5 Star Netherlands Tour Reviews — 151 to 180 of 686

4.8 out of 5

 


Rosemary SZ.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

I highly recommend this trip. We were on the Merlijn. It was a charming barge with a very friendly and helpful staff. I was amazed just how comfortable the beds were and how roomy the bathrooms were.
Our guide was very informative and had a great sense of humor. The guests, even though all so different , became friends. Leaving the barge was bittersweet. I cannot wait to go on another. The only thing I wish was a bit better, was the food. But then I consider myself a bit of a foody and so my expectations might be too high.

Jane J.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

The biking was wonderful, the digestive walks in the evening were great and the camaraderie of the group was fantastic.

Mark R.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

A wonderful way to experience the Netherlands. Our guide Cornell was informed and professional. Captain, mates and staff provided all the conveniences of home.

Jean B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The expected/promised highlights on our 8 Day - Tulip Tour (Keukenhof Gardens, the Royal Flora Holland Auction, Zaanse Schans and a visit to a cheese farm on an island in Rijpwetering) were wonderful. But it was the unexpected stops introduced by our guides that were most memorable. The visit to a windmill making paper from recycled rags, watching the release of cows for the first time in the spring near Spaarndam , the stop at the Aalsmeer Crash Museum and a visit to the Hortus Bulborum in Limmen made our trip extra special.

Ed H.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

What a great trip. Would like to do another.

Kim K.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Everything was fantastic. It was the whole experience altogether.

Jody S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The staff, food and barge accommodations were perfect.

Chuck P.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The entire trip was memorable. The boat staff was terrific, the meals from Frank our chef, were gourmet quality, the weather sunny tho a bit chilly first days, the tulips were in full bloom, our bike leader had contacts in many cities and we had private evening tours from local guides, the boat was comfortable and always well maintained. I think the only caution I might offer is we started the tour in downtown Amsterdam at the train station and for those of us with limited bike experience going thru the city was a challenge keeping the group together thru traffic, turns, bridges, stop lights. A more rural start would have been better was the general consensus, but that aside virtually everything well received.

Michael & Margaret G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Iris Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

We had a wonderful time on the barge Iris, biking through the Netherlands. The trip was well planned and the information given each day really highlighted the sights that we saw. The visits to the various venues were full of information and gave us a nice view of life in Holland. We could not have asked more from our guides, Wouter and Sarah. Each day when we rode up to the barge at its new dock site, the crew welcomed us and asked about our day. The meals were excellent with a different area of the world serving as the source for the menu each evening. Wines had been chosen to go with each serving. The rooms were as expected on a ship and very clean. they offered an easy base for our adventure. We had a very good time and we thank the guides and the crew including the chef.

Elizabeth S.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

We had a wonderful Tulip Tour week on the Quo Vadis. We had excellent tour guides who were knowledgeable and personable. In addition to the planned events, we "happened upon" many extras, including "a cow dance," farmers shearing sheep, a WWII museum and some regal looking deer in the dunes at the North Sea. The ship was comfortable, the staff friendly and the food was great. Highly recommendable!

Andrew N.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Flora Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

I was clearly the fattest and least fit of the 12 guests on this 4 day bike and barge tour. My bride and I found all aspects of the tour to be above our expectations. The barge itself was something of a tardas. No the rooms were not massive but enough for two and well planned. The showers are small but hot and the beds surprisingly comfortable. The meals were beautiful. As a group we asked if the meals would be all traditional meals. I do not think this was the cooks intention so she changed every meal for us. Splendid food, warm and plenty to go round. The bikes were better than expected. Each day we traveled more KM with about 35 on the third day. I have to admit towards the end I did nearly give up. Note for next time break in your bottom and get a few km into your legs. Overall a great experience. We saw a lot of nature both of the animal and plant kind. Flowers cheese and at night a city walk. Our hosts and guide spoke English well and were a delight to spend time with. Go on book the tour, you know you want to.

Susan D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

We had the perfect week for our Bike & Barge adventure! We brought rain gear but never had to use it. First day it was rather cold 39 degrees when we started out biking with wind, but of course it is the land of windmills. I was glad I had an ebike. The guides were knowledgeable and our experiences very local. They knew the market days, unique cafes, great places we wouldn’t have wanted to miss. The tulips were all in bloom and we biked through seas of color. The captain and crew of our barge, “Quo Vadis” were absolutely the best and individually got to know us all. I would highly recommend this trip to all. You don’t have to be an avid biker to enjoy this trip, all levels were welcomed.

Carl B.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The Crew and Guides were exceptional! Boat was more than we could ask for.

Coert & Christelle
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

We had a wonderful time on the Iris April 2019. This exceeded our expectations by far. Excellent staff.... Gijs, Gerhard, Aline, Tina and guides Mieke and Harm-Jan. The food, boat, the scenery (Tulips!!) were great, but most of all the cycling. The weather was perfect and since we were the only South African couple, we enjoyed the company of at first strangers and then sing-along travel friends! Memories made forever!

Todd O.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Best part: Biking through the Dutch countryside and being exposed to the Dutch people and their wonderful culture, history, and way of life.

James D.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Merlijn and her crew were outstanding hosts for our Tulip Tour. Our guide, Ilsa, was knowledgeable and full of energy and interesting information everywhere we toured.

Will E.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

The Tulip tour was wonderful. Loved the Quo Vadis and it’s crew and enjoyed the biking. Our guide Rikko was so well informed and enthusiastic about the places we saw. Everything about the tour was first-rate.

Charles G.
1 year ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

My wife and I were part of the 5 day Super Tulip Tour. I can't say how amazing it was. The boat was top notch, the dinners were fantastic, the guides were AMAZING, and the route was beautiful. We are ALREADY planning our next trip.

Anne H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

We’ve had so much fun on our previous two trips we’re going on third with fourteen of best friends.

Diane K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Friesland 11-City
Netherlands

We both enjoyed the coast line part of biking. The least would have been biking through tons of farmers fields, pretty but enough. Tips would be to check your map every morning and your trail numbers. Take your time, we tended to hurry too much. Wanting to get to the next hotel before evening. The distances look long but you eat up the miles quickly on your bike. Beautiful scenery and nice people. Good food at every stop. We recommend bringing skin cream and proper biking shorts. My husband did suffer a little with skin rashes.

Frederika H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Wending Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We had a fabulous trip by bike and barge from Brugge to Amsterdam booked through Tripsite.com. The accommodation was intimate, quaint and very clean. The staff were true professionals and the food delicious. We highly recommend this tour!

Sharon F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This trip surprised me! We were engaged and inspired by our fellow travelers. So many different nationalities and backgrounds. We enjoyed our time, both cycling, and socializing on the barge. Beautiful scenery and topography. Comfortable accommodations. Excellent group.

Richard P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Best Part? Sitting on the deck at dusk as we traveled through the Port of Antwerp

Maryann B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

This was a wonderful trip, highly recommended to both cyclists and non-cyclists! The staff went out of their way to make sure all the guests were well looked after.

Bryan F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My wife and I did the Bike and Barge trip from Bruges to Amsterdam in the fall of 2017. Absolutely the best European vacation trip we have ever taken. We met and rode our bicycles daily with the Aussies, the Brits, the Canadians, and the Germans. We shared saddle sores from the bike rides, and cocktails in the evening when we finished at our barge! We enjoyed gourmet meals, and BBQ on the deck of our barge, and incredible breakfast's every morning as we prepped for the next days adventure!!! We have never done anything like this and were so amazed and rewarded we have immediately booked our next Bike & Barge trip, this time bringing our friends, who want to experience this unique way to travel !!! Thank you Tripsite!!!

Peter W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

There were 32 people on the barge. 26 of us socialized and got along famously. Meeting new people form other parts of the world is always memorable and fun.
My one complaint about the trip is the dinner meal. There seemed to be an attempt to be gourmet and it failed. Portions were too small. Plain everyday meals would have been better. Breakfast & lunch were very good.

Phillip R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

Whether it was the “barge”, the food or the bikes or the bike routes.....everything was thoughtfully planned for the best customer experience possible. Friendly family type atmosphere with a “flair”! Truly enjoyable!

Janice B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

The tulips and the windmills were awesome. Eight of us were on a bike barge trip from Bruges to Amsterdam. I would recommend you put it on our bucket list. We had a blast!

Marianne B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

My husband and I have been on over 100 vacations (some shorter than longer) and we both agree this was the best trip ever! We saw parts of the Netherlands we never would have seen on a typical escorted bus type tour. The food, staff, scenery and itinerary were amazing! We laugh when we describe the cabin; "When one of us is doing something, the other must stand and wait." The rooms were small but very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed.

Denise V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

It was amazing, from beginning to end.the your guide was great. The staff was also excellent, good food..loved this trip..I am hooked.