Netherlands Tour Reviews — 841 to 870 of 901

4.8 out of 5

 


Bonnie Johnson
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Not too sure what I can say that the above feedback haven't already said. We travelled as a group of 6 on the Magnifique from Brugge to Amsterdam May 31st to June 7th, 2014. Everything and everyone was top notch. We started out with Carl as our Captain but due to holidays the barges owner, Walter, took over. Not only can he handle the barge but he does a mean BBQ. Our guide Tom was perfect. With a great sense of humour and and sweet personality. There was not one person who did not get along with him. Meeka, bar tender, server, cleaner, and Peter the amazing cook finished off the crew. The barge itself was fantastic. No complaints there. The beds are extremely comfortable.

Unfortunately one of our group was not able to complete the trip but we did meet a great group of people from all over the world.

I am not the greatest biker but thoroughly enjoyed the whole journey and would do it again.

Liz and Bill Chudoba
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Highly recommend Trip Site for our bicycling vacations. We, family and friends booked the Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Amsterdam. Had a fantastic time again on the MERLIJN. Knew one week was not enough, after our 1st tour in 2011 in Germany, we had to book the following week also - Amsterdam to Brugge. The highlight of course were all the flowers in the Keukenhof. This is a must see for all flower lovers. Trip Site employees in PA were very easy to work with and will book all our tours for us. In fact we will return to the MERLIJN on September 27 to October 4th 2014 for wine country.

Rachel Beyerle
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

I just wanted to say a belated thanks to the staff for your assistance with the Gandalf trip earlier in the month. Everything was great and well-organized with the boat, the tour, and we had a fun group of travelers.

Thank you!

Michiele C.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Holland in a Nutshell - a Tulip Tour
Netherlands

We had an absolutely great time!!! The first couple of days it was very windy and rainy but the weather just kept getting better. The hotels were comfortable. Maybe the only change would have been a smaller town than coming into Hilversum. The Dutch people, countryside and food were fantastic. Everything went very smoothly.

Thank you for a great tour!! It was a very special time for my daughter and me!!

Prosper Bellizia
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

At the risk of sounding hyperbolic, this was a vacation that I still think about everyday, almost 2 months later. The only way to see this beautiful country is at ground level on a bike. And the only way to do it is with the crew of the Quo Vadis who made the trip so much fun.

Did I say how much I loved this trip?!!

Ralph and Erna Fluit
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

We had an absolutely marvelous time.

The crew was amazing,the food very delicious, they all went out of their way to make it a very memorable vacation.

We truly appreciated all the extra things that Lia did for us, taking us on excursions in the town at night, even arranging a tour one night through the canals in one of the towns.

We highly recommend a bike and barge tour and have done so already, we will definitely do it again and would love to be with the same crew.

Thank you so much!

Shirley Stephens
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and had no glitches. I would like to recommend the barge and bike trip around Amsterdam thru the US affiliate, "TripSite". The office was very helpful, pleasant and efficient. The information offered prior to the trip was excellent and unexpectedly thorough including a history of the history of the Netherlands! The excursion did not disappoint. The barge was compact, as expected but clean and comfortable. Most notably, the food was OUTSTANDING. The wife of the captain is an excellent cook and offered a different, interesting 3 course fair nightly. The passengers complimented her frequently after the meal and gave her special applause at the end. As promised we were offered coffee and cake just before disembarking. An extra detail but so nice for closure.The guide on our bike tour was fluent in English and happy to answer all questions. He was thoroughly knowledgeable in the bike routes, taking short a cut through the tulip fields because they Read More

Nick and Petra Voordenhout
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Just a note to say how much we enjoyed the 8 day tulip bike and barge. The captin Rendert, crew Valdi, chef Alf and guide Lia went beyond our expectations. The boat was clean and well kept and cozy. The meals amazing and Lia did her best to make it enjoyable for everyone regardless of ability. We would truly recommend this tour to anyone. We would like to do another tour with them in the future.

Simon Husband
6 years ago

Tripsite Staff

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Just a brief note to tell you how much we enjoyed the Tulip Tour aboard the Quo Vadis.

The Captain Rendert, the Second Mate Waldi, the Chef Alfe and Guide Lea were excellent. They worked hard to make everyone happy and made a good team. They really enjoy what they do and this showed in the attention and professionalism shown to all the guests.

The itinerary was spot on for content and interest. Not a moment was left to chance as they made sure we enjoyed every aspect of the Dutch culture, countryside and the beauty of the tulip fields.

Special mention to our Guide Lea for her excellent knowledge of all things Dutch, our Chef Alfe for his passion for food and ensuring our nutritional wellbeing and Waldi for going out of way to make sure that we did not want for anything practical on the boat.

We look forward to doing more tours with TripSite.

Susan Cumming
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

This is a great way to travel in Europe. The flowers were beautiful at Keukenhof and the Merlijn provides wonderful accommodations! This was our second trip through Tripsite and we are going again.

Marsha Hildebrand
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Barneveld Townhouse for Rent
Netherlands

We spent 2 weeks in the Barneveld townhouse and loved it. This is an ideal alternative for the more independent traveler who wants to bike and explore at your own pace. We used Barneveld as our home base and did a lot of cycling in the nearby National Park. The townhouse is located near the edge of town and you can be cycling through tranquil farmland within 10 minutes. Bike paths in Holland are flat and typically in excellent condition making longer distances doable. I preferred to use an electric bike and Hennie made all the arrangements for me with a very good local bike shop which was about a 10-minute walk from the townhouse. The townhouse is not your typical vacation rental. It is a lovely home with comfortable furniture and excellent appliances including a full size washer and dryer. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need. There is even a private back patio where you can hang your wash outside if you prefer and dine when the weather is warm. There is a large supermarket at the end of the block and many restaurant and shopping opportunities, all within walking distance. All in all a great location. We loved it!

Victoria Diehl Levesque
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Sept trip from Bruges to Amsterdam on The MS Magnifique, booked through Tripsite.com. Comfortable cabin, great food, hot tub wonderful after long days of biking! Crew easy going but always helpful and attentive. Multi national fellow passengers all good company. Definitely encourage bringing your own gel seat cover! I had an electric assist bike which I'd highly recommend if in any doubt about managing the occasionally challenging distances. Already thinking of booking another similar trip next year.

Loretta Dobson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My husband and I did the bike and barge tour from Bruges to Amsterdam Jun 29/2013 - and had the most amazing time!! Right from my first contact with the folks at Tripsite to the end of our tour - everything was perfect. Carl the Captain, Tom the guide and all the rest of the hardworking fun loving crew were amazing. We cycled some of the most beautiful countryside, Tom was very funny and looked after everyone - the ages on our tour were 16 to 77 - and we all felt comfortable. You can go at your own speed or go strictly with the group. The Magnifique was a beautiful and very comfortable boat - I loved it and I would be very hard pressed not to choose her again for our next trip - we are hoping to do a trip during the tulip season and maybe one in the early fall:) I actually wanted to book the return trip when we cycled into Amsterdam - but we were going to a friends wedding in Italy so had to continue on:) I really can not say enough good things about Tripsite on the organization side (friendly, knowledgeable and efficient; and the the crew of the Magnifique - they were all Magnifique!!!! Can't wait to go again.

Jonathan G.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Brussels to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We just got back from Amsterdam on Saturday. What a fantastic trip. We actually did more miles of biking than the itinerary listed. But that was fine. We had a great group of people. You don't need to be in fantastic shape for this trip but you should brush up on your basic bike skills. If you have not ridden in 20 years you may want to ride on some bike trails. It's a leisurely pace but it's not the mileage but the time in the saddle. On our longest ride we went about 35 miles but probably spent over 5 hours in the saddle. How will your tushy feel?

Our boat was the Tijdgeest, Gerritt (captain), Franz (deckhand, waiter, dog wrangler, and all around good kid), Eva (if I could keep her she would be my personal chef) are the crew. They did a fantastic job and the service was great. Food was great. After a long day of riding if Eva would have cooked a sock I would have eaten it. Rooms are small but livable. Comfy place to take a nap, sleep and get cleaned up. Nothing Read More

Marti G.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

I had a fantastic time onboard the IRIS on the Amsterdam to Bruges tour 8/3/13. The IRIS is a great vessel for this kind of tour. Our air-conditioned cabin was spacious with plenty of cabinets and closet space and we easily stored our luggage underneath the bunks. The private bathroom also had well thought-out storage space and towel racks.

