5 star rated Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews 211 to 240 of 582

 

 Country: Netherlands • REMOVE

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by James K. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I did a 10 Day Barge and Bike trip from Brugge to Amsterdam during Tulip season. The boat Quo Vadis was really excellent. The rooms were small but quite comfortable. The dining room and lounge were well appointed and welcoming. Everything was always spotlessly clean! The crew was incredibly hospitable catering to any need. Captain RJ was knowledgeable, experienced and and very approachable. The evening walks he led in towns were great fun. Also really enjoyed sitting in the wheel house and chatting as he navigated rivers and canals.

    The food was basically gourmet with delightful surprises every dinner. Fresh bread was baked on board every day and breakfast was a mix of american style eggs, bacon, etc and European style meats, cheeses, fruit, veggies, etc. Chef Franco deserves many accolades for his commitment to healthy and delicious food.

    Our bicycle guide was extremely competent. He knew the roads and towns well and was able to make changes to routes as needed on the fly. An example would be an extra loop on some roads when he spotted blazing fields of tulips off in the distance. Our timing was good as there were acres of fields in full bloom as we rode down tiny country roads with no other tours, tourists or buses anywhere to be seen but our little bicycle group. It was sublime! Wind mills, polders, dykes, historic locks & bridges dating back centuries, and wonderful local festivals in the central squares of small towns on Kings Day - all to be seen on an 'organic' level from the saddle of a bike. It really doesn't get much better! And our guide, Cornell, knew the history and had a story to tell about so many places. He also knew the best places to stop for a coffee break, a picnic lunch or a hot bowl of soup and a slice of Dutch Apple Pie ... maybe even a great spot to get a good Belgian beer. Thanks Cornell!

    It is almost impossible to pick one favorite thing as best of trip. The fields of tulips, the Kings Day Festivals and the gourmet food would all have to rank high on a list of many highs. Towns? Brugge, Antwerp, Delft, Amsterdam - all high on the list and each for different reasons. History, culture, shops, vibrancy, beautiful town squares & lovely streets are all a part of European charm! I don't know what else to say other than we will do another and Bike and Barge trip through the wine region of Germany in the future. It's just such a great way to get a more intimate experience when traveling.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Ronald R. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Memorable parts: The other guests, the scenery, and the barge experience. The Tulip time is also the rain time, so be prepared with proper clothing. Even though the weather may not be ideal, the experience more than makes up for it.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Alix L. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Qua Vadis boat, staff, tour route all exceeded my expectations. The food is fabulous and the chef, Franco, made me fabulous gluten free options. I loved the small group, our guide was knowledgeable and fun. He made sure to take us on loops that would show us major sights. R.J. And Ina, owners and captain, are personable and accommodating. I would recommend any tour on the Quo Vadis.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Rosann G. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorial Parts: the biking routes and scenery.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Kim K. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The fabulous guides, scenery and staff!

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Christiane and Pascale D. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The kindness and attention of Sanders and Als, owners of the barge, the delicious and beautifully presented meals, the bike tours so different every day, the size of the boat allowing super relations with the others, Rola the so friendly and helpful guide and to top it all, 5 days of perfect sunny hot weather....ordered by Tripsite, no doubt!!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Frederick S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our trip aboard Quo Vadis exceeded our expectations; the food and crew were great. We ended riding more than the itinerary suggested (averaging about 35 miles per day), but we lucked out and head great weather the entire trip.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Lynda A. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part? Cycling in the warm spring weather seeing the fields of spring bulbs in bloom with windmills almost always in view.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Beth P. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The first day was the best...but then the next day took over that stature and then the next day...and so on for all glorious 10 days of our sojourn. Around every turn was another beautiful vista, filled with the aroma of hyacinths, the colors of tulip fields, the beauty of windmills and the charm of 16th century villages. Our accommodations were impeccable, the captain, cook and staff were thoughtful, accomplished and accommodating. Did I mention the food? The food was deserving of a Michelin star! Our bikes were perfect for the terrain (the Netherlands is gloriously flat - for a biker from the hills of NEPA that was a treat!). Our fellow bikers were great company - everyone had a sense of camaraderie and fun. This was my second Tripsite excursion and it won't be my last!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Patrick L. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Janteen's food was superior - even better than the other bike barges, and that's setting the bar pretty high.
    Nico and Chango are great guys. Fun to chat with and good at their professions. The small group, cozy quarters on the Elodie, excellent crew, great riding companions, the people of The Netherlands - and, of course, the tulips - made this the best bike and barge trip ever.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Elizabeth T. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This was my first Bike and Barge trip . Now I am hooked and am making plans for another trip next year. There were many many WOW moments on the trip., on the barge, on the bikes and during the nightly tours of the cities visited. This is the only means to really learn about, see and interact with the country.
    Everything on this trip was memorable from the staff, the guide ,the other tour participants and off course the scenery and the people and customs of The Netherlands

    Thank you TRIPSITE for the excellent service!

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Eileen S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Exceeded my expectations. Best value for great experience.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Stephen R. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was a very well organized trip with no unexpected “surprises” at the end. RJ and his staff were very friendly and helpful. His barge was very clean and comfortable. The cabins are definitely small so pack lightly. The WiFi is slow but we were able to use Facebook and email. The bikes were all new. We found that the bikes are heavier than our hybrids. My wife used a ebike everyday and really enjoyed the trip. If your spouse isn’t a big rider, rest assured that the ebike is the way to go. The other guests were very compatible and most were repeat customers of Tripsite. We would definitely book with Tripsite again.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by John G. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A tour of the Netherlands has to be a "bucket list" item for any biker. It is a fascinating country with great history and scenery. Travelling on the Quo Vadis for the Tulip Tour was a great way to experience the smell of the hyacinth fields along the country roads.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Angela T. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Loved the comfortable accommodations on the barge.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Karina M. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through the tulip fields and the Kuekenhoff gardens on the same day is a memory that will stay with me forever.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • South Holland Tour
    by Dave C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The De Amsterdam is more like a cruise ship than a barge, very nice cabin, very nice dining room.

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Dave C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The crew on the Zwaantje was fantastic. We loved the meals that Frank prepared. Fred is a great tour guide.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Jo S. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Riding through the tulip fields...the sight and the smell was indescribable...pictures couldn't do it justice...

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Janice B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I loved tulip day and going to Keukenhof Gardens

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Roberts W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The tulip fields the way they smelled going into Keukenhof gardens it was marvelous the whole trip was fabulous. The captain and wife on Zwaantje was so great cook was magnificent they were so welcoming and Fred the guide was so knowledgeable of the area love loved the trip.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Connie W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The best part of the trip was the congenial atmosphere on the barge, the camaraderie amongst the guests, and the excellent guided biking experience.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Kathy C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The 8 day Tulip tour was fantastic. The boat, bike, food, staff and scenery was everything we had hoped for! The only thing we couldn't control was the weather and the tulips not quiet in bloom....we dodged the rain and saw many daffodils and hyacinth and met new friends to top it all off. Thanks for the memories!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Mary A. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our boat, the Merlijn, and its crew were fabulous! A huge thank you to Jantien and Henk for an amazing weeklong experience! This is the way to see The Netherlands! We rode bikes from one port to another, exploring the countryside, meeting local families, enjoying the beautiful fields of tulips, daffodils and hyacinths, purples, reds, yellows flowing across the land. Our hosts fed us 3 wonderful meals a day, and gave us opportunities to explore each city in the evenings with our knowledgeable and dedicated guide, Ferry. We stayed a few extra days to learn all about Amsterdam as well, which was definitely worth it. So much to see and learn about. Tripsite did a great job of organizing this trip, from efficient email contacts, timely billing reminders, and tips for preparing for a unique trip such as a Bike and Barge in Amsterdam. Absolutely we recommend Tripsite, and the Merlijn in particular!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Randall B. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Wonderful trip! Even though the tulips were a bit behind because of the extended winter, the tour offered wonderful scenery and a plethora of other flowers. The guides were great and the pace accommodated all the participants. Great food, accommodations, service and staff!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Jean Balloon 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Just ended this tour this morning and it was one of the best vacations we've ever taken. Can't say enough about the captain, staff and guides on the Fleur-very glad we chose a guided trip as there are numerous detours and unclear route signs. Fantastic sights, excellent equipment, wonderful food and fun fellow passengers, REALLY important to take the right clothes (we wore t-shirts, short, sandals and down coats/hat/gloves in the same week) Full rain gear including waterproof shoes or boots is essential. Also be aware the wind in the Netherlands can be brutal-we booked e-bikes and were REALLY glad we did! Steps down to cabin are very narrow and steep - almost like a ladder, so make sure you can do this several times each day. Excellent communication from Tripsite regarding booking and all information. Thank you Cpt. Steffy, Elsa, Aga, Nellie, Helena, Petra and Bert for an extraordinary holiday!

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Lyla C. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I have already recommended this trip to my walking and running friends as I am not a biker but found that it was very, very manageable with little current biking experience. I rode bikes a lot as a kid but just haven’t been on a bike much at all lately. This winter in Canada made it impossible to get out and get out on the bike ahead of time. Of course the flat Dutch terrain helped and I ended in the long group each day! The best part was that by being well looked after by the tour by way of food and the guides, the group came together in just a magnificent way. The days were laid out in advance for us and we were all quite comfortable. Everyone was relaxed and really good company. We soon were having a lot of fun!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Antigoni T. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Enjoyed the biking and food was great.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Rosemary W. 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everyone associated with the barge was kind and personable. We met interesting people and enjoyed the 5 Star service of the entire crew. I’m sure all of our friends at home are tired of hearing about our amazing trip, LOL! We are already looking to book a future bike and barge trip and bring some of those friends along. The only thing that wasn’t perfect about this trip was the weather, but we made the best of it.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Shari Lukens 1 year ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Incredible! Amazing! Living the dream! There are no words to describe how exceptional this trip was. It was like "living the dream" really!. The beautiful, ever changing countryside of Holland was gorgeous. Every turn and corner brought a new landscape. From the moment I was chatting with Carla and Anna from Tripsite, to our home for 10 days on the Zwaantje was exactly what I expected and hosts Martijn and Marjorie were amazing. So caring for your every need and ensuring your trip is everything you wanted it to be. Frank the chef - well, let's just say the gourmet meals were impressive and delicious, and Fred our cycling guide was above and beyond. I'll be back! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for such an incredible experience. Simply amazing.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC