Bike Tour Reviews 3061 to 3090 of 3093

 

  • Romantic Road & the Bavarian Lakes
    by Heather & Andy Brown 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We went on this self guided tour Summer of 2010 and had an amazing time! The scenery is beautiful every miles of the way. You go through parks, forests, quaint Bavarian towns, and past some beautiful lakes. The accommodations were phenomenal. We were very satisfied with the quality and locations of the Inns. If we had to name our favorite part of this trip, it would be riding towards the Alps on our way to fussen. Definitely take a tour of the Neuschwanstein castle! The terrain on this trip is a nice challenge for any level biker.

    Countries: Germany

  • Provence - Van Gogh
    by Michele Wyman 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful trip and well organized. However, would not recommend the hotel or restaurant in Stes.Maries

    Everything else was great and would recommend and perhaps book another bike trip in the future.

    Countries: France

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Venema's 2011 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We started the tour from Bolzano and were delighted that we did. Bolzano is an interesting place to stay a couple days before biking. Do not hesitate to do the "uphill" section on the 1st day. The towns and hotels for this part were well worth the time and the trip across Lake Garda was lovely. Finding our way out of Pescheria was a little challenging; the villages on the way to Montova were noteworthy. Be sure to give yourself enough time to see Montova. The guided/boat/bike portion was great though hot weather plagued us in early July. I recommend this trip. The food on the boat was fantastic and the finale in Venice was a great way to end the trip.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Salzburg to Vienna
    by Si Sin Szuba 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hi we had a wonderfull trip from Salzburg to Vienna- June 2011, the bike path next to Danube River was obsolutly beautiful just can not describe by words, just have to be there to see it& to feel it. This trip was passing through a lot of wonderful small villages, all these villages has their own churchs of course they are Gothic and the house are beautiful, we passed through farm area and we are sorrounded with corns and wheats. Just love it....Food also beautiful.

    Countries: Austria

  • Famous Cities on the Danube (shorter)
    by Pat Philippe 8 years ago         Staff

    Have just returned from the tour on the Danube October 1 - 8th. We had glorious weather with only one day of cycling in the rain! What beautiful countryside!! We will certainly consider another bike and boat tour!!! Well worth the cost. Great bikes and great meals!!!

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Patrick Mcn 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    The bikes are comfortable and the pace is leisurely although the terrain is flat sometimes there are strong winds. The guides leave no one behind. The barge food is from the sea and lunch is in local towns, however, I usually made lunch from the breakfast menu... We did stop for coffee at local towns. I have only gone from Montova to Venice which I thoroughly enjoyed. Put your worries and concerns aside, you will enjoy the trip as much as this 72 year old did. Pat McN

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Deborah Conklin 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very nice trip. The Romantica is a lovely boat with a gracious and accomodating captain and crew. All the cabins are quite nice but the upper deck cabins are worth the extra cost. The cycling was challenging but managable with great scenery , lovely villages and good food and wine as rewards. October weather was perfect. ...a highly recommended trip - for anyone up to a cycling challenge.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Bolzano to Venice
    by Lin & Harriet Bowen 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We rode this trip in September 2011. Wonderful tours of historic cities along the way. Ferry boat ride on Lake Garda was spectacular. Hotels were fine, especially warm sulphur springs in Abano Terme. Ride was scenic and well guided. Venice is worth an extra night or two.

    Countries: Italy

  • Loire Valley Bike and Boat - 2019
    by Kris Byrns 8 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We did this tour in 2008 and had a wonderful time.

    Boat: Anna Maria IV

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Barb Tiffany 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a fantastic tour. The guide, captain, and cook were all wonderful. Great way to see the country, on small roads and bike trails. We saw an amazing amount of varied things in 14 days.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Loire Valley - Orléans to Tours
    by Wayne Goodman 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really enjoyed my experience in the Loire Valley thanks to the great service Carla, Hennie, and Mary provided. The tour went smoothly, the bicycle was comfortable, the maps were detailed and the whole experience was exactly as it was described here in the website. I chose the 2-3* option and the hotels were clean and nice (for the most part), and the restaurants (all but one) were absolutely delicious!! I would highly recommend tripsite to anyone considering cycling through Loire, and I intend to use them again on my next trip in Europe--BON VOYAGE!

    Countries: France

  • Bordeaux Wine Country
    by Michael Schwartz 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip. Beautiful countryside, the route keeps you on small back roads and paths so you see very little traffic for most of the trip, just lots of grape harvesting (if you go in the fall). Hotels and food were good, and everything worked perfectly. I tailored the trip to suit my needs and tripsite was very accomodating. Highly recommended.

