Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 60 of 956

 

 Country: Netherlands • REMOVE

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Denyse V. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most specifically memorable moment was the sighting of three sandhill cranes on a wheel on A chimney on our first day out in the spectacular countryside of Holland. But overall the memories were about the actual biking experience. The people on the trip all had an underlying purpose that provided an immediate unity on board the ship. The crew were all fabulous and food and accommodations superb. Everything was meticulously organized allowing one to be detail free, while there was also ample time to explore on ones own. We were actually 3 adults in a suite; the other spaces to relax on board assured that we had ample room to unwind after each days awesome ride. The entire trip was an A plus!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
    by Peg H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I always love the Merlijn and the new owners were great! However, this is the least favorite of my Tripsite tours I didn't find the stops very interesting and when we did have an interesting place to visit, our time was very limited. Fun group, great food and pleasant weather but very short days of cycling. I will do another trip next year but do suggest some changes to this itinerary.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

    • Tulip Tour - Bruges to Amsterdam - 8 day
      by Carla 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Peg,
      Thanks for your feedback! We agree the tour is too long to fit into 8 days which is why so many Tulip Tours from Amsterdam to Bruges have been extended to 10 days or longer. More time to relax and enjoy!
      I look forward to help you plan your next trip.

      Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Renee R. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Make sure you buy trip insurance. My father died unexpectedly and it reimbursed me to go home from the embarkment site before I even got on the barge.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

    • Bruges to Amsterdam
      by Carla 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Renee,
      I am really sorry for your loss. But I am so glad you, at least, had one less thing to worry about. I could write a book about all the scenarios where travel insurance could have helped customers. Thanks for leaving feedback about it! I hope we can help you with a future tour, when you're ready.

      Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Brenda A. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The tour guides were marvelous, very knowledgeable. Food was amazing. Highly recommend

    Boat: Magnifique (Princesse Royal)

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Robin W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our guide was terrible!
    The crew on the ship very nice.
    Food excellent.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Jane S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The overall concept of being able to bike daily, sleep in the same bed every night and socialize with great people during the 11 days both on the boat and on the daily rides was a fantastic way to experience our vacation time. Anyone can go to a city and be a tourist. Cycling allows you to experience so many other places along the way in a less busy format. Countryside, quaint villages and towns, beautiful homes and churches, the scenery all the while chatting with your new friends about what you are seeing. I would do a bike and barge again any time.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Sue M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We so recommend this trip. We cycled mostly on cycle paths or quiet country roads but when we occasionally had busy roads or intersections our guide Bart ensured we were safe. Everything was well organized crew were great. Meals were very good. Our guide Bart set a good pace and gave us a lot of information.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Rotterdam to Cologne or Cologne to Rotterdam
    by Barbara Y. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The trip was all that I expected. The barge was very clean, the people were really nice, the bikes were in tip top condition. The scenery was beautiful and the rides were as expected.

    Boat: Arkona

    Countries: Germany, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Jill S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Overall the trip was good and we enjoyed our time. However, we did have some things that could be improved -
    firstly the e-bikes that we rented had several problems with them and were unreliable
    secondly I found the choice of food strange for being on a tour in Europe - we had Mexican food, followed by Asian food & sushi. What was wrong with french or belgium or even North American (seeing that we were all from NA). There was no flexibility or accommodation of other types of food.
    The group leader should have allowed some of us to go ahead with maps rather than keep us in a long line of 20 people strung out with the slowest members behind the leader. We are all adults and professional people and do not wish to be treated like children.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Jean B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was 5 star.......from the barge accommodations, the meals, the guides, the side trips and tours which were all included! It was a wonderful trip!
    We definitely want to do another trip!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • South Holland Tour
    by Gilberto M. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Unforgetable trip becouse this country is amazing! The boat crew and bike guide were also very nice! Thank you!

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by Sandy S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Seeing the countryside in the Netherlands was the highlight of this trip. The group was very friendly as well.

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

  • South Holland Tour
    by Pamela R. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Sailing on the barge through Rotterdam harbour. This bike and barge tour was amazing. The barge was so comfortable,the crew were wonderful,food was absolutely first class.Our guide did a fabulous job,and was so nice.We would urge anyone thinking about travelling in Holland to consider doing a bike and barge tour with this company.We are in the upper age group,and had no trouble keeping up.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Kim F. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every day was an adventure. The bike paths were lovely to follow and every town was beautiful. We enjoyed riding all day and walking the towns at night before selecting a restaurant for dinner. The history was endless and the daily map book provided good advise for sightseeing in each town. Generally the ride was easy until we got to the coast where the wind presented a challenge. Amsterdam and Brugges proved to be the perfect bookends for the smaller towns we visited in between.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Guilherme G. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Maps must be improved.
    We got lost more than one time.
    The signs are very poor in many places.
    Local people are not used to the signs used in the bike route used in the maps. So they could not help us.

    The first day of the trip is too long. It would be better to do it in two days.

    The normal package hotels are not good. For few cities we payed for upgrade hotels. This ones were very nice.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Gerald W. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I travelled with my 13 year old granddaughter .I must congratulate the crew on how they treated her on the day she did not feel well .Becuase she is a Celiac the crew and especially the chef made sure that at every meal there was a substitute.if needed. The ride distances were a concern of mine but as it turned out the ride distances were as stated. Becuase of the crew this was a worry free week for me.
    .

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Donna H. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was exciting getting on our bikes in the morning and heading out to new places each day. The GPS was super easy to follow and we had plenty of time to stop along the way. It was lovely coming back to the barge in the afternoon where the crew greeted us and ice cold water with mint/lemon/herbs and treats awaited us. We also lived heading out in the evening for walking tours of beautiful cities, and one evening got to go on a canal tour too. The food was fantastic and plentiful. The dinners were beautifully presented. Fresh orange juice and really great coffee in the morning. Loved our trip and looking forward to booking another one.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Maastricht
    by John and Deborah R. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The crew on the "Sarah" were fantastic, the meals amazing, the cycling through the countryside
    was unforgettable. Would recommend trip to anyone wanting a friendly, relaxing cycling tour.

    Boat: Sarah

    Countries: Netherlands

  • North Holland Tour
    by Gertie B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A perfect experience - great staff - very flexible - excellent meals

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Vera S. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My sister and I made this trip in may this year. We love this tour. Everything was perfect, the GPS Works well , The hotels were excelent . We recomend this tour.
    The most memorable part of this trip was the differents and wonderful landscapes all the way.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Super Tulip Tour
    by Carla J. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This tour has everything for cyclists -- whether you are in shape or not. Highlights of this trip are the route that allow participants to see historic Dutch towns, as well as beautiful countryside. The staff went out of their way to provide a comfortable experience. Our chef Allette's cuisine was gourmet, and portions were substantial. Self-serve tea and cookies were available between meals, and sandwich makings were provided for picnics on the cycling route. Our tour guide Bert kept us on schedule while considering the pace of slower riders.

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Hamilton C. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike trips is very easy and fantastic.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Debra B. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike and barge trip of the Netherlands was incredible...much more than I had anticipated. Biking through the fields and canals brought us enchanting views of geese, sheep, cows, horses, swans, charming houses and villages, not to mention the tulips! The pace was perfect, and the diversity of each day well chosen. We enjoyed an excellent array of gourmet food and the laughing companionship of new friends from different countries. Our tour guides were full of information and made us feel safe on our travels. Lodging was very comfortable and private. After hearing me rave about this trip, several of my friends now want to take it too!

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Cindy L. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I cannot say enough about this trip. The entire experience was amazing. We were on the Sailing Home which is beautifully appointed and the rooms are small but quite comfortable. The crew made sure that our every need was met. We got caught in a bad rain storm one afternoon and when we arrived back at the boat we were greeted by the crew with baskets for our wet shoes and jackets to dry everything for us before the next day. The food was amazing, every meal was 5 stars and the chef was not only talented, but charming! Our tour guide, Seitse, was a true scholar who loves his country and is proud to share his knowledge of the land, the people and the rich history. Every night he offered walking tours through the town for anyone who was interested. We saw the country up close and personal, riding through the fields, towns and neighborhoods in a way we we could not have done without the bikes and our guide. We will definitely do another trip, however the next one will have a lot to Read more… live up to!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • South Holland Tour
    by Tracy v. 4 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a retirement celebration for my husband. We were a total of 8 family members. The Liza Marleen was a great boat- food was marvelous and our tour guide superb. Out 16 mo old grandson was accommodated for and I must say our fellow passengers were the kindest bunch we could have hoped for. It’s hard traveling with babies-but we could not imagine the vacation without him

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Brenda R. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The crew and service provided by our crew on the Anna Antal was excellent. Mijintje (Marianne) our tour leader was a National guide and provided a well paced, safe and lovely route, pointing out important and interesting sites in towns along the way. In the evening Marianne offered activities from walking tours, to an art gallery and a fun group sing song. Nicole our chef was superb offering delicious breakfast and 3 course dinner meals...even provided a rice table for our final evening.
    Most memorable was cycling on the fantastic array of paths winding along canals, rivers and through forests, pastures and towns made enjoyable by the excellent bikes provided to us. The view from the changed from day to day. The homes along the route were well maintained and occupants seemed to take pride in showing something of beauty in the front windows such as bright flower bouquets, vases or pictures. A terrific bike and barge experience!

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Peter D. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The team on the Magnifique III took such great care to make our experience outstanding!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

PWPC