Bike Tour Reviews — 2911 to 2940 of 3111

 


Liz and Bill Chudoba
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Highly recommend Trip Site for our bicycling vacations. We, family and friends booked the Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Amsterdam. Had a fantastic time again on the MERLIJN. Knew one week was not enough, after our 1st tour in 2011 in Germany, we had to book the following week also - Amsterdam to Brugge. The highlight of course were all the flowers in the Keukenhof. This is a must see for all flower lovers. Trip Site employees in PA were very easy to work with and will book all our tours for us. In fact we will return to the MERLIJN on September 27 to October 4th 2014 for wine country.

Rachel Beyerle
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

I just wanted to say a belated thanks to the staff for your assistance with the Gandalf trip earlier in the month. Everything was great and well-organized with the boat, the tour, and we had a fun group of travelers.

Thank you!

Michiele C.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Holland in a Nutshell - a Tulip Tour
Netherlands

We had an absolutely great time!!! The first couple of days it was very windy and rainy but the weather just kept getting better. The hotels were comfortable. Maybe the only change would have been a smaller town than coming into Hilversum. The Dutch people, countryside and food were fantastic. Everything went very smoothly.

Thank you for a great tour!! It was a very special time for my daughter and me!!

Kimberley White
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Romantic Bruges
Belgium

Our cycle trip to beautiful, medieval Brugges was exceptional. The routes were picturesque and diverse; small castles, forests, canals, sea views, beautiful farmland and interesting architecture.The bike paths are amazing, easy to follow and extensive . Our rental bikes were new, well-maintained and suitable for any level rider. Hotel Fevery was very comfortable and quaint; we especially enjoyed our hosts', Paul and Benny, who had many suggestions and helpful hints for our daily rides. Breakfast was super and filling with cheeses, meats, baskets of bakery fresh breads, and market fresh fruit.

Because the terrain is so flat and easy to cycle we recommend this bike trip to anyone who is just starting out on their quest to tour Europe by bike.

Ian and Kim White, Canada

Prosper Bellizia
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

At the risk of sounding hyperbolic, this was a vacation that I still think about everyday, almost 2 months later. The only way to see this beautiful country is at ground level on a bike. And the only way to do it is with the crew of the Quo Vadis who made the trip so much fun.

Did I say how much I loved this trip?!!

Dean Pond
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  My Story Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

We have just returned from your four country tour on My Story. We were very satisfied with the accommodation despite a malfunction the last night which resulted in our being moved to another room. Our accommodation was kept extremely clean and the staff were very accommodating. We enjoyed the cycling and found the day to day schedule manageable. Although this was only the second week of operation for the season with a new staff, the meals were well prepared and quite enjoyable. We were seated with other English speaking travellers and it was interesting comparing the day's cycling and sightseeing. We will certainly consider another bike-boat tour.

Ralph and Erna Fluit
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

We had an absolutely marvelous time.

The crew was amazing,the food very delicious, they all went out of their way to make it a very memorable vacation.

We truly appreciated all the extra things that Lia did for us, taking us on excursions in the town at night, even arranging a tour one night through the canals in one of the towns.

We highly recommend a bike and barge tour and have done so already, we will definitely do it again and would love to be with the same crew.

Thank you so much!

Shirley Stephens
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and had no glitches. I would like to recommend the barge and bike trip around Amsterdam thru the US affiliate, "TripSite". The office was very helpful, pleasant and efficient. The information offered prior to the trip was excellent and unexpectedly thorough including a history of the history of the Netherlands! The excursion did not disappoint. The barge was compact, as expected but clean and comfortable. Most notably, the food was OUTSTANDING. The wife of the captain is an excellent cook and offered a different, interesting 3 course fair nightly. The passengers complimented her frequently after the meal and gave her special applause at the end. As promised we were offered coffee and cake just before disembarking. An extra detail but so nice for closure.The guide on our bike tour was fluent in English and happy to answer all questions. He was thoroughly knowledgeable in the bike routes, taking short a cut through the tulip fields because they Read More

Nick and Petra Voordenhout
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Just a note to say how much we enjoyed the 8 day tulip bike and barge. The captin Rendert, crew Valdi, chef Alf and guide Lia went beyond our expectations. The boat was clean and well kept and cozy. The meals amazing and Lia did her best to make it enjoyable for everyone regardless of ability. We would truly recommend this tour to anyone. We would like to do another tour with them in the future.

