Germany Bike Tour Reviews 211 to 240 of 830

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sandra B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking through Budapest was most memorable! We were amazed at the fabulous bike paths through the city. The car traffic was courteous to bikers and honored the cross walks. Biking through Vienna was great, too. Not quite as well defined, but it was so different to have the freedom to explore the cities, visit sites and landmarks via bike, and much more efficient than walking.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Barbara 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Just returned from five days of cycling through the Czech and German countryside from Prague to Dresden: A Tale of Two Rivers. A wonderful experience - beautiful countryside, quaint accommodations, good food and excellent service. Lukas and company of Europe Bike Tours do all they can to please and support their riders. Try it - you'll love it!

    Countries: Czech Republic, Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Emily P. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Beautiful scenery, bike path was quite clearly marked as well without having to constantly refer to the map booklet, especially once we got onto the Danube trail. The booklet also had details on where we could find rest stops with food which was very handy. It was a great cycle experience for me and my companion, even though he's an inexperienced cyclist (it's only his 5th time or so on a bike!) we both enjoyed it very much--helps that the route is largely flat, the bike was very comfortable and we came prepared with extra seat padding just in case! The route also felt very safe, with minimal sections with road traffic. Accommodations were clean, comfortable and near the bike path, however the Deggendorf stop didn't have air-conditioning which I imagine may be a little uncomfortable later in the summer. One especially memorable moment was stopping by Walhalla, perched on a hill overlooking the Danube--incredibly peaceful with the most amazing views.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Thomas A. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was beyond our expectations. We have taken other bike and boat tours and this was superior to the others. The food on board the boat was wonderful. The cities visited were beautiful and interesting. We took the guided bike tour and the guide, Jurgen Gehrke, was wonderful. I would encourage anyone interested in a bike and boat trip to seriously look into this trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Avace W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Having a guide who provided all the extra touches for touring for our perfect sized group of 10. Dinners on the boat were very dragged out with no opportunity to change tables and meet other guests. Food was beautifully presented, but the petite portions left me starving after a day of biking. I made sure to stock up on a big breakfast. Director made a big deal of tipping whereas this could have been explained ahead of time, so more time could have been spent on what to see in the quaint, darling villages. More info on what to see along the way would have enhanced the adventure. We did a lot of homework ahead of time on what to look for in each village and that helped us to appreciate the history and stories. Highly recommend a guide, but keep groups small for safety and management purposes.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barbara C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our private guide, Axel, was excellent. I strongly recommend a guide because it took away all of the worry about maps, directions and getting lost. He was also very knowledgeable about the history and geography of the areas we visited. I would definitely do another bike tour with Axel.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lou Ann C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The scenery was amazing and fortunately, the weather cooperated and made it even more perfect. My only “suggestion” (not complaint) was that coffee was not available in the rooms. Being an early riser, a lot of us “seniors” prefer to have our coffee in the room while getting ready for breakfast! :).

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most memorable part: Being on the water at night and looking out our bedroom window to see the Budapest Parliament bathed in a golden glow against the clear night sky.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Terrence Zito 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a great time along the Danube river! The cycling was very good and the bikes adequate. The crew of the Theodor Korner were especially nice and competent. The tour guide was really on his game! Unfortunately, the boat itself needs a thorough rehab- our stateroom had an odd odor and was extremely noisy due to mid-ship engines. If we decide to do the Danube tour again we will choose a different boat!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
    by Terrence Z. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This potentially could be a great tour but it was not a great tour for us. The tour guide book was in German which we do not read, thus we wasted a lot of time every day being lost! Also, the provided bikes were not of the best quality, and pedaling them was not easy! The hotels were fine, but we would not recommend this tour unless you read German!

    Countries: Germany

  • Tripsite Traveler - Lake Constance
    by Alice 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    You have put my mind at ease. My husband and I are are leaving, in a month, on the 10 Tulip Time tour. I have been in "training" but have been anxious about my ability to keep up. I have an ebike reserved and after reading your blog I feel better about the trip. Thank You!

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Carla from Tripsite 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Hi York,
    Thanks so much for your feedback! We have good news.... the route guides & maps are currently being updated for the 2018 season. We hope to avoid any confusion in the upcoming tours.
    Unfortunately the guide on board was a replacement and not as knowledgable as our usual guides. On rare occasions there is sickness or other factors that prevent our normal guides from being on board.
    So glad to hear you still had a great tour!
    Sincerely,
    Carla

  • Along the Danube - Passau - Vienna - Budapest aboard the Primadonna
    by Jehiel from Tripsite 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Hi Susan,
    I wanted to apologize that a portion of the Wachau Valley had to be eliminated from the itinerary. This was because of the low tides and the impossibility of docking at this location.
    For 2018 we solved this problem. Only habours running the whole year will be part of the itinerary.
    Glad you still had a time!

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Judith B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Bike and Barge- along the Danube to 3 countries- was wonderful. The weather ended up being perfect, though it was October, and that made it all even better! Scenery was super! Bikes- well maintained and easy to ride. Lots of great encounters with staff on board; only problem was an accident with the ship on the last day. I am sure it will not happen again!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Brain F. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The scenery, the people, the food, and the cycling.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: France, Luxembourg, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael K. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip exceeded my expectations. The beautiful country side along the Danube River, the locks and dams, the wine county of Austria and Budapest were the highlights.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Frank M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The daily briefing on what to see and do really helped to get the most out of the bike and barge tour.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Isabel V. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The way the staff looked after us concerning our gluten and lactose free meals. No effort were to big for them!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Charles H. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wachau valley was my favorite part...small towns, great shops and wine.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
    by Suzanne F. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our boat staff were very friendly and competent and really made the effort to make sure that you were enjoying yourself. Jantien, our boat den mother and chef always made you feel so welcome and cared for. And Jacques, our guide was so knowledgeable and passionate about all the history and scenery. Absolutely a memorable experience all around. Thank you.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathy S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved our trip on the Danube! From the first day to the last, we enjoyed the food, scenery and new friends. Would definitely recommend.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Sylvia G. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything was well organized and the staff very friendly and helpful. We loved the whole trip . The countryside was beautiful.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Lynn F. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our trip was along the Danube to Vienna. It was a wonderful trip, the scenery was lovely, and we were lucky with the weather... it only drizzled one afternoon! The little towns we went through were really cute & charming. We felt the tour guide could have done a better job by telling us the distances between start and finish in terms of time & kilometers. We managed quite well, but it would have been nice to know. Otherwise, the whole trip was fantastic!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Mainz to Cologne
    by JoAnn G. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Rhine Valley is a wonder to bike and very enjoyable.

    Boat: Arlene II

    Countries: Germany

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Elizabeth C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I took the Lorraine Tour this September. I was happy I chose to go Toul to Wasserbillig direction since it ended in a greener, more rural area. I love the countrysides and small villages best so this ended my week on the most positive note for my personal taste. There were interesting towns/cities to see along the way but this was also a bit more industrialized in some areas than tours I have taken in the past. If you are from the American midwest (I grew up in Ohio) you will swear you have been transported home many days it looks so similar. Others on our tour found it quite beautiful however. I was very impressed with the WWII memorials along the way. Even though I prefer a self guided tour I found our tour guide to be very pleasant and considerate of our physical abilities. I was disappointed with the conditions of the path one (our longest) day since I have been accustomed to fully paved trails on all my other tours. That day was exhausting due to the conditions of the route. They say this will eventually be fully paved at some point though. The La Belle Fleur was an excellent, clean, comfortable, and well maintained boat. The staff took good care of us and the food was fine. I especially enjoyed the camaraderie of the very small group. Having taken both large and small bike-boat tours I think this is one of the best aspects of a small tour. If I were traveling solo this size group would definitely be my preference. Overall, another wonderful week doing what I love and loving what I did.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: France, Germany, Luxembourg

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Noel J. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Jantien and Henk, our hosts on the Merlijn, were the daily highlight. Amazingly gracious, spirited, knowledgeable people.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Linda B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Getting to explore so many intriguing places along the Danube was an awesome experience. The varying landscapes - farmland, vineyards, orchards, and enchanting villages - was very memorable. The route was a fairly easy ride, but I would stress to future riders to make sure that they do a fair amount of cycling before they embark on this adventure.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Heidi S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part? The excitement of the biking along with the relaxation of being on the boat and our awesome room and room tenant (Rory?) and of course the food!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Koblenz to Merzig
    by Wayne M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was such a wonderful trip right from the minute we boarded the barge. The people we met, the sights, the bike paths, the weather were all wonderful.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Barbara H. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The most memorable part of our trip was getting on our bikes daily and biking next to the river with lovely towns and countryside. Quite free!
    Our meals were just wonderful! We requested vegan meals and were delighted with each and every meal! This whole trip was special!

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

PWPC