Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews 481 to 510 of 956

 

 Country: Netherlands • REMOVE

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by Katherine H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed biking through the fields of heather, beautiful! Tip for others: use a gel seat!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Andy K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through beautiful villages and countryside! We stopped in beautiful places to eat lunch, rest and take pictures. Our guide Alfonse was amazing! Our last night, we took a private boat cruise on the canals in Amsterdam, arranged by our guide! AWESOME TRIP!

    Boat: Magnifique (Princesse Royal)

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathleen H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved every minute of it! :) Thank you so much for a great adventure!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Andrea R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through area of windmills.
    We were frustrated by the slow pace of our group.

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Diane B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every part of this excursion exceeded my expectations. The Magnifique II is a fabulous boat, with very comfortable accommodations. The staff was excellent, all worked very hard and the teamwork was amazing. Cycling routes were fabulous and Thomas was absolutely an excellent guide. The food was first rate, LeRoy did a great job. It was a fabulous trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Heart of Holland
    by Bruce N. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Biking the rural/countryside of Holland

    Boat: Flora

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Jeanine C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our booking and trip experience were excellent. The Tripsite team were very responsive to all inquiries and questions. The trip information provide was accurate, provided information to provide to family members at home and was received in a timely manner.
    Excellent trip, staff and overall experience!

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by Gordon M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had an exceptional guide. He had a lot of local knowledge and often altered our route in order to extend our cycling experience.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Susan H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything about the trip exceeded my expectations. In particular, the dinners were truly gourmet. Keep that chef (Leroy)!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Mona W. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The people on our tour were great. A bunch of fun people.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Marcia B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Highlights: Seeing these countries via bike paths. Going through small towns and villages with an excellent guide to highlight the history and out of the way places.
    Tip: get in shape! You will enjoy it more if you are fit to bike these distances.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kurt W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike and barge trip, and we loved every aspect of it. Yes, the weather was a challenge, but even that was rewarding in retrospect. The guide and crew were great, the food was wonderful, and the boat was very comfortable (and a good size). We got to know all our fellow passengers and that was the icing on the cake. Now I'm spending way too much time, probably, reading about where to take our next trip!

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Dave C. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Passenger/participant/staff group dynamics were excellent.
    Barge had no laundry service, so go prepared with the necessaries to look after it yourself.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Gordon W. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Biking through wine country in Germany and going into the fields themselves. Take this trip!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Kristine & Joe S. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    This trip exceeded our expectations on every level. We'd never done a bike and barge excursion and decided to jump in with both feet on this trip. To say that we were thrilled is an understatement. The incredibly comfortable boat, the friendly and hardworking crew, the delicious meals, the fantastic guide, the varied and beautiful route... it was all more than we imagined. I can't tell you what a pleasure it was to experience three countries and their cultures with the intimacy that a bike tour allows.

    We're experienced travelers and think through our options carefully. The combination of activity, education, relaxation and total immersion was so appealing... and this excursion did not disappoint. To top it off, given everything that is included, this trip is a tremendous value. We can't wait for our next adventure with Tripsite!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Gail C. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The trip started out with high winds and rain but it didn't dampen the spirit of the group. We were always going downhill with the wind on our back! The comfort of the barge and delicious meals were outstanding. The Mosel valley was probably the highlight for scenery and seeing the grape harvest in full swing. Our wine tasting evening was one of the best we have ever experienced. The Captain wanted us to have a real experience and we did.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • South Holland Tour
    by John B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling gave us a good look at south Holland. Wonderful variety. Passed through peaceful farm land and enjoyed the many small towns we passed through. Getting lost from time to time forced us to interact with locals and many of those occasions turned into highlights. Found the Dutch people to be most helpful.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Leanne S. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Especially enjoyed the days cycling through the vineyards along the Mosel River.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • South Holland Tour
    by Gaye S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was quite an adventure! Best way to see the real country and people of Holland.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Timothy S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. A suggestion for others would be to prepare for wind if going during that time of year. The route may be very flat but the possibility of a constant headwind can make it feel uphill. Knowing this, some guests may opt for using an eBike.

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Harvey C. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We loved Germany the best. The coffee stops were the best. Great brats and pastry.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • North Holland Tour
    by Jill L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A number of things stand out. First, the size of the room (which was shown as 4 single beds but ended up being a tiny room with two bunkbeds where we could not all stand in the room). Second, the fact that after active days covering 50 Kms or more there was no water provided (a bottle of water was provided at breakfast only) and no food available in the hours before dinner. Third, all meals had to be taken at the same assigned table reducing any opportunity to mingle with other guests. Fourth, on an active holiday with healthy active people, the meals did not include any colorful vegetables. The staff were mostly lovely and the rides were picturesque, but the overall experience was not positive.

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Jan B. 3 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Great vistas of remarkable vineyards. More WWII history info prior to the trip and designated site visits would truly be great.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Charlott H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike and Barge in Belgium and Holland was a whole week of memories and is at the top of my favorite trips! You are surrounded daily by beautiful landscapes and architecture unique to the Netherlands. The bikes are perfect for extended times of riding and you are on bike paths close to canals for most of the trip. This is an active vacation which I prefer but is never too difficult. Everything is done for you so there was never any worries and I was relaxed all week. Meeting people from around the world is amazing. I had the fortunate experience of meeting a special couple from Australia and that was a bonus! I hope to do this trip again in the near future.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Marie B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall this was a great experience. The boat was clean and the staff friendly. The itinerary and scenery was beautiful. The only negative was that the website had several inaccuracies. For example, the mileage each day was much longer than published. Also, the number of meals provided was less than published.

    Boat: Magnifique (Princesse Royal)

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jim W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great experience, although a very large group to be riding together. The food was good but not great. Made some friends and really enjoyed the trip.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Bryan F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What I enjoyed most about my Boat & Bike trip were the rides through the countryside in the early mornings when it was quiet, and the only sound was the hum of my bicycle. Secondly, were the times we moved the boat during breakfast. I found myself staring out the window at life and business along the canals. Lastly, the new friends we made, from Britain, Australia, and Canada!

    Boat: Magnifique (Princesse Royal)

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Rick C. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The country side, the guide was very personable and knowable of the routes, sites with a very positive and safety conscious attitude. More time in some of the major centres (Gent, Antwerp) I would recommend that travelers arrive at least one day preferable two in advance of the bike & barge departure and stay at least 2 days afterwards to enjoy the cities of Bruges and Amsterdam. The availability of e-bikes was essential so that those less experienced in pedalling the distances could enjoy the biking part of the trip.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michael P. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed the variety of the tour, including bike rides through pastoral countryside and alongside canals, and walking tours through fascinating historical cities and towns. The food and drink were highlights, both on and off the boat, and I really enjoyed traveling with a great group of fellow travelers. The crew and guide were fantastic! The Tripsite guidebook included suggestions for tipping the crew and guide. Our group felt that the suggested tip amounts were not adequate, so we tipped a lot more than what was suggested.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

PWPC