Simon Husband
6 years ago

Tripsite Staff

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Just a brief note to tell you how much we enjoyed the Tulip Tour aboard the Quo Vadis.

The Captain Rendert, the Second Mate Waldi, the Chef Alfe and Guide Lea were excellent. They worked hard to make everyone happy and made a good team. They really enjoy what they do and this showed in the attention and professionalism shown to all the guests.

The itinerary was spot on for content and interest. Not a moment was left to chance as they made sure we enjoyed every aspect of the Dutch culture, countryside and the beauty of the tulip fields.

Special mention to our Guide Lea for her excellent knowledge of all things Dutch, our Chef Alfe for his passion for food and ensuring our nutritional wellbeing and Waldi for going out of way to make sure that we did not want for anything practical on the boat.

We look forward to doing more tours with TripSite.

George F.
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

We had a wonderful time on the Lorraine tour last year starting from Toul. One of the fellow passengers arrived late and in a state because she had difficulty finding the barge -- taxis and the police did not know where to direct her. A great landmark to cite is the Grands Moulins Aubry. It is a prominent building readily seen from the highway, and the barge moors in the canal just adjacent to the one by the moulin. We ourselves walked around for a day before finding the spot. Your Google map is spot on -- we found it right away after consulting it -- but internet access was not readily available. All of this to say: Your clients would find the spot without difficulty if you were to direct them to "the canal right beside the one at Grands Moulins Aubry" in your travel instructions. I hope you find this note helpful. Looking forward to our next trip with you.

Susan Cumming
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

This is a great way to travel in Europe. The flowers were beautiful at Keukenhof and the Merlijn provides wonderful accommodations! This was our second trip through Tripsite and we are going again.

Jeanne Amos
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Romantica National Parks of Dalmatia
Croatia

The Dalmatia coast is breathtaking. This is a hidden gem. Cycling/boat trips are the only way to immerse yourself in the history/culture of a country. We've done a few, Croatia is remains at the top of the list.

Bill Kurtz
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Berlin to Copenhagen
Denmark, Germany

We had a wonderful experience cycling through the beautiful Meklenberg Lakes region of northern Germany. Our group, from USA, Germany, Belgium and Switzerland, was quite congenial. It was a trip well worth remembering.

Patsy Venema
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Love Boat South Greek Aegean Sea
Greece, Turkey

My first time on Greek Islands and this trip was superb. Our guides, Ali and Peter, were always available on the boat or the bike route to respond to our needs(which were few beyond what was already provided). The airport transfers were very helpful facilitated with cheap internal Turkey flights; we used Atlas Air. The weather was very hot in late August but we had lovely cool swims off the boat at the end of our rides. The steep Greek island hills were tamed with electric bikes by many of the riders. All the bikes were good and well maintained. Our room on board was spacious, had lots of storage space and a large bath. The boat chef gave us delightful fresh Mediterranean cooking on board; one meal a day on shore offered local food experiences. We really enjoyed the international mix of riders. I would go with Island Hopping again without hesitation.

M. Gilbert
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

West Flanders & Bruges
Belgium

This was our third Pack and Pedal tour, and as usual it was fabulous! However this time we had a day that was well above and beyond what was expected. The owner of the partner company in Roselaire, Belgium,(who provided the bikes) was incredibly knowledgable about WWI, and when he found out that my brother-in-law wanted to try to locate an uncle's grave near our route, he took it upon himself to meet with us on one of our biking days, drive us to the nearest town likely to be the one with the gravesite, and successfully help us find it. This was one of many meaningful days in an amazing week. I might also say that whatever weather gods you partner with, keep them happy. We have almost always had really good weather when biking. And we will definitely be back! Thanks again and again!

