Germany Bike Tour Reviews 181 to 210 of 1032

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by ALAN B. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The pedaling was easy, the landscape surreal, the beer was excellent! My wife, myself, daughter, and her boyfriend enjoyed the Austrian scenery the most. Wine country is not to be missed. The food on the boat at night was superb. Meeting people from other countries on the boat was a plus.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Terry C. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is the only way to do a river cruise. You are able to see and enjoy the country and at the same time stay active and get exercise. The bike paths were mostly flat, very few hills. The boat was very nice with good food and service. The highlight of the trip was entering Budapest at 10 pm. It was more than amazing. The bike guide really tried to prepare us each day for the following day bike ride, but it is easy to get lost and the maps we were given were not very clear.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by John H. 8 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic Value; super helpful staff. Only 80 riders. Very friendly guests attracted. Beautiful sights. Good food. Bikes heavy and clunky with no choice in quality except electric. Excellent trip overall.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by SUSAN C. 8 months ago         Verified Reviewer

    Briefing by tour director daily with clear instructions on the following days ride. Highlighting and suggestions where to break for coffee and lunch, and points of interest along the way.
    Breakfast and evening meal was delicious.
    A great range of reasonably priced good quality bike attire, including wet weather jackets ,and bike helmets for sale.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Winifred T. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our most memorable part of the trip was riding with several other cyclists who had better directions, and hence did not get lost!!! We rode through rain and sun, cold wind and steep hills, chic coffee shops and picturesque towns together. This is a wonderful first time experience for our family.
    I'd suggest to get to know other cyclists as soon as possible and try to arrange riding together. This would make the journey more fun.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Sitaraman R. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Travel agent was very helpful with late booking.
    Hotels were excellent.
    Bike company was excellent and helpful.

  • Berlin to Copenhagen
    by Diane I. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Denmark was incredible! The Baltic and the forests were lovely. The people were good-humored and helpful.

    Countries: Denmark, Germany

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Peter L. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour encompassed countries that had been behind the Iron Curtain post WW2. It was interesting seeing the remnants of this society that had been left unused and decaying since the fall of communism in the late 80s.There were castles perched on rocky outcrops,canal water locks featuring white water canoe courses,trains, chateaux, historic towns and an opportunity to do some bush walking.Just wonderful.

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Karen F. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge tour was great! The bike route along the Danube was easy to follow but sometimes the days seemed repetitive. We found the last day of riding the most picturesque. The boat crew was awesome- everyone spoke English well except for the tour guide who struggled with communicating the day to day instructions. The food was very good and plentiful.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Margie H. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part of the trip was expert guides who worked tirelessly to make our trip the best it could be!

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Steve F. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Captain Dan and the crew of the Arlene II were fantastic! Great food, cozy accommodations, and really fun cycling.
    Would recommend the cycling City Tours in both Vienna and Budapest. We did not book these and I think we missed out.
    Our bike/barge holiday was well organized, super relaxing and tons of fun!
    We will definitely be taking another trip with Tripsite! You guys rock!

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Scott A. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding in the foothills/vinyards in Austria. Stopping for a beer and a slice of homemade cake at a hotel on the trail.
    The boat was too slow traveling upstream against heavy current. This meant we were late in docking for our next ride. Yes, the current was heavy but this is likely to happen every spring.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Heather W. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I think the most memorable part was Bad Shandau and our extra day there for hiking.
    The route map and instructions leaving from Prague were missing the first several kms. So we had no idea where we were going.
    The first hotel after Prague had a dirty shower and was missing several lightbulbs. The meal and restaurant in that town was wonderful.
    We loved the whole trip and highly recommend it.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dave U. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a great time on the Danube four countries tour and it was great to bike and to get to visit 3 capital cities. Wonderful and I would highly recommend this trip

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Nancy U. 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our table mates(who we had never met before) became our best friends for the week. We did all our rides together and had a great time visiting the different cities. We had brand new bikes of high quality that enhanced the experience.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Rebeca I. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trails with magnificent views, lots of hills though! The tour guides are very friendly and knowledgeable. All the hotels were extremely clean and nice. The places where we ate were delicious. Our group consisted of 20 wonderful and fun people. thank you all for a great bike ride!

  • Mainz to Strasbourg
    by Sharon D. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a great way to see so much of Germany! We cycled almost 200 km along the Rhine and enjoyed every minute! Then when we went back to the boat, we enjoyed a top quality three-course meal! Overall it was a fabulous bike trip and riverboat tour on the Rhine. The bikes were top quality, and the nice part biking was our ability to stop off at the different biergartens along the way of our own choosing; We loved seeing the swans on the Rhine (even a black swan!) and also enjoyed visiting historic churches, and seeing wondrous half-timber cottages including one house with a pair of storks nesting on the chimney! I will definitely be booking another bike riverboat tour!

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Yvonne L. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful group of people with extensive travel experience. Biking was fun scenery was great. Loved our farewell party dancing the night away with all our new friends.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeff F. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It’s hard to pick one thing only. I thought the last day of bike riding was the best route, though the first day was a great route, too. There were so many interesting stops along each days ride. A suggestion for others would be to skip the bus tour of Budapest. A walking tour with a guide is better.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube-Passau-Belgrade-Vienna aboard the Primadonna
    by Anna F. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Primadonna was superb. We had a very relaxing holiday. Crash between boats in Budapest happened the night before the start of our trip so any delays because of this perfectly understandable. The fact that the Danube was very high was again outside the control of the trip personnel and we appreciated the effort put into making our trip so enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Germany, Serbia, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Veronica M. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It's been a delight to bike around Europe

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donna G. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Interactions with passengers from around the world

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael H. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? The nice people on the boat

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lorne H. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Earlier this year (May), my wife and I did the 4 country bike - barge tour, on the Danube. First I have to remark that everything "Tripsite" advertised was delivered at what we thought to be a reasonable price. In spite of unusually cold (damp) weather, our first experience (s) in Passau, Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna were very memorable highlights. However, aboard the "Normandie" we did have some concerns with the overall tour management. There were some particularly disappointing moments with an apparent strategy to keep the English speaking guests, and non-english speaking guests (mostly German) separated? For our part, we were keen to mingle - assimilate with all the guests aboard. That should not reflect our overall impression of the boat crew, who were very courteous and helpful.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia C. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing down the Danube at night under the full moon we witnessed the beautiful lighted bridges and magnificent buildings of Vienna. It was magical!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mark R. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable: guided bike tour of Vienna.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tammy M. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having great weather was a real bonus. It was awe inspiring to float into the many enormous locks and envisage what the areas must have been like before harnessing the mighty Danube. The never ending beauty of this part of the world and appreciating the pride in property that shows up at every turn and in every village, is what leaves the greatest memories.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan E. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike/Barge was a great way to spend time with family and see the sights of the Danube. Accommodation on the boat was comfortable, staff friendly and it certainly made for a very relaxing & easy holiday.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by John M. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Comments are for the self-guided Danube cycle path Passau to Vienna with support by Austria Radreisen.
    Most memorable was riding through the small towns. Tips and suggestions: It was a little confusing how to leave the bike at the end of the trip, whether to lock it or not, would it be safe until returned to Austria Radreisen. We locked ours in the hotel inside parking spaces and left the key inside the panniers which we left in the hotel office. The hotel choice was good except in Linz it was very difficult to get there by bike; it was a big hotel and we would have preferred a guest house. The food was very good eating in hotel dining rooms everywhere except Traismauer where dinner was not available at the hotel. The "Danube Bike Trail" booklet provided by Cycline is a little confusing to read. We used a off-line map application (Locus) to find our way. I would have preferred a lighter bike and a single sided kickstand would have been better than the heavy double Read more… sided one. The booklet provided by Austria Radreisen contained a post-trip survey that had to be mailed in to them by post; there should have been a way to submit it by email and hence we did not complete that survey.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by Rosemary M. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The mighty River Rhine was very memorable

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

PWPC