3 star rated Germany Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 45 of 45

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Mosel Bike Tour
    by Peter V. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Route Guide that we received was in German. We called Velociped and they said that they ran out of English guide - Basically we were SOL and not getting the Route Guide in English. They knew it way before hand that they did not have any English Route Guide - they should have let you or us know and maybe sent us written instructions for the route. We had difficulty in the first 3 days of the trip. We did not even get any instructions of how the electric bikes worked or how to operate it. The first day - my wife struggled on the ebike because it was not working right- we had to call. Instructions on what to do and how to start it would have been good. Very poor customer service. In addition, we signed up for CLASS A hotels, which was supposed to be 3 or 4 stars - not one of the hotels provided was a 4 star. The scenery along the Mosel River was spectacular, the luggage transfers between hotels was great.

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Mainz to Cologne
    by pam 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour we did was aboard the MS Andante in late September. The riding was easy, and for the most part trail was easy to follow. A few times riders had to be rescued by Garrett, our tour leader,as the route had changed. The scenery was beautiful with rolling hills, castles, vineyards, and of course the majestic Rhine. The Andante is an old ship that could really use some refurbishing. The lounge feels like you're in an old Sinatra movie, the dining room is cramped and there's no option of sitting with other passengers. The chef did a very nice job with the dinners, they were not overly elegant but were quite tasty. I can't say the same for breakfast. It alternated between boiled eggs and greasy sausage, to scrambled eggs and greasy sausage. The staff was not overly friendly, the front desk girls seemed more interested in their afternoon smoke, than greeting passengers. The cabins were accessed by treacherous stairs, but once there they were not too bad. The Read more… carpet has seen better days, and the bathroom was shower/toilet combo. Overall, if given the choice I would definitely do this cruise again, but might look into a different ship.

    Countries: Germany

  • Magdeburg to Berlin
    by D. Dalebout 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Janine was the ultimate host and an excellent chef. She worked very hard to assure guests were satisfied with the trip.

    Countries: Germany

  • Munich to Salzburg
    by Vickie Butte 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Yes, but only to the most experienced rider as the route is very diverse and at times rugged which would be very difficult for the average rider. coupled w/the bike/equipment is substandard making the ride even more difficult than it should be.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Mari Jo Krebs 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We prefer guided trips because we miss the guides knowledge of area. We start riding and don't take time to check out the sights

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Cecil Harris 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    One of our hotels was not up to our expectations or the trip rating. Most of our maps/directions were good but missed a detour/construction.

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Ivy Higgs 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were a bit late in the season so weather not great. Food brilliant.

    Boat: Allure

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah Stone 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Accommodations were too cramped. Our first boat trip had more adequate rooms.
    Breakfast was great but supper was so so. Not good vegetarian options .

    Boat: My Story

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Donald Stockwell 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was not good, would ride off too fast, often the tail end riders were lost and confused as they could not keep up. Everything else was excellent!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Mainz to Basel
    by Jessica Kiedrowski 4 years ago         Staff

    I was pleased with the points of interest on the tour (Strasbourg, Heidelberg, Colmar, Breisach), however, the route was very industrial at times and there was just nothing special about it. The maps and route descriptions were terrible and I'd say that was the number one complaint of fellow passengers. I talked to the guide and he said they will redo the route for next year so hopefully with some changes, it will be much better.

    Boat: MS Andante

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Marilyn Kerfoot 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Main reasons for not recommending: Too many people. I would prefer a smaller group especially for lunches and stops along the way. Too much time needed for logistics with such a large group. (That being said, Leslie and the crew did a great job being as efficient as possible with this given the numbers involved.) The trip was marketed as meals all included. However, it was clear that we were "expected" to eat lunch at restaurants during our biking days. That would have been okay except we were always at the same place as dozens of other people (mostly people from our own boat who had not elected to take the guided trip option) so that the experience was not at all enjoyable. The restaurant staff were obviously harried at having to deal with such a large group at one time.
    We always seemed to be in a rush to get back to the boat before its departure. I hadn't realized that the boat would have such a tight schedule to get from one docking point to another. I Read more… would have paid slightly more to have better food. There was way too much pork served; I felt starved for good quality, fresh vegetables by the time the tour ended.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah Stone 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were to have 1 rest day in Vienna but had 2 rest days. The second being Budapest. We liked the city but would have preferred to see more of Hungary from our bikes. My husband is not an historic buff so was bored with sight seeing.

    Boat: My Story

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Thomas Rorabaugh 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Information provided by tour guide about towns and attractions very limited, and sometimes inaccurate, compromising planning and enjoyment of the daily ride.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Nigel Finney 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Konstanz trip and bikes were very good. The Danube trip bikes were not as good and the scenery needed to be varied more since riding alongside the Danube got a touch boring after a while. (Review from Around Lake Constance and Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna)

  • Mainz to Basel
    by Gregory Akin 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Rhine from Mainz to Basel, for the most part, is industrial and not as picturesque as other European bike and barge routes we've enjoyed. There were a few cities (Heidelberg, Germany and Strausbourg, France) which were beautiful and offered much to do, but we were expecting the scenic bike routes with quaint towns for cake and coffee, or beer stops along the way and were sorely disappointed. But the most disappointing aspect of this trip was the inability of the on-board guide to give proper instructions nor enlighten us of things to see or visit. We found out about popular sites from all channels except the guides. In Strausbourg, while chatting with tourists, we heard of an amazing evening light show projected onto an enormous cathedral - huge crowds gathered to enjoy this historic presentation, yet nothing was mentioned of it by our guide. We have needed so little guidance to enjoy our bike and barge trips, but this one missed the mark. Based on previous trips that Read more… we've done, we'd convinced 2 other couples to join us and they were underwhelmed and disappointed as well. The barge and accommodations were adequate, though rooms were random sizes no matter which deck you choose. One couple paid extra for the upper deck, but their room was much smaller than another couple's on the lower level. The staff and meals on this barge were top notch and we can't say enough about the gourmet chef and tireless staff.

    Boat: MS Andante

PWPC