Germany Bike Tour Reviews 211 to 240 of 1027

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Nicole G. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the trip but would like to offer some feedback. First, the breakfast was not great. I would have liked more protein, certainly eggs every day, more cold meats, salad, and cheese, after all, this was also lunch. We all thought that water should have been complimentary at the evening meal - really surprised that we had to pay extra for water. I also thought the guide should have been more knowledgeable about each day's ride and what we should have taken time to see. Petra was really great and had a lot of duties but we were riding through some very interesting country and it would have been nice to have a more detailed lecture the night before on the important land marks. I would be happy to pay more for this trip if the guiding and food were better.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Gordana L. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very recommended for beginners and intermediate cyclists. Beautiful sights as well as great accommodations in quaint towns.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Larry F. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall, the Lake Constance tour was excellent - wonderful scenery, good bike paths, and we were fortunate the weather cooperated so well (sunny days throughout). I think we pushed ourselves to do the full lake tour in just five days, because this, in effect, meant only three days of actual riding, so the distances were a bit long, and this constrained our ability to stop and see more of the many interesting sites and just take our time moving across the breathtaking landscapes. The bikes were excellent - first class touring bikes and well maintained. The hotels were decent three-star options, and the breakfast buffets were a perfect way to start the day. All in all, a memorable experience, and we are already talking about a more extended bike tour with Tripsite next year.

  • Aare Trail
    by Gail A. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Aare Trail tour was lovely! A very nice balance of urban and rural, city and village, streetscapes and countryside. Switzerland is a breathtaking country, with pristine rivers and lakes and mountains always in view. This route gave us some time in the Berner Oberland region before starting our ride to experience the Alps up close in the high country. Then, Bern is an interesting mix of natural beauty, history and government. As we worked our way further north, the Rhein River became our companion as we cycled through farm fields. The sound of cowbells was ever present. Bicycle travel provided us the perfect pace to immerse ourselves in our surroundings. Traveling through the countryside and villages along the Aare River let us interact with locals in a way that we couldn't have if we'd limited ourselves to staying in the major cities. The hotels varied from romantic boutique to modern and sleek. Very clean and with fast wifi. Breakfasts were provided at each and Read more… featured traditional pastries, meats and cheeses, muesli and local fresh yogurt. Most days, we stopped in grocery stores for our lunch, eaten picnic-style. Opportunities to dine al fresco are absolutely everywhere. I would suggest either obtaining cell phone data or using GPS to aid in more easily finding hotels at the end of the day, as the level of detail on the provided maps and street signage are limited. However, the trail signage is excellent. Though we had no guide, it was very easy to find and follow the trails throughout our tour. Similarly, our lack of language skills did not present a problem as English speakers are everywhere. The bikes (one regular and one e-bike) performed very well and were present upon our arrival. The luggage transport was very good. I would suggest keeping a bathing suit with you, as opportunities to swim in the rivers, lakes and swimming pools along this route are everywhere!

    Countries: Germany, Switzerland

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Alex Zucosky 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great experience. Andreas was a wonderful tour director/leader. 2 weeks aloud us to have a great experience. As this was the ship's first cruise of the year we did experience a problem with our room but Andreas resolved the problem promptly and provided some compensation for our troubles. The crew provided excellent service. The meals were better than expected( I am not a gourmet but enjoyed every meal). the bike routes were very interesting. Our only issue was with the a/c but as this was an older ship some things are not always up to modern standards. Great value.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Salzburg & the Bavaria
    by Joseph P. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    May 2019 - Review of the Salzburg & Bavaria Bike Tour, or "Mozartradweg". With a really varied cycling terrain, but with the Alps on constant display, this was an extraordinary choice for a bike tour. It was a joy to cycle this part of Europe. Highlights for me were the towns of Wasserburg, Berchtesgaden, Kufstein, and Salzburg. The landscapes connecting these towns were just breathtaking. My only complaint would be that due the amount of time required on the bike, there was little time explore many of the sights along the way, such as the islands in the Chiemsee, Seeon Abbey, the Eagle's Nest, etc. I really enjoyed my few extra days in Salzburg and would have added another day or two in Berchtesgaden if I were to do it again. For the practical points, the bike was good, as were the hotels. And while the path itself was signposted extensively, (as "mozartradweg"), I would not want to rely on the maps and directions provided. I paid the thirty euros for the Read more… GPS tracks for the Komoot app (which easily transferred to my Garmin). I would really highly recommend this, and Komoot app turned out to be great. I chose early May with the intent of experiencing the Alpine meadows and chestnut trees in full bloom. And while they were, there was near constant rain, and even one day that it snowed. I was lucky I had packed thermal gear, but even so, the weather wore me down and I cheated and took the train the last day (which was easy to do, and the bike was free). I would go later in the Springtime or in the summer were I to do it again.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Louise R. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first bike and barge trip. The most memorable part of the trip was the constant attention and effort of the staff, from the captain down, to make the trip special. Entertainment (they have abundant talent), tours of the engine room, attending to the passenger's needs - were all beyond my expectations. For example, while sitting on the deck on a chilly night after everyone else had gone in, a crew member brought us blankets. I am definitely looking forward to our upcoming trip!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jenny J. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the whole experience but one favorite highlight was the Hungarian Folklore show and being selected to dance with the troupe! We made great friends with our tablemates and are planning to visit them next year in Canada. We have shared our experience with so many friends at home that they want to do the trip too. Truly an amazing experience! I would be remiss if I failed to mention the value of the entire experience for the price paid. Very affordable!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Christopher Patrick O. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The sheer amount of interesting things to see and do along our route, so much so that we did a lot of hiking in wonderful scenic countryside. My tip for others is that this is a cycle route that you must do! We plan to revisit it again in a couple of years. It was that good.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Trevor A. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable parts: The guided cycle tour around Prague and then the Elbe Sandstone Mountain Range and the region around the border between the state of Saxony and the North Bohemian region.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Barry R. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Parts? The spring landscape & scenery. The mix of sights and history along the route.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Cody D. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Prague guide was fantastic, was very interesting and could not do enough for us

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by Stan Carr 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We took the self-guided "Sport" tour from Passau to Vienna, starting on 2 April.

    A. Here are our suggestions for anyone looking at the tour options for Passau to Vienna.
    1. Don’t ever sign up for the “Sport” version of the tour because it requires 50+ miles every day, and leaves no time for exploring or resting.
    2. If you are doing the self-guided trail, do yourself a favor and get the e-bikes. The bikes given to us were really inadequate for the distances.
    3. Consider doing the bike & boat option rather than biking the whole way. The reasons? If on a boat, you won’t have to pack and unpack every day; You won’t have to search for the hotel in the evening, and you can look forward to relaxing on a boat every night. Another big plus is that from the shoreline, you often cannot get a good perspective on the scenery. When the cliffs rise overhead and you are below, you can’t see them at all. And you may be able to Read more… avoid some of the on-road biking that we encountered.

    B. Here are the things we liked about the Tripsite planning and execution:
    1. They booked all of the hotels and moved our bags every day. The hotel choices were excellent and the hotel owners all served good meals and provided nice rooms.
    2. There were no surprise expenses.
    3. Tripsite pretty much delivered what they promised.

    C. Here are the things we did not like about the Tripsite planning and execution:
    1. The materials and the bikes were delivered on the first morning of the trip. The trail book has lots of detail and routes on both sides of the river. Receiving the book as you are departing for a 350 mile journey is ridiculous. The company who publishes the maps (esterbauer.com) probably could provide a PDF far in advance.
    2. The trail map was outdated. We encountered sections, starting on day 1, where the trail signs said the trail ended. Several times we were traveling on busy highways with no bike lane, no shoulder, and with semi-trucks screaming past us. On one section, we had to peddle for several km on soft sand past the trail closed signs, because the alternative was riding on an autobahn-type highway.
    3. We purchased the Komoot iPhone app with the trail, thinking it would help us. Sometimes it did help. Other times, it tried to route us onto busy roads. It does not work well for this kind of trip, because the hotels are not on the route. We used Komoot to help get us from the trail to the hotels and Google Maps worked at least as well. I think Komoot is a good product, but not implemented well for this application.
    4. During our entire trip, we encountered very strong headwinds that made progress painful. We expected that 21-speed bikes would be ok, but the gearless bikes performed very much like 7-speed bikes and is the source of complaints from others too. We concur. We should have ordered E-bikes.
    5. On the second day, we called and asked to replace our bikes with e-bikes. Rad-Reisen called back and essentially said it would not be convenient for them to make the change. Trying to ride 50 miles into a strong headwind with the equivalent of a 7-speed bike is not good. I was sometimes limited to 11-14 km/hr (7-9 mph) because of the wind.
    6. We signed up for a bike-tour of Vienna and stayed an extra day in Vienna. That day there were 25,000 runners in the Vienna Marathon, so we asked to cancel the tour. We found that the tour had already been cancelled for us, but we did not know it.

    D. Summary.
    We have been traveling to Europe for many years and we are experienced with the logistics. Tripsite and Rad-Reisen are both good companies who are working to provide great experiences for travelers. We made some bad choices when we planned the trip and those were compounded by weather and equipment. It would have been better if Tripsite challenged our choice of a “Sport” trip, and if they provided the biking materials in advance. I support the Tripsite service as a valuable one for travelers. Our lesson: when planning a bike trip, take extra days and make sure to leave time for exploring.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Andy 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

    How many people were on your trip in the whole group? And what month did you go? Was wondering about the weather.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Lyudmila S. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was lucky both with guides and a group. The programme and route were done really well too. It was amazing experience I would recommend to everybody and I already done it and I continuing recommend tripsite.com too.

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by sandy 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

    Nancy
    Thank you for your review. I went on a tour from Amsterdam to Brugges.
    It was rated EASY and was NOT because some days the biking was
    40 miles on fat tire bikes. I cannot get an explanation as to why this trip has an easy/moderate rating? Are there long hills??
    I'm debating if I should go and if I do rent and e-bike.
    I do hope to hear from you
    Sandy

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Mosel and Saar
    by Liz 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply    

    We did a tour on the Zwaan in 2014. We loved the crew and plan to do another trip with them. Please advise if it is still Maria, Ilja and Dorus. Thanks a lot.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Anna bird 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply    

    May I ask how you found a local guide? How many days did you use a local guide? Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Peter D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our barge the Quo Vardis was nothing short of beautiful with great accommodation, great food great staff, great food and as clean as a whistle. The scenery along the Rhine valley is as you would expect. Castles, vineyards and picture perfect towns and villagers. We highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a casual cycle through stunning country side.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Johanne P. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It is difficult to choose the most memorable part of the trip since the staff, food, guide, routes, and activities were without parallel! The Amsterdam /Bruge trip we took several years ago was outstanding and my favorite of all the boat/barge trips we have taken.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Petra V. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The cycling and the amazing scenery. We opted for a local guide and Axel was amazing. We definitely would recommend this tour and already have.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Four Country
    by valmira 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fiz este trajeto em setembro de 2018 foi maravilhoso ,um trajeto fácil ,hotéis muito bom ,cafe da manha excelente e atendimento ótimo, mesmo sem falar a língua não tive dificuldades ,o trajeto e bem sinalizado passando por lugares lindos ,a bike também e boa ,não e uma mtb como estou acostumada mas respondeu bem ao trajeto ,enfim vale a pena conferir ...adorei.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vera S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I love everything... the routes in beautiful places, food, the freedom sensation. I already scheduled another trip for next tear!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Frank V. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The bike ride every day the sites and beautiful churches

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Phyllis L. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was biking along the Danube River and visiting the small towns. We met many nice people from all over the world.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Dean G. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was more than we had expected in most ways. The highlight was definitely the sights we saw and as we cycled along bike paths that were so well kept and safe. Time spent on the boat was enjoyable-the food was varied and tasty. The servers and dining staff were very attentive and helpful. We have shared our experience with many friends and highly recommend the Danube bike and boat trip to everyone we talk to.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Marc V. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike / boat trips are such a great way of seeing a lot of the country without the hassle of having to change accommodation venue every night! You meet great interesting people who share a love of an active holiday.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patty S. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What I appreciated was the response from staff when things went wrong. Which happens! It is how it is handled that matters. You will have my participation in any future trips! 100% satisfied with your service!

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Ray B. 1 year ago         Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I completed a trip along the Danube. The riding was very easy, the scenery fascinating and the staff on the barge both friendly and helpful. We were very appreciative of the standard of food and professionalism of the staff. We organized this trip from Australia and found this to be a very easy process. We will definitely be looking to do more bike/barge trips in the future.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Leonidas R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have completed 7 bike and barge trips with Tripsite and every one of these trips has been a wonderful and memorable experience. The latest one was a trip from Koblenz to Saarburg and even though we had already done this trip on the Patria on the reverse we wanted to enjoy the Mosel River once again as it truly is the most picturesque and enchanting route in Germany. The MS Patria and her crew are dedicated in making the trip a success by providing us with clean and comfortable even though small cabins, an outstanding menu on each and every night by a chef who for a very good reason has been on this ship for a very long time and a bike maintenance crew second to none. The bikes are ready when you get there and every night they are cleaned, inspected and ready for the next days adventure. That has made me and Clara to take 3 trips on the Patria and have enjoyed every one of them and have become a family with some of the crew members. Every route has its own beauties to show and every Read more… trip provides a very different taste of Europe. The Danube is fantastic, the Rhine is a water highway and the Neckar and Mosel are simply beautiful. Budapest is a great city of the east, Passau a small gem, Koblenz dazzling, Heidelberg an absolute delight and Bordeaux has it all. We have made life long friends and we enjoyed every day we have been on board one of the ships from Amsterdam, to Bruges, to Dusseldorf, to Manheim and beyond. Highly recommend to every one who enjoys cycling and the beauty of traveling through small and wonderful towns and cities to take advantage of these comparatively low cost river cruising and get to have fun and exercise. Thank you to all the crews and to all the staff at Tripsite but an especially HUGE hug to the crew on the MS Patria.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

PWPC