Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 60 of 824

 

 Country: Netherlands • REMOVE

  • Super Tulip Tour
    by Yi L. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My family and I had a wonderful experience aboard the Liza Marleen for the super tulip tour this April. It was a perfect time of the year to visit the Netherlands, and this is the perfect way to do it. We are a family of four, with two young children (a four year old and a 11 month old). The tour group and the crew made every accommodation we needed, from child bike seats to brand new bike trailers. While we are out riding, the guide (Frans) also made sure that we have enough time to take care of our children's needs.

    The scenery was wonderful. We were also impressed with the variety of places we visited, from the flower auction to the sand dunes. The tour offered us a beautiful view of the Netherlands and an appreciation of its diversity.

    And the food on the boat was absolutely scrumptious. We ate very well.

    My son had his fourth birthday on the boat, and he was feted with a special seat decorated with balloons and dutch birthday song. I know the whole experience has left an indelible impression in his young mind. On the last day of the trip, my son said: "Mom, I love this boat. I will always love this boat." I share that sentiment wholeheartedly.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Siegel D. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    It was such a wonderful routine, breakfast on the boat, ride, coffee, ride, picnic lunch, ride, coffee, boat, beer and wine while unwinding, dinner, repeat...

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Alan L. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Highlight: Sailing along the many canals as we arrive in Amsterdam on the Quo Vadis barge.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Barbara A. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This trip was fabulous! The biking in the countryside was beautiful! I especially enjoyed seeing the bounding hares, swans, sheep, flowers and lovely homes. The tulip, daffodil and hyacinth fields were spectacular and an experience I will never forget. The traditional Dutch dinners were delicious and the stories about the food were entertaining and fun. I did find the city biking frightening at times with the crowds. One tip is be prepared for this and stay near the guide in the heavy traffic areas. I thoroughly enjoyed the sites especially the factory in Delft, Harlem, biking through the Sand Dunes and Keukenhof gardens. A lovely country with so much to experience.
    I think this trip is an incredible value for the price. I can’t wait to take another bike and barge trip.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Coert & Christelle J. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A once in a lifetime experience.....not at all thought bike and barge would be so nice!

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • South Holland Tour
    by Kathie W. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Southern Holland Tulip Tour on the Anna Antal- small group, smaller barge, excellent guide/cook/staff, relaxed setting, comfortable room, clean, clear directions and guidance. Very affordable plus arrival city for us was Amsterdam so accessible from the get go. Perfect weather which is out of anyone’s control but it made the biking extraordinary. Highly recommend this trip.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Stephen R. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Better than great! We loved our Amsterdam Bruges 11 day on the Quo Vadis. The guides were both really great; knew the route and it’s cultural and historical background. Most simply, they were really nice people and interested in everyone of us. Our group came together so well; lots of laughs and camaraderie at night and sing along with a guitar brought along by a guest. Our meals were ample and nicely prepared and presented. The captain and his crew were so welcoming. E-bikes were top quality; easy to use and always ready for us. We’ll be back for a second Tripsite booking.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Tim B. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    E-bikes, great to know I can bike for about another 20 because of these.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by James G. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    As we neared Amsterdam, the captain of the Quo Vadis took us through a canal with 13 bridges - many of which had to be raised by a Raiser. We were the biggest boat on that canal and the site was spectacular. Someone in our party reported seeing the Raiser at one bridge running up ahead of the boat to raise the next bridge - very quaint!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Bruce I. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Unexpectedly great food, congenial crew, guides and fellow passengers, interesting routes through farmland, residential areas and quaint towns.

    For this particular barge, Magnifique II, it was not necessary to bring our own helmets as the supplied ones were of very good quality. Our suitcases were too thick to fit under the beds. Get measurements from the tour provider if this is important for you.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jane G. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We thought the accommodations, food, route, scenery and guides were all excellent. We especially enjoyed stopping in the quaint towns for coffee, lunch or to sample the local beer, often feeling as though we'd stepped back in time. Bicycling is a wonderful way to soak up all that Belgium and the Netherlands offer.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Super Tulip Tour
    by Elizabeth C. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We loved the Super Tulip Trip on the Zwaan. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. The chef was terrific. Her food delicious and we noticed how well she adjusted the menu for another traveler who had allergies to certain foods. The bike guides were very informative and showed us little out of the way places that we would not have easily found on our own. Our e-bikes were terrific.
    We would highly recommend this boat and tour.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Shuhan M. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Most Memorable Part: The tour guide!

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathleen U. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The quality of the e-bikes on the Fluvius were beyond excellent!! Goos the guide was a "10"!!! Best bike/boat trip ever.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by Naomi G. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Biking through Belgium and Holland. Great bike paths, lovely scenery, good companions made for a memorable journey.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 4 Day
    by Shaunna K. 1 week ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I enjoyed staying on a barge and taking in the beautiful scenery along the way.

    Boat: Flora (formerly Jelmar)

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bike and Sail the Frisian Sea
    by Al McCalder 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    My wife and I thoroughly loved this "bike and sail" with Cap't Joris and his delightful crew. The meals were excellent, the support for the cycles routes very helpful, and the camaraderie among all the guest and crew made for a wonderful travel experience. We highly recommend this travel for anyone looking for an active holiday, flavorful beers, wonderful scenery, friendly locals, and superb food.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Maastricht to Paris
    by Jacqui Eger 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Just completed the inaugural tour of the Elodie from Maastricht to Paris. This was our fifth barge and bike and was certainly one of the best ever. The Elodie is a charming barge, spotlessly clean and well maintained with a comfortable salon where we had our meals, sat drinking, reading or playing games. The crew of Captain Chango, Chef Hans and guide Nina were outstanding in every respect. Our meals were amazing and the weather forecasts from Chango always entertaining. We were lucky enough to enjoy some nice weather where we could sit out on deck under the largest umbrella I have ever seen! A wonderful itinerary but being new the first couple of days we had a few miss turns but no one minded and we always called it an adventure. Our guide Nina made it all so enjoyable. We are already looking forward to another trip on the Elodie.

    Boat: Elodie

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium, France

  • Heart of Holland
    by Elsie R. 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed the “Heart of Holland” Bike and Barge Trip aboard the Lena Maria. I was a party of four ladies (3 Canadians and 1 USA) whose trip began on May 11. We had a fantastic trip.

    Our guide, Francien, was excellent! She did an excellent job of leading the biking events...stopping for breaks when needed and keeping us moving at a comfortable pace. The evening “Next Day” sessions gave us a good idea of what to expect the next day. The stops at the 17 windmills, the cheese factory, and the flower auction site added to the day’s plan. The two evening guided city walks gave us time to explore onfoot, too. Lastly, Francien kept close watch on her biking group while leading us through city traffic and country roads. The biking trip was an excellent way to see the countryside.

    The crew on the Lena Maria was excellent...the food was wonderful (great Chef!) and the hostess was very welcoming. The barge was a very welcome sight at the end of a day of biking:-)

    I am pleased to say that this 72-year old lady biked every day of the trip without needing an electric bike! In fact, I just might take another bike and barge trip. Many of my friends have expressed interest in joining our next adventure!

    Thanks again!

    Boat: Lena Maria

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Lyn 1 month ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    We recently completed the 11 day Amsterdam to Brugge tour on the Quo Vadis. We really enjoyed ourselves. The boat was very nicely appointed, the cabins are not large and the bathrooms small but very adequate, lots of hot water which is really appreciated after a day of cycling. Food was very good, especially the dinners. The staff did everything to make our trip enjoyable and mixed well with the guests. We had 2 excellent guides who both had extensive knowledge of the history and geography of both countries. The tour itself gave us a really good taste of the Netherlands and Belgium, from the beautiful countryside, through the dunes at the North Sea, over the dams that prevent the floods, past and into windmills, into the cities and large towns like Rotterdam, The Hague, Ghent and a day visiting the World War 1 sites around Ypres. We were very fortunate the on most days the wind assisted our travels and we had very little rain. All and all a great adventure.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Molly R. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Our guide Cornel was great with fun stories and historic information provided throughout our trip. Loved the digestive walks after dinner of the various towns we were docked at. The staff of the Merlijn couldn't have been nicer or more professional and the boat was very clean and comfortable. Food was pretty basic and could be improved, but that was not a high priority to me. Overall great trip and have already recommended it to many people.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Rita R. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    "It is difficult to say what the most memorable part of the trip was as each and every day brought wonderful new sights and experiences. Biking along fields filled with tulips and a stop at the Keukenhof Gardens would certainly rate as one of the highlights of the trip. The staff and bike guide definitely made the trip special as they went above and beyond to ensure we were satisfied. Food was great with a plentiful breakfast buffet and a different menu each night. Our lunches were made and packed each day and boy, theses sandwiches and treats sure tasted great after putting some miles in. The dining/lounge was large and spacious and made for a great place to interact with the other guests. Bedrooms/bathrooms were nor overly spacious but were very clean and the beds were comfortable.
    This was our first trip of this kind and also our first trip to Europe and the Crew of the Merlijn made it a wonderful experience we will never forget. Thank you Coen, Cristina, Klara, Luliana, Lili and our tour guide Cornel. Memories to last forever.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Rosemary SZ. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    I highly recommend this trip. We were on the Merlijn. It was a charming barge with a very friendly and helpful staff. I was amazed just how comfortable the beds were and how roomy the bathrooms were.
    Our guide was very informative and had a great sense of humor. The guests, even though all so different , became friends. Leaving the barge was bittersweet. I cannot wait to go on another. The only thing I wish was a bit better, was the food. But then I consider myself a bit of a foody and so my expectations might be too high.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Jane J. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The biking was wonderful, the digestive walks in the evening were great and the camaraderie of the group was fantastic.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
    by Mark R. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    A wonderful way to experience the Netherlands. Our guide Cornell was informed and professional. Captain, mates and staff provided all the conveniences of home.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Jean B. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The expected/promised highlights on our 8 Day - Tulip Tour (Keukenhof Gardens, the Royal Flora Holland Auction, Zaanse Schans and a visit to a cheese farm on an island in Rijpwetering) were wonderful. But it was the unexpected stops introduced by our guides that were most memorable. The visit to a windmill making paper from recycled rags, watching the release of cows for the first time in the spring near Spaarndam , the stop at the Aalsmeer Crash Museum and a visit to the Hortus Bulborum in Limmen made our trip extra special.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by James 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    This is our 1st B&B and we're trying to decide between Ams - Bruges or Ams - Matstrich. What do you think?

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Ed H. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    What a great trip. Would like to do another.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kim K. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    Everything was fantastic. It was the whole experience altogether.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - 10 Day - Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Jody S. 2 months ago     Verified Reviewer     Permalink/Reply

    The staff, food and barge accommodations were perfect.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC