4 star rated Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews 1 to 30 of 91

 

 Country: Netherlands • REMOVE

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Richard R. 5 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was getting to see the countries from a bicycle. The weather was not good and the tour guide did an excellent job of juggling the personalities with varying degrees of athletic fitness. At 53-58, there were people on the boat that were over 20 years older than my wife and I, and as a result, some rides were cut short somewhat - this was a bit disappointing as my wife and I had hoped to ride at least the distances advertised. One additional constructive comment - some of the bikes were not in good shape. The bike set aside for me had its front brakes permanently rubbing and the solution was for me to ride a women's small bike for the week. Disappointing. The trip was excellent overall and we will do a bike and barge tour again.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Carol C. 6 days ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved riding through all of the farm land and villages. All of the hotels we stayed in were great. They all had fantastic breakfasts. Only down fall was the GPS device, it would just stop working so we would have to rely on street signs or local people to send us in the right direction. My bike was great, but another person in the party had to put up with a seat that was falling.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by Maureen W. 2 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The gardens at Achen. Huge and impressive. But you need to get there before 3.30 to do them justice. No entry after 4.00/4.30

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Carol T. 3 weeks ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have visited Amsterdam 3x so was well acquainted with the City, but for someone who has never been there before I would strongly recommend they plan extra time before or after the trip to Explore

    I loved Brugge and had never visit before I wish I had allowed more days there

    Packed smartly but the key is layers & several bike shorts/capri's as the weather is changeable

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Dane G. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Did the Amsterdam to Bruges bike & barge tour on the Tijdgeest. My wife & I had a great experience. Arje was a great guide & the entire boat crew made it a fantastic trip. The riding was quite easy & the evening city tours fun & informative. Would recommend to anyone
    Thanks All
    Dane & Kim

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • London to Amsterdam or Amsterdam to London Bike Tour
    by Cindy S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    London to Amsterdam was a great trip. Beautiful scenery especially along the North Sea and canals and farmland of Holland.hotels were unique but comfortable. Breakfast was always good. Dinners were good but more variety needed in menu choices. Loved the ferry from Dover to Dunkirk and all the small towns we rode through. There were 12 of us plus 6 others on the self- guided which made for a lively and interesting, diverse group.
    What was disappointing and could be improved was communication from the guide. Very little information was given ahead of time as to what was next and no information about the towns history, culture and facts regarding where we were. This would have made the trip more enjoyable and interesting.

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Bob T. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through the countryside of the Netherlands and Belgium at a pace that allowed us to learn about both cultures and their histories was an opportunity not to be missed.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by Winona N. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff as well as the beautiful scenery.

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by Naomi G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through Belgium and Holland. Great bike paths, lovely scenery, good companions made for a memorable journey.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Lyn 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We recently completed the 11 day Amsterdam to Brugge tour on the Quo Vadis. We really enjoyed ourselves. The boat was very nicely appointed, the cabins are not large and the bathrooms small but very adequate, lots of hot water which is really appreciated after a day of cycling. Food was very good, especially the dinners. The staff did everything to make our trip enjoyable and mixed well with the guests. We had 2 excellent guides who both had extensive knowledge of the history and geography of both countries. The tour itself gave us a really good taste of the Netherlands and Belgium, from the beautiful countryside, through the dunes at the North Sea, over the dams that prevent the floods, past and into windmills, into the cities and large towns like Rotterdam, The Hague, Ghent and a day visiting the World War 1 sites around Ypres. We were very fortunate the on most days the wind assisted our travels and we had very little rain. All and all a great adventure.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
    by Jim C. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Meeting the native people from the Netherlands and Belgium. Meeting other cyclists on the tour routes.

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Liz B. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A wonderful way to see The Netherlands. Visiting the tulip fields and flower market was so colourful and informative. Very easy cycling on great roads.

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michael O. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing Home was a great boat, well finished, very clean, lots of room and nice staff. The trip from Bruges to Amsterdam was very scenic and flat country yet the riding did not offer the flexibility friends had experienced with other tours.
    We had expected to ride 30kms (+or- 10) a day and were somewhat surprised to hear the daily ride was 60 kms. That said, on one day, it was possible to ride 20 kms in the morning then 40 kms in the afternoon as the bike route crossed the boats route.
    There were nine in our group and to a person we thought it would have been far better to have the boat dock at mid day for people wanting to ride a shorter distance, then head to the overnight stopping point. We would have liked the option to stop in some local villages, had lunch in a cafe and strolled at some of the scenic spots. It is not supposed to be the Tour de France.
    Would we do it again, yes, but at our own pace, so we would do it 'self guided' next time as I Read more… don't think our guide could comprehend our desire to enjoy all the joys of the ride.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 day
    by John G. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Tulip Tour was overall a great experience. The staff on the Quo Vadis did an excellent job and the accommodations were very comfortable. The 24 passengers was a nice size group.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ann A. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Seeing the original Brooklyn (Breukelen, Netherlands) Bridge, and all the other quaint and charming towns between Brugge and Amsterdam was wonderful and worth every pedal!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • North Holland Tour
    by Susan O. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The De Holland is a lovely barge with a proficient staff and nice upper level staterooms. The food was above average and the after-ride beer is a great value. The North Holland area is very rural with small towns but mostly agricultural routes. Easy navigating because The Netherlands has an extensive network of bikeways and understandable wayfinding. The history of diking, watermills and pumping is fascinating and would be good to know about as you ride through this area. Our trip was in the beginning of October and we had beautiful weather although it can be windy along some portions of the ride.

    Boat: De Holland

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by April S. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Awesome experience...biked along canals, by windmills and visited cities...literally smelled the roses. Must do!

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • South Holland Tour
    by Colleen S. 11 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I very much enjoyed the beauty of the Netherlands countryside. Amazed by the extent to which the country is so bicycle friendly!

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • South Holland Tour
    by Ronerto R. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Exciting bike and barge tour throughout Southern Holland. Definitely proclaiming a successful trip in a beautiful Holland. Safe and crew were very attentive and courteous.
    Felt mislead by bike insurance offerer by Tripsite. Later found out bike staff on the barge that if the bike was damaged I would have to pay upfront the amount of damage that I caused to the bike staff and then I can put a claim to the insurance by Tripsite which I would be reimbursed at that time This was a minor snafu and I was very disappointed about the misrepresentation when I was told the insurance would cover everything upon needing the coverage for bike damages.

    Boat: De Amsterdam

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Joyce H. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Recommendation...do the riding prior to your trip that they suggest. I did not and had an uncomfortable bum for a few days, lol.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ann A. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Brugge to Amsterdam trip was a very flat, easy trip and we recommend it for beginner barge and bikers. Our main criticism was that although the guides were very nice and helpful, we would have liked more information and history on the sights along the way, and more picture stops.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Michel D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were very happy with the biking experience, the food, the scenery, our new biking friends, our wonderful guide and the rest of the employees on the boat. We were disappointed at the end of the trip when we were advised that we had possibly been exposed to bed bugs. Adding to the disappointment, ship staff blamed us for having brought the bed bugs aboard the ship.

    Other than this issue, we had a wonderful trip!

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Linda N. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Netherlands is a unique and beautiful country. We loved everything we saw. The flower auction was amazing. The Keukenhof was not to be missed. Our only problem was riding in a group single file through Amsterdam. We were strung out so long it sometimes took 2 or 3 lights to get through an intersection. We were so far back from the guide we couldn’t say “let’s stop and check out that windmill”. We were spoiled. On the Danube trip we could go at our own pace with detailed maps. I would suggest people download the map app and go it alone. But really, how can you complain about springtime and hyacinths?

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Lorraine D. 1 year ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Just one tip that we should have more of the history explain on the bike trip, not enough info on the places we were seeing.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Ed W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bike , boat, staff and fellow travelers all great fun. Memorable trip for me and still talking about to my mates at home in Australia.

    Boat: Fiep

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jim W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful scenery. If you are an experienced cyclist, consider splitting off with a smaller group. The group was too large with varied skills, making the ride less than it could have been.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Freddie O. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I actually crashed my bike at the end of the first day, tried riding an ebike the next day but found it too painful. Therefore I spent the remainder of the trip on the barge, totally loved it. My suggestion for others would be to make sure to train, most of the people on our trip felt that they were being pushed and that the distance biked each day was too far. Also, for myself I felt that the bike was just too big for me and that contributed to my accident. Our guide (Fred) was delightful as were the crew of the Gandalf and the meals were fabulous. So, overall a great experience in spite of the spill.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Francine G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The people and the beer!!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Debbie H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Always have two guides. I can’t imagine having only one for such a diverse level of skills. We had one guide who lacked interpersonal skills. She lost her temper several times at several clients. I was one of those on the receiving end.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Neal P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was so wonderful to cycle through 2 beautiful countries taking in the scenery and ambiance.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC