5 star rated Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 610

 

 Country: Netherlands • REMOVE

  • marilyn L. 3 days ago     Verified Reviewer

    Thoroughly enjoyed the trip, everything from the biking, accommodation and the food.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • James G. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most excellent trip! Beautiful country, people, art, and delicious food and drink! I was most surprised by the amazing churches and the cycling culture! Our crew, captain, chef, staff and guide were very helpful and informative. Everything was on time! Even made time for swimming! The route map provided and GPS Tracks were great. I was the only person aware of the GPS tracks on the trip, not sure if others missed this or if their agents didn't provide -Thanks Tripsite. Also, Tripsite Support Agents via LiveChat were very helpful prior to the trip! The only thing I would do different is bring my own bike seat, just used to it I guess...

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Nick and Sharon G. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the biking! We realized very quickly that with the 'junction points' identified for us by the cycling guide, we were able to venture off on our own. That allowed us to stop when we wanted and still get to the boat on time. The meals on the ship were outstanding as was the crews' attention to detail! The owner of the boat was very personable and had history to share, which we really enjoyed. Getting to know 20 people by sharing breakfast and dinner was also very enjoyable. Paperwork provided prior to the trip was thorough. Payment efficient and accurate.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Raymond C. 2 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The self-guided cycling was, for us, the best item of a great trip. We were provided with an excellent, hard-wearing map which had the daily routes clearly marked. The bike paths were accurately sign posted with numbers corresponding to those on the map. Self-guiding meant we could go at our own pace and it also means that stronger riders can be accommodated, eg, if they wish to ride faster or to do more than the scheduled distances. The bikes were heavy but comfortable, quiet and well maintained. The ride leaders were always willing to provide guidance.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Michael B. S. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful experience on the Magnifiquell. Everything about the trip was great. The staff including the ship crew and guides were fantastic. This was a well organized and efficient trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Paul K. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were very knowledgeable & helpful............ The crew went above & beyond...........

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • John B. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The food was terrific always (one of us is a chef, so that’s a big compliment). The guides (Corrie and Nel) are both amazing—really perfect at what they do. Their patience and positive attitudes and exuberance overcame little quibbles and challenges that were occasionally encountered (weather, construction). The bicycle routes were always interesting and the trip from Brugge to De Haan was especially memorable. The crew were always friendly and helpful, especially Sigrid.

    If we changed anything, it would be to NOT bring our helmets; the helmets on board seemed more than adequate.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Diane S. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    I thought the most memorable part of the trip was going to be the scenery and the bike riding, but most of my memories are of the people I met and the connections we have made sharing our stories with each other. The trip was very well organized and our guide Arie did his best to make sure each day had the best bicycling experiences. The accommodations aboard the Magnifique were wonderful and the staff exceptional. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in exploring and learning about the area between Amsterdam and Bruges and having some easy physical activity along the way. Each day had new things to see and learn.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • James J. 3 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    Staff and guides Comfort of boat, the daily tours and the scenic bike paths

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Kathy C. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    The food on the barge was amazing! We had strong winds for the bike but our leader made modifications to give people options for shorter routes. Amazing trip!!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Kathleen S. 4 weeks ago     Verified Reviewer

    We had a magical evening on the magnifique II when one of our guides "Hester" performed an Oboe concert for all of us. Hester is a professional musician & shared her amazing talent with all of us. It was a beautiful night on the water, the boat was lit with candles & we all listened with awe & appreciation as Hester performed for us. We were in this intimate setting, with new friends, listening to live, gorgeous classical music. We looked around & thought wow- This is truly "Heaven on Earth" "A pinch me moment" What a memorable night!!! We can't wait to go another Magnifique adventure with Tripsite.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amanda H. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    What a great holiday, wonderful way to see the country. Equipment and resources were perfect. A friendly, helpful and conscientious crew on board made our stay truly luxurious. Tamy and Carla were fantastic tour guides. Would thoroughly recommend this trip - holiday of a lifetime for me!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Donna A. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on board made this trip a vacation of a lifetime. The boat was more like a 4 star hotel than a ‘barge’. The food on board was delicious and nutritious. Served with flair and by happy, considerate waitstaff. The only improvement in the dining would be a better selection of wines for purchase to go along with the evening dinners. The scenery on this trip was gorgeous! Everything from beautiful rural pastures, to stunning historic villages. The cycling was relatively easy and most of it was on cycle paths. Unlike Florida, cyclists are respected and given the right of way. Our tour guides were helpful and just downright fun!! Even joining in for singalongs in the evening.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Susan P. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    Gosh! There were so many! It is truly the best and most immersive way to experience the Netherlands and Belgium .... cyling along canals ... seeing beautiful gardens and flowers ...sheep, cows and horses ... beautiful architecture, and of course windmills. It was like a fairytale! Having different levels/lengths of cycle each day was good ... We liked the evening walks to see more of the town we were moored at. The staff on the boat were amazing ... all so kind and attentive. Special thanks to Marnik - so sweet and great with the guests (including my 20 year old son and step daughter). Congrats to Marnik who I believe will be captain soon - he deserves it! Let us know when he is captain so we can do his trip! Our cycling tour guides - Tom and Wilmie - were superb! They were knowledgable and handled the different levels of cycling ability well. The food on the barge was spectacular! The Chef was so sweet and talented - she even got me some gluten free bread and bars for my lunch.
    Read more… >Honestly, this is one of the best trips I have done! I liked being active and seeing different things, but do not like to have to worry about food. This trip satisfied all my needs, and the cabins were clean and comfortable.
    I am a travel advisor/planner/designer and I will definitely promote (have started already) your trips! It is easy to promote something you believe in. Thank you for an amazing experience!!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Ron B. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer

    There were many memerable parts of this trip. The guides, the food, the carefully selected itinerary, and the comfort of our bedroom made for an excellent adventure.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Jackie L. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I had never done a bike trip before, let alone a boat and bike one. Our South Holland Tour turned out be fabulous that way exceeded expectations. The Dutch landscape was beautiful. Our boat, Sailing Home, was charming and immaculate. A daily highlight was getting to know our fellow shipmates over dinner. And what dinners! They were of varying cuisines lovingly prepared by Eline, our Cordon Bleu-trained chef. Some random thoughts: 1) we brought our own helmets, but it was unnecessary as the boat had helmets of varying sizes, 2) I was anxious about the quality of the bicycles on board which turned out to be needless worry; our 24-speed bikes were in great condition, 3) we had no idea who our fellow travelers might be, and strangers became friends who shared email addresses at trip’s end. We’ve had multiple vacations in Asia and Europe; our South Holland Tour was one of the memorable.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Brooks B. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed All aspects of this Bike Tour. Thank You for all the coordination and attention to detail. We chose this as a list minute add on to a long trip to Europe and Tripsite folks worked hard to make this happen for us! We will definitely book a future Biking trip with you ASAP! Thank You!!

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mimi C. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was well organized on this beautiful boat and the crew was very helpful and attentive to everyone’s needs. We had a great time and would highly recommend this tour.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Jeanne G. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the rural countryside for our biking tour. We would bike past horses, cows, swans and goats and stop in very quaint towns. I rented a regular bike because I thought the Netherlands was very flat, there was more incline and distance than I was prepared for. I was able to borrow another guest e-bike a few days and in retrospect I should have rented one. But it also made me realize I can go to other countries that are more of a challenge, I would just rent an e-bike. We also brought our own helmets, but the ones they had on the boat looked fine. My husband brought his cycle computer which was a good idea to see our distance etc. We really enjoyed the biking tour!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Louis P. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Best part? Bike riding through countryside

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Carolyn C. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The Magnifique 2 was a beautiful boat with a top-notch professional staff. The food was outstanding, the beds were comfortable and the biking was beautiful. I strongly recommend this tour.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Paul D. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    So many memorable things about our bike and barge trip through the Netherlands on the Super Tulip Tour! Our guide arranged a unique tour of a private cheese farm that was fantastic! We also passed by a MIler adjusting his windmill and our guide began conversing with him and we ended up getting a detailed explanation and demonstration about the working of the windmill from the miller. Great. No way to describe the beauty of the tulip fields. You have to see it to appreciate it!! It was a fantastic week. We would do it again in a heartbeat and have been telling our friends and family that since we returned and showed them all our photos.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Netherlands

  • David P 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    A group of 14 of us traveled on the Magnifique from Bruge to Amsterdam and had an exceptional time. The crew was lead by Capitan Bart, and the hospitality was provided by Sandra. Chef Anita provided exceptional meals each day, and tour guides Tom and Corrie plotted our daily course, lead us through the various villages in Belgium and the Netherlands, and provided both direction, cultural history, and entertainment.
    The crew was fantastic, providing context, history, support, encouragement and even a few special requests (birthdays) that they were happy to provide.

    The Magnifique was elegant and a terrific home for meals, rest, and laughter while we were not biking, touring, or walking through the villages, towns and cities.

    The bikes (ebikes, and regular bikes) were quality, and provided great transportation as we visited historical villages and towns throughout the region. We will be back, and are already planning our next trip. Thank you for everything! What an Read more… exceptional way to see and visit various aspects of Europe.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Maryanne W. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the tour from Bruges to Amsterdam. We had a great guide who read the weather and the group well. The food on the barge was wonderful and varied. The staff did their best to accommodate everyone. Next time I would not bring my own helmet. The helmets provided seemed to be very good and no one who used them had a complaint. I would recommend this trip to those who want an easy cycling trip.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Marcia F. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: My banter daily with one of the guides, Harm Jung. He related well to my personality. The food, boat, and accommodations were all better than anticipated. Thank you.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Terri Z. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The guides Japke and Carla were great and very helpful. The rest of the crew were also great. The boat was better than expected, the bikes were very good and the routes were fun and beautiful. Only my second trip with tripsite but it definitely won’t be my last.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Denise V. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was breathtaking...

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Mary T. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    The whole barge experience with fellow bikers was awesome. There were only 23 of us and we all connected. The dining was exceptional. Our guide lacked knowledge of the tour and did not provide enough cultural experience.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Diane L. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part? Spending my first trip to Europe with awesome people!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Cynthia S. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer

    My adult daughter and I enjoyed every minute of our bicycle/barge trip. Our barge was the Wending and the guide, barge captain, cook, and deckhand were all excellent. Our 24-speed hybrid bicycles were in great shape and the cabins were comfortable and clean. The meals were delicious, gourmet, and tailored to meet the different nutritional needs of our group. Cycling through Belgium and the Netherlands was beautiful, generally flat, and fun. There were frequent stops, historical, cultural, and/or entertaining. 22 bicyclists from throughout the U.S. and Canada became good friends by the end of our tour. If you are uncertain about riding a bike for 15-40 miles a day for 7 days, you can do it. Go for it!

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

PWPC