain distance), and also decent maps."

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Kathleen Josten 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The captain crew and trip leaders all went out of their way to make us feel at home and special. The bikes were ready when they needed to be. The dinners were ready on time. We were prepared for the next day's ride. I could not ask for a better experience! The My Story crew and Lesley as trip leader were the best!

    Boat: My Story

  • Joseph Paladino 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    A great trip overall and a good value. I would've preferred an upcharge option for better hotels. The downside was the directions book, though well made and attractive, it was not helpful or practical. I found it was much easier to follow the road signs and ignore the book. Also, the book needs to point out attractions and diversions and points of interest. People are coming from all over the world to see this one particular area, it is so important to know what there is to explore in the countryside rather than just following the route.

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Sandra Dusseault 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The guide was awful. We would only stop when he wanted to, and that was on the side of the path so that he could have a cigarette. When we suggested a stop in a small village, or somewhere interesting, he would say no. When I told him that I was going to go ahead on my own, he spoke to me like I was a child, telling me I was to stay with the group. The route descriptions in the evening were excellent...the main guide was fantastic, it was just the guide that we paid extra for that soured our trip.
    The boat was great, the staff was phenomenal. Our rooms were really good, an incredibly clean.

    Boat: My Story

  • Barbara Shah 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Very good experience generally. However, a slower cyclist was asked to pick up their pace or consider using an e-bike or bike alone - not good! A very different experience from the previous year's trip on Iris - Amsterdam to Bruges - where everyone was welcomed no matter what skill level.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Thomas Rorabaugh 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We enjoyed the trip but felt our guide could have provided more detail on points of interest along the way.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • John Heinze 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was ok but I've had better ones on previous trips. It was a lot of going through the motions since he had done 15-20 trips prior to ours it was maybe a case of being burned out. A bit more interaction on where we were going and what we were seeing would have been nice. Overall trip was top notch though as usual.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Arthur Armstrong 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was one of the best I have taken.

    Boat: Iris

  • Maribel Colon 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful trip. Some routes could had better directions since in several occasions we got lost, yes we made the best out of the experience. The staff was excellent, at critical times during the trip the staff pull together and made the trip as comfortable and pleasant. They are champions, no doubt about it!!!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Susan Roeterink 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Trip was excellent. the boat is really bare bones but that was okay. Wifi was spotty and difficult at times.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Sydney Cullis 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    superb all round -organisation, food, scenery , amusing but booking proceedure not very efficient

    Boat: Iris

  • S. Rishe 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Starting with Carla whose patience and friendliness and kindness enhanced the reservation process, through the gorgeous boat, great bikes, incredible food, fun fellow guests of several nationalities, friendly and cheerful staff and the utterly delightful Dietmer our trip guide, we were thrilled.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Susan Donnely 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The journey was well organized. The crew were fantastic, friendly, obliging and fun. The food was world class delicious and beautifully presented at all times. Our guide was very nice and did her utmost to adapt to the differing expectations of individual riders. We loved that she also took us on evening walks after dinner.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Joseph Rine 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Boat and staff were fantastic. Daily rides were good, but routes could have been better. The Devlin loop circled us around several gravel dikes for about 10 miles. Trails were rough and not well marked. But there were miles of great bike paths along the Danube that we motored past on the boat....

    Boat: My Story

  • Kathryn Smith 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The tour guide, Jan (not sure of the spelling) was amazing! He was funny, helpful and friendly. All the logistics with the bike stuff worked very smoothly.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Paul Finger 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We couldn't be happier. Everyone from the trip "arrangers" to all the personnel on the barge could not have been more helpful. This was our first trip like this, everything was superb.

    Boat: My Story

  • Susan Joe 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Would have been nice to have a guide but our trip was the last of the season so no guide was available.

    Boat: My Story

  • Ivy Higgs 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We were a bit late in the season so weather not great. Food brilliant.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Jill Roach 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We loved everything about this trip. The bikes were in excellent condition, the cruise director was very helpful, the boat's staff was super attentive. The boat is definitely older but it was very clean and we loved having drinks on the top deck every night under the stars. My two teens had a great time as well and the staff was wonderful to them. The scenery was incredible and the tour excursions were a great value and well worth it.

    Boat: My Story

  • Diana Collins 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Even with the age of the boat (1970's!!), we totally enjoyed the cruise. The staff was great and the food was wonderful. The bikes were comfortable and in good repair.

    Boat: My Story

  • Margaret Bishop 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip through the vineyards on the wine wagon!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Brent McLean 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Would be nice to sit with other people at meals. Everyone was great and it felt like we were on a camping trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Charles Coggins 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent staff, excellent food. Very professional.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Hong Gao 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was a great trip, thank you.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Fred Veenbaas 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    It was a great way to see the countryside.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

PWPC