On this tour, I was able to put my worries and my wristwatch away and simply enjoy myself. Our guide, Wouter, took good care of us and was knowledgeable about each town and village we visited with him. The food was superb! Our chef, Clive, prepared inspired three-course dinners for us, including some local dishes, like Flemish stew. All in all, it was one of the best vacations I’ve ever had.

Thanks to the folks at Tripsite for booking this tour and providing really detailed information to me prior to the trip. I would like to mention two additional points that would have been useful to know. First, as to the meeting Read More

Buford and Gina
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

The tour was excellent. We’d have no reservations about booking another tour comparable to this, or recommending the trip to others—in fact, we already have. We enjoyed every minute.

We were somewhat anxious about how the trip would work out: would we find the boat ok?; would we be able to get everything on-board ok?; would we have a good time? The trip worked like clockwork—everything worked exactly as it should!

Our accommodations on-board the Angela Esmee were quite comfortable. The rooms were small, as we expected. However, they were very comfortable. Additionally, we spent very little time in our cabin. Most of our time was spent either on the bikes, walking in the great port villages, on the top deck, or in the dining salon, enjoying the company of the others on the tour or the wonderful staff. Food on-board the ship was very good, and quite filling. Just right to get us off to a good start, or to replenish us after a great Read More

Ron Neesham
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Anna Maria Agnes South Holland Tour
Netherlands

We have just returned from our holiday on the Anna Marie Agnes which we thoroughly enjoyed. The whole voyage and cycle riding was well planned and, Ida, the guide could not have been better.

We were allocated a dining table with a total of eight English speakers who all gelled from the first meal and we sometimes met at path side cafes.

Beth Davidson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

North Holland Tour
Netherlands

I loved the Northern Tour aboard the Elodie. It is a nice small boat with a wonderful crew and fantastic bikes. I hope to do it again some day.

Jette Vang-Ahlgren
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We will do it Again. A perfect way too reelax and see new Things every day. Meet new pepeole from other continents. good groupe size on the Iris and the crew made us feel very comfortabel and "hyggeligt" (cousy). New city every night with out packing our stuff. We are on in a new route when posibel.

Patricia Hart
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around the IJsselmeer
Netherlands

We had a fantastic time on this trip. There is so much good to say. The hotels were great, the breakfasts were fantastic, and the luggage was always already there waiting when we arrived. The routes selected were just beautiful and had a varied type of sights. We saw charming villages, beautiful landscapes of different types, and cycled along polders and through some forests and dunes. There were ferries and drawbridges and all sorts of amazing water engineering feats. We left our hotel vouchers home, and called the emergency number on Sunday morning. The person immediately picked up, and told us a full package with vouchers was waiting for us at our first hotel. Perfect! The Dutch people were very friendly and welcoming, and we did not have one single negative encounter with anyone. We learned some polite phrases in Dutch before leaving, and people seemed to appreciate that. The ONLY criticism I can make was that the directions were sometimes a little confusing, and the Read More

William Guthrie
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Our recent (June 1-8) trip from Amsterdam to Bruges aboard the IRIS was outstanding.

The food was excellent every single day and the cabins are much larger than the website indicates. The cycling was wonderful and our guide Hugo added so much to the overall experience. This is a five star vacation!

Linda and Bill Guthrie - Ottawa, Canada

D.W.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Our Tulip Tour in Netherlands was the most fun I've had on a vacation in years. Although there was a super small group, our guide, Lia, and the crew, Sander and Els, treated us incredibly well. The weather was cold, but we rode bikes every day, and even though it was too cold to see tulips, we managed to enjoy ourselves the whole time. Lia was so knowledgeable about the people, lore, history, politics, and engineering of Holland that she made every moment come alive. One thing that surprised me were the many monuments to WWII and she explained the history and its impact on the people. In addition to the planned excursions, we were able to enjoy a few spontaneous stops along the way. With such a small group we found ourselves all together more than might have been expected, and never once did it feel as if anybody was bored with seeing the same few faces every day. Our crew were simply fantastic, telling us about the boat, the rivers in Europe, the locks we passed through, and the Read More

Larry Schmidlin
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Just got back from this tour yesterday and wish that I could do it all again tomorrow! Went from Brugge to Amsterdam on the Manifique. Outstanding crew with Carl as the Captain and Tom as the guide. Tom has a great sense of humor and related to everyone on the tour, with an awesome biking experience and even walking tours in the town most evenings. The folks at Tripsite was great - with lots of communication. I felt very prepared prior to leaving. I enjoyed working with Tripsite and greatly enjoyed the entire experience. Highly recommended.

