Germany Tour Reviews — 91 to 120 of 1390

4.5 out of 5

 


Linda C.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

Our trip began in Passau which is a beautiful, scenic town in Bavaria. We were greeted on the Merlijn by the owners, Coen and Christina and our guide, Ilsa. They offered to take our suitcases to our cabins for us. I was immediately impressed. The food was excellent, and Christina made delicious sack lunches for us each day for the ride. I can’t emphasize enough how gracious they were and how well they took care of us. Additionally, the rides were through scenic towns and the quiet countryside, where Ilsa gave us brief descriptions of the towns and the areas of interest in each place. She was a terrific guide. I felt reluctant to get off the ship in Nuremberg because I enjoyed this trip so much that I would do it again in an instant. I highly recommend this trip.

Gunnlaugur B H.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The spectacle surrounding along the river, the cycling part, the good service on board.

Tips : It could be a good idea to arrange some stops for tasting visits, local wine, other local indigence, in the cycling tour.

Cindy B.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

The views along the Moselle River were spectacular. I especially loved riding bikes to the quaint little towns and through the vineyards. Every meal on the barge was delicious.

Keith M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

I really liked the bicycle riding. The scenery was beautiful and it's a great way to see the German countryside. Our guide Ilsa was fantastic and the crew of the Merlijn was first rate. The chef on the boat prepared tasty cuisine for us every night.

Keith M.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

I really liked the bicycle riding. The scenery was beautiful and it's a great way to see the German countryside. Our guide Ilsa was fantastic and the crew of the Merlijn was first rate. The chef on the boat prepared tasty cuisine for us every night.

Tony D.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

This trip was beautiful, the countryside the little towns and villages were all wonderful to visit. The guides were excellent and certainly new their stuff. The barge itself was very comfortable and the food was fabulous. The crew were very easy to get along with and the captain of the Quo Vadis was very generous and friendly. We enjoyed every aspect of this bike/ barge.

Deborah D.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Nuremberg to Passau
Germany

This tour was fantastic! To start off, you are on the most beautiful ship out there - the Merlijn. This ship is pure luxury! Also, the crew and owners are the best out there. Ilse, the guide was just awesome. She is full of energy and so much knowledge. I learned so much from her about the area we were biking in and sailing in. Don’t hesitate, book now for 2024 on the Merlijn. You won’t be sorry.

di wilkinson
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

We really enjoyed this well set up tour through beautiful countryside with a carefully planned route. The maps and suggestions left time to explore and Lukas' team were easy to contact when a glitch occurred and was rapidly fixed. The accommodation was delightful and the bikes were perfect for the route (light enough frame to lift over kerbs, good range of gears). The route was mixed but mostly countryside. After the first day hill the route was mostly flat and presented no problems for us (we are 70/72) and we spent lots of time stopping for flowers, photographs and beer. We have used Tripsite before but this is now my favourite tour.

Sandra S.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

This was a fantastic vacation. The bike and barge trip also include a few hikes to castles and other attractions. It was a wonderful surprise and great to break up the day. The tours were well organized to ensure everyone knew where to turn and no one was left behind with a sweep always watching. Every day was slightly different and the time flew by. Perhaps the most memorable were the people. The boat crew and guides were fun and easy going which made the whole experience very comfortable. The other quests were wonderful. Overall great experience.

Tom K.
8 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

We were amazed at all the vineyards! We knew the area was famous for Riesling but we had no idea how immense the area was. We also loved the small villages. So much history there.

JOHN D.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

The bike and barge along the Saar and Mosel (or Moselle) rivers is undoubtedly the most underrated journey in Europe. The biking was easy (I'm over 65, fit but no athlete, and used a regular bike) and would be a glide on an electric bike. The scenery and towns are wonderful, vineyards lining the hillsides and mostly small, charming towns. The biggest cities on the route, Trier and Cochem, are great spots to spend a day. A giant bonus were the crew and guides on the Quo Vadis- top notch all the way. A tip for future travelers- choose the route that ends in Cochem- it's all downhill!

Michael K.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

It was an amazing trip, only issue was getting an e-bike as a tall person. I was able to get one from a local bike shop in town who were great, but if It was something that caused a little more work on my part and considerable worry that it would be there.

Teresa H.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

What a wonderful trip! This was our 4th bike and boat trip and our favourite. The accommodations on the boat are excellent and the cycling route was great. The stop in Budapest was a highlight for me for sure!

Susan C Q.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Biking through the vineyards and small villages of the Mosel with the opportunity to stop for a coffee or pictures of this unique area made the trip memorable and unique. Also, the camaraderie of the staff of the Quo Vadis and their desire to ensure that all the guests were content.

Thomas T.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Swiss Crown Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Internet sucks. Needs to be available throughout the ship, not just in the bar. Also we were not told how to use our electric bikes. And some parts of the bike route were hazardous, e.g., loose gravel, fast auro traffic. 3 of 4 of our group wiped out at least once.

Paul P.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

Trip was great! Loved only having 24 on the boat; we knew everyone well by the end of the trip. Food was fabulous. Only suggestion for the tour guides would be to try to have the passengers back to the boat by around 4:30 every day, so the guests have time to shower and socialize over happy hour before dinner. Too bad the Quo Vadis will no longer be operating. They really did it well!!

Timothy V.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

Stopping at local towns to sight see and hit a cafe mid-morning and for a glass of wine or beer in the afternoon. Allure barge never made enough food for our group, rarely made stops while biking at cafe’s or towns for coffee or drinks in the mornings or afternoons. Felt rushed to get from point A to B and not enjoying the ride.

Celeste S.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Allure Koblenz to Merzig
Germany

The only thing keeping this trip from 5 stars is the boat we were on. The Allure was disappointing.

Joel k.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

We did the entire Great Danube bike trail from Passau to Budapest. It was actually 2 trips Passau to Vienna and Vienna to Budapest. The first one Passau to Vienna was on a very well defined bike path that followed the Danube River. There were many bikes on this route. The second trip Vienna to Budapest, was on a combination of paved and gravel bike trails and roads. Certainly for the more adventurous rider. Personally we would dont think we would do 2 weeks of straight biking, one week would have been plenty. Highlights were Vienna and Budapest each would have been better with longer stays as there was so much to do.

Michael K.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Everything was amazing. Great trip. If you need to rent a bike in Passau for taller ebike riders the shops in passau are great.

Donna M.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
Czech Republic, Germany

This was our 2nd extended family biking vacation. We had such a wonderful time, I think we may being making this a yearly event with Tripsite! Our guides were such nice thoughtful people, we enjoyed talking with them and the time we spent together riding through the countryside and during our dinners.

richard p.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Metz to Cochem
France, Luxembourg, Germany

The scope of the vineyards in the river valley. The manual biked were absurdly heavy and improperly geared for the route

Karen K.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Merzig to Cochem
Germany

We had a spectacular trip! The Quo Vadis was such a comfortable and welcoming home. Our guides were outstanding; our chef, captain, servers/boat assists couldn’t have been more accommodating and friendly. Food was fantastic. Most of all, our fellow bikers were so much fun and added so many lasting memories to our biking holiday!

timothy c.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Good trip. I knew of 2 people who complained of having a "cold" toward the end of the tour. 3 days after returning home I tested positive for covid having minor symptoms. Not the fault of Tripsite but I think you should be aware.

Rockwood R.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

Danube Bike Path - Passau to Budapest
Germany, Austria, Hungary, Slovakia

Your representative for the initial orientation meeting was a No Show. This became problematic when we received train tickets in the packet- with no clear guidance. Your travel app and book were well coordinated but the app didn’t always work on the trail.
If you’re providing train tickets it would be helpful to have directions to the train station. Hotel locations, near the bike route and points of interest, were excellent. Quality and experiences varied. Overall pleased.

Deborah D.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
Austria, Germany

The scenery along the Danube River was just spectacular. The little villages along the way were so beautiful to photograph. Traveling on the Merlijn is like being in a 5 star hotel. The ship is just beautiful and the food is downright amazing and delicious. The crew members are like your family. Love the Merlijn!

Kathryn V.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Primadonna Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

This is the BEST Vacation!!
I’ve had a lot of great adventures-but the Bike & Barge 4 Countries Tour topped the list.
Riding everyday was my favypart o

Cara A.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Fabulous bike trip! Everyday we received a very thorough briefing including a map for our daily ride. Leslie took great care of us along with the rest of the crew! Bring a Tupperware dish to make a salad in for the lunch that you can make to take on your ride. The lunch bag will come with the bike.

BARRY S.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

Sitting on the Deck eating dinner in Budapest and watching the city lights. Bratislava was also excellent. We did not have enough time in Vienna though.

Heidi L.
9 months ago

Verified Reviewer

  Vivienne Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
Austria, Germany, Slovakia, Hungary

The best parts were the scenic rides on the first and last day. The ride through wine country was particularly beautiful . I also loved the day in Budapest.
People definitely need to train for the biking part. Although not difficult , time on the seat is important. I would highly recommend bringing a gel seat cover.