P. Clayton
6 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

In May of last year we embarked on yet another Bike and Barge trip with the assistance of your organization. We were on the great barge Ava Maria, Montova to Venice. We have travelled extensively over the last 40 years but have never had such a great experience as this. The trip was well planned led by a terrific tour director who was not only knowledgeable but great fun. The staff of the barge were exceptional providing all on board with a superb experience, great food and friendly service. As has been my experience with Tripsite in the past, my expectations were exceeded and given that we are now planning another adventure in France with of course Tripsite. Thank you for MAKING our vacation!

Raylee Flick
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fleur Bruges to Paris
Belgium, France

We had an absolutely fabulous time in September this year on this trip. Cycling was fantastic-Francien an excellent guide, Inma a wonderful gourmet cook. The crew was always helpful and cheerful. The group of fellow cyclists were great fun - lots of laughs. Thank you, we will be back!!

R.M.
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden
Czech Republic, Germany

The Prague-Dresden trip is one of the best trips I've taken. The route goes along the Elbe to Dresden. It's much like the Danube with small towns and nice places to stay. The day we started (May 27th) was the first day of rain that tormented Europe for a week. One day our ride ended, we had just checked into the hotel only to be followed by all night downpour. For most of the ride we escaped the rain. I had a long trip back to Vienna by train because of tracks being washed out and the Austrian railways being shutdown. Quite an adventure. We had a blast… even in the floods!

Marsha Hildebrand
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Barneveld Townhouse for Rent
Netherlands

We spent 2 weeks in the Barneveld townhouse and loved it. This is an ideal alternative for the more independent traveler who wants to bike and explore at your own pace. We used Barneveld as our home base and did a lot of cycling in the nearby National Park. The townhouse is located near the edge of town and you can be cycling through tranquil farmland within 10 minutes. Bike paths in Holland are flat and typically in excellent condition making longer distances doable. I preferred to use an electric bike and Hennie made all the arrangements for me with a very good local bike shop which was about a 10-minute walk from the townhouse. The townhouse is not your typical vacation rental. It is a lovely home with comfortable furniture and excellent appliances including a full size washer and dryer. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need. There is even a private back patio where you can hang your wash outside if you prefer and dine when the weather is warm. There is a large supermarket at the end of the block and many restaurant and shopping opportunities, all within walking distance. All in all a great location. We loved it!

April
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Feniks Burgundy - Paris to Auxerre
France

This was my third bike/barge trip and the best yet. I loved being on the Feniks. It's a very comfortable barge. The captain was very attentive to all our needs and I appreciated his ability to work around some of the problems re two of the canal locks being shut down for repairs. The guide was good also and made sure some of us slower people were not left behind. It was a great group of people and I thoroughly enjoyed the biking and the wonderful French countryside.

Alison Hartman
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna - OV
Austria, Germany

The bike trip from Passau to Vienna will always be one of the highlights in my life! It was the first bike trip I had ever taken and it couldn't have been better! The bikes and maps were given to us, the hotels arranged and everything was incredible! If you want an experience in your life that will remain with you forever....do this trip! I'm 65 and it was so much fun! I have told all of my friends to plan this trip and experience the trip of a lifetime while biking along the Danube. Enjoy!

Jerry & Betsy Wilson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Bolzano - Mantova - Venice
Italy

Just completed this trip - we'll summarize by just saying "OUTSTANDING"! Enrico (our guide) couldn't have been better - surely gave us more info (and time!) than we expected. The boat's crew was outstanding too - food couldn't have been better! And we loved the cycling...even with (in spite of?) two days of rain. Our tandem bike was (surprisingly, for a rental tandem) easy to ride and control, even through some of the tight turns in the towns on the tour. Hard to find/fit tandems that are enjoyable to ride for both cyclists - Girolibero did their homework! We're already planning another tour for next year, and what a feast to choose from!

J & B Wilson, 10/23/2013

Paul Henkart
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

National Parks of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
Croatia

2013 trip was on Harmonia. Marko & Stefaan the guides were great. Food was excellent. Crew was excellent.

Only disappointment was that we had a deck cabin midships which was adjacent to the galley on the Romantica three of the seven nights, so no view. There was no AC and the room was 25C. Couldn't open the windows due to smokers and people/noise on Romantica before 1am. Romantica blocked the breeze anyway so opening the windows didn't do any good. Quite unpleasant sleeping. The guides did not have a solution when asked!

Also, guides said bike locks were not needed and never showed us how to use the locks. To boot, the asked that the e-bike keys be left in.

Victoria Diehl Levesque
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Sept trip from Bruges to Amsterdam on The MS Magnifique, booked through Tripsite.com. Comfortable cabin, great food, hot tub wonderful after long days of biking! Crew easy going but always helpful and attentive. Multi national fellow passengers all good company. Definitely encourage bringing your own gel seat cover! I had an electric assist bike which I'd highly recommend if in any doubt about managing the occasionally challenging distances. Already thinking of booking another similar trip next year.

Loretta Dobson
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My husband and I did the bike and barge tour from Bruges to Amsterdam Jun 29/2013 - and had the most amazing time!! Right from my first contact with the folks at Tripsite to the end of our tour - everything was perfect. Carl the Captain, Tom the guide and all the rest of the hardworking fun loving crew were amazing. We cycled some of the most beautiful countryside, Tom was very funny and looked after everyone - the ages on our tour were 16 to 77 - and we all felt comfortable. You can go at your own speed or go strictly with the group. The Magnifique was a beautiful and very comfortable boat - I loved it and I would be very hard pressed not to choose her again for our next trip - we are hoping to do a trip during the tulip season and maybe one in the early fall:) I actually wanted to book the return trip when we cycled into Amsterdam - but we were going to a friends wedding in Italy so had to continue on:) I really can not say enough good things about Tripsite on the organization side (friendly, knowledgeable and efficient; and the the crew of the Magnifique - they were all Magnifique!!!! Can't wait to go again.

Bill Goss
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vita Pugna Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

This was our first experience with an inclusive tour and we were a bit apprensive about the lack of freedom. No worries! It was a great trip and we would do it again. The small boat/group was key. Great food, excellent tour leader and first rate crew. We would not want to be in a larger group. Three cheers for the older and smaller boat!

Larry and Nancy Bern
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Brussels to Bruges
Belgium

We just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our experience on the August 31st Brussels to Bruges Bike and Barge tour. The accommodations, the staff, the food and even the bikes were all top notch. Peter is a wonderful chef, Leah was a great guide, Walter and Carel were great captain, Carel barbecue was over the top!! It took us a few days to adjust to the biking, as most of us have not done much city biking. But by the end of the trip most of us were doing pretty well. Larry and I would recommend this trip to anyone!

Chris Dear
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Bamberg to Mainz
Germany

Our bike group of 11 cycled with the Merlijn on August 17,2013. This was a 10++. Everything was spectacular. Henk, the captain, and Jentien did everything possible to make this the very best. Our rooms, the food, the bikes, our guide-Klaus-, the crew, the ship were great. We are so spoiled. Everyone on board was like family. We sang, did kareoke, danced and of course went biking. The Main trail was all paved and easy. Klaus made it interesting for us by going over car bridges, rail bridges and little ferries. We were introduced to the "cornering" system, which we found very helpful. Do not think twice about booking a tour on the ship Merlijn. Thank you Tripsite for helping arrange this for our group. Our pre and post barge trip to Wurzburg and Berlin was alo lots of fun.

Linda Wagner
7 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Ave Maria Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
Italy

We took the Venice to Mantova tour in September, 2013. The AveMarie is a luxurious boat. We were very happy with our cabin and our accomodations. The crew was exceptional and went out of their way to meet any needs. Martina, our guide, was also exceptional. The food was excellent. The bikes were standard, sturdy hybrids, all in good repair. The roads and bike paths were 90% flat and easy but 10% harrowing because of traffic! Wear a helmet. The camaraderie made the trip special; I think the Girolibero crew gets credit for creating a sociable atmosphere that made the trip fun for everyone.