CONSUELO PAGANI VIEIRA MACHADO
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Amei o passeio!! Tudo foi maravilhoso, desde a recepção calorosa na chegada, o barco todo decorado de flores e tulipas, aconchegante, a turma que fez o passeio conosco, os jantares maravilhosos feitos pela chef de cozinha simpatissíssima (que é dona do barco), o guia Sietsen que é super 10, as paisagens maravilhosas que apreciávamos nas pedaladas - plantações de tulipas de todas as cores, cisnes nadando próximos de nós, patinhos e aves coloridas, almoço em frente aos moinhos, as lindas vilazinhas e as cidades bucólicas do interior da Holanda, tudo muito lindo, e mto bem organizado. À noite, ainda tinha a roda de viola que o colega Eric tocava divinamente! E todos nós cantando juntos! A turma toda calorosa, que parecia que nos conhecíamos há anos... só deu vontade de voltar. Ano que vem, quero fazer outro roteiro e já estou convidando as pessoas no Brasil. VALE A Read More

Mary & Bill Perkins
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

The tour was packed with history, beauty & a real feel of how the people live there lives - thanks to Lia our guide. Food, decor & Jantien's hospitality aboard the Merlijn was second to none. The crew went out of there way to make this truly a memorable cycling vacation.

Thank you!

Ruyter Aquino
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Travel quite different from the usual, fantastic landscapes. Traveled on the MS Magnifique, excellent service and facilities. The group guide (Tom) is attentive and competent. So you can be conducting another tour. Congratulations.               Ruyter Aquino.

Mary McLaughlin
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The April 14th, 2013 trip on the Elodie far exceeded my expectations. The dynamite crew provided excellent care and service. Meeting people from other countries, sharing stories, riding in the wind (and just a little bit of rain) and dining with each other for the week was a bonding experience. Ine, our guide, was patient and knowledgable, Vamme was a good captain who joined us on some of our city strolls and Sander was a chef extraordinaire ~ definitely the "King of Creme Brulle" ! My friend and I hope to take another Bike & Barge trip ~ and would arrange our trip around the Elodie. What wonderful memories!!!

Noreen Stackpole
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

We just returned from the Tulip Tour on the Elodie. It was fantastic. Our guide, Ine, was great, even going the extra mile by offering city walks each evening. Sander, the chef, created outstanding gourmet dinners enhanced by his enthusiastic description and presentations. Our captain was great, pitching in as needed. The bikes were brand new and of excellent quality, and the biking was really fun - challenging at times with the wind, which added to the enjoyment. We got to tour a working windmill and a cheese producing farm and learned a lot about the Netherlands. No tulip fields this week but that was the only disappointment and it was overshadowed by all the positives. A fantastic trip!

Jill Nicholas
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

We had a wonderful week, despite the strong winds which made cycling more difficult. The tour guide was excellent and very supportive of any problems. The very late spring meant that we didn't see any flowering tulip fields, but the fields of daffodils and hyacinths more than made up for it. The crew of the Eva Josiena could not have been more welcoming.

Jane & Dale Honeycutt
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

What a fabulous time! The crew on the Elodie could not have been better. Sanders, the chef, put out gourmet meals every night, with wonderful breakfast choices each morning. Our guide for the week, Miriah, took such good care of us, was always cheerful & helpful, and we really saw an amazing cross section of the Netherlands.The April 7th trip, this year, was cold, and unfortunately because of the very late spring there were very few tulips, but that didn't dim our enjoyment, and it was highly unusual. Some of the mileages shown are a little short. Day 2 was possible to do 34 miles & day 7 was 22 miles. All do-able even for someone who hasn't kept up on their cycling.