5 star rated Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 60 of 582

 

 Country: Netherlands • REMOVE

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Coert & Christelle J. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A once in a lifetime experience.....not at all thought bike and barge would be so nice!

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • South Holland Tour
    by Kathie W. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Southern Holland Tulip Tour on the Anna Antal- small group, smaller barge, excellent guide/cook/staff, relaxed setting, comfortable room, clean, clear directions and guidance. Very affordable plus arrival city for us was Amsterdam so accessible from the get go. Perfect weather which is out of anyone’s control but it made the biking extraordinary. Highly recommend this trip.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Stephen R. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Better than great! We loved our Amsterdam Bruges 11 day on the Quo Vadis. The guides were both really great; knew the route and it’s cultural and historical background. Most simply, they were really nice people and interested in everyone of us. Our group came together so well; lots of laughs and camaraderie at night and sing along with a guitar brought along by a guest. Our meals were ample and nicely prepared and presented. The captain and his crew were so welcoming. E-bikes were top quality; easy to use and always ready for us. We’ll be back for a second Tripsite booking.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Tim B. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    E-bikes, great to know I can bike for about another 20 because of these.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by James G. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    As we neared Amsterdam, the captain of the Quo Vadis took us through a canal with 13 bridges - many of which had to be raised by a Raiser. We were the biggest boat on that canal and the site was spectacular. Someone in our party reported seeing the Raiser at one bridge running up ahead of the boat to raise the next bridge - very quaint!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Bruce I. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Unexpectedly great food, congenial crew, guides and fellow passengers, interesting routes through farmland, residential areas and quaint towns.

    For this particular barge, Magnifique II, it was not necessary to bring our own helmets as the supplied ones were of very good quality. Our suitcases were too thick to fit under the beds. Get measurements from the tour provider if this is important for you.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jane G. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We thought the accommodations, food, route, scenery and guides were all excellent. We especially enjoyed stopping in the quaint towns for coffee, lunch or to sample the local beer, often feeling as though we'd stepped back in time. Bicycling is a wonderful way to soak up all that Belgium and the Netherlands offer.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Super Tulip Tour
    by Elizabeth C. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved the Super Tulip Trip on the Zwaan. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. The chef was terrific. Her food delicious and we noticed how well she adjusted the menu for another traveler who had allergies to certain foods. The bike guides were very informative and showed us little out of the way places that we would not have easily found on our own. Our e-bikes were terrific.
    We would highly recommend this boat and tour.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Shuhan M. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The tour guide!

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathleen U. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The quality of the e-bikes on the Fluvius were beyond excellent!! Goos the guide was a "10"!!! Best bike/boat trip ever.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Shaunna K. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I enjoyed staying on a barge and taking in the beautiful scenery along the way.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bike and Sail the Frisian Sea
    by Al McCalder 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I thoroughly loved this "bike and sail" with Cap't Joris and his delightful crew. The meals were excellent, the support for the cycles routes very helpful, and the camaraderie among all the guest and crew made for a wonderful travel experience. We highly recommend this travel for anyone looking for an active holiday, flavorful beers, wonderful scenery, friendly locals, and superb food.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Maastricht to Paris
    by Jacqui Eger 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Just completed the inaugural tour of the Elodie from Maastricht to Paris. This was our fifth barge and bike and was certainly one of the best ever. The Elodie is a charming barge, spotlessly clean and well maintained with a comfortable salon where we had our meals, sat drinking, reading or playing games. The crew of Captain Chango, Chef Hans and guide Nina were outstanding in every respect. Our meals were amazing and the weather forecasts from Chango always entertaining. We were lucky enough to enjoy some nice weather where we could sit out on deck under the largest umbrella I have ever seen! A wonderful itinerary but being new the first couple of days we had a few miss turns but no one minded and we always called it an adventure. Our guide Nina made it all so enjoyable. We are already looking forward to another trip on the Elodie.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium, France

  • Heart of Holland
    by Elsie R. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed the “Heart of Holland” Bike and Barge Trip aboard the Lena Maria. I was a party of four ladies (3 Canadians and 1 USA) whose trip began on May 11. We had a fantastic trip.

    Our guide, Francien, was excellent! She did an excellent job of leading the biking events...stopping for breaks when needed and keeping us moving at a comfortable pace. The evening “Next Day” sessions gave us a good idea of what to expect the next day. The stops at the 17 windmills, the cheese factory, and the flower auction site added to the day’s plan. The two evening guided city walks gave us time to explore onfoot, too. Lastly, Francien kept close watch on her biking group while leading us through city traffic and country roads. The biking trip was an excellent way to see the countryside.

    The crew on the Lena Maria was excellent...the food was wonderful (great Chef!) and the hostess was very welcoming. The barge was a very welcome sight at the end of a day of biking:-)

    I am pleased to say that this 72-year old lady biked every day of the trip without needing an electric bike! In fact, I just might take another bike and barge trip. Many of my friends have expressed interest in joining our next adventure!

    Thanks again!

    Boat: Lena Maria

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Molly R. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our guide Cornel was great with fun stories and historic information provided throughout our trip. Loved the digestive walks after dinner of the various towns we were docked at. The staff of the Merlijn couldn't have been nicer or more professional and the boat was very clean and comfortable. Food was pretty basic and could be improved, but that was not a high priority to me. Overall great trip and have already recommended it to many people.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Rita R. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    "It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of the trip was as each and every day brought wonderful new sights and experiences. Biking along fields filled with tulips and a stop at the Keukenhof Gardens would certainly rate as one of the highlights of the trip. The staff and bike guide definitely made the trip special as they went above and beyond to ensure we were satisfied. Food was great with a plentiful breakfast buffet and a different menu each night. Our lunches were made and packed each day and boy, theses sandwiches and treats sure tasted great after putting some miles in. The dining/lounge was large and spacious and made for a great place to interact with the other guests. Bedrooms/bathrooms were nor overly spacious but were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
    This was our first trip of this kind and also our first trip to Europe and the Crew of the Merlijn made it a wonderful experience we will never forget. Thank you Coen, Cristina, Klara, Luliana, Lili and our tour guide Cornel. Memories to last forever.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Rosemary SZ. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I highly recommend this trip. We were on the Merlijn. It was a charming barge with a very friendly and helpful staff. I was amazed just how comfortable the beds were and how roomy the bathrooms were.
    Our guide was very informative and had a great sense of humor. The guests, even though all so different , became friends. Leaving the barge was bittersweet. I cannot wait to go on another. The only thing I wish was a bit better, was the food. But then I consider myself a bit of a foody and so my expectations might be too high.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Jane J. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The biking was wonderful, the digestive walks in the evening were great and the camaraderie of the group was fantastic.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Mark R. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A wonderful way to experience the Netherlands. Our guide Cornell was informed and professional. Captain, mates and staff provided all the conveniences of home.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Jean B. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The expected/promised highlights on our 8 Day - Tulip Tour (Keukenhof Gardens, the Royal Flora Holland Auction, Zaanse Schans and a visit to a cheese farm on an island in Rijpwetering) were wonderful. But it was the unexpected stops introduced by our guides that were most memorable. The visit to a windmill making paper from recycled rags, watching the release of cows for the first time in the spring near Spaarndam , the stop at the Aalsmeer Crash Museum and a visit to the Hortus Bulborum in Limmen made our trip extra special.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Ed H. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    What a great trip. Would like to do another.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kim K. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything was fantastic. It was the whole experience altogether.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Jody S. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff, food and barge accommodations were perfect.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Chuck P. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The entire trip was memorable. The boat staff was terrific, the meals from Frank our chef, were gourmet quality, the weather sunny tho a bit chilly first days, the tulips were in full bloom, our bike leader had contacts in many cities and we had private evening tours from local guides, the boat was comfortable and always well maintained. I think the only caution I might offer is we started the tour in downtown Amsterdam at the train station and for those of us with limited bike experience going thru the city was a challenge keeping the group together thru traffic, turns, bridges, stop lights. A more rural start would have been better was the general consensus, but that aside virtually everything well received.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Michael & Margaret G. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful time on the barge Iris, biking through the Netherlands. The trip was well planned and the information given each day really highlighted the sights that we saw. The visits to the various venues were full of information and gave us a nice view of life in Holland. We could not have asked more from our guides, Wouter and Sarah. Each day when we rode up to the barge at its new dock site, the crew welcomed us and asked about our day. The meals were excellent with a different area of the world serving as the source for the menu each evening. Wines had been chosen to go with each serving. The rooms were as expected on a ship and very clean. they offered an easy base for our adventure. We had a very good time and we thank the guides and the crew including the chef.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Elizabeth S. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful Tulip Tour week on the Quo Vadis. We had excellent tour guides who were knowledgeable and personable. In addition to the planned events, we "happened upon" many extras, including "a cow dance," farmers shearing sheep, a WWII museum and some regal looking deer in the dunes at the North Sea. The ship was comfortable, the staff friendly and the food was great. Highly recommendable!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Andrew N. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I was clearly the fattest and least fit of the 12 guests on this 4 day bike and barge tour. My bride and I found all aspects of the tour to be above our expectations. The barge itself was something of a tardas. No the rooms were not massive but enough for two and well planned. The showers are small but hot and the beds surprisingly comfortable. The meals were beautiful. As a group we asked if the meals would be all traditional meals. I do not think this was the cooks intention so she changed every meal for us. Splendid food, warm and plenty to go round. The bikes were better than expected. Each day we traveled more KM with about 35 on the third day. I have to admit towards the end I did nearly give up. Note for next time break in your bottom and get a few km into your legs. Overall a great experience. We saw a lot of nature both of the animal and plant kind. Flowers cheese and at night a city walk. Our hosts and guide spoke English well and were a delight to spend time with. Go on book the tour, you know you want to.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Susan D. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had the perfect week for our Bike & Barge adventure! We brought rain gear but never had to use it. First day it was rather cold 39 degrees when we started out biking with wind, but of course it is the land of windmills. I was glad I had an ebike. The guides were knowledgeable and our experiences very local. They knew the market days, unique cafes, great places we wouldn’t have wanted to miss. The tulips were all in bloom and we biked through seas of color. The captain and crew of our barge, “Quo Vadis” were absolutely the best and individually got to know us all. I would highly recommend this trip to all. You don’t have to be an avid biker to enjoy this trip, all levels were welcomed.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Carl B. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The Crew and Guides were exceptional! Boat was more than we could ask for.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Coert & Christelle 3 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We had a wonderful time on the Iris April 2019. This exceeded our expectations by far. Excellent staff.... Gijs, Gerhard, Aline, Tina and guides Mieke and Harm-Jan. The food, boat, the scenery (Tulips!!) were great, but most of all the cycling. The weather was perfect and since we were the only South African couple, we enjoyed the company of at first strangers and then sing-along travel friends! Memories made forever!

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC