Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews 391 to 420 of 956

 

 Country: Netherlands • REMOVE

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by John G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A tour of the Netherlands has to be a "bucket list" item for any biker. It is a fascinating country with great history and scenery. Travelling on the Quo Vadis for the Tulip Tour was a great way to experience the smell of the hyacinth fields along the country roads.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Angela T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the comfortable accommodations on the barge.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Karina M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through the tulip fields and the Kuekenhoff gardens on the same day is a memory that will stay with me forever.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • South Holland Tour
    by Dave C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The De Amsterdam is more like a cruise ship than a barge, very nice cabin, very nice dining room.

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Dave C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew on the Zwaantje was fantastic. We loved the meals that Frank prepared. Fred is a great tour guide.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Jo S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding through the tulip fields...the sight and the smell was indescribable...pictures couldn't do it justice...

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Janice B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved tulip day and going to Keukenhof Gardens

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Roberts W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tulip fields the way they smelled going into Keukenhof gardens it was marvelous the whole trip was fabulous. The captain and wife on Zwaantje was so great cook was magnificent they were so welcoming and Fred the guide was so knowledgeable of the area love loved the trip.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Connie W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The best part of the trip was the congenial atmosphere on the barge, the camaraderie amongst the guests, and the excellent guided biking experience.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Brenda M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tulip tour trip is too short, but cycling around the flowering bulb fields was wonderful. Visiting Keukenhof gardens in bloom was great. I didn't like assigned seating for our meals and the buffet organization on the Fluvius was terrible, especially when trying to make lunches in a tiny space with everyone grabbing stuff. Food arrangements were the weakest part of the tour, although they also hired an awful lounge singer one night.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Kathy C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The 8 day Tulip tour was fantastic. The boat, bike, food, staff and scenery was everything we had hoped for! The only thing we couldn't control was the weather and the tulips not quiet in bloom....we dodged the rain and saw many daffodils and hyacinth and met new friends to top it all off. Thanks for the memories!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Mary A. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our boat, the Merlijn, and its crew were fabulous! A huge thank you to Jantien and Henk for an amazing weeklong experience! This is the way to see The Netherlands! We rode bikes from one port to another, exploring the countryside, meeting local families, enjoying the beautiful fields of tulips, daffodils and hyacinths, purples, reds, yellows flowing across the land. Our hosts fed us 3 wonderful meals a day, and gave us opportunities to explore each city in the evenings with our knowledgeable and dedicated guide, Ferry. We stayed a few extra days to learn all about Amsterdam as well, which was definitely worth it. So much to see and learn about. Tripsite did a great job of organizing this trip, from efficient email contacts, timely billing reminders, and tips for preparing for a unique trip such as a Bike and Barge in Amsterdam. Absolutely we recommend Tripsite, and the Merlijn in particular!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Randall B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip! Even though the tulips were a bit behind because of the extended winter, the tour offered wonderful scenery and a plethora of other flowers. The guides were great and the pace accommodated all the participants. Great food, accommodations, service and staff!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Jean Balloon 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just ended this tour this morning and it was one of the best vacations we've ever taken. Can't say enough about the captain, staff and guides on the Fleur-very glad we chose a guided trip as there are numerous detours and unclear route signs. Fantastic sights, excellent equipment, wonderful food and fun fellow passengers, REALLY important to take the right clothes (we wore t-shirts, short, sandals and down coats/hat/gloves in the same week) Full rain gear including waterproof shoes or boots is essential. Also be aware the wind in the Netherlands can be brutal-we booked e-bikes and were REALLY glad we did! Steps down to cabin are very narrow and steep - almost like a ladder, so make sure you can do this several times each day. Excellent communication from Tripsite regarding booking and all information. Thank you Cpt. Steffy, Elsa, Aga, Nellie, Helena, Petra and Bert for an extraordinary holiday!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Lyla C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have already recommended this trip to my walking and running friends as I am not a biker but found that it was very, very manageable with little current biking experience. I rode bikes a lot as a kid but just haven’t been on a bike much at all lately. This winter in Canada made it impossible to get out and get out on the bike ahead of time. Of course the flat Dutch terrain helped and I ended in the long group each day! The best part was that by being well looked after by the tour by way of food and the guides, the group came together in just a magnificent way. The days were laid out in advance for us and we were all quite comfortable. Everyone was relaxed and really good company. We soon were having a lot of fun!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Lorraine D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just one tip that we should have more of the history explain on the bike trip, not enough info on the places we were seeing.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Antigoni T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed the biking and food was great.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Rosemary W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everyone associated with the barge was kind and personable. We met interesting people and enjoyed the 5 Star service of the entire crew. I’m sure all of our friends at home are tired of hearing about our amazing trip, LOL! We are already looking to book a future bike and barge trip and bring some of those friends along. The only thing that wasn’t perfect about this trip was the weather, but we made the best of it.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

