Germany Bike Tour Reviews 121 to 150 of 955

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Yvonne L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful group of people with extensive travel experience. Biking was fun scenery was great. Loved our farewell party dancing the night away with all our new friends.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeff F. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It’s hard to pick one thing only. I thought the last day of bike riding was the best route, though the first day was a great route, too. There were so many interesting stops along each days ride. A suggestion for others would be to skip the bus tour of Budapest. A walking tour with a guide is better.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube-Passau-Belgrade-Vienna aboard the Primadonna
    by Anna F. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Primadonna was superb. We had a very relaxing holiday. Crash between boats in Budapest happened the night before the start of our trip so any delays because of this perfectly understandable. The fact that the Danube was very high was again outside the control of the trip personnel and we appreciated the effort put into making our trip so enjoyable.

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Germany, Serbia, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Veronica M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It's been a delight to bike around Europe

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donna G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: Interactions with passengers from around the world

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Michael H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? The nice people on the boat

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lorne H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Earlier this year (May), my wife and I did the 4 country bike - barge tour, on the Danube. First I have to remark that everything "Tripsite" advertised was delivered at what we thought to be a reasonable price. In spite of unusually cold (damp) weather, our first experience (s) in Passau, Bratislava, Budapest and Vienna were very memorable highlights. However, aboard the "Normandie" we did have some concerns with the overall tour management. There were some particularly disappointing moments with an apparent strategy to keep the English speaking guests, and non-english speaking guests (mostly German) separated? For our part, we were keen to mingle - assimilate with all the guests aboard. That should not reflect our overall impression of the boat crew, who were very courteous and helpful.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Patricia C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing down the Danube at night under the full moon we witnessed the beautiful lighted bridges and magnificent buildings of Vienna. It was magical!

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mark R. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable: guided bike tour of Vienna.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tammy M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Having great weather was a real bonus. It was awe inspiring to float into the many enormous locks and envisage what the areas must have been like before harnessing the mighty Danube. The never ending beauty of this part of the world and appreciating the pride in property that shows up at every turn and in every village, is what leaves the greatest memories.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan E. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike/Barge was a great way to spend time with family and see the sights of the Danube. Accommodation on the boat was comfortable, staff friendly and it certainly made for a very relaxing & easy holiday.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Danube Bike Path - Passau to Vienna
    by John M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Comments are for the self-guided Danube cycle path Passau to Vienna with support by Austria Radreisen.
    Most memorable was riding through the small towns. Tips and suggestions: It was a little confusing how to leave the bike at the end of the trip, whether to lock it or not, would it be safe until returned to Austria Radreisen. We locked ours in the hotel inside parking spaces and left the key inside the panniers which we left in the hotel office. The hotel choice was good except in Linz it was very difficult to get there by bike; it was a big hotel and we would have preferred a guest house. The food was very good eating in hotel dining rooms everywhere except Traismauer where dinner was not available at the hotel. The "Danube Bike Trail" booklet provided by Cycline is a little confusing to read. We used a off-line map application (Locus) to find our way. I would have preferred a lighter bike and a single sided kickstand would have been better than the heavy double Read more… sided one. The booklet provided by Austria Radreisen contained a post-trip survey that had to be mailed in to them by post; there should have been a way to submit it by email and hence we did not complete that survey.

    Countries: Germany, Austria

  • Amsterdam to Cologne and Cologne to Amsterdam
    by Rosemary M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The mighty River Rhine was very memorable

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Donncha O. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part: Cycling in dry weather; we got soaked one day

    Boat: Normandie

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Con D. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our group of 12 had a terrific guided trip around Prague with Lukas, we cycle every year and this was the best for scenery and accommodation along the Elbe from Prague to Dresden

  • Mainz to Strasbourg or Strasbourg to Mainz
    by Geraldine D. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really liked the MS Arkona, the staff and our F&B head mgr. Routes were Ok, but need better route descriptions esp for English speakers. Electric bikes were excellent! Def the better way to really enjoy the ride!

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by John W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I completed the eight-day Danube Bike & Boat trip in June. Biking along the Danube through quaint villages and vineyards was a very special experience. Onboard our "floating hotel" we enjoyed the food, amenities, and camaraderie with like-minded and active people. If you are keen on an adventure, I highly recommend this one!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kathie W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Along the Danube- Four Country Tour aboard the Carissima- very large group on board and biking so lots of waiting and wading through the crowd. Cabin was clean and comfortable even labeled as ‘eco’ cabin. Food was excellent however many courses and supper would take up to three hours- too long. Drink package was highly encouraged but not necessarily economical. All coffee/tea was at a cost except for a brief time in the morning. Our guide was adequate however seemed to rush the biking limiting conversation and countryside observations. The tour director Albert was indifferent and not clear on what to do related to a tour bus that didn’t show up. It took quite a bit of arguing on my part to feel justified with the outcome to balance up the ticket cost as this was not made clear earlier. Staff seemed overworked and had favorites. I would recommend the trip as the countryside is beautiful but choose another barge/ship. Run by Rad/Reissen.
    All reservations Read more… and coordination through Trip Site- excellent in communication, coordination and cost information.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Nicole G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved the trip but would like to offer some feedback. First, the breakfast was not great. I would have liked more protein, certainly eggs every day, more cold meats, salad, and cheese, after all, this was also lunch. We all thought that water should have been complimentary at the evening meal - really surprised that we had to pay extra for water. I also thought the guide should have been more knowledgeable about each day's ride and what we should have taken time to see. Petra was really great and had a lot of duties but we were riding through some very interesting country and it would have been nice to have a more detailed lecture the night before on the important land marks. I would be happy to pay more for this trip if the guiding and food were better.

    Boat: Arlene II

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Gordana L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Very recommended for beginners and intermediate cyclists. Beautiful sights as well as great accommodations in quaint towns.

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Larry F. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall, the Lake Constance tour was excellent - wonderful scenery, good bike paths, and we were fortunate the weather cooperated so well (sunny days throughout). I think we pushed ourselves to do the full lake tour in just five days, because this, in effect, meant only three days of actual riding, so the distances were a bit long, and this constrained our ability to stop and see more of the many interesting sites and just take our time moving across the breathtaking landscapes. The bikes were excellent - first class touring bikes and well maintained. The hotels were decent three-star options, and the breakfast buffets were a perfect way to start the day. All in all, a memorable experience, and we are already talking about a more extended bike tour with Tripsite next year.

  • Aare Trail
    by Gail A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Aare Trail tour was lovely! A very nice balance of urban and rural, city and village, streetscapes and countryside. Switzerland is a breathtaking country, with pristine rivers and lakes and mountains always in view. This route gave us some time in the Berner Oberland region before starting our ride to experience the Alps up close in the high country. Then, Bern is an interesting mix of natural beauty, history and government. As we worked our way further north, the Rhein River became our companion as we cycled through farm fields. The sound of cowbells was ever present. Bicycle travel provided us the perfect pace to immerse ourselves in our surroundings. Traveling through the countryside and villages along the Aare River let us interact with locals in a way that we couldn't have if we'd limited ourselves to staying in the major cities. The hotels varied from romantic boutique to modern and sleek. Very clean and with fast wifi. Breakfasts were provided at each and Read more… featured traditional pastries, meats and cheeses, muesli and local fresh yogurt. Most days, we stopped in grocery stores for our lunch, eaten picnic-style. Opportunities to dine al fresco are absolutely everywhere. I would suggest either obtaining cell phone data or using GPS to aid in more easily finding hotels at the end of the day, as the level of detail on the provided maps and street signage are limited. However, the trail signage is excellent. Though we had no guide, it was very easy to find and follow the trails throughout our tour. Similarly, our lack of language skills did not present a problem as English speakers are everywhere. The bikes (one regular and one e-bike) performed very well and were present upon our arrival. The luggage transport was very good. I would suggest keeping a bathing suit with you, as opportunities to swim in the rivers, lakes and swimming pools along this route are everywhere!

    Countries: Germany, Switzerland

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Alex Zucosky 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great experience. Andreas was a wonderful tour director/leader. 2 weeks aloud us to have a great experience. As this was the ship's first cruise of the year we did experience a problem with our room but Andreas resolved the problem promptly and provided some compensation for our troubles. The crew provided excellent service. The meals were better than expected( I am not a gourmet but enjoyed every meal). the bike routes were very interesting. Our only issue was with the a/c but as this was an older ship some things are not always up to modern standards. Great value.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Salzburg and the Bavaria
    by Joseph P. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    May 2019 - Review of the Salzburg & Bavaria Bike Tour, or "Mozartradweg". With a really varied cycling terrain, but with the Alps on constant display, this was an extraordinary choice for a bike tour. It was a joy to cycle this part of Europe. Highlights for me were the towns of Wasserburg, Berchtesgaden, Kufstein, and Salzburg. The landscapes connecting these towns were just breathtaking. My only complaint would be that due the amount of time required on the bike, there was little time explore many of the sights along the way, such as the islands in the Chiemsee, Seeon Abbey, the Eagle's Nest, etc. I really enjoyed my few extra days in Salzburg and would have added another day or two in Berchtesgaden if I were to do it again. For the practical points, the bike was good, as were the hotels. And while the path itself was signposted extensively, (as "mozartradweg"), I would not want to rely on the maps and directions provided. I paid the thirty euros for the Read more… GPS tracks for the Komoot app (which easily transferred to my Garmin). I would really highly recommend this, and Komoot app turned out to be great. I chose early May with the intent of experiencing the Alpine meadows and chestnut trees in full bloom. And while they were, there was near constant rain, and even one day that it snowed. I was lucky I had packed thermal gear, but even so, the weather wore me down and I cheated and took the train the last day (which was easy to do, and the bike was free). I would go later in the Springtime or in the summer were I to do it again.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Koblenz to Saarburg
    by Louise R. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first bike and barge trip. The most memorable part of the trip was the constant attention and effort of the staff, from the captain down, to make the trip special. Entertainment (they have abundant talent), tours of the engine room, attending to the passenger's needs - were all beyond my expectations. For example, while sitting on the deck on a chilly night after everyone else had gone in, a crew member brought us blankets. I am definitely looking forward to our upcoming trip!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jenny J. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the whole experience but one favorite highlight was the Hungarian Folklore show and being selected to dance with the troupe! We made great friends with our tablemates and are planning to visit them next year in Canada. We have shared our experience with so many friends at home that they want to do the trip too. Truly an amazing experience! I would be remiss if I failed to mention the value of the entire experience for the price paid. Very affordable!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Christopher Patrick O. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The sheer amount of interesting things to see and do along our route, so much so that we did a lot of hiking in wonderful scenic countryside. My tip for others is that this is a cycle route that you must do! We plan to revisit it again in a couple of years. It was that good.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Trevor A. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable parts: The guided cycle tour around Prague and then the Elbe Sandstone Mountain Range and the region around the border between the state of Saxony and the North Bohemian region.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Barry R. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Parts? The spring landscape & scenery. The mix of sights and history along the route.

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Cody D. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Prague guide was fantastic, was very interesting and could not do enough for us

PWPC