    Countries: France

  • Along the North Sea - a Tulip Tour
    by philippa 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My daughter and I had a fabulous trip last easter. The cycle routes were both pretty and the instructions were easy to follow. Neither of us are avid cyclists but the distances were right for a whole days trip. Thank you.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Arthur L. Popp 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Was one of the best vacations for my wife and I. Can't think of how it could have been much better! The crew, including our guide, Ena, were fabulous. We are looking forward to another vacation with this company.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Brussels to Amsterdam
    by Ed Groff 8 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Trip more than I expected. Rode through country and small towns really getting a good feel of the culture and traditions of the country. I was very impressed by the beauty of the countryside and the quaint country towns and villages. I had no idea the Netherlands was so rich in agriculture.

    The Dutch and Belgium people are as friendly as I've ever encountered.. They will go out of their way to satisfy your needs and make you feel at home in their country. Please do not ask them if they speak English as most are offended, as all speak English.

    Tour guide was outstanding puttiing in at least a minimum 125% effort. He had a delightful personality and offered a wealth of information and knowledge about the country and area we rode.

    I would highly recommend booking a trip with Hennie and her daughters as they are wonderful people and really try to make your trip a pleasant experience. I might add, the price of the trip was very reasonable considering the Read more… decline of the US dollar.

    Ed Groff

    Souderton, PA USA

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Linda Hilliard 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I had talked for several years about taking this tour but didn't go until April 9th, 2011, on the Zwaan, with Ilya and Maria. This was the first tour of the season - we were afraid that the flowers would not be out - surprise! We saw jonquils, hyacinths, tulips and more. Had we been later the hyacinths and jonquils would have been gone. Hennie told us that it varies from year to year, so we were so fortunate.

    The weather was great except for one windy and chilly day. Our tour guide, Albert, adapted the ride to the level of the riders yet still taking us to the important places and showing us the best of the countryside. Our hosts could not have been more hospitable, making all of the participants feel more welcome than just paying customers. We even had a last-minute gourmet chef! And we got to help welcome the new dog on board - all the guests were dog lovers and were delighted to meet him. We recommend this trip to anyone who likes an active Read more… vacation in a beautiful setting with good food and company with similar interests.

    L. Hilliard

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Chris Kocher 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip. Wonderful accomodations on the boat, fantactic crew and guides. The Islands, ports and villages were all beautful with friendly people everywhere. Biking routes were well selected with many options for those who wanted to do more, or less. I'd recommend one of these tours to anyone who wants to get out and enjoy a great vacation with a little activity.

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
    by Lynn Yetman 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Myself and 4 of my friends just completed the Balzano - Venice Bike Tour. This was our 7th cycle tour with Trip-Site and as with the previous 6 trips we were not disappointed. The cycling out of Balzano was probably the most beautiful of any cycling we have done. Coming down a mountain road to a spot overlooking Lake Garda was a spectacular site we will never forget.

    The Ava Maria has been beautifully re-furbished. The staterooms are roomy with plenty of storage. The dining room comfortabley seated our 28 fellow cyclists. The food was great and the wine reasonably priced. Our guides Flavio and Martina did a wonderful job and went out of their to be accomodating to our requests. The trail markers and directions from Balzano to Mantova could have been better. But, we were never actually lost, just misplaced from time to time. A great time was had by all.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Panteha & Tom 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a beautiful trip, with lots of nice surprises (changing sceneries, nice food, etc.) The local tour organizer was a sweet lady who treated us like old friends. We really had fun and suggest this tour to whoever is looking for simple adventure in pretty France.

    Countries: France

  • Alpine Panoramic Route
    by Greg 8 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    What a trip! My wife and I (both avid cyclists) biked the Alpine Panoramic Trail from Rorschach to Thun in July 2011. The hills were difficult, but the views were worth the effort. The entire route is well marked and the people at Swiss Trails (the tour operator) were very helpful. The seatpost on my wife's bike was too long, so they send someone with a saw to shorten it for her. They also gave me a second route guide in German (which I speak) to replace the route guide in French (which I do not speak). I recommend the top class touring bikes for this trip. The disc brakes were great on the long downhills. We opted for the "standard" accommodations, which were very nice. We had lake or mountain views from our rooms each night.

    Countries: Switzerland

  • Heidelberg to Strasbourg
    by Lorne Merryweather 8 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    I did this trip in early July 2011 with six friends and had a fantastic time. The routes were very, very good - just the right length, and through some wonderful, very scenic countryside. The journey included miles and miles of vineyards, several forests, and some long stretches along the Rhine. The towns we stayed in were easy and fun to explore, and the hotels were all excellent. All in all the trip went far beyond my expectations and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

    Cheers,

    Lorne

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Heel of Italy
    by Caroline Thompson 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a very interesting tour. Two cities have UNESCO World Heritage sites, and one day, riding along the coast, had one of the most stunning rides we have ever been on. (This was our 16th bike trip.)