    • Tulip Tour - 5 day
      by Vicky B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      Hi Rosemary,
      3 of my family and I will be doing a Best of Holland July 2019 and I'd REALLY appreciate info on the "bad weather" side of your trip. I'm thinking we should buy rain pants (jacket of course) just in case. 3 of us are not the best riders, so was it hard to ride in rain? Slippery? Did you ever opt not to ride but stay on the barge or just go into town and look around on your own? I'm finding it hard to get really good bad weather tips, info anywhere on the net or on reviews. I'm a "planner" so would appreciate anything you can suggest. Also, did you encounter a lot of wind and for the unexperienced bike riders, maybe better for the e-bike. Thanks a bunch!!!!!

      Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by Shari Lukens 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Incredible! Amazing! Living the dream! There are no words to describe how exceptional this trip was. It was like "living the dream" really!. The beautiful, ever changing countryside of Holland was gorgeous. Every turn and corner brought a new landscape. From the moment I was chatting with Carla and Anna from Tripsite, to our home for 10 days on the Zwaantje was exactly what I expected and hosts Martijn and Marjorie were amazing. So caring for your every need and ensuring your trip is everything you wanted it to be. Frank the chef - well, let's just say the gourmet meals were impressive and delicious, and Fred our cycling guide was above and beyond. I'll be back! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for such an incredible experience. Simply amazing.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Corri & Tom H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    FOOD & staff aboard the Gandalf were amazing and loved Ghent!!!!

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Nancy V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was surprised at how great everything was.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michael P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the whole trip. The pace was perfect, fast enough to be interesting, with constantly changing scenery and a mix of cities, villages, and farmland, and yet slow enough to enjoy and savor the experience. Our travel guide and the staff on the Gandalf were fantastic and looked after us almost like royalty, but still with a casual and friendly approach.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Amanda S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am still raving about our trip - we loved every minute of it. Loved the cycling through all the fields of tulips and Lia our guide was fantastic. The barge was warm and welcoming - like coming home at the end of the day - excellent food. I only have good things to say. Just do it!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Rebecca K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike trip, the guide, the staff were all memorable. I'm not easily pleased. The trip was beyond my expectations. Loved riding through the countryside. Our guide was terrific while very responsible he was also fun and made everyone feel at ease. Although I was a solo guest he always made me feel comfortable. They staff was outstanding. Hard working and sooo nice. Again very friendly and just wanted everyone to be happy. Have shared my positive experience with so many friends, etc. I am happily considering another trip this summer. I'm an American and a somewhat simple/picky eater... at times I didn't care for what was served. Suggestion...Possibly more variety for lunch. It was the same everyday. Some type of luncheon meats and cheese.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Mia & Jim M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Parts: The fields of flowers in the Netherlands, our fellow passengers, both the barge and bike riding experience.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ed W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike , boat, staff and fellow travelers all great fun. Memorable trip for me and still talking about to my mates at home in Australia.

    Boat: Fiep

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Carmen P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The barge is beautiful & clean. The food fantastic! I totally enjoy the countryside & the cities we stopped at. I always recommend this trip from Bruges to Amsterdam.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jim W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful scenery. If you are an experienced cyclist, consider splitting off with a smaller group. The group was too large with varied skills, making the ride less than it could have been.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Warren S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our first bike tour. It was a very enjoyable experience. Friendly, professional staff. Great accommodation, food and customer service by all the staff. Cycling is a great way to leisurely enjoy all that the local countryside has to offer. We’ll be back!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

PWPC