Germany Bike Tour Reviews 661 to 690 of 1032

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Patricia L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The majority of the Danube cycling routes are truly beautiful. We were worried about the bikes only having 7 speeds, however it was only an issue when we made the climb to the Mauthausen Concentration Camp. Otherwise, they were fine. The staff on the Normandie were fabulous, as was the food. I esp. want to thank Ani and Mikki who were a huge help to us prior to the trip. We had lots of questions and they always answered them quickly and thoroughly. I plan on continuing to book my trips with Tripsite. What a great company!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

    • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
      by Cheryl 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Pat, how was the "doing your own navigation? " my friend is afraid to go w/o a guide. Are you literally following the Danube? We're looking at may.

      Countries: Austria, Germany

      • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
        by Patricia Leonard 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

        Hi Cheryl, the tour guide will review routes every evening, so you can bring your tour book to the meetings and take notes. We only got confused once when a route was poorly marked, but even then we ended up on the correct path. Also, most young people in Austria speak perfect English, plus there are always other cyclists around for clarification. This was our first "self-guided" tour too, and it was fabulous!

        Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Laurie S. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Wachau Valley is breath taking. Austria and Bavaria are absolute gem locations. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone. Tripsite made it easy to book, offer very reasonable prices and answered all our questions.
    My only complaint was our German bike guide. We were the only primarily English speaking riders in a group of 14. The rest mostly spoke German. Our guide explained the vast majority of what we were seeing in German. This is somewhat understandable given that we were in the minority, but we felt that we missed out on so much historical explanations. In addition, he admitted that he didn't really know much about all the areas we visited and often deviated from the guide book. We ended up leaving the guided tour and going solo the last 2 days.
    We rented e-bikes, which we loved, but had to figure out how to use them as we went along.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Antonina G. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the ship-the Primadonna. We liked it that the servings were not big and that you could ask for seconds. Appreciated the lunches they prepared. It was a great trip. Staff was helpful and efficient.

  • Bavarian Lakes
    by Brad T. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding through southern Bavaria was simply beautiful. Murnau, Garmisch and Wallgau were amazing towns. The route that this ride took was perfect, if only the bikes were better. Close to a third of this trip was on gravel/dirt roads, with a few decent climbs, and the heavy clunky bikes definitely took away from the enjoyment. This was my second trip through Tripsite, but I would be hesitant to do it again or recommend it to others simply because of how bad the bikes are.

    Countries: Germany

  • Magdeburg to Berlin
    by Theodora H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful scenery, interesting architecture, wonderful boat, staff , food, participants , but awful reminders of wars.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Charles H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through the Wachau valley and the small towns was most memorable. Staff/guides could be more customer focused and less argumentative with guest/customers. First day of biking was too rushed to complete prior to boat departure ... ride did not accommodate leisurely stops. Guides did not provide enough information on daily routes to assist with historical sites, lunch/rest stops, places to visit or provide assistance on route to ensure guests made it back to the ship. This trip did not meet the standards that previous (5 trips) Tripsite trips offered in the past that we booked.

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Robert W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable for me. I took lots of video and still shots. My plan is to create some YouTube videos to share the experience. I have wanted to do the ride along the Danube for several years and I finally got my chance. It was everything I expected and more. I am now looking at the choices for my next cycling adventure in Europe.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Bremen to Magdeburg
    by Robert C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was meeting a German who was a prisoner of war in the USA during WW2.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Clare C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I don't know how I could possibly pinpoint one part of the trip as the most memorable as it was all so absolutely fantastic. I was expecting it to be good but is was beyond my wildest expectations.
    Take a day in Passau either before or after the trip to walk around the beautiful historic town. The cathedral is so worth a visit, it's absolutely magnificent with an organ that has more pipes than any other in the world.
    The boat was excellent, accommodations better than expected, the food was amazing and the staff friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Remember to book your spa time as you will have that privately for an hour. There is nothing quite like sitting in the hottub while cruising down the Danube after a days ride.
    Visit the Trappist monastery before you ride on your first day and see the reliquaries in the church-pretty weird, and don't forget to stop for refreshments before you take your bike across on the ferry at the Danube bend. Read more… The bikes are really comfortable and take your time to enjoy the magnificent scenery on this ride. You will see old castles up on the cliffs and picturesque villages across from the bike path.
    In Bratislava we took our time to walk up to the castle which give great views over the city and looks beautiful when lit up at night. Take a slight detour from the route to ride over the "flying saucer" bridge. When you are riding to Bratislava take your time to look at Prince Eugenes palace with its magnificent Baroque gardens.
    Go up on deck to take full advantage of the cruise into Budapest. To say that every picture I took here was postcard quality is no lie. Rather than do the guided tour we jumped on the hop on hop off bus so we could make it up to the castle and anywhere else you might want to see. This was actually my favorite City as it was so beautiful and it didn't seem as packed with tourists and it's very walkable. The views at night from our cabin were fantastic with the city lights and the view across the river.
    The next day was a beautiful scenic ride by the river with another ferry ride to Esztergom where you really should walk up to the cathedral and the huge statue that overlooks the river.
    Vienna was our next stop and we took a tram and subway up to the city center. Tours were offered but we did this one ourselves, and I think that biking this city would be worth it as it is so set up for cyclists. There was a Jesuit church here that was more magnificent than any other church I saw on the trip. I had never seen rainbow colored corkscrew marble columns before. It was truly spectacular. Visit an art museum too if you get the chance. The architecture here was spectacular and we watched people waltzing in one of the central parks.
    Our final day was riding through the vineyards of Austria and little villages along the river. Stop for some wine tasting but not too much as this is the day you will probably have to ride against the wind on the final part of the ride.
    The rides were so much fun and anyone could do them, electric bikes were available for the less able. There is so much to do and see, and you can make great new friends.
    All I can say is sign me up for next year and while I would do this trip again in a heartbeat, I want to try a new one.
    Thanks!!!

  • Magdeburg to Berlin
    by Deborah R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was seeing many historical sites in Berlin.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Aare Trail
    by Will L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic cycling trip along the Aare and Rhine Rivers in Switzerland. The organization of our trip was great, bikes, luggage transfer and hotels. We were particularly pleased to stay each night either in or near to the old centre of each city. Thanks Tripsite.

    Countries: Germany, Switzerland

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best part was seeing the countryside by bike.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    While the scenery was wonderful, I don't think that I could recommend this type travel to someone who would like to take more time to see the sites. This tour, just in my opinion, is much better suited for someone prioritizing cycling over site seeing. I (and some others in my group) discussed how there was a "rushed" feeling to the trip. That being said, the itinerary is posted online for all to make an informed decision. Lastly, there was almost a sense that we, the customers, were an inconvenience to many of the staff until the second to last day when there was an announcement that a tipping envelope would be left in each cabin. Staff personalities completely changed for the better on the last day and a half. This opinion was quietly shared by most of us who had done this type of tour numerous times before.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Frank V. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was cruising down the river during dinner.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Alan G. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was the biking along the rivers.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Robin T. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My first Tripsite vacation, first bike/barge trip, first trip to the 4 countries.....loved it. Somewhat poor attitudes of hotel manager, Peter and the guides did not spoil my trip...in fact, became a bit of a joke to us. I would not let it stop from booking another trip.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jennifer Formolo 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food and scenery were magnificent. The boat was better than I had expected. Don't pay extra for the upper deck cabins on the Normandie because they are identical with the exception of being able to open the window on the upper deck. Our tour guide was rude. He spent a lot of time talking to the Germans and very little time talking in English. He scolded us if we asked questions that could be found in our book or were only relevant to the next day's bike trip. Peter at the front desk was also very rude. He made you feel stupid for asking any questions. He is in the tourist business and should expect questions and answer them gracefully. I wouldn't tell someone to avoid this trip, because of the beauty, but don't expect a lot from the staff. The rest of the staff were quite nice, but there were three men that should not be in this business!!

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Rita de CAssia Graf 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Momentos mágicos vivemos no Rio Mosel.
    Nossa casa foi o Patria,nosso guia o Reinert,atencioso e amigo.
    Tudo correu bem, ate o clima colaborou.
    Comida excelente, foi um sonho!

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Margaret M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Walking and biking around Vienna. It is a beautifully restored city with so many historic buildings and places to take your breath away. Our bike guide Bernd added to the experience by translating for us all the history and important information as we were the only English speakers on the trip.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Gerald R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip but had some problems with bikes. I've had better bikes on other trips.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Richard S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best part was the setting with the river and the villages that we visited.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by James R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I just liked the laid back atmosphere of this trip and boat. The boat was simple and the crew were very friendly. It is not high end and I like that for its simplicity. It makes it very easy to relax on this trip.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Jim and Margaret Molineux 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We have just returned from our boat/bike adventure and enjoyed it immensely. Being the only English speaking passengers on the trip, we were in the care of the multilingual SE bike tour guides; Bernd, Andreas and Wolfgang. And look after us they did. With all the tours and information in German, we would have missed so much if it hadn't been for Bernd showing up everywhere to translate for us. The staff on board were helpful, courteous and efficient. Food was gourmet and even with cool and often wet weather, tours were interesting and biking was exhilarating. Bikes were brand new, maps were clear and information given beforehand made navigating easy. Ebikes are the way to go if climbing hills is difficult; although it is mostly flat.
    We would absolutely do this again with Trip Site or SE Tours.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Deirdre R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    On the first day at the end of the ride, we tackling the "unpleasantly steep incline"(your words).....after going the wrong way at Stein am Rhein. We should have listened to the local 'angels' we met on the way! C'est la vie!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Deirdre R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was the beautiful scenery, because of the spring blooming and greenery everywhere. We recommend someone to go on the trial to prepare markings at every intersection. We had to guess which way to go many times. For international travelers, maybe one page in the booklet of the varied biking markings would be very helpful.
    The law in all 3 countries does not require you to bring a helmet, but we recommend it.

  • Mosel Bike Tour
    by Peter V. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Route Guide that we received was in German. We called Velociped and they said that they ran out of English guide - Basically we were SOL and not getting the Route Guide in English. They knew it way before hand that they did not have any English Route Guide - they should have let you or us know and maybe sent us written instructions for the route. We had difficulty in the first 3 days of the trip. We did not even get any instructions of how the electric bikes worked or how to operate it. The first day - my wife struggled on the ebike because it was not working right- we had to call. Instructions on what to do and how to start it would have been good. Very poor customer service. In addition, we signed up for CLASS A hotels, which was supposed to be 3 or 4 stars - not one of the hotels provided was a 4 star. The scenery along the Mosel River was spectacular, the luggage transfers between hotels was great.

    Countries: Germany, France

    • Mosel Bike Tour
      by Carla 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Peter - Thanks so much for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry our local partner could not provide the English route book. Fortunately, the German version has very good maps and we still always have the English route descriptions available. I do highly encourage any rider to elect the GPS tracks for this tour. These provide flawless directions. You can use them on your own GPS device or smartphone GPS application. We'd be happy to help you with this option.
      We do not provide a welcome meeting for this tour but we can try to arrange one, on request. I am sorry you could not operate the electric bicycle. With that said, I do not recommend renting an electric bicycle if you have never ridden one before. Lastly, we are happy to send a hotel list before the tour start so you can be satisfied before you leave.
      We hope you still enjoyed the tour and were able to bring home fond memories!

      Countries: Germany, France

  • Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes
    by Jonathan Lewis 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great tour with fabulous scenery, great towns and on most days plenty of beer gardens. Mostly safe/limited cars with fair hotels in great locations. Romantic Road is great. Probably more difficult vs easy to moderate....2 days have some large hills....but manageable. The romantic road (first part of this trip) is also amazing but this portion has better hotels

    Countries: Germany

  • Mosel and Saar
    by Linda F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I felt that the guide could have put more effort into letting us know what we were seeing. When we came upon a historic site such as a church, castle or such his standard comment was, "here is a church, you can go in and look at it if you want". We sat in front of the Porta Negra in Trier and were told it was a Roman ruin. Nothing more. My e-bike malfunctioned and I had to ride a regular bike the next day. I had ordered an e-bike because I have a health condition and was quite embarrassed that I held the rest of the group up while I walked the regular bike up small hills.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Molly S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having a guide for the biking. He was terrific. We had a route change which led to a boring day biking. They do not give you water at the table. Too many people on the boat. Lining up for things to buy tickets. Did not like having to buy a drink package. Too expensive.
    Staff was very pleasant. Our guide was fabulous.

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Elisabeth P. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of the trip was since every bit of it was exceptional: the scenery, the friendly staff, the other guests, the food, all were above expectations. Add to that the fact that we had perfect early Fall weather, sunny but not too hot, we felt like we had spent a week in heaven.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

PWPC