Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews 481 to 510 of 841

 

 Country: Netherlands • REMOVE

  • Patricia C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Three highlights of the trip: glorious sunshine on the palette of colour at the Keukenhof Gardens; exploring the fabulous 'secret' back alleys in the Kieuperspoort district of Middelburg; the helpful, friendly and confident nature of our Dutch hosts. Fantastic holiday!!!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • William L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    My wife not getting adequate vegetarian food on two occasions. Left a bad impression.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Kathleen L. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was riding through the windmill countryside.

    Boat: Anna Maria Agnes

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Kathleen C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was wonderful, from the newly renovated Barge, the staff, food, agenda and bikes. The booking process sometimes was a bit confusing and questions took a bit to get answers to via email. The cost was so reasonable and good value overall! I will definitely travel this way again!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Shirley 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We just completed this trip (may 13 - 20), and loved the experience. The rural scenery was so lovely - however if you are looking for more than peaceful pastures and canals for 6 days, then this might not be the trip for you. The first day of biking was into a strong wind for 55 km which made it very challenging. I would recommend an e-bike! The bikes were very heavy, the gears changed easily, the saddlebags and bike locks worked very well. Although we had maps, 2 GPS, a discussion of the route by the captain....we still got lost every time we went through a city. There were several times that the map showed a road number however that number was not found on the road signs. The food was served family style and was plentiful. The boat was small but suitable for the 19 passengers, the bathrooms were tiny but there was plenty of hot water for showers.
    Negatives - no ice for our water bottles; no fans or air conditioning for the couple of days that were extremely hot; our rooms were Read more… never cleaned; the captain tended to be curt; the maps were not always accurate.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • David F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Every participant showed great enthusiasm for a perfect holiday, not one moan or groan.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Sya C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was the wonderful hospitality we experienced on the Zwaantje. The captain and staff were great and I could recommend them to anyone. It was a fantastic way to enjoy a siblings reunion.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Kelly S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    One of the best trips!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • John O. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The crew on the barge were fantastic. The trip exceeded our already high expectations.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Cornelis S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We were very pleased with the bike/barge tour on the Swaantje. Being a slightly smaller boat, it took us right into the heart of the towns. Boat staff most friendly and accommodating. Our bike guide Felix was a gem. Great sense of humour and understanding of everyone's concerns.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Jim G. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable parts were the Keukenhof Gardens and the monstrous Flower Market.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Rose F. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    After sorting out problems with the bikes I was assigned I found the tour through the tulip fields to be amazing. I only wish the biking had been more leisurely with opportunities to stop and enjoy the fields and take more photos.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Andi 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Although the weather was rather rough in April, the tulip fields were lovely. Our guide was sweet and attentive, but her lack of experience in working with large, diverse groups created some difficult situations. With more experience, she will be super. Two bikes needed basic repairs within the first twenty minutes of biking, indicating that they had not been checked prior to our group's arrival. The captain of the Jelmar was skillful in managing the barge, but his people skills are still developing. Enough said.
    Jelmar April 2017

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Dave S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was the wind mill sawmill. I have six people I have recommended this trip to next year they have already contacted you.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Darle S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The biking and scenery was amazing. The collective group, including staff, became family. The best was the fields in bloom with tulips and such. Wow!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Julie H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was riding through the beautiful countryside.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Betsy A. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was fun but I don't think the description of the trip was accurate. The trip was about 85% bike riding and 15% site seeing. I would have liked more time to explore the cities we were riding through but most of the time it was too late or placed were closed. Not sure if I would do another tour like this. The riding was beautiful but I really expected more site seeing according to the trip description.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Carla Puntel 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    We did the Tour of Tulips of last day 8 April 2017. Our group was of 9 brazilians and the compliments were unanimous. The boat is amazing, very cozy and comfortable, the food delicious and the wonderful staff. Our guide, Lia, was extremely professional, attentive and available. The bike tour was really indescribable. We’ve been through wonderful places and we could learn a bit from Netherlands and its charms.
    I would like to especially thank Jantien and all the care and attention with which she dedicated to me, when I hurt my ankle.
    Thank you for everything Jantien! We hope to see you soon in another bike tour. Big hug !

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Schalk C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable aspects of the trip were cycling, Keukenhof tulpis, and Alsmeer flower market.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Nitin Raj S. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The best part was the flower Gardens and flower fields.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Penelope H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was absolutely wonderful. Even with a day or two of challenging weather.....with the right clothes it didn't matter. We were surrounded by such beauty every day and the people of the Netherlands are top notch.....you really couldn't find people that are sweeter and friendlier anywhere. Five Star Plus!!!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Ruth K. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Awesome experience...I just would liked for the guide to pedal slower so that I could enjoy my surroundings more.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Lai C. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was fellow cyclists and our very helpful and knowledgeable guide.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mallory W. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Honestly, it was a dream from booking to end. I had quite a few questions that Tripsite answered within hours, but the greatest surprise was the Quo Vadis. It was incredible; my first riverboat but most definitely not my last. The ship lulled me to sleep, Chef Frank cooked the best meal of my life every night, and Captain Rendert was so accommodating and intelligent. He surveyed the weather, the course, everything everyday, and tailored it to our crew. I can't wait for my next cruise!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Ana B. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent trip!

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Ann H. 2 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was the people we met.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Carla 3 years ago     Staff

    Hi Lynda,
    Thanks so much for your feedback.
    I'm sorry you had a hard time with the bikes aboard the Fluvius.
    Regarding the tour guide, we encourage all of our guests to speak up when something is not going right so we can do our best to remedy the situation immediately. We agree, during your tour that the guide was not on his best behavior and have since had to consider a replacement for him.
    There has been some confusion aboard the Fluvius about the role of your tour guide. Because there are 30+ bikers aboard the Fluvius, he cannot be counted on to lead and look after all riders at all times. The guide's role is not to lead the group, but to be sure all riders get from point A to point B safely. If one rider has a flat tire or another becomes lost, it is the guide's job to "rescue" the rider.
    For most boats under 30 passengers, the guide will lead and look after the bikers for the day's route. But for some bigger boats, Read more… i.e. 30+ passengers, the guide's role is a bit different. You can read on the "What's Included / What's Not Included" section of the tour page the difference between the guide's role.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Carla 3 years ago     Staff

    Nancy - I'm so glad you hear you had a great experience on your first bike tour.
    We're SO sorry you could not find the boat upon arrival. We always give an emergency phone number in these kinds of situations so don't be afraid to call us right away, the next time around! :-)

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Charla Parker 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    Nancy...What a great blog. Your photos are wonderful, as always! You are living the retirement that the rest of us dream of having someday.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Michele Finley 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer

    It is wonderful to see how your retirement has turned into this creative adventure for you, both in travel and photographic artistry! Mark and I hope to begin soon!

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC