5 Star Netherlands Tour Reviews — 241 to 270 of 686

4.8 out of 5

 


Doug D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Best of Holland
Netherlands

A fantastic experience , I cant think of a thing I would change. The Best of Holland tour was great aboard the Magnifique III, cant wait to select our next tour.

Jon T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

Middelburg was the highlight for us - the town, our hotel, and the surrounding countryside were beautiful. Overall we had a great time on our bike trip. A few details:
- I had to reschedule our trip after initially booking. Tripsite staff were super helpful and I was relieved at how easy rebooking was.
- Our bikes didn't come with waterproof panniers, GPS, or a repair kit as promised. We got the repair kit and GPS at our third hotel but were bummed we never got the panniers
- Our original itinerary had a mistake that had us riding 100km miles the first day and 10km the second day. It was fixed after we pointed out the issue.
- The route was very pleasant and well-paced.

Pam B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Enjoyed the accommodations, crew was great, and cycling was easy . Looking at another Bike & Barge adventure!

Donald B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

South Holland trip was beyond what we were expecting in terms of scenery, trails and dedication by the Holland tour operators.

Rachel F.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Amsterdam South Holland Tour
Netherlands

It was the trip of a lifetime!!! This was a trip on my bucket list and could not have asked for better!! Thank you!

Holly B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most memorable part? All of it. Loved everything about it. Loved the cities and biking through the beautiful bike trails and seeing the countryside.

Alice C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Loved the whole experience - the scenery, everything about the ship (comfort and food), and the people on the tour. The staff was outstanding the entire time. I had such a great time that I'll be doing another bike tour next year! This was my first, and the Magnifique II sets the bar so high that it'll be tough to meet, never mind beat, that! My suggestions are primarily around the bike itself, which could be better. It was really old and rusty in some places, and the gear indicator was so smudged that I couldn't tell which gear I was in. Also, was not convinced that the lowest gear on the bike was actually the lowest, as it felt harder than the 3rd gear on my bike. I had no previous experience with bikes with paddle brakes, so it took some getting used to, especially with starting and stopping, since I couldn't kick up the paddle on my starting foot to push off and mount. I'm very, very glad I brought my own saddle. I know the rental ones bothered at least one Read More

Stephen T.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

The North Holland barge and bike is a fantastic experience and a great opportunity for a family to share a unique adventure together. The scenery is spectacular, the villages immaculate, the people friendly, the barge comfortable, the food good, the bikes new and the staff accommodating. To improve the experience, breakfast could be better and the lunch selections more varied. Early risers generally helped themselves to all of the pastries before others cold enjoy them. Seating could be unassigned so that more people could meet and enjoy different parts of the dining room. Otherwise they have this trip wired.

Mikky from Tripsite
2 years ago

Tripsite Staff

  Elodie Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

This was my second tour with Tripsite and my first tour in Holland, and it was wonderful. The Elodie offers an indefinable atmosphere, which made this more than a bike tour, it was an experience I will never forget! The camaraderie amongst passengers was established the moment we stepped foot on the boat. Our tour guide, chef, and captain were amazing, they treated us like kings. I work here at Tripsite and would love to share more details with anyone interested in this tour. :)

Kathy B.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This was my first bike and barge trip and it won't be my last. The barge, staff and food were all excellent. The trail system in the Netherlands and Belgium was easy to follow and the countryside was beautiful. I'm ready to book my next trip.

Daniel S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Best of Holland
Netherlands

Atmosphere was great and bike guide was excellent. I already recommended to few friends.

Houry S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I loved the biking through the country roads and the small towns that we stopped at were awesome!! This trip allowed us to visit and see places that the average tourist doesn't experience. Loved it!! Can't wait for another trip.

Doug K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The staff on the barge were always very helpful and friendly.

Jon H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Elodie Amsterdam to Maastricht
Netherlands

5 star bike tour in the Netherlands. The Elodie is a clean and comfortable barge with a family type atmosphere. The guided tour through the country side is the best way to take in all the sites of the small towns along the river banks. Staff aboard the Elodie was first class and the food was amazing.

Carol D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Absolutely stress free opportunity to experience real heart of Netherlands and Belgium. Really enjoyed meeting new like-minded tripping companions.

Yael U.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Three Country
Netherlands, Belgium, Germany

My third trip booked through Tripsite.com and my third wonderful summer of biking! Three years ago, We traveled through Provence Villages. Last year through Slovenia and Croatia, and this year through Three Counties - Netherland, Belgium and Germany. We have LOVED each of these explorations: countrysides, villages, forests, inns, seasides, agriculture, architecture and delicacies. The days were never dull, they were not too difficult, they filled us with a sense of peace and joy. We completed our trip in Europe excited to dream of where our next Tripsite adventure might take us!

Ron H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The staff on our Amsterdam to Bruges trip were all fantastic. Our cabin was a wonderful retreat at the end of the day. The cycling was easy even for someone who does not cycle. The one area where I could see some improvement was in the breakfast and lunch offerings. There was very little variety from day to day. Would have been nice to have some other options.

Katie H.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland South Holland Tour
Netherlands

This was a very positive experience. Bikers of all abilities can participate in this tour. The navigation can be a bit tricky. I would definitely recommend using the navigation app in addition to the maps & briefings. However, there was usually a friendly local or another member of the group not too far away to help get you back on the route. The barge was very nice. We had an upgraded room. Plenty of storage space. The guides were excellent. The staff on the barge couldn’t have been nicer. The food was very good. The tour itself exceeded my expectations. Holland is beautiful. The route took us through a variety of geography. Lots of quintessential Dutch experiences, windmills, cheese, delft, etc.. The de Amsterdam is a larger boat than most so you have a large group. Neither here nor there, just a note if you prefer a more intimate group.

Elizabeth S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Best of Holland
Netherlands

Our group of four thoroughly enjoyed the 'Best of Holland' bike tour. The Magnifique III Team were all wonderful, the food was truly excellent and our rooms were spacious and comfortable. We particularly loved Edam and the Waterlands area, also Gouda and Leiden. The daily tours were very well planned and we really did see the best of Holland.

Suzanne D.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Amsterdam to Bruges July 2018. We loved the whole aspect of cycling to meet our barge (our floating hotel) at the end of each day. The accommodations on the Sailing Home were great and the barge is a handsome one. Staff were friendly and relaxed but attentive and personable. Our cycling guide Karline was very competent and kindly took us into almost every town each night for a walking tour. Her historical knowledge of the areas in the Netherlends and Belgium we visited were an unexpected bonus. The food was great on board and most enjoyable. I will definitely recommend this trip to others.

Carol M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Best of Holland
Netherlands

Biking thru picturesque Holland was was delightful. The next thing to view was more beautiful than the last.
Next time I’d get an ebike.

Nicholas M.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Best of Holland
Netherlands

We completed the Best of Holland Cycling tour.
Not only was the the scenery beautiful, but the attentiveness of the crew on the boat and during our bike ride was exceptional.

Jackie S.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaantje Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Our guide, Geert, would take us on an after dinner historical walking tour of each town where we were staying the night. Geert was extremely knowledgeable about every place we went. Between all we saw during the day while we were biking, and the after dinner walking tour, we learned so much! If Geert is your guide, don't miss a minute of his walks!

Donna E.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique (Princesse Royal) Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Really enjoyed the dedicated bike paths, the small villages/towns we stopped in for breaks. My only concern was the sometimes intermittent contact with the ship (cell service) and contingency plan should a participant become ill or injured or if the bike broke down.

Kim C.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The trip, from start to finish, far exceeded our expectations. We were welcomed aboard by a very lovely crew and shown to our cabin. Accommodations, while "cozy" were clean, attractive and storage spaces were very thoughtfully planned; it never felt claustrophobic. Meals were as good as any four star restaurant and my gluten free needs were met without any problems. I cannot say enough about the crew and our guides; they were outgoing, caring, accommodating and fun to be around. I can say as much for the guests. I felt as if I was with old friends (not just the "old friends" with which we were travelling.) The bikes were in good condition and guides made sure everyone had a bike to fit their size. The tour, scenery, quick visits to churches and castles, even the little unexpected things, like vending machines filled with chilled strawberries, remain fixed in my memory as the most special experiences. We were very lucky that the weather was perfect each day. The Read More

Jo-Anna K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The whole trip was fantastic. The food was amazing, staff was wonderful and the barge was comfortable and gorgeous. Bruges and Ghent were our favorite stops.

Merinda N.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Leafde Fan Fryslân Bike & Sail the Ijsselmeer
Netherlands

It is difficult to highlight one part of the trip as the whole experience was excellent. I have done bike/boat tours before and the accommodation on this historic ship was by far the best ever. The rural scenery in the Netherlands is extraordinarily beautiful and the Issjelmeer is stunning. Actually, perhaps the best thing was the staff. We felt like personal guests on this trip and as if the staff were long time personal or family friends. The organization was informal but efficient and the food was home cooked and excellent. There was a variety of activities from cycling to sailing; exploring historic villages and towns and swimming in the sea. Best ever trip.

Ellen R.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

The entire barge and bike trip was superlative! But what impressed me the most biking and barging aboard the Magnifique besides the excellent accommodations, great and varied food, breathtaking scenery, and cultural stops, was the professionalism of the staff. The Bruges to Amsterdam crew of six were constantly working to make our week safe, enjoyable, and deplete of any hitches. If you have never even thought of a trip like this because you deemed it too adventurous, please reconsider! The 30 miles per day of riding were pretty easy even for a casual rider, and for anyone who has concerns about “keeping up” or has some physical limitations, e- bikes were available that leveled the playing field. I think that biking through a country really gives you an appreciation and in-depth feeling you would never get by touring more traditionally. And all those calories burned allows more ingestion of Belgium’s famous chocolates and fries! Absolutely loved this trip!

Carol K.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Magnifique III was so much better than imagined. Great looking barge inside & out! Dining room glowed, friendly bar, wonderful creative chef. I’m a “foodie” and never expected such fresh delicious meals. Room accommodations small neat clean would have liked little more room so 2 people could unpack their suitcases.
Staff was friendly attentive and did their jobs efficiently. Bike trip was well planned, I personally would have liked to have been able to stop a few more times to enjoy scenery surroundings & picturesque small towns.
I recommend a bike/barge trip through Tripsite... I would consider another!

Gail W.
2 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique III Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Although this was a bike-barge trip, I did not bike; rather, I stayed on the barge each day as it progressed along the rivers and canals. It was very pleasant and relaxing watching the scenery. Each day I was able to disembark at least once prior to arrival at the destination for the night to walk around nearby towns or along paths. The crew was extremely gracious and accommodating to my presence on the barge.