    Countries: Italy

  • Ravel Bike Route
    by Barry in Portland 8 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    A splendid trip, scenic and varied, and just strenuous enough to justify a very large, cold beer at day's end. The Miro is very comfortable, the trip pace excellent, and the high-end bikes were fantastic. Namur was especially charming and the gardens at Annevoie not to be missed.

  • Around the IJsselmeer
    by Judith Goldstein 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My 15 year old son and I biked around the IJsselmeer in April. We had a fantastic time. The Netherlands is gorgeous then and the weather was virtually perfect. We saw incredible water fowl, many sweet little lambs, gorgeous wisteria climbing up quaint old houses everywhere and beautiful fields of tulips and wildflowers. We stayed at very nice places, in historic, wonderfully preserved towns. We rented e-bikes, as I was concerned that, otherwise, some of the distances might be too much for my son. This was a great choice, even for me as some days the headwinds were strong, but when we used the bikes with the power off, they were just fantastic that way also.

    I will not go on and on as I'm sure my son, will want to post a comment and give you more details from his perspective. I will tell you though that approximately every half hour, while we were biking, he shouted out "I love Holland!" and I completely agreed.

    Judith

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Dali’s Country Road Bike Tour
    by Duane Kohut 8 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    My girlfriend and I rode the Dali Country Road bike trip May15-22, 2011. It was a perfect time of year to do so, and everything worked out very well. The bike shop in Girona is run by a great couple, and the bikes they rented us were excellent. As it wasa a self-guided tour, directions are important, and they were quite precise. I would recommend the luxury accommodations - the Historic Hotel in Girona is a highlight on all it's own! You ride nice coastal scenery, hit some nice beaches, and encounter very pleasant people. My girlfriend was nervous about the road biking aspect, but she soon loved it. I would class the riding as intermediate - no real killer hills - lots of small villages to explore. Plenty of riding and things to do to make this a wonderful vacation (except on vineyards). And the food and wine of Spain is fantastic. Enjoy!

    Countries: Spain

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Vivian and Dennis Williams 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was such an amazing adventure. We have done several bike and barge tours down rivers and canals but this is the first ocean island hopping trip and won't be the last. Everything about it was perfect: the beautiful scenery, the San Snova and it's crew, the bike riding and the food and great hospitality. Highly recommend it! Thanks Pack and Pedal for organizing it. Croatia: Southern Dalmation coast and the old walled city of Dubrovnik is a must. Dennis rode each day but I chose not too and the guides were so helpful to me in arranging things I could see and do as a non-rider. Loved it all!!!!

    Countries: Croatia

  • Venice to Florence
    by Jim Elkan 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Hennie, Carla and Mary,

    We just got back from our annual P&P European trip..This year it was Venice to Florence and I must say it was the best one we've had..P&P did their normal excellent job setting up the trip..Everything was great: the route, the hotels and the bike provisioner-Eurobike..The scenery was awesome, the stage lengths were just right to allow viewing the beautiful Italian countryside, sightseeing and still arrive in the next city ready to enjoy the sights and good food..

    I cannot say enough about Eurobike and their maps, route discripions and route markings..The markings almost totally eliminated the concern of missing a turn..The markings took us from one hotel to the next..We could have done the ride without maps!!

    Anyway, thanks for another great job and, as always, we are eagerly looking forward to next year's European trip with Pack and Pedal..(Our seventh one, I think.)

    Best regards,

    Jim

    Countries: Italy

  • Provence - Luberon
    by Jen 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This trip was fabulous - perfectly organised, breathtaking scenery, great food, great riding - how could anyone possibly not have a smile on their face while cycling this.

    Thanks to you and the team for a wonderful holiday - I had a fabulous time, and will definitely be recommending to friends.

    Countries: France

  • Along the North Sea - a Tulip Tour
    by Debbie 8 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very enjoyable trip but found the route descriptions hard to follow without detailed map to accompany them. This we rectified by purchasing locally but would have been useful to have at the outset. Would also recommend that bikes are supplied with clipboard on handlebars to make following the maps easier. Constantly stopping to check directions was tiresome. Very comfortable hotel and beautiful beach with stunning scenery. Lovely people and on this occasion .... stunning weather. Great fun

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bolzano to Venice
    by Donna Buck 9 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Two Friends and I road this route in 2005. What a beautiful trip we had. I would highly recommend this tour for the trip is outstanding in the landscape and history. Venice as an end point was a great reward!

    Countries: Italy

PWPC