5 star rated Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews 451 to 480 of 582

 

 Country: Netherlands • REMOVE

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by P. Bryce 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best week of food ever. Great bikes. Super helpful guides. Would like access to more detailed maps to know better where we were. Really enjoyed the bike barge combination.

    Boat: Fiep

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by D. Christianson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It would be good for the guides to have a bike calculator (a little device on the bike that shows distance and speed). The guides varied the speeds more than was necessary. It wasn't bad, but at times faster than "advertised" for the slow group and slower and faster than advertised for the faster group. This is not a big deal, but would be an improvement. Also we often biked a little longer than was in the route descriptions, so those could be looked at. Other than that, the trip was great. And less rain of course :-)

    Boat: Fiep

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by L. Messing 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our guide Felix, was fun, knowledgeable and intuitive. His attitude and ease of being with people made even a horrible weather day endurable. The BIGGEST bonus was having Astrid along as a trainee. She added so much to every aspect of our journey and was a treasure trove of regional information.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by L. Pope 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Had a fantastic time, would highly recommend it to others!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • North Holland Tour
    by J. Caffrey 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We have been on 4 barge based bike trips plus 3 hotel based bike trips, all in Europe and this was the best. There are simply not enough superlatives to use to praise this trip. From the guide to the cook to the quality of the bikes and the barge we add the wonderful route and great scenery.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by R. Wood 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Merlijn is a very special barge full of character and charm, beautifully appointed and owned and operated by the delightful Jantine and Henk. They along with their crew spoiled us rotten with great food and hospitality. Our bike ride was thru beautiful countryside and expertly guided and interpreted by a delightful Dutch couple, Jack and Marianne. They gave us great local insight. We thoroughly recommend the Merlijn and can't wait to return.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by S. Fryeskul 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff at Tripsite were amazing to deal with and very helpful about everything. I would recommend this company and biking trip to anyone.
    Thank you
    S. Fryeskul
    PS: We loved the new Magnifique II !!!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by L. Gluck 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    1) the description of the mileage per day on the itinerary was not the same as the reality. There were two days where it was listed that there would be a choice of riding 42 km or over 50. When we questioned our guide he said there would be no choice and that they keep asking for the itinerary to be changed but it hasn't happened. There were quite a number of people found the over 50 km too long.
    2) one guide for 36 people was too big a group. Also the same people rode up front with the guide everyday and they had the benefit of some really interesting information that the rest of us were not.
    3) we were assigned tables for dining and they did not change. With such a small number we would have liked the opportunity To move about and sit with different people at meals as we got to know people very well.
    4) all in all, we loved the trip and it was a great experience.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by R. Ross 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved it! The crew was great, the boat was marvelously beautiful, the food was very good, and the overall atmosphere was perfectly casual and elegant at the same time. But: They should NOT charge for coffee/tea after 4pm. If the Bar Tab could be handled at the end of the trip by credit card it would be a bit more sophisticated, but not a deal breaker.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by C. Powell 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is one of the best trips I have ever been on. The boat was very clean, comfortable and new. The steps to the lower level kind of steep but very manageable. The staff was wonderful, especially the chef! and the bike guide! I liked the stops.The bikes were very enjoyable. I think the coffee could have been free all day instead of being charged for it after 4pm. I would love to do another trip!

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by C. Martin 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I really enjoyed this trip. The barge was very spacious and the food was excellent. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was very relaxing. The biking was just right and our bike guide was wonderful. Felix was knowledgeable and very helpful to all. I will certainly recommend this trip to others and can hardly wait to do another bike and barge trip.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by N. Tucker 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a blast on this trip! My first Bike and Barge through Tripsite. Our captains, Hank and Yantine, made us feel like part of the family. The boat was very clean and we loved the table designs at each sitting! Our guide, Francine, made us feel very welcome and really went out of her way to provide us friendly travel tips as we continued on our journey! Thanks for such an awesome time!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Authentic Holland
    by L. Fesyk 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It would have been nice to have a group photo at the end. It seemed a little confused at the end. Also, with other trips I have been on the guide circulates an email list and anyone who wants to join it can. That way it is easy to connect with other participants to exchange photos etc. Other than that it was a great trip. I'd definitely like to do another one! I think the Gandalf is the best boat in the fleet (or so I hear from others).

