Bike Tour Reviews 3031 to 3060 of 3373

 

  • North Holland Tour
    by Marnie Terrett 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I found the conditions of the bikes quite poor. They were obviously wearing out after a season of use. The food was adequate but not spectacular. The information about how to get clean towels was given 5 days into the trip.
    The routes were well described but I would have liked further information about the towns we were passing through and where we were staying the night. Our group happened upon a cemetery with Canadian war dead but it was just luck. That type of information should be included I the route description of the day. Despite the things mentioned I did enjoy the trip and would recommend it to others.

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • North Holland Tour
    by Fair Rapsey 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I had a lot of trouble with the bike seat. That created pain/discomfort for the whole week. We saw other barges participants en route with much better bikes than we had. Ours were quite old and clunky but they worked OK when you got used to them. The bike mechanics were great. The seven gears were adequate for the terrain.

    We should each have our own maps and route descriptions, not just one per cabin. You don't necessarily cycle with your cabin mate and sometimes people get separated from cycling partners during the day.

    Our guide Marcel appeared to have a very arrogant attitude towards guests, particularly those who asked for clarification of various things. He was rude to me when I asked a question about the availability of public washrooms along the way - and what was customary in Holland. He snapped "So you think Dutch people don't go to the toilet?" He seemed to make a lot more effort as the week went on and was quite knowledgeable about a Read more… variety of things. He got off to a bad start with quite a few people however.

    Re Food: The food was good and varied. We had a lot of salads/vegetables (generally overcooked) which I appreciated. Tea, coffee and water should be available for free all the time, not just till 4. A euro for hot water and a tea bag is chintzy.

    I enjoyed the trip and the route. The route was quite varied in a lot of ways and very beautiful. Luckily the weather was reasonably cooperative and our group had a great time. The barge is a fun experience, and I would recommend it and consider another trip for myself as well.

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • North Holland Tour
    by Bob Rodney 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Marcel was a very good guide-Johnan helped keep our bikes in very good order.

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Brenda Alberico 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Would be helpful if bikes had water cages

    Boat: Normandie

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Laurie Frarey 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    There seemed to be tension between the owners of the barge and guy doing the cooking, cleaning and maintenance. The guy was trying to do the job of more than 2 people by himself. One day when he needed help with a cranky generator the captain was in a bar. We did not get clean towels half way through as promised. I have been on 2 bike and barge trips and this had the worst staff. The guide was good but left slower riders at several critical junctures. It did not happen often. Seems the system works best when the owner is captain. Means he is present and accountable.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Merle Brinkman 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Thanks for providing us with a lifetime of memories.

    Boat: My Story

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Muriel Clayton 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I already have, but warned them about the wind! Which I personally found made the cycling very difficult. I will opt for an electric bike next time.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jim Watson 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall we had an outstanding trip. The boat was a little better than we expected but very well maintained and managed by the staff and crew. Leslie, our cruise director, was fabulous. I think we overwhelmed the boat with our large group and American ways. Leslie did a great job of balancing our fun trip and the ship's need to do their jobs in a certain way. We will definitely look to Tripsite for another boat/bike adventure in the years to come.

    Boat: My Story

  • Danube Bike Path - Vienna to Budapest
    by Lee Ann Gee 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike route and description was really good except on 2 occasions. First, riding out of bratislava is confusing. There is trail construction and NO sign saying where to turn for detour. The second poor section was the last 5 ish miles riding into Budapest. Route poorly marked. We ended up just asking how to get to our hotel since we couldn't find any signs.

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Lois Walker 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved every moment. The guides and crew were outstanding. My fellow cyclists a delight. A top drawer experience. Can't say enough positive.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Marilyn Kerfoot 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Main reasons for not recommending: Too many people. I would prefer a smaller group especially for lunches and stops along the way. Too much time needed for logistics with such a large group. (That being said, Leslie and the crew did a great job being as efficient as possible with this given the numbers involved.) The trip was marketed as meals all included. However, it was clear that we were "expected" to eat lunch at restaurants during our biking days. That would have been okay except we were always at the same place as dozens of other people (mostly people from our own boat who had not elected to take the guided trip option) so that the experience was not at all enjoyable. The restaurant staff were obviously harried at having to deal with such a large group at one time.
    We always seemed to be in a rush to get back to the boat before its departure. I hadn't realized that the boat would have such a tight schedule to get from one docking point to another. I Read more… would have paid slightly more to have better food. There was way too much pork served; I felt starved for good quality, fresh vegetables by the time the tour ended.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Don Beck 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew on My Story were amazing! Lesley the cruise director did a great job as did the entire staff. Five star service!

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Robert Vinton 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Food was only average. Breakfast buffet was good, but the dinners were mixed. If you could find a way to upgrade the dinners, that would be great and worth more money. For biking trips, given it is a healthy, active crowd, even more healthy meal preparations would likely be welcomed. We did appreciate the vegetarian options though Vegan would also be nice. Overall a wonderful trip though, we enjoyed it very much.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Peter Parnegg 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I know you know this, but the My Story is an old boat. Our bathroom smelled really bad. The food was average. The staff was incredible. The biking was spectacular. Leslie, our tour manager could not have been better. This was an incredible trip and it was a great value because the boat was old it wasn't very expensive. The folks at tripsite we excellent as well.

    Boat: My Story

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah Stone 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were to have 1 rest day in Vienna but had 2 rest days. The second being Budapest. We liked the city but would have preferred to see more of Hungary from our bikes. My husband is not an historic buff so was bored with sight seeing.

    Boat: My Story

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Gordon Maze 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We highly recommend the Paris to Bruges bike and barge on the Elodie but one must be a strong cyclist as there are hills. The food was really excellent. Comradery among the group was high, and that's one of the great aspects of the trip.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Thomas Rorabaugh 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Information provided by tour guide about towns and attractions very limited, and sometimes inaccurate, compromising planning and enjoyment of the daily ride.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Brett McGillivray 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Besides information on the bike routes, I enjoyed the information on side trips.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Around Paris
    by Karen Picard 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    This was the first trip of this type that we have ever done and my first time to France. It was a great way to experience the country and it was nice to see rural areas, historic small towns, castles and the big city of Paris. The crew was wonderful-- friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable and thoughtful. The trip price was a great value for all that we received and experienced. It was great to get so much exercise while on vacation-- walking and biking makes it possible to see and do so much in the fresh air and to burn off the great food and wine we enjoyed. I highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Peter and Janice Vink 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first tour in hotels, others have been on barges. I would recommend staying with the barges. There is no contact with a person regarding the tour or the bikes except hotel staff so issues with the bikes were difficult. Bikes were in bad shape we had 4 flats and a broken gear casing so we spent a lot of time in bike shops getting repairs done. Thank goodness ther are lots of bike shops in Holland. GPS was good but one day took us to the wrong hotel some 10 km off course and missed a town we had to back track the next day to see, so that was very annoying. After that we made sure it had the right destination on the GPS. Some hotels were lovely but a couple were very small. We had purchased the meal plan and that was good, though Tripsite said we would have a choice of meals there were 3 places it was just one meal offered to bike tour participants. Holland is beautiful and enjoyable to bike though we had lots of rain and wind so dress appropriately.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Ann Peloqui 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Barge part of it was excellent, riding for 2 of the days got to be long and monotonous, scenery always the same, but staff did great job. I'm probably critical a bit because I did a Holland bike ride that was so scenic.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Vic Lumby 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    One of the best holidays we have ever experienced. Great cycling along the Moselle with excellent and knowledgeable guides and then returning tired but exhilarated to an most welcoming environment on the barge - the IRIS. Meals were excellent and entire crew and owner went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed the total experience. Would recommend this trip to anyone. We will be back for more.

    Boat: Iris

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Joseph Hludzenski 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group was more than well treated. The staff and officers on the barge went out of their way to help us and make the entire trip one to remember. The tour director really put himself out for everyone on board. He even helped us to solve a problem after we had left the boat at the end of the trip. It was outstanding.

    Boat: My Story

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Alan Searle 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time and plan on another bike-and-barge trip sometime. We loved the mix of passengers from different countries. Some of the other passengers, using other tour companies, had a few more details of the ports of call, and this would have been helpful for us, and may be a useful selling point for Tripsite.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Margaret Munro 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Even for a novice biker I was looked after and given the opportunity to cycle shorter legs and enjoy the sailing on the boat. Bikes - we had a couple of bikes that had gear problems, otherwise they were fine.

    Boat: Iris

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diane Malone 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Yes, yes, I would and have recommended this trip to friends. It was very relaxing, fun, offering beautiful scenery, helpful staff! visiting the small villages was a treat. The route and route guide was user friendly. Hope to bike this way again soon.

    Boat: My Story

  • Mainz to Basel
    by David Miller 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Garrit, our bike tour leader, was a novice on this route as well as a poor communicator to the english speaking clients. The docking area changed at each stop from the printed instructions, and the maps and turn-by-turn instructions were only partly correct! Everyone got lost at some point in the trip!! I had asked for GPS routing for my bike Garmin GPS but was told the route was to new and that it was not available! I think some accurate preparation would have made the trip more pleasant.
    Second - the route along the Rhine is not scenic (as on the Danube) with few small towns to stop and look/snack on the way. The most notable sights were gravel pits and cement manufacturing. Of course, that is not the fault of the tour operator, however, they should have provided a detailed description of the small towns on the way (although not on the river) to give us the option of exploring the interesting ones and forgetting about the towns with 3 streets and no interesting Read more… sights.

    Boat: MS Andante

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Nigel Finney 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Konstanz trip and bikes were very good. The Danube trip bikes were not as good and the scenery needed to be varied more since riding alongside the Danube got a touch boring after a while. (Review from Around Lake Constance and Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna)

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Sanra Turner 4 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved everything about this trip from the boat, the staff, the bikes and, of course, the scenery. I highly recommend this trip for anyone who likes to take a trip up close and personal.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mainz to Basel
    by Norbert Glatt 4 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Boat staff need to learn how to be more polite and friendly. The management seems to be in the military service.

    Boat: MS Andante

PWPC