Germany Bike Tour Reviews 691 to 720 of 1027

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Susan D. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Wachau Valley was our favorite!
    Our only complaint is that the toilet in our room was backing up sewer gas. Would have really welcomed a bathroom fan to duck it away or an improved sewer trap to prevent this.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Merzig to Cochem
    by Tom R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great trip that the group from Spokane (Tom & Mary Kay R. Mike and Mary M., Jan and Mark B., John and Helen W. -UK) recommends to anyone interested in seeing a beautiful part of Germany. It was not just the scenery that was great, but also how the Merlijn ""crew"" always made you feel at home and took care of any problems. Special thanks to Jantien, Henk and Jacques!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Roger H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There were many memorable parts of this trip. The vineyard/bike trails around Melk were very nice.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Rollie B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The people I was on the trip with we all had a just terrific time. A truly wonderful trip with a great staff great a wonderful trip.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Harry L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was very nice. Everything was nice. If I can figure a route will do it again next year!

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Cheryl W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Mostly we enjoyed the country side. We did not have the greatest weather but we made the most of it.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Rebecca V. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking thru Wachau valley. Our guide, Hugo, was not real informative. We had to drag info from him. He was better later in the week when we kept asking. Wine tasting was fun. Loved quaint villages.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everyone was amazing: Welcoming; friendly; accommodating; delicious food and informative.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mele M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I organized a trip with 20 friends and family to take the boat and bike trip up the Danube. I was a bit concerned because my co-travelers varied in age and fitness. I was delighted to find that with the option of the electric bikes and choices of long or short bike paths, everyone was accommodated. The entire group had a magical time. They loved the boat, the staff, the food, and particularly enjoyed the feeling of accomplishment after cycling through gorgeous towns and scenery.
    I have organized many group trips in the past, and this one allowed me to enjoy myself more fully because I knew that the crew was taking care of my friends and family's needs, and I didn't have to be dealing with questions or problems. Because we had such a large group, we could all break up into smaller groups and enjoy the sights, knowing that we would all converge later on the boat and share our stories from the day.
    Even though we already had a large group, we all made new friends Read more… on the boat.
    I take an international adventure trip every year, and I would put this one among the top of my list!

  • Mainz to Merzig or Merzig to Mainz
    by Peg H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Klaus, Jantien and Henk!!!! This is a fantastic bike and barge trip. The rooms were the best we have ever had (this is my 3rd bike and barge trip). Very spacious bathroom and lots of storage in the room. Klaus, our guide, was the main reason I loved this trip. He didn't just cycle along the river trail. He took us through villages, back alleys, cobblestone streets, pastures, and hillsides. We never knew what adventure the day would bring. LOVED IT!! We learned about the history, geography and economics of the area. Jantien, our angel of the Merlijn, made every day fun and prepared wonderful meals. Henk capably mastered all the locks and made us laugh frequently! The level of cycling is very easy and can be accomplished by anyone. Miles and miles of vineyards, castles and churches. DON'T MISS THIS ONE!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Gordon M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The e-bike option really made the trip for me. It allowed me to bicycle each day, get plenty of excercise, and not overdo it. As a result, I was able to enjoy the sites and experience much more.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Shannon P. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The incredible countryside through which we traveled both by boat and on bike as well as the wonderfully hard-working, pleasant and attentive staff who made my trip so memorable. Lastly, the food was fantastic!

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Carolyn Gammel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was FANTASTIC! As first time bike travellers, we elected to book the guided tour and it exceeded our expectations. Lukas and Honza were knowledgeable guides who attended to our every need. Cycling through the Czech and German Countryside was breathtaking and we learned so much about the history of the countries/regions. Cycling was broken up with other activities - hikes, boat rides, sight seeing excursions/activities. Our hotels and meals were spectacular -( we stayed one night in an 18th Century Chateau), the wine and beer - second to none, and the laughter and companionship was memorable. Would HIGHLY recommend this tour and this tour company.

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Elizabeth G. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    All of it was memorable - the scenic routes through lovely towns, stopping at wine tasting, castles, cathedrals, the day in Vienna. Lovely wait staff, house keeping and front desk!! Top award goes to the extraordinary chef -- who listened attentively to my request for whole foods, plant based and each evening created an extraordinary delight of color and tastes -- wonderful food combinations, spices, herbs.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Carla 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi John,
    Thanks so much for your feedback! I'm forwarding to the cruise director - it sounds like he needs a refresher on the route. This winter we'll be working on getting these route descriptions updated and improved.
    Thanks again!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by John F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The ride through the Wachau valley was by far the most memorable. We were happy with the overall trip. The staff were very helpful and cheerful. The one disappointment was with the info from the cruise director on the trip. At times it was inaccurate. This trip could be improved by updating the notes in the bike route, providing information and maps on side trips to the villages we biked through. Many bikers were concerned to vary from the route to find other attractions for fear of getting lost. One section of the trail was on a small sidewalk yet the cruise director and the printed information did not mention this. A lot of bikers were confused. It seems like the cruise director never biked the route or it has been too long ago.

  • Mosel and Saar
    by Peter N. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great Trip, Great Barge, and Great Staff. This is a very scenic trip along the Mosel and Saar. The vineyards make the view even better. The staff was very helpful and friendly and helped make the trip even better. I highly recommend this trip to everyone.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Germany

  • Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
    by Sally S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was the BEST bike trip! Lake Constance is a beautiful setting, lodging was terrific, loved my e bike and food was good. Thanks to you and Radweg-Reisin for making the arrangements.

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
    by Steve & Jan C. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Extremely happy with our trip. There were a couple of times where maps or detailed instructions would have been helpful, eg. How to get to the boat in Passau and more detailed directions to get to our accommodations. The other part of the trip that proved difficult was getting from the train station to our hotel (Novotel Suites) in Vienna. The biking through the city was a bit dicey.
    Each accommodation and restaurant knew who we were and was expecting us. The luggage always arrived before we arrived. The bikes were comfortable and worked well (after using our own tool to adjust a dragging brake which wasn't discovered until after the first day). You offer a great service and were very helpful answering our many questions prior to the trip.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Michael G. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The owners of the barge were outstanding, in every way!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jehiel 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Ross!
    Thanks for sharing this feedback. Route markers along the route can be a tricky thing because they can be taken down or moved. However, we have shared your feedback with our local partner and work to make the route easier to navigate. Glad you enjoyed your trip!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ross M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sometimes we were unsure if we were on the route or not. Maybe could have had some additional signage along route.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Barbara T. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was most enjoyable and the cities and scenery were gorgeous.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Kristl A. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was wonderful. We loved going thru the German countryside. The personnel were wonderful, they genuinely like what they do. The tour guide was fabulous! We suggest more attention to bike maintenance and using better bikes. They could have better quality and more attention to fitting bikes would be great! Thanks so much!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Deborah C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a very nice trip. Scenery, bike routes, side trips were all very good. We had a terrific guide who interacted well with the group. The barge was very nice and the owners/crew were exceptional. The dinners could not have been better - Els is an amazing cook.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Gregg Z. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Boat staff was terrific.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Sandra V. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the entire experience. Barge accommodations and food amazing. Staff superb. Lea, our biking guide had such knowledge of area and was an expert at leading a group of different ability bikers. Also solving any problem which would arise. Cannot say enough positive about the Merlijn and her staff. Wonderful trip on so many levels. Kudos to Jantien and Henk for providing me with a trip to cherish!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Cathie C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time!! Our guide was fabulous!! Staff on the boat couldn't have been better. I would definitely recommend this tour. We would go on another trip on this barge in a heart beat!!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Jeffrey C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The itinerary times/distances covered was not necessarily followed because of where the barge could dock and time allowed to get through the locks. Minor problem. People should have been given more instruction/introduction for the ebikes. Guide was excellent except he was not always knowledgeable about the route. His first time in that area. Otherwise, my wife and I loved the trip. Extremely difficult if not impossible to name a most memorable part of the trip!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Carol M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guide, Cornel, was great, despite the fact that this was his first time guiding this route.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

PWPC