Netherlands Tour Reviews — 751 to 780 of 901

4.8 out of 5

 


David Fish
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Cologne
Netherlands, Germany

It was our first bike and barge trip and we loved it so much we've already booked next years trip!

Ann Hodgson
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

This was actually the second time I took this trip. I went with friends last time and this time took family to share the experience with them.

Margaret Terrett
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

I would recommend the trip with reservations. The food on the boat was not special but ok. While our leader was competent I did not find him helpful at times and other times I found him condescending. The route descriptions were well done but we had to argue to have one for each rider even though it clearly stated we would each a have one. I would have like much more about the places we were visiting included on the daily route descriptions. Carrying a visitor guide is not easy on a bike. The bikes were not in good shape for our trip. The mechanic tried to do his best but they were not a "freewheeling" experience. On mine the gears did not work, others had similar issues. When the holiday depends on a good cycling experience then the bike becomes a priority.
I cannot recommend the experience whole heartily except for the amazing landscape of northern Netherlands. That part I really enjoyed. Also I enjoyed being part of a group. I would not recommend a person or couple try the trip because no effort was made to mix the people. I was part of a big group and so I always had people to cycle with.

Charlene James
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

In Ghent, too far from city centre to explore after biking unless take a taxi into the city. Antwerp museum was closed, as it was a Sunday. Very disappointing. Breakfast and lunch meals were almost always the same, got too uninteresting.

Kay Howarth
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fiep Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Bruges to Amsterdam was just wonderful and would recommend the smaller group of people. Just 24 was a good number. All the staff on the Fiep were great!

John Heinze
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Cologne
Netherlands, Germany

Our guide was ok but I've had better ones on previous trips. It was a lot of going through the motions since he had done 15-20 trips prior to ours it was maybe a case of being burned out. A bit more interaction on where we were going and what we were seeing would have been nice. Overall trip was top notch though as usual.

Natadha Vickery
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Excellent guide, staff. Very friendly and helpful. No complaints.

Doug Chittum
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The crew of the Magnifique on the Bruges to Amsterdam barge was fantastic! Have recommended it to others already.

Doug Lay
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I thoroughly enjoyed the Bruges to Amsterdam bike/barge trip last spring. From the easy, scenic rides, to the informative, knowledgeable guide to the excellent private accommodations on board the barge, I'm already looking at booking another bike/barge trip with Tripsite!

Diane Denham
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I had an amazing time. I loved everything about it and I would recommend it to anyone. In fact I have recommended it to many many people.

Sharon Bozman
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Had a wonderful time. The crew were amazing. Fred the guide was very attentive, knowledgeable, and always willing to help. Well organized with unique side trips. The food was great and the crew were all very friendly and helpful. What a beautiful country and lovely way to experience it. I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

Linda Scotten
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

Though not a 'delux' trip the staff and other passengers made it such a memorable trip! It might not suit everyone but we loved it!

Donna Ogilvie
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This was an excellent trip. We were well taken care of on The Merjlin. The cabin was set up well, their attention to detail, everything was designed to ensure we had the best vacation experience -right down to fresh flowers on board. I have recommended The Merjlin to everyone who asks about my trip.

Denise Hansen
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Our Amsterdam to Bruges 7 days bike and barge was the highlight of our 90 day trip! Loved it all, and many people have viewed my travelpod and also our coffee table book of photos. It is a long way to come from NZ but I have been drooling over the Croatia bike and barge trips for 2016.....

Ted Hansen
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Thought I'd find it hard, not really being a biker, and I got a sore backside on occasion, especially when we got lost and pedalled a few extra kms, but just loved the whole experience. (even piked out on the last rainy day and motored into Bruges, felt I earned it!)

Fiorindo Sinibaldi
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

Holland is beautiful. The bike route goes through too many urban areas and not enough countryside. The groups are too large. Our group had 28 people and only 1 guide. It was impossible for him to keep an eye on all the people. As an example, it would take 3 or 4 light changes for the group to all cross a main road. Sometimes the group would be spread out as much as 1 kilometer. My wife fell off her bike and broke her hand because the group was always speeding up and slowing down. One day we even lost a rider for a while. The tour guide seemed very informative, but did not explain much, and seemed cold most of the time. That is my honest opinion. Thank you.

Sue Cousineau
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

1. Food was mediocre - not great...lots of canned or frozen vegetables. Meat was consistently over cooked and dry. There was lots of choices for breakfast and we especially liked the variety to make our lunches. Had to pay for hot water, tea & coffee after 4:00 pm was a ridiculous and cheap policy which angered many.
2. Room service - towels were not replenished each day as expected until the guide told us to put them in the shower to indicate we wanted towels refreshed each day. This was a problem of no signage to indicate this practice and that the guide forgot to tell us until day 4 when someone complained.
3. Maps and route descriptions - we always marvel at the signage for cycling in the Netherlands. Our country should adopt this method. But we were only given one map/booklet per room. Again, a very cheap practice as all travelers are paying cyclists and each want their own maps. Can't guarantee that those who room together actually cycle together. Read More

David Rossetti
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We were plagued by hot weather in early June. It was pleasant before and after our trip. Not your fault. The rest was great.

Helen Newcombe
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The bikes and scenery were great. The guide was terrible. He was not nice to the American travelers.

Lidia Oosthuizen
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Tom Stout, the tour guide on the Magnifique is absolutely fantastic at his job. I would go on the same exact same trip again if Tom is the guide :)

Jessie Nelson
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Super Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Excellent tour guide (Albert) after the first two days out I relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed the biking, all the explanations of what we were seeing along the route. The caption and partner were great hosts. Every evening a fantastic meal. After our evening meal Albert always offered to take us on a walking tour, on his own time, which we all did. I would certainly recommend trip site to anyone.

Allison Cook
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The bikes were a little beat up, but we enjoyed every aspect of the trip. My one complaint about the boat was that they shut off the AC at night and we couldn't open the portholes, so sleeping was not ideal. This year we are heading to Italy with 20 of our closest friends for the Venice to Mantova tour on the Ave Maria!

James Green
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Barge was exceptionally good. The bike tour had some very good portions and a couple of sections that were not very enjoyable. Overall it was a great trip.

John Ummels
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Wending Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Cycling a wee bit fast. Most people were in fifties & sixties and I was seventy-nine.

Paul Hough
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

The nickel and diming on the boat was annoying - i.e., free coffee until 4 pm but nobody gets back before then; coffee and tea not included with dinner (extra cost); bottled water sold at the same price as a beer (one token worth 2.5 Euros). Our guide, Marcel, was clearly out of sorts and was not someone I would recommend - rude, disinterested, unhelpful, condescending, and refused to answer questions. I trust that other guides are much better.

Doug Dowell
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home South Holland Tour
Netherlands

The food was spectacular on both tours. The crew and guides were excellent on both tours. In particular, having guides with expertise in the history and art of the area is much more important than expertise in cycling. We have been recommending these tours to friends and family all summer long. Thank you.

Janis Owens
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Mare Fan Fryslan Bike & Sail the Frisian Sea
Netherlands

The boat and crew in the Netherlands were wonderful. All my trips with tripsite have been great. I never hesitate going on another one.

Sandra Falconer
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

Wonderful trip. Only a little disappointed in that our guide was very knowledgeable about biking, but didn't appear to be as knowledgeable about the geography or culture of the area as I would have liked.

Craig Morrison
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Cologne
Netherlands, Germany

The Amsterdam to Cologne Bike and Barge trip overall was very nice. I would have altered some of the biking to avoid Dusseldorf's industrial areas which were not very appealing. Otherwise the barge and their staff were excellent, the guide was good, but got lost a few times. In any case I would recommend it to friends.

Anne Hays
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We had such a great time we are planning another one and bringing another couple along! Jantein and Henke were the best hosts!