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by D. Yeabsley 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I would have liked for the table assignments to have been mixed up a little bit so we could get to know more people. I also think the sweep should have a walkie talkie so he can let the guide know when he has missed a turn. This was a fabulous trip! The guide, staff, food, tour and accommodations were perfect!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by K. Teerlink 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Bike and Barge was one of the Highlights of our tour of Holland. The boat is comfortable and the food is great! Yes the room are small but that is no worry since there is so much to do. You can sit on the bow of the barge in comfortable chairs after a day of biking. Everything is planned out well. The meals, bike tours, city walks etc all start on time like clockwork. The guides are informed and you learn bits of history as you pedal. Really a great way to see and learn about a country. I would highly recommend this trip to the bike enthusiast.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Authentic Holland
    by K. de Geest 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The trip was nothing short of Fantastic! The towns we went through on the Hanseatic Route were so charming. Captain Hans on the Gandalf was so generous to me...he knows what he did! ;-) I will specifically seek out trips on the Gandalf. Fred the guide was superb...ensuring everyone got the biking experience they wanted and just a lovely guy all around!! This was my first Bike & Barge but it won't be my last...I've got friends lined up wanting to join me on my next trip...they didn't know such trips exist, but they do now!!

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by T. Rosencrantz 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Barge trip starting May 7, 2016 on the Fluvius was fantastic from the minute we step on the barge in Bruges until the day it was over and departed the barge to take the foot ferry to Central Station in Amsterdam. Our guide Guus and the boat's crew were friendly and helpful 24/7. Loved all our fellow travelers too. The bike trips each day were through beautiful countryside and centuries old cities. The food on the boat was great. The bunks were comfy and the showers always had plenty of hot water. The bikes worked well. Our guide and our maps got us where we needed to go everyday. Even the weather was perfect! Can't wait to do another trip like this!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by C. Fligner 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Fabulous trip. The guide and staff were great. The biking was perfect. I would recommend highly and without reservation. Great trip. Great biking and guide and wonderful staff. The boat was very comfortable and the country was beautiful. I recommend this trip highly and without reservation.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by S. Carlson 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Some of the other people that came on the trip were not prepared to ride a bike 20-25 miles per day. They said that they had not ridden a bicycle since they were a youth. Consequently, this significantly held up the entire group. I would recommend emphasizing the importance of being in good riding condition for the bike/barge trips. Thank you.
    The staff of the Merlijn absolutely made the entire trip a pure delight! We would definitely sail with them again in the future!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • South Holland Tour
    by V. Silberstein 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was a fabulous trip! The best way to see the Netherlands is by boat and barge. This cruise far exceeded my expectations. The barge was homey and warm, the crew was so special. They took care of our every need, and did it in a friendly and caring manner. The chef was phenomenal! The value for your money was great. I would do this again in a heartbeat!

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by M. Ford 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The boat, the crew, the bikes, the food....all great. The bike guide was on her first tour and on several occasions, we had to stop, wait while guide asked for directions. In her defense, route markers were often confusing or hard to locate, making it difficult to take off on our own, or to pause along the way without group consensus. As the farewell meeting on the boat, the entire group voiced positive comments and satisfaction with the experience.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by R. Vaughan 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Magnifique II ship was beautiful and very comfortable. The ship's crew were outstanding and very friendly. We especially enjoyed touring with tour guide Tom. We would love to take another trip similar to this in other regions and countries.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by R. Modi 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The entire trip for all 13 of us was superb !!! From the quality of the boat, the skipper, the chef, the cycle route, the guide, the food on board, all excellen !! A must do!! The quality of the cycles were excellent ! Which made the experience memorable! I did get a chance to compare it with other boat and bicycle tours, ours was far superior, practically new bicycles.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by S. Kraushaar 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Second time on the Merjlin. We would definitely book a third. Bike/Barge trips are so much fun!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by D. Hunts 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Highly recommend this trip!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by D. Keener 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved the entire trip. The bikes trips were great - always lots to see with just the right amount of time in the saddle. My sister (who is not used to much cycling) loved her electric bike.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by J. Proller 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I would have appreciated written directions each day of the turns so that we could do a self guided trip. Also, it would help to have a staff as a sweeper to make sure the group urging in the correct direction .

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by T. Hottentot 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a wonderful trip. The hostess is exceptional, the food fabulous, the guide very good and all the passengers were nice to be with.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by J. Shah 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Best time we ever had. It was like coming back to home after the day cycling. Staff was very friendly and felt at home. Food was good. Look forward to come again in future for sure. The E-bikes were too good and very good for us who are not regular cyclist.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by B. Dewey-Kirschman 3 years ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The tour was wonderful! We had clear weather the entire week and a great group of people to ride with. The "Sailing Home" really was comfort plus, with an attentive and helpful staff.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC