Germany Bike Tour Reviews 61 to 90 of 1027

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Susan L. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable. Great scenery, small towns and villages, very friendly people. It's great meeting new people from varied countries and backgrounds. Having a guide and local tours really enhanced the experience.

    Our only complaint is that our travel agent was very unresponsive to our communications. We had to call the company several times to get information. We booked transportation from airport to the hotel through Tripsite and were taken the wrong hotel. We had to find the correct hotel and get there on our own.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Carol B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike tour was immensely enjoyable. Even though it rained 6 of 7 days, it was still a highlight of our vacation in Europe. Thanks to Tripsite's instructions, we were well prepared for various weather from rain to warm and cool weather. Taking a barge is a great way to travel without unpacking each night, returning to the same room and delicious meals served on board. I hope to take a bike trip again trying out another river.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Janice C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow, so hard to pinpoint to one memorable experience; there were so many. Our first impression of the boat and crew was wonderful. The boat was very clean, perfectly maintained and very comfortable. All the crew members were welcoming, kind, fun and efficient. The Captain, RJ, was one on the crew, always on, active, involved and always with a smile. I loved that by the end of the trip, all 24 of us knew each other well after eating, biking and watching out for each other after the 8 days. Bike riding along the Moselle River in the fall with the colors changing was breathtaking. Every turn was equally as beautiful and everyday the colors became more vibrant. We broke off into 2 groups of 12 every morning; each group having one of the two guides. I was very happy to see there were two guides. We came across another bike/barge tour in one of the towns and there was only 1 guide for a group of 24. I think that was pushing it a bit. The villages, towns, castles, history, wineries Read more… and food on board were all exceptional. The pace of the daily ride was not difficult. The only suggestion that I have would be to separate the e-bikes from regular bikes. I found at times, the e-bikes would interfere with the momentum of the rest of us trying to pedal up the hills. It might just be the need for a little more training with the riders on the e-bikes, there was none that I saw, and a better understanding of an "etiquette".

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Louise E. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful countries, great bikes and fun tour. Flexible dining seating would be preferred.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Darlene L. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Beauty of the Surroundings, intimate boat, fantastic food, met new great friends!
    Instructions for biking could have been better.. with mileage.. to better time management for return to boat. Cruise Director too pompous for me... had better.. but think his last tour with you

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Don D. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The normandie boat and crew was well run and has a nice flow to the week. Most memorable moment was Vienna concert operetta

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Roxy K. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the day by day review of what was to happen. On board entertainment was spectacular.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Michele C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We very much enjoyed our guided cycling tour. We have done several self guided cycling tours, it's just very pleasant to never look at a map or gps. Will definitely repeat that kind of experience.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Jeffrey B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Must See: The excursion to the Clam Castle. Authentic Castle owned by the Clam family since the 1500's to the present.
    If you take this excursion or the concentration camp, inexperienced riders should rent an electric bike.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Berlin to Malchin and Malchin to Berlin
    by Edward R. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was great! The food was prepared by the wife of the captain and it was delicious. The tours were well planned and excellent. We rode 170 miles in 6-days and this is the first time I actually lost weight on a vacation trip. They preferred the tips for the crew to be paid in cash (Euros). Would definitely do another bike and barge again. The attitude, experience and knowledge of the captain and crew of the bike and barge definitely makes or breaks a vacation like this one, but the captain and crew of the Merlin were excellent!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, Poland

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Samantha C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was an amazing trip. The MS Carissima was very comfortable, the people were lovely, very helpful and friendly . The food was very varied to fit in with the countries and was always delicious . The cycle routes were leisurely and the scenery beautiful . We made life- long friends and had a wonderful time .

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Kerrie G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the opportunity to cycle along the Danube and see more of the countryside and visit the small towns. Could have done without the wind though! Need to be prepared for all kinds of weather in October. Each day was different - Vienna and Budapest were amazing to visit (once again!).

    Boat: Carissima

  • Merzig to Cochem
    by Lynda A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Relaxing cycling through vineyards, watching the grapes being harvested and visiting the villages and castles aling the way

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Road of 100 Castles - Münsterland
    by Carla from Tripsite 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

    Hi Elizabeth! Thanks for your feedback. The routebook with maps is in the German language however we find it is still an excellent tool for riding. We are very sorry you were not aware of the GPS tracks or device sooner.
    Despite these issues, I hope you were able to bring home good memories of your trip!

    Countries: Germany, Netherlands

  • Merzig to Cochem
    by Ravi M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was memorable , all 6 days of it , right from the moment we boarded till we disembarked everything was perfect, absolutely no complaints.
    The Barge Merlijn, the owners, Coen and Christina and their entire team were par excellence ! Our guide , Lia was fantastic, with great sense of Humour and was prompt in taking care of any bike related issues . The food was exquisite, the most delectable vegetarian food we ate lovingly prepared by Christina. The bike paths thru the Vineyards and the varied landscapes were perfect along the river Saar and Mosel. It was in reality doing a leisurely tour on a bike. The hike up the mountain to view the Saar Loop was awesome , a perfect picture postcard scene . will definitely recommend this tour on the merlijn.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mosel and Saar
    by James S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking along the river was incredible and I loved seeing small villages we would not have otherwise gone to. The lodging was way more comfortable than the pictures made the boat look, we were all impressed! The staff was all very accommodating to the multiple people in our group requiring gluten-free meals. Overall an amazing week with my extended family on the bikes and on the boat!

