Germany Bike Tour Reviews 661 to 690 of 830

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Arthur Armstrong 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was one of the best I have taken.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: France, Luxembourg, Germany

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Maribel Colon 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful trip. Some routes could had better directions since in several occasions we got lost, yes we made the best out of the experience. The staff was excellent, at critical times during the trip the staff pull together and made the trip as comfortable and pleasant. They are champions, no doubt about it!!!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Susan Roeterink 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Trip was excellent. the boat is really bare bones but that was okay. Wifi was spotty and difficult at times.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Sydney Cullis 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    superb all round -organisation, food, scenery , amusing but booking proceedure not very efficient

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: France, Luxembourg, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by S. Rishe 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Starting with Carla whose patience and friendliness and kindness enhanced the reservation process, through the gorgeous boat, great bikes, incredible food, fun fellow guests of several nationalities, friendly and cheerful staff and the utterly delightful Dietmer our trip guide, we were thrilled.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Susan Donnely 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The journey was well organized. The crew were fantastic, friendly, obliging and fun. The food was world class delicious and beautifully presented at all times. Our guide was very nice and did her utmost to adapt to the differing expectations of individual riders. We loved that she also took us on evening walks after dinner.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joseph Rine 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Boat and staff were fantastic. Daily rides were good, but routes could have been better. The Devlin loop circled us around several gravel dikes for about 10 miles. Trails were rough and not well marked. But there were miles of great bike paths along the Danube that we motored past on the boat....

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathryn Smith 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The tour guide, Jan (not sure of the spelling) was amazing! He was funny, helpful and friendly. All the logistics with the bike stuff worked very smoothly.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Paul Finger 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We couldn't be happier. Everyone from the trip "arrangers" to all the personnel on the barge could not have been more helpful. This was our first trip like this, everything was superb.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan Joe 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Would have been nice to have a guide but our trip was the last of the season so no guide was available.

    Boat: My Story

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Ivy Higgs 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We were a bit late in the season so weather not great. Food brilliant.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jill Roach 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved everything about this trip. The bikes were in excellent condition, the cruise director was very helpful, the boat's staff was super attentive. The boat is definitely older but it was very clean and we loved having drinks on the top deck every night under the stars. My two teens had a great time as well and the staff was wonderful to them. The scenery was incredible and the tour excursions were a great value and well worth it.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diana Collins 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Even with the age of the boat (1970's!!), we totally enjoyed the cruise. The staff was great and the food was wonderful. The bikes were comfortable and in good repair.

    Boat: My Story

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Margaret Bishop 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wonderful trip through the vineyards on the wine wagon!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brent McLean 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Would be nice to sit with other people at meals. Everyone was great and it felt like we were on a camping trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Charles Coggins 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Excellent staff, excellent food. Very professional.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Hong Gao 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a great trip, thank you.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Fred Veenbaas 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a great way to see the countryside.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Maureen Molony 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a great time, the staff worked very hard to please, and it was a very good trip.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Janet Creighton 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything was great. The only thing we didn't like was the guide we had for our guided tour. All other staff were fantastic.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lois Farmer 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    At times the trip leading gave incomplete information regarding routes, detours and conditions although the German speaking people received better information - he should use a specific outline when giving such information to be sure it is complete.

    The food was great except for the Wiener Schnitzel which was not interesting at all. A real disappointment in fact. (I have traveled to Austria often and know a less than impressive meal when I receive it.)

    I had booked an extra night in Passau but could not use it due to airline delays. I called Tripsite which could not reimburse me, which I understand. However, I have twice requested a statement from them that I cannot be reimbursed so that I can use it for my trip insurance - I still have not received it.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Mainz to Basel (no longer available)
    by Linda Callard 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat was great and we all got the cabins we were hoping for – the food was really good. The girls commented that they weren’t expecting the food to be as good as it was.
    • The biking was as easy as we expected, I didn’t like the bikes as much as the bikes we had on the Danube the year before but the bikes were exactly what they said on the web-site. Pretty well all the trails were paved – makes it hard to come back to PEI trails!
    • Apparently we weren’t on as pretty a section of the Rhine as we could have been but we saw some great scenery and little villages were so clean, friendly and relatively easy to get around. The crew said they didn’t like this route because it wasn’t as scenic and not as many places to stop. Apparently, they are not going to do the same route next year.
    • I don’t think the tour itself was quite as well run as the one on MV Story on Danube IN 2014. I didn’t think the tour guide this year gave nearly as good instructions as the previous year and often it was difficult to figure out exactly which trail to take. The book with maps had a number of errors but guy said that would be fixed. I think they were some translations errors as well.. Last year, the tour guide always biked the route (he would wait until boat left so was always behind us and we knew he’d catch up). This guy said he was always behind us but we only saw him once and very briefly. He didn’t give suggestions of places to eat etc like they did last year. We always found good spots so that was not an issue but not because he provided suggestions. In 2014 the directions were very very clear and the company put arrows on the sign posts to show the directions. That was very helpful but non of that happened this year 2015. Maybe if they had continued the tour they would have done that as well.
    • The directions we got for where the boat was docked in Basel were wrong – the directions said to go to West side and that was where the boat was always docked!! Well, it wasn’t there it was on the east side. Thankfully when it wasn’t where it was expected to be, the cab driver knew where it “probably” was. We did NOT feel the cabby took advantage of us as a few other couples has same issue and one of them had taken a bus to the dock!!. Tripsite was very responsive when we explained this and you were very generous in reimbursing us for cab fares (should have been 21 E per cab but was 54E per cab). I saw the meter and he only charged us what the meter said, plus he turned meter off a couple of times. We did give him tip. We took 2 cabs for the 6 of us and they followed each other so we all had same issue.
    • We would absolutely go on another Tripsite trip and we all had a great time – just wanted to give you the feedback. If asked, I would recommend the Danube over this section of the Rhine. I would however try a different section of the Rhine and we may look at Holland another year.

    Boat: MS Andante

    Countries: Germany, Switzerland, France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Don Beck 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Trip of a lifetime! My Story boat a bit dated, but the entire staff was wonderful!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lori Cicero 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We enjoyed our trip immensely and recommend it to everyone! The boat was nice, just vintage. The bike routes were well thought out, relatively easy and well marked. Some meals on the ship were good and a couple were not. We preferred eating out on the sightseeing days anyways. Overall it was a great value for the overall price. Can't wait to do another one in a different country!

    Boat: My Story

  • Four Country Tour
    by John Lonsway 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The four country tour is one of the best trips you offer. Thanks

  • Bremen to Magdeburg
    by Sharon Brunhuber 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I've taken a few trips over the years - always on the Merlijn. Top notch vessel and crew. Guides have always been great. Tripsite is a pleasure to book through and always very helpful.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by Craig Morrison 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Amsterdam to Cologne Bike and Barge trip overall was very nice. I would have altered some of the biking to avoid Dusseldorf's industrial areas which were not very appealing. Otherwise the barge and their staff were excellent, the guide was good, but got lost a few times. In any case I would recommend it to friends.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes
    by Kirsten Olson 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Beautiful ride on, for the most part, very safe roads/trails. Incredibly picturesque. I would be very happy to repeat the same trip. If I were to do it again, I'd bring a gps as we got lost a few times.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Don Hyland 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A great way to travel on the Danube from Passau to Budapest and back. Our 4 days of biking were on well marked and scenic trails. Glad to have the opportunity to climb the hill overlooking the Danube Loop. Loved biking through small towns such as Melk, Durnstein and Krems. Would recommend this trip on the MS MY STORY.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kimberley McEwan 4 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved the Along the Danube cycling trip. The entire tour was very well organized and we really had no complaints. It was a great way to travel and sightsee several countries and the Fall was a great time of year. We are planning our next cycling trip already.

    Boat: Normandie

PWPC