Germany Bike Tour Reviews 781 to 810 of 830

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Judi 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    If you want a great bike-and-barge trip, the My Story "4 Country Tour" should be high on the list for consideration. All of the staff are polite, courteous and helpful, full of energy and enthusiasm to help make your trip a pleasure. We didn't have the best weather, but even so, the rides were beautiful, safe and fun. They were accurately described as easy to moderate and the morning briefings with the maps were most helpful. As an American, I was so impressed with the European bikeways, which are well maintained in all the countries visited. The staff, cruise director and hotel director were terrific and ready to help with any concerns. They saw to it everyone had a great time! The bike tour of Budapest and the music concert in Vienna were our favorite extra tours. I would recommend this trip for anyone who would like a vacation with exercise to work off the great food and who wants to see a lot of country in a short time.

    Boat: My Story

  • Miltenberg to Koblenz (no longer available)
    by FRED 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Good trip, crew great, not one meal however with a German main dish!

    The guide needs to get off the Dutch bias. We were in Germany so we would have liked to see some things from the German point of view not the Dutch "bias" to say it nicely!

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
    by Kevin Wolley 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is a beautiful part of the world to see, and doing it via bike is excellent. We wanted to do it on a tandem, which the tour operator did not offer, so we rented one from a bike shop in Freiburg, and that worked out fine. The hotels were good, and so were the breakfast buffets that they offered. The distances cycled each day were good, which is to say short enough to allow stopping along the way as suited us, and arriving at the hotel in the evening with some time left to look around. We found part of our prescribed route to be flooded by the Rhine, so we had to divert to the roads through nearby German villages. This turned out to be fine, as a few miles on the Rhine levee is enough--after that, it gets a bit monotonous. The flower bedecked villages of Alsace are sensational. We ate wonderful French cuisine, and came home with a trove of beautiful pictures from this trip! On the negative side, the tour maps need to be improved. They are not detailed enough, far too often making it hard to know where the turn points of the route are. North is not always at the top on the maps, and there are no markings to indicate where north lies. The print is miniscule, so street names are almost impossible to read. The written directions accompanying the maps need improvement, too, due to occasional lapses of detail. The tour operator could solve these problems by offering handlebar mounted moving-map GPS rental. I believe people would be willing to pay for this additional aid. Overall, we are satisfied with this tour, and hope Pack and Pedal/Tripsite will work at refining their guidance to make it even better for those who take it later.

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jose Mª Duque Heras 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    * Impresión general: muy buena, satisfechos con la organización

    * el equipo entregado y la infraestructura muy buena

    * personal y atención : buenos

    * régimen de comida muy bien

    * rutas programadas: muy adecuadas, fáciles y atractivas

    * como aspecto negativo: falta de guias en español

    Gracias por todo

    Boat: My Story

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Chris Prince 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Absolutely the greatest vacation I've ever had. My wife and I did this for our honeymoon- Tripsite made planning this an absolute breeze. Picturesque sights, loads of activities and things to do. This was the quintessential vacation/honeymoon.

  • Main Bike Trail
    by William Osborn 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Just back from Germany yesterday and I just wanted to say thank you for helping with the arrangements for the trip. We really enjoyed ourselves. Everything worked out perfectly for the bikes, hotels, and transportation.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Wendy Davey 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    What a fantastic trip. From the moment we were on board we knew it was going to be well organised and professional. The barge "My Story" was always very clean and the food was fantastic along with the staff very helpful and accommodating. The cycling along the Danube was picture perfect. All the extra tours were well organised. Wonderful memories! Thankyou.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Marilyn Kuntze 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I did the four country tour along the Danbue with 11 others. We booked through Tripsite. From the beginning I was impressed with the friendly and professional backup from the staff. The trip was better than expected. The boat "My Story" -friendly staff, delicious Food, nice atmosphere. We had good weather, tours well explained and organized with no time pressure. My husband and I did the trip six years ago and enjoyed it and recommended it to friends and Family in the USA. I believe that all were very pleased with everything, This is ideal for a bike that is doing something like this for the first time.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dean Pond 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We have just returned from your four country tour on My Story. We were very satisfied with the accommodation despite a malfunction the last night which resulted in our being moved to another room. Our accommodation was kept extremely clean and the staff were very accommodating. We enjoyed the cycling and found the day to day schedule manageable. Although this was only the second week of operation for the season with a new staff, the meals were well prepared and quite enjoyable. We were seated with other English speaking travellers and it was interesting comparing the day's cycling and sightseeing. We will certainly consider another bike-boat tour.

    Boat: My Story

  • Lorraine Tour
    by George F. 5 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful time on the Lorraine tour last year starting from Toul. One of the fellow passengers arrived late and in a state because she had difficulty finding the barge -- taxis and the police did not know where to direct her. A great landmark to cite is the Grands Moulins Aubry. It is a prominent building readily seen from the highway, and the barge moors in the canal just adjacent to the one by the moulin. We ourselves walked around for a day before finding the spot. Your Google map is spot on -- we found it right away after consulting it -- but internet access was not readily available. All of this to say: Your clients would find the spot without difficulty if you were to direct them to "the canal right beside the one at Grands Moulins Aubry" in your travel instructions. I hope you find this note helpful. Looking forward to our next trip with you.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: France, Germany, Luxembourg

  • Berlin to Copenhagen
    by Bill Kurtz 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful experience cycling through the beautiful Meklenberg Lakes region of northern Germany. Our group, from USA, Germany, Belgium and Switzerland, was quite congenial. It was a trip well worth remembering.

    Countries: Denmark, Germany

  • Prague to Dresden (no longer available)
    by R.M. 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Prague-Dresden trip is one of the best trips I've taken. The route goes along the Elbe to Dresden. It's much like the Danube with small towns and nice places to stay. The day we started (May 27th) was the first day of rain that tormented Europe for a week. One day our ride ended, we had just checked into the hotel only to be followed by all night downpour. For most of the ride we escaped the rain. I had a long trip back to Vienna by train because of tracks being washed out and the Austrian railways being shutdown. Quite an adventure. We had a blast… even in the floods!

    Countries: Czech Republic, Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV (no longer available)
    by Alison Hartman 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The bike trip from Passau to Vienna will always be one of the highlights in my life! It was the first bike trip I had ever taken and it couldn't have been better! The bikes and maps were given to us, the hotels arranged and everything was incredible! If you want an experience in your life that will remain with you forever....do this trip! I'm 65 and it was so much fun! I have told all of my friends to plan this trip and experience the trip of a lifetime while biking along the Danube. Enjoy!

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Bamberg to Mainz (no longer available)
    by Chris Dear 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our bike group of 11 cycled with the Merlijn on August 17,2013. This was a 10++. Everything was spectacular. Henk, the captain, and Jentien did everything possible to make this the very best. Our rooms, the food, the bikes, our guide-Klaus-, the crew, the ship were great. We are so spoiled. Everyone on board was like family. We sang, did kareoke, danced and of course went biking. The Main trail was all paved and easy. Klaus made it interesting for us by going over car bridges, rail bridges and little ferries. We were introduced to the "cornering" system, which we found very helpful. Do not think twice about booking a tour on the ship Merlijn. Thank you Tripsite for helping arrange this for our group. Our pre and post barge trip to Wurzburg and Berlin was alo lots of fun.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Emily Hull-Parsons 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We just returned from our trip and wanted you to know how much we enjoyed it! Thanks for your help.

    The shirt and shorts were a big hit!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
    by Monica Neish 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The routes and towns for this trip were perfectly selected. The hotels were charming and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The bikes were high quality and in nearly new condition. We found the written route instructions, written in English, were very thorough and detailed for each day of riding.. Yes, we did manage to get ourselves a little lost on a few occasions but in retrospect the fault was always ours for not following the instructions carefully. Because of the detailed road maps included it was always easy to get ourselves back on track. The suitcase transfer was flawless- we never felt rushed to get our bags ready in the morning and they were always waiting for us at our next hotel. Our group ranged from mid 50's to mid teens and all of us were equally captivated by the scenery and region's history. This was a great trip and we look forward to taking another vacation with Tripsite.

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Clara Kai 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It's nice to jump into the lake after riding the bike under the sun. The beaches were easily accessed. The guesthouse in Arbon was very comfortable. My friend and I enjoyed the tour very much.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Maria Aller Huggins 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Beautiful ride for the whole family. Our boys are 8 and 10 and they did great because it was fun jumping in the lake. It was just right for a family of four. A lot of things to see on the way including castles, cathedrals, and the kids got to feed a monkey. The trails were well marked and we did not get lost. The accommodations were wonderful and the people very friendly. I would do this tour with my family again!

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Paul and Carol Vanevenhoven 6 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Interesting area. Sometimes there were few places to stop along the route. Rain on 2 days were unfortunate. Route directions were not always clear.Overall, a decent tour.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Shirley Lazurko 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We traveled with another couple from Saarburg to Koblenz and enjoyed every part of the trip, even biking in the rain during a couple of days! The bikes we used were better than our bikes at home, the gears changed easily and the bike was comfortable. We were provided with suitcases to put onto the bikes so we could easily store our lunch, water bottles, coat, camera etc. Every morning started with a clear and concise presentation on the route we were taking during the day. We received booklets that contained information on our route and descriptions on what we were going to see along the way. The bike paths were paved and we rarely had to worry about vehicle traffic along the way. We toured beside the Mosel River, past many kilometers of vineyards growing on steep slopes; we toured through small villages with castles overlooking the countryside. We took time to stop in villages along the way to enjoy some of the local wines and beer and apple strudel. The barge experience was excellent - the staff were very helpful and interested in helping you with any issues that arose. Our only recommendation would be to have WiFi available for the guests so we could easily keep in touch with families through email however most of the villages did have internet cafes. Overall the experience was excellent and we are already looking at booking our next bike trip through this site - Italy here we come!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Steve Moorhouse 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Absolutely loved the trip on board the Merlijn. Wonderful staff and amenities on board, met a great like minded group of travelling companions. As a coeliac, the crew were very attentive and ensured all my dietary needs were met. Nothing was too much trouble.

    As for the cycling and the scenery....what can I say? It was magic cycling along quiet bikeways through the vineyards and small villages, at all times in sight of the wonderful Moselle River.

    Last but not least...the wine selection and quality on board the Merlijn was the best (and very well priced).

    Already thinking about our next bike and barge tour...with the great help from Tripsite (of course).

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: France, Luxembourg, Germany

  • Magdeburg to Berlin
    by Wanda Short 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a terrific time exploring the vibrant city of Berlin, followed by marvelous days biking thru rejuvenated areas of eastern Germany. The Merlijn is a ***** experience of delightful accommodation, excellent dining, gracious hospitality. TripSite provides thorough itinery information and offers rapid replies to questions to prepare for the Bike/Barge experience. It was our second booking and we had a wonderful time.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Road of 100 Castles - Münsterland
    by Don Shields 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I did this tour with our two young children. I rode a tandem with a tag along so the our two kids had my leading through the ride. We had a wonderful time, and the help we received in booking the right family accommodation was fabulous. I highly recommend this tour as a family

    Countries: Germany, Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barb Adams 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our group had a WONDERFUL time. I am one of six who went to celebrate 20 years of biking together. I loved all the rides, but the ride on the last day Krem-Melk was the best! I liked the fact that the cruise director had everything lined out for the rides and actually went with us. He also pointed out good places to stop along the way for local treats. I loved going to the small villages along the way, especially Vac in Hungary. I also liked all the activiities the boat crew had planned, a music quiz contest, skits and dancing on the last night and Roland on the piano-organ. The food on the boat was so delicious; something to celebrate each country we were in. It waas wonderful touring through Budapest and Vienna. I highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: My Story

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Ann Vess 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    If you picked a tour aboard the Merlijn for your next vacation, you made the perfect choice. It is not just a barge, it is a luxury barge. The ride through the Mosel Valley is stunning with the vineyards and quaint towns. But, beyond that it is the specialness of your hosts, Jantien and Henk that make this an outstanding experience. Jantien's warmth, humor and attention to detail is amazing along with the delicious meals she prepares. When you come away from the trip, you are left with wonderful memories and you feel like you were entertained in the home of a close friend.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: France, Luxembourg, Germany

  • Prague to Dresden (no longer available)
    by Ralph Cohen 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a great time and were very happy with local provider, Ruckenwind, organization of the trip. Dieter from Ruckenwind reviewed the route before hand which was very helpful in keeping us on the best paths and he also was very flexible with our desire to use our own pedals. There were a few challenges with bike path construction that probably weren't known but we managed to trek through the construction sites. The only minor issue was whether we could have requested a derailleur bike rather than 7 speed with coaster brake. With cleats on bike shoes, the freewheel type drive train would have been easier to use - a couple of other people on the tour had 21 speed bikes (with cleats) but we didn't know it was an option. I guess I will ask next time. Otherwise, it was excellent. The hotels were lovely, hotel staff all very accomodating. The hotel in Prague was a bit removed from the heart of the city but easily accessible to the tram and convenient for starting the ride. The hotel in Melnik was a few kilometers from the old city but the hotel provided a free shuttle and we enjoyed the walk home (taxis available, too). Overall, very pleased with this tour (our third with Tripsite). Thinking about the next one...

    Countries: Czech Republic, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Paula Wickstrom 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a wonderful bike & barge tour- we biked about 168 miles in 6 days; the trails were great and easy to ride with beautiful scenery along the way. We started out with great breakfasts and ended with fabulous dinners. Met many nice people on the "My Story" barge. Great experience all around.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jan Engwer 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was a fabulous trip - even better than what I expected. We were able to spend a fair amount of time in most of the major cities and the bike trails took us through some gorgeous countryside, and there were many quaint villages along the way where we were able to shop and dine. The bike trails were wide, paved and level, and a couple of the longer routes offered shorter options by taking a ferry to cut off some of the distance. The entire "My Story" experience was delightful. The captain and all the crew members were very accommodating and friendly, the other guests were fun and young-at-heart, the rooms and beds were comfortable and clean, and the food was exquisite!!! The daily biking trips were well-planned and organized, and the extra tours, particularly the biking tours through Vienna and Budapest, were well worth the money. Even the weather cooperated nicely - we had sunshine every day and temperatures in the 70's (Fahrenheit). Perfect weather for biking.

    Boat: My Story

  • Berlin to Copenhagen
    by Allandra Hyndman 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    What a great trip this was through the old Eastern Germany and into Denmark. We rode through beech forests, beautiful old towns and tasted all the local food delights. Morning coffee and apple cake became a must. The accommodation was top rate and the daily distances just right to take in some sight seeing as well as peddling. Highly recommended bike trip.

    Countries: Denmark, Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Diane Reck 7 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This trip is all and more. There is a good balance of seeing nature at it's most beautiful as you follow the Mosel River and you go through many villages and see historic sites, and taste wine. You take many stops and the miles are spread out through the day so it isn't a hard, tiring bike ride either. This is a trip of a lifetime and great staff and people. The food on the boat is out of this world and the dinner table is set so beautifully! The barge is the way to go!

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: France, Luxembourg, Germany

PWPC