Germany Tour Reviews — 781 to 810 of 967

4.7 out of 5

 


Julie Kummel jkummel@rain.org
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Some of the routes were complicated, but we had good backup from our staff, and possibility of getting lost was reduced considerably. The bikes were in excellent condition, the staff were friendly and very knowledgeable--it was a very enjoyable trip and I would do it again.

Mark Hensien
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

We had a great family adventure. We all enjoyed seeing and exploring new things while staying active. We really liked the self guided option, because it let us control the schedule and select what we wanted to see and do.

Doug Okey
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Have recommended the 2 trips we did to all our friends and they are very keen to go.

Michael Sudheer
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

A wonderful experience made even better by the friendly and so very helpful staff. Thank you!

Steve Slinkard
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Guides should have provided a little more detail (distance between turns, landmarks, areas to pay extra attention, etc)

Cecil Harris
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

One of our hotels was not up to our expectations or the trip rating. Most of our maps/directions were good but missed a detour/construction.

Art Shotwell
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My wife & I had a wonderful four country bike-boat trip on the Danube. Saw wonderful little towns, met good friends on the trip, and enjoyed good food and wine.

Gail Black
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I enjoyed staying put at night better than the barge moving at night. We have done both and I enjoy walking around in the evening.I also would not have so many ferry crossings in the next trip. Puts a time factor in the ride.

Sandra Stocks
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Despite nasty weather conditions, which no one can control, the crew made our trip fun and exciting.

Kristi Sinkus
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

AC did not work
BargeBoat needed updating
Crew was accommodating
but moody
Overall my biking experience was terrific!"

Rafael Camarota
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

My wife and I enjoyed eating off the boat. It was our choice to have more local flare and maximize time off boat. It did feel wasteful. It would be great if there was a reduced meals option or an option to "donate" meals or value of meals to charity.

Gary Saelens
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Great bike/boat trip along the Danube!

Mary Anne Gilbert
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This trip is for the person who does not want any surprises. There was nothing wrong with the food or the bikes or the staff. However there was also no sense of discovery, as every detail of your day was planned out for you, what to order when you stopped for lunch at the only place recommended, what sights to see in the cities, etc. I personally like to explore along the way and take my time in the countryside. This is the only Tripsite trip I have taken that has left me feeling a bit let down, and I have taken several.

David Fish
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Cologne
Netherlands, Germany

It was our first bike and barge trip and we loved it so much we've already booked next years trip!

Heidi Coleman
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
Austria, Germany

The route descriptions were mixed. Some were excellent. Some were not. But our overall experience was wonderful. When the route descriptions were not as good, it added to the adventure and, as a result, we met additional people, who were generally warm and helpful.

It would be most helpful to have both detailed instructions (which are confirmed, e.g., make sure there's a street sign if the cue is to turn at a street or provide odometers if the cue is the travel a certain distance), and also decent maps."

Kathleen Josten
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The captain crew and trip leaders all went out of their way to make us feel at home and special. The bikes were ready when they needed to be. The dinners were ready on time. We were prepared for the next day's ride. I could not ask for a better experience! The My Story crew and Lesley as trip leader were the best!

Joseph Paladino
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
France, Germany

A great trip overall and a good value. I would've preferred an upcharge option for better hotels. The downside was the directions book, though well made and attractive, it was not helpful or practical. I found it was much easier to follow the road signs and ignore the book. Also, the book needs to point out attractions and diversions and points of interest. People are coming from all over the world to see this one particular area, it is so important to know what there is to explore in the countryside rather than just following the route.

Sandra Dusseault
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The guide was awful. We would only stop when he wanted to, and that was on the side of the path so that he could have a cigarette. When we suggested a stop in a small village, or somewhere interesting, he would say no. When I told him that I was going to go ahead on my own, he spoke to me like I was a child, telling me I was to stay with the group. The route descriptions in the evening were excellent...the main guide was fantastic, it was just the guide that we paid extra for that soured our trip.
The boat was great, the staff was phenomenal. Our rooms were really good, an incredibly clean.

Barbara Shah
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Bremen to Magdeburg
Germany

Very good experience generally. However, a slower cyclist was asked to pick up their pace or consider using an e-bike or bike alone - not good! A very different experience from the previous year's trip on Iris - Amsterdam to Bruges - where everyone was welcomed no matter what skill level.

Thomas Rorabaugh
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Patria Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
Germany

We enjoyed the trip but felt our guide could have provided more detail on points of interest along the way.

John Heinze
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Cologne
Netherlands, Germany

Our guide was ok but I've had better ones on previous trips. It was a lot of going through the motions since he had done 15-20 trips prior to ours it was maybe a case of being burned out. A bit more interaction on where we were going and what we were seeing would have been nice. Overall trip was top notch though as usual.

Arthur Armstrong
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The trip was one of the best I have taken.

Maribel Colon
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Patria Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
Germany

We had a wonderful trip. Some routes could had better directions since in several occasions we got lost, yes we made the best out of the experience. The staff was excellent, at critical times during the trip the staff pull together and made the trip as comfortable and pleasant. They are champions, no doubt about it!!!

Susan Roeterink
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Patria Koblenz to Saarburg
Germany

Trip was excellent. the boat is really bare bones but that was okay. Wifi was spotty and difficult at times.

Sydney Cullis
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

superb all round -organisation, food, scenery , amusing but booking proceedure not very efficient

S. Rishe
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

Starting with Carla whose patience and friendliness and kindness enhanced the reservation process, through the gorgeous boat, great bikes, incredible food, fun fellow guests of several nationalities, friendly and cheerful staff and the utterly delightful Dietmer our trip guide, we were thrilled.

Susan Donnely
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

The journey was well organized. The crew were fantastic, friendly, obliging and fun. The food was world class delicious and beautifully presented at all times. Our guide was very nice and did her utmost to adapt to the differing expectations of individual riders. We loved that she also took us on evening walks after dinner.

Joseph Rine
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Boat and staff were fantastic. Daily rides were good, but routes could have been better. The Devlin loop circled us around several gravel dikes for about 10 miles. Trails were rough and not well marked. But there were miles of great bike paths along the Danube that we motored past on the boat....

Kathryn Smith
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The tour guide, Jan (not sure of the spelling) was amazing! He was funny, helpful and friendly. All the logistics with the bike stuff worked very smoothly.

Paul Finger
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We couldn't be happier. Everyone from the trip "arrangers" to all the personnel on the barge could not have been more helpful. This was our first trip like this, everything was superb.