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Merzig or Merzig to Mainz
    by Joseph M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip was spending time with my family. Eight of the eleven siblings went on the trip. We really enjoyed the Merlijn. The Captain and crew were excellent.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Ann V. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I can't really choose one memory as the whole trip was absolutely wonderful on and off the barge. The food, accommodations, and staff were absolutely top-notch, they didn't miss a beat. Loved cycling through the beautiful scenery of the rural, small-town areas, and the opportunity to visit several of the larger cities with the added excursions. I wish I had researched the area of the tour beforehand to familiarize myself with its history.
    I would have liked a more detailed daily map of the route with distances between landmarks noted. We missed several turns but were able to get back on track. Also one of our bikes in our group of ten did not shift properly even after being replaced, making for a frustrating experience. All that being said we will definitely do another bike and barge trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Mainz to Merzig or Merzig to Mainz
    by Courtney R. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The owners and staff were fabulous. The boat was beautiful with very comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. The common areas were comfortable, flexible, and nicely decorated. The food was delicious. Unfortunately the bikes weren't in very good condition, and that impacted the whole group since we stayed together with our tour guide (flat tires, locked gears, bad brakes). We had lots of rain, so we didn't see much of the beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube-Passau-Belgrade-Vienna aboard the Primadonna
    by Brian O. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat and staff were nice.
    Food was plentiful and good
    Our hotel the night before did not have our registration, very difficult to get anyone on a phone
    The people we picked up the bikes from were surly and just plain painful
    The bike was the same weight as a Sherman tank
    The boat was poorly equipped for handling bikes although the crew worked hard to make it less painful
    We never had enough time to ride and see the sights, we were always under the gun to get back to the boat
    Really thought we were going to be able to sit and have lunches and drinks and see all the sights during our rides
    As it turned out there was only one day where we weren’t in a deadly hurray and even that day we had 20 minutes to drink a beer at a local outside bar
    Came back in the dark often, dangerous
    Directions we revived sucked! Language interpretation was always an issue
    The boat was often not where we expected it to be when we returned
    Read more… >Still enjoyed my vacation but it could have been so much better

    Boat: Primadonna

    Countries: Germany, Serbia, Austria

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mark 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply    

    Kathie,
    We are thinking about booking this trip for next summer and were wondering if noise was a significant problem in your cabin? How noisy was the eco cabin? Did it interfere with sleeping? And was your eco cabin on the lowest or middle floors.
    Many thanks for your help and advice!

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Russell S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a great bicycle tour. I would certainly recommend it. Although Tripsite is a re-seller/partner with Radweg-Reisen GmbH they were able to provide great detail, lots of help and were quick to answer questions.
    The tour itself was great. Most of the hotels were wonderful, just a few exceptions lowered the overall rating for this trip. The detailed maps, provided by Radweg-Reisen GmbH we quite impressive. The overall signage along the trail was great, once you understood the various signs, logos, and colors.
    The bicycles were good solid, well equipped - no mirrors though :( Panniers were large and very waterproof (we did get rained on).
    Overall, a great trip.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Peggy B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I really loved the last day of the bicycling - we rode through the beautiful Wachau valley’s vineyards. The towns were quaint and the landscape was breathtaking! Also, we had a sunset while on the barge that was unforgettable.
    Tips: *Be ready to adapt and roll with things. If you want a boring, unexciting trip, take a bus! *You will be in close contact with lots of other people. If that makes you uncomfortable, maybe this is not the trip for you. *Bring some salty snacks and other electrolyte-replacers, especially if biking in warm weather, as these are not available on the ship.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Road of 100 Castles - Münsterland
    by Elizabeth T. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    1. There were only about 10 castles on the tour. Most of the castles were not open to the public to visit.
    2. The maps and written instructions given to us upon arrival were in German which we do not know. There was an option to download these instructions onto a smart phone but we were not given this information until on day 3 of the tour. We had made no provisions to attach a smart phone to our bike and protect it from the weather.
    3. The scenery was pleasant for a few days but became boring as there was not much difference each day.

    Countries: Germany, Netherlands

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Renata O. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I and my husband, loved this trip. We cycled through castelo and vineyards! Beautiful place, lovely people and excellent Crew!
    And the best assistance!

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Luis 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I took this trip on Oct 6, 2019. It was my 6th trip with Tripsite. the ship was the Zwaan. The landscape is stunning. The staff was super friendly without beig intrusibe. The distances are doable. The ship is excellent and the programmed group size is great, only 12 to 14 people. I have recommended these tours to dozens of people. And they continue to be one of the most fun things I have done in my life. Go!

  • Mosel and Saar
    by Rosalind K. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The boat crew and participants were wonderful. The food was beyond belief. The guide did any excellent job of leading the group on the road, but when we arrived at historic areas left us to ourselves. We did not receive any of the three guided town tours that the trip description promised.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Germany

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Horst K. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour was well organized and we were put up in great hotels. Meals were very good and the tour operators provided water and healthy snacks along the route everyday.
    I was more than pleased with the whole trip and will consider another tour with this organization.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deirdre E. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Visiting wonderful towns and cities.
    We found that the bikes provided were very heavy, making them a bit tough to ride. We were there at the end of the season and the brakes on the bikes were worn out. The bike maintenance was not ideal

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Chereda B. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Excellent cruise director, wonderful bike trails with good instructions as to how to follow them, excellent food. It was a great trip.

    Boat: Carissima

PWPC