Germany Tour Reviews — 61 to 90 of 967

4.7 out of 5

 


Louise E.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Beautiful countries, great bikes and fun tour. Flexible dining seating would be preferred.

Darlene L.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The Beauty of the Surroundings, intimate boat, fantastic food, met new great friends!
Instructions for biking could have been better.. with mileage.. to better time management for return to boat. Cruise Director too pompous for me... had better.. but think his last tour with you

Don D.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Normandie Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The normandie boat and crew was well run and has a nice flow to the week. Most memorable moment was Vienna concert operetta

Roxy K.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Loved the day by day review of what was to happen. On board entertainment was spectacular.

Michele C.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

We very much enjoyed our guided cycling tour. We have done several self guided cycling tours, it's just very pleasant to never look at a map or gps. Will definitely repeat that kind of experience.

Jeffrey B.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Must See: The excursion to the Clam Castle. Authentic Castle owned by the Clam family since the 1500's to the present.
If you take this excursion or the concentration camp, inexperienced riders should rent an electric bike.

Edward R.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Berlin to Malchin
Germany, Poland

The trip was great! The food was prepared by the wife of the captain and it was delicious. The tours were well planned and excellent. We rode 170 miles in 6-days and this is the first time I actually lost weight on a vacation trip. They preferred the tips for the crew to be paid in cash (Euros). Would definitely do another bike and barge again. The attitude, experience and knowledge of the captain and crew of the bike and barge definitely makes or breaks a vacation like this one, but the captain and crew of the Merlin were excellent!

Samantha C.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This was an amazing trip. The MS Carissima was very comfortable, the people were lovely, very helpful and friendly . The food was very varied to fit in with the countries and was always delicious . The cycle routes were leisurely and the scenery beautiful . We made life- long friends and had a wonderful time .

Kerrie G.
6 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Loved the opportunity to cycle along the Danube and see more of the countryside and visit the small towns. Could have done without the wind though! Need to be prepared for all kinds of weather in October. Each day was different - Vienna and Budapest were amazing to visit (once again!).

Lynda A.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Relaxing cycling through vineyards, watching the grapes being harvested and visiting the villages and castles aling the way

Ravi M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Cochem
Germany

The entire trip was memorable , all 6 days of it , right from the moment we boarded till we disembarked everything was perfect, absolutely no complaints.
The Barge Merlijn, the owners, Coen and Christina and their entire team were par excellence ! Our guide , Lia was fantastic, with great sense of Humour and was prompt in taking care of any bike related issues . The food was exquisite, the most delectable vegetarian food we ate lovingly prepared by Christina. The bike paths thru the Vineyards and the varied landscapes were perfect along the river Saar and Mosel. It was in reality doing a leisurely tour on a bike. The hike up the mountain to view the Saar Loop was awesome , a perfect picture postcard scene . will definitely recommend this tour on the merlijn.

James S.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Mosel & Saar
Germany

Biking along the river was incredible and I loved seeing small villages we would not have otherwise gone to. The lodging was way more comfortable than the pictures made the boat look, we were all impressed! The staff was all very accommodating to the multiple people in our group requiring gluten-free meals. Overall an amazing week with my extended family on the bikes and on the boat!

Joseph M.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Mainz
Germany

The most memorable part of the trip was spending time with my family. Eight of the eleven siblings went on the trip. We really enjoyed the Merlijn. The Captain and crew were excellent.

Ann V.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I can't really choose one memory as the whole trip was absolutely wonderful on and off the barge. The food, accommodations, and staff were absolutely top-notch, they didn't miss a beat. Loved cycling through the beautiful scenery of the rural, small-town areas, and the opportunity to visit several of the larger cities with the added excursions. I wish I had researched the area of the tour beforehand to familiarize myself with its history.
I would have liked a more detailed daily map of the route with distances between landmarks noted. We missed several turns but were able to get back on track. Also one of our bikes in our group of ten did not shift properly even after being replaced, making for a frustrating experience. All that being said we will definitely do another bike and barge trip.

Courtney R.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Merzig to Mainz
Germany

The owners and staff were fabulous. The boat was beautiful with very comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms. The common areas were comfortable, flexible, and nicely decorated. The food was delicious. Unfortunately the bikes weren't in very good condition, and that impacted the whole group since we stayed together with our tour guide (flat tires, locked gears, bad brakes). We had lots of rain, so we didn't see much of the beautiful scenery.

Brian O.
7 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube-Passau-Belgrade-Vienna aboard the Primadonna
Germany, Serbia, Austria

The boat and staff were nice.
Food was plentiful and good
Our hotel the night before did not have our registration, very difficult to get anyone on a phone
The people we picked up the bikes from were surly and just plain painful
The bike was the same weight as a Sherman tank
The boat was poorly equipped for handling bikes although the crew worked hard to make it less painful
We never had enough time to ride and see the sights, we were always under the gun to get back to the boat
Really thought we were going to be able to sit and have lunches and drinks and see all the sights during our rides
As it turned out there was only one day where we weren’t in a deadly hurray and even that day we had 20 minutes to drink a beer at a local outside bar
Came back in the dark often, dangerous
Directions we revived sucked! Language interpretation was always an issue
The boat was often not where we expected it to be when we returned
Still enjoyed my vacation but it could have been so much better

Russell S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Around Lake Constance
Austria, Germany, Switzerland

This was a great bicycle tour. I would certainly recommend it. Although Tripsite is a re-seller/partner with Radweg-Reisen GmbH they were able to provide great detail, lots of help and were quick to answer questions.
The tour itself was great. Most of the hotels were wonderful, just a few exceptions lowered the overall rating for this trip. The detailed maps, provided by Radweg-Reisen GmbH we quite impressive. The overall signage along the trail was great, once you understood the various signs, logos, and colors.
The bicycles were good solid, well equipped - no mirrors though :( Panniers were large and very waterproof (we did get rained on).
Overall, a great trip.

Peggy B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

I really loved the last day of the bicycling - we rode through the beautiful Wachau valley’s vineyards. The towns were quaint and the landscape was breathtaking! Also, we had a sunset while on the barge that was unforgettable.
Tips: *Be ready to adapt and roll with things. If you want a boring, unexciting trip, take a bus! *You will be in close contact with lots of other people. If that makes you uncomfortable, maybe this is not the trip for you. *Bring some salty snacks and other electrolyte-replacers, especially if biking in warm weather, as these are not available on the ship.

Elizabeth T.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Road of 100 Castles - Münsterland
Germany, Netherlands

1. There were only about 10 castles on the tour. Most of the castles were not open to the public to visit.
2. The maps and written instructions given to us upon arrival were in German which we do not know. There was an option to download these instructions onto a smart phone but we were not given this information until on day 3 of the tour. We had made no provisions to attach a smart phone to our bike and protect it from the weather.
3. The scenery was pleasant for a few days but became boring as there was not much difference each day.

Renata O.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Patria Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
Germany

I and my husband, loved this trip. We cycled through castelo and vineyards! Beautiful place, lovely people and excellent Crew!
And the best assistance!

Luis
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

I took this trip on Oct 6, 2019. It was my 6th trip with Tripsite. the ship was the Zwaan. The landscape is stunning. The staff was super friendly without beig intrusibe. The distances are doable. The ship is excellent and the programmed group size is great, only 12 to 14 people. I have recommended these tours to dozens of people. And they continue to be one of the most fun things I have done in my life. Go!

Rosalind K.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Mosel & Saar
Germany

The boat crew and participants were wonderful. The food was beyond belief. The guide did any excellent job of leading the group on the road, but when we arrived at historic areas left us to ourselves. We did not receive any of the three guided town tours that the trip description promised.

Horst K.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

The tour was well organized and we were put up in great hotels. Meals were very good and the tour operators provided water and healthy snacks along the route everyday.
I was more than pleased with the whole trip and will consider another tour with this organization.

Deirdre E.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Most Memorable Part: Visiting wonderful towns and cities.
We found that the bikes provided were very heavy, making them a bit tough to ride. We were there at the end of the season and the brakes on the bikes were worn out. The bike maintenance was not ideal

Chereda B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Carissima Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Excellent cruise director, wonderful bike trails with good instructions as to how to follow them, excellent food. It was a great trip.

Gloria M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Lorraine Tour
France, Germany, Luxembourg

The adventure of biking through beautiful Luxembourg, Germany, and France. One can view scenry in a different manner compared to driving a car or viewing as a passenger. Biked thru small villages, metro cities, and rural countries.

The delicious gourmet dinners at the end of each trip will always be treasured.

The route instructions need a lot of improvement. It should not take 6 hours to bike 22 miles!

Cindy R.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The Vinyards were amazing to bike thru. Beauty all around. It was a Breathtaking day that I will always remember.

Colin F.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Theodor Körner Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

This tour was very well organized and it was a fabulous trip. We did the self guided bicycle tour and it was was easy to follow the suggested cycling route. The tour director, Andreas, did an excellent job providing us with information every day about the cycling route and he made the trip flow smoothly. Our boat did not go to Bratislava because of the water level of the Danube, so we spent an extra day in Vienna. There was an optional bus trip to Bratislava for the afternoon.
The scenery along the Danube was beautiful. We really enjoyed meeting interesting people from all over the world and socializing with them afterwards in the bar. Our tip: if you want to book a Tripsite tour, do it early because the rooms fill up fast. We waited too long and got the last room on the Theodor Körner, an eco bunk bed room.

Laura D.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Donaueschingen to Ulm
Germany

We loved cycling along the Donnau river cycle path. The cycle path was excellent - flat, scenic and not on roads.

Dennis H
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
Austria, Germany, Slovakia

The Theodor Korner is an older boat. A little loud sometimes with the bedrooms a little small. Otherwise, the dining room, the lounge, other areas – all were fine. The meals, both breakfast and dinner, were very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. And the tours, whether guided or on your own, were very-well organized and led.

One problem with the Bike and Boat tour – the bikes. I do not consider them well-maintained. Mine had bad brakes and wobbly steering, leading to accidents. And the “sailors” responsible for maintaining them did not seem to have much of an interest in doing so. They were the least helpful people on the boat; it wasn’t even close.

Would I go on another B&B tour? Yes, overall it was a lot of fun. Would I take the Theodor Korner? Maybe. Would I recommend that a biker INSIST upon a good working bike – no matter what you have to do, who you have to talk to? Absolutely.
And good luck on your trip.