5 Star Netherlands Tour Reviews — 271 to 300 of 686

4.8 out of 5

 


Peter M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

It would be difficult to pick one specific memory as the most significant. I loved the companionship of my fellow riders. I recall one beautiful afternoon as we rode through countryside reminiscent of a Van Gogh painting. I was impressed by the open friendly manner of the local people in the small towns through which we rode.

Paul M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Great ship, staff and scenery.

VeeAnn C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Everything was fantastic. Each day they gave route instructions. I tried to follow along with the instructions with the ride, but in reality, I would have missed several turns if I had not stayed with the group. So even though theoretically, you can do self-guided, I think in reality it would have been a mistake. I believe the first day the route guidance indicated some photo places that we did not stop at. Either the guide didn't want to, or we had gone a slightly different route. I do think the guides modified the routes slightly based on wind, riders etc. But all in all FABULOUS trip - thoroughly enjoyed it.

Rhoda S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Our bike and barge trip with Tripsite from Brugges to Amsterdam was a wonderful trip we will remember always! The Magnifique II was luxurious, the food was amazing, the scenery was gorgeous, and our bike guides were fantastic. Overall we would recommend this company to all our friends and we are already planning our trip for next year!

Paul V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Elizabeth Bike & Sail the Ijsselmeer
Netherlands

Great scenery, wide, flat, bike paths along with pleasant sailing in lovely weather.

Scott P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Wending South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Our trip through south Holland was a history lesson with activity all in one. We had the day to enjoy countryside, beautiful gardens, canals and the old brick homes and cities along the way. Each morning we had fresh local baking to start our day and pack a lunch. We enjoyed a wonderful three course supper every evening experiencing different cuisines and fresh local produce. Many evenings a history walk was included after supper, finishing the day with some information on the city we were near. The week went by too quickly. ( I would recommend bringing earplugs to help sleep as some of the mooring places were noisier than where we live.) All in all a very wonderful holiday, we would do it again.

Ray C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Most Memorable Part? The travel through the countryside and villages. The trip exceeded our expectations. The two guides, Tom and Hillo knew their stuff and created a culture of camaraderie for the bikers. This trip provided an opportunity to witness life in the countries of Holland and Belgium.

Linda P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The bike and barge from Amsterdam to Bruges on the Magnifique was extraordinary! Whether you were aboard the boat or the bike there was never "a bad view". The route was a great mix of small villages, farmland and cities - our guides were fun and knowledgeable about the history of each region. Thanks to the fantastic staff of the Magnifique, the entire trip was memorable. Our fellow guests were a wonderful mix of folks from many countries and it was fun getting to know them. Thank you Tripsite for making the booking of this trip so easy - I would highly recommend your company to anyone considering this type of trip.

Ruth W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: The lovely scenery and the excellent condition of all the bike paths.

Michael W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Anna Antal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Most Memorable Part: Biking thru the countryside of Netherlands and Belgium

Linda H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Authentic Holland
Netherlands

Really enjoyed the bike/barge tour on the Gandalf. The food & scenery were great. Enjoyed cycling into the forest & small towns. On the down side, be prepared for some wind. If new to cycling I would recommend getting the electric assist bicycle. The terrain is mostly flat but there are some hills which can be challenging with head on wind. Our guide, Fred, was very knowledgeable & friendly. He took good care of everyone.

Heather W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The full range of stimulating experiences of all things Dutch with so many things different every day. The impressive first day, in particular, through and out of Amsterdam set up exciting anticipation for subsequent days that was maintained. If one highlight has to singled out, which is somewhat unfair, it would be the spectacular and unique ride over the Zealand Bridge and competing there with the raw forces of nature. Our tip would be to ensure you use the route maps and GPS in combination noting the advice that there are variances, and each evening check out the actual start of the route for the following day.

Joe V.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Most memorable part: We stopped at a small bar and had a fabulous time dancing and singing!

Susan L.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

A fantastic tour, with knowledgeable guides that led us through Holland and Belgium. Everything aboard the Magnifique III was top notch and any concerns we had (our room was a little musty) were dealt with immediately and to our satisfaction. The biking was very enjoyable, primarily on bike paths and even when on roads the cars are very respectful of bicyclists. The routes at 50km lengths sound daunting but were the perfect length to fill the day along with frequent breaks for pictures and beer! I do recommend saddle time prior to the trip and bike shorts! The bikes were in excellent condition too. Overall one of the best vacations we’ve ever had. Highly recommend. If you are more adventurous you can download the maps on your phone and go self-guided. Many in our group did that and had no issues.

Janet S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
Netherlands, Belgium

The bike ride from Amsterdam to Bruges was a great way to connect 2 tourist destinations and get a different experience going through the amazing countryside. The fact that the Netherlands is so bike-friendly makes all the difference! The local partner has a lot of experience with planning the right routes and selecting optimal locations to stop at night.

Sarah D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland South Holland Tour
Netherlands

There were 3 of us from the USA traveling together. They told us to lock our bikes and take the key with us when we went into a store or restaurant. Toward the end of the trip we ( all 3 of us ) went into a store and did not luck our bikes. When we came out of the store one of the bikes was GONE. We took one of our other phones and called the USA to have the spouse lock the missing phone and track the bike on the GPS. The missing bike was 6 miles away at a big store. The shop owner called the police- the police went to the store- closed the store down for 45 minutes and locked all the 4 doors to the store. The police walked into the store looking for the red and black bike bag- saw it- walked up to the man , who was using the stolen phone and arrested him. He had stolen bikes before. They were so happy to catch him this time. The police never found the helmet and the man took $100, US dollars. They found the bike in the front of the store, as we knew the bike's # Read More

Jeanie R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

CycleTours gave us a unique and thoroughly enjoyable way to see a country that was new to us. We cycled through farms and villages where there were no tourists -- met local folks and saw how they lived. Our delightful and knowledgeable guide made sure that the pace of each day's cycling was do-able by people of different abilities -- often we'd cycle for an hour or two, stop for coffee; cycle for an hour or so, eat lunch. Cycle for an hour and stop for refreshment; cycle an hour and we're "home", where bowls of nuts, cookies, and tea/coffee/juice welcomed us.

Jacky H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: Sharing the beautiful scenery while biking with great friends

Michelle P.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The barge staff, tour guides and fellow bike riders were the best part of this tour! Please know that this is definitely a bike tour. We zipped through towns at a steady pace but it wasn’t unbearable for a novice bike rider like me. However there wasn’t much time to visit any towns and do some sightseeing.

Jeffrey W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: Riding through the Belgian countryside

Janet M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The guides were truly terrific.
The routes and stopping cafes were wonderfully thought out. Bathrooms at stops were very clean. Pace of rides was perfect for a first time experience.
The food on board was outstanding. Chef Alex was sensational!
The lunch meat, cheeses,and bread selections were great for making our road food.
This was our first Bike and Barge experience. It was wonderful!
Thanks to everyone!

Michael B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
Netherlands, Belgium

A lengthy bike trip through the Netherlands gives you an opportunity to drill down into their culture on a wider scale. It helps that they all speak English. The Dutch really seem to have figured it (life) out. We have much to learn from them and bring back their best practices...such as their capability to get anywhere in the country safely on a bike. How cool is that?

Theresa G.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Authentic Holland
Netherlands

We were a family of 6 adults (aged 22-62) who did our first bike/barge trip and we are so fortunate that we booked the Merlijn and did the Amsterdam trip. It couldn't have been a better trip. Everything was perfect from the accommodations to the food to the bike ride itself. Most of all though it was the crew on the Merlijn that made it so fun for all of us. Henk & Jantien are so friendly and accommodating and their staff, Gisbert (sp) who led the daily bike tours & Jaqui & Clara who do a little of everything were all so kind and awesome with everything they did. The bikes are very new and ride great. The E-bikes are a whole lot of FUN. If you feel too guilty about using an E-bike you can turn it off and pedal like a regular bike. Jantien even went out of her way to get a birthday cake for our daughter-in-law. Henk leads an excellent Karaoke night which should not be missed. It was truly a great family vacation had by all. Thank you crew of Merlijn.

Martha B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Scenery was excellent, dinners on the boat were superb, and the guide (Peter) was friendly, helpful, and competent. Suggestion--let there be hot water for tea or coffee available any time--not just till 6PM. Also, supply plastic bags for packing lunches--or advise people to bring their own.

Jim M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sarah Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

This was our 4th Barge and Bike Tour. This and all of the tours have been wonderful. Really enjoyed the country side and the little towns along the tour.
Our guide talked about some fascinating history as we rode thru the Netherlands. The windmill tour that our guide arranged was outstanding.

Maria C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Liza Marleen Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I enjoyed the countryside trails most. The trip was really totally good. As a biker whose biking skills are a bit rusty, it was a challenge, and I am glad I could do it!

Pam W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

This trip exceeded all my expectations. It is a wonderful way to see the country. The accommodations were very comfortable. We will be back. And recommend it to our friends.

Sandra B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Authentic Holland
Netherlands

This was my third time on this particular barge the Merlijn. I love everything about the experience and will for sure do it again

Annie & Steve F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

We had a fantastic time on our Bruges to Amsterdam bike and barge. The boat was just lovely and the cabins beautiful and crisply clean each day upon our return. The chef did outstanding food, especially the barbecue evening with a meringue cake to die for! Our guide Hugo was such fun and passionate about the land and history. Great energy! The best part were our fellow bikers that became friends by the end of the week. A great experience.

Wendy S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I loved this trip from Bruges to Amsterdam! The guides were very good and ensured we were all safe and all together. The bike paths were flat, very well marked and easy to follow when we went out on our own. The guides made sure we had our maps and emergency tools and our phone numbers in case of emergency. The scenery was beautiful and we enjoyed the countryside with farm fields, flowers, horses, sheep, birds, rivers and lakes. The rooms on the barge were bigger and better than I expected. We had a cabin on the upper deck which included a large window which was nice. The food was simple, plenty and good. It was good to be prepared for all weather types when riding. Riding gloves helped with cooler days as well as preventing blisters from the bike handles.