Netherlands Bike Tour Reviews 31 to 60 of 884

 

 Country: Netherlands • REMOVE

  • South Holland Tour
    by James G. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most excellent trip! Beautiful country, people, art, and delicious food and drink! I was most surprised by the amazing churches and the cycling culture! Our crew, captain, chef, staff and guide were very helpful and informative. Everything was on time! Even made time for swimming! The route map provided and GPS Tracks were great. I was the only person aware of the GPS tracks on the trip, not sure if others missed this or if their agents didn't provide -Thanks Tripsite. Also, Tripsite Support Agents via LiveChat were very helpful prior to the trip! The only thing I would do different is bring my own bike seat, just used to it I guess...

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Dane G. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Did the Amsterdam to Bruges bike & barge tour on the Tijdgeest. My wife & I had a great experience. Arje was a great guide & the entire boat crew made it a fantastic trip. The riding was quite easy & the evening city tours fun & informative. Would recommend to anyone
    Thanks All
    Dane & Kim

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges - 11 days
    by Nick and Sharon G. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We loved the biking! We realized very quickly that with the 'junction points' identified for us by the cycling guide, we were able to venture off on our own. That allowed us to stop when we wanted and still get to the boat on time. The meals on the ship were outstanding as was the crews' attention to detail! The owner of the boat was very personable and had history to share, which we really enjoyed. Getting to know 20 people by sharing breakfast and dinner was also very enjoyable. Paperwork provided prior to the trip was thorough. Payment efficient and accurate.

    Boat: Gandalf

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Raymond C. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The self-guided cycling was, for us, the best item of a great trip. We were provided with an excellent, hard-wearing map which had the daily routes clearly marked. The bike paths were accurately sign posted with numbers corresponding to those on the map. Self-guiding meant we could go at our own pace and it also means that stronger riders can be accommodated, eg, if they wish to ride faster or to do more than the scheduled distances. The bikes were heavy but comfortable, quiet and well maintained. The ride leaders were always willing to provide guidance.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Michael B. S. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful experience on the Magnifiquell. Everything about the trip was great. The staff including the ship crew and guides were fantastic. This was a well organized and efficient trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Paul K. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Guides were very knowledgeable & helpful............ The crew went above & beyond...........

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by John B. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was terrific always (one of us is a chef, so that’s a big compliment). The guides (Corrie and Nel) are both amazing—really perfect at what they do. Their patience and positive attitudes and exuberance overcame little quibbles and challenges that were occasionally encountered (weather, construction). The bicycle routes were always interesting and the trip from Brugge to De Haan was especially memorable. The crew were always friendly and helpful, especially Sigrid.

    If we changed anything, it would be to NOT bring our helmets; the helmets on board seemed more than adequate.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Diane S. 1 month ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I thought the most memorable part of the trip was going to be the scenery and the bike riding, but most of my memories are of the people I met and the connections we have made sharing our stories with each other. The trip was very well organized and our guide Arie did his best to make sure each day had the best bicycling experiences. The accommodations aboard the Magnifique were wonderful and the staff exceptional. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in exploring and learning about the area between Amsterdam and Bruges and having some easy physical activity along the way. Each day had new things to see and learn.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by James J. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Staff and guides Comfort of boat, the daily tours and the scenic bike paths

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathy C. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food on the barge was amazing! We had strong winds for the bike but our leader made modifications to give people options for shorter routes. Amazing trip!!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • London to Amsterdam or Amsterdam to London Bike Tour
    by Cindy S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    London to Amsterdam was a great trip. Beautiful scenery especially along the North Sea and canals and farmland of Holland.hotels were unique but comfortable. Breakfast was always good. Dinners were good but more variety needed in menu choices. Loved the ferry from Dover to Dunkirk and all the small towns we rode through. There were 12 of us plus 6 others on the self- guided which made for a lively and interesting, diverse group.
    What was disappointing and could be improved was communication from the guide. Very little information was given ahead of time as to what was next and no information about the towns history, culture and facts regarding where we were. This would have made the trip more enjoyable and interesting.

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Kathleen S. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a magical evening on the magnifique II when one of our guides "Hester" performed an Oboe concert for all of us. Hester is a professional musician & shared her amazing talent with all of us. It was a beautiful night on the water, the boat was lit with candles & we all listened with awe & appreciation as Hester performed for us. We were in this intimate setting, with new friends, listening to live, gorgeous classical music. We looked around & thought wow- This is truly "Heaven on Earth" "A pinch me moment" What a memorable night!!! We can't wait to go another Magnifique adventure with Tripsite.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Along the North Sea - a Tulip Tour
    by Marlene Z. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through the dunes of the North Sea is incredible. The rental bike is a heavy Dutch model and it is windy so you make like an e bike. The fresh herring and fish are amazing. Also there is bus 385 that runs from train in Voorhout to Noordwijk for 2 euro 20. So you don't need that 20 euro cab.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • London to Amsterdam or Amsterdam to London Bike Tour
    by Ed Carroll 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I did this "guided" bike tour from London to Amsterdam. There are many areas where improvement is needed.

    We weren't given a map or App of the biking route as promised. We rode through many villages, resorts and towns from Dunkirk to Amsterdam but were not told the names of the towns, or the history of the towns - and we stopped only for "coffee breaks". When we asked what town we were in for the coffee breaks the guide was unable to tell us. We either used google maps or asked strangers where we were. Also, we biked past notable places of interest like the beach in Dunkirk where British troops were rescued during WWII - and the Dover Castle - but never stopped - even to take pictures. It was all about getting to the next hotel in time for dinner.

    We weren't told the hotel we were staying in until we arrived at the hotel. We usually arrived at the hotel around 6pm and had little time to turn in our bikes for the night, get our Read more… luggage, unpack, shower, change clothes and get ready for dinner by 8pm which usually lasted over two hours. And then we started early the next day - to get to our hotel for the next night.

    Overall it is a "forced march" from London to Amsterdam. If you want to bike 344Km then I suggest you just go and bike 344Km for the exercise on a route most convenient to you because that is what this is. Or, take the self-guided tour which is cheaper and includes maps and the App and you can sight-see and take time to enjoy the country-side you are biking through.

    The online website says "You will receive a code to download the maps, itinerary, points of interest, services and GPS position on your smartphone or GPS device. The App provides GPS tracks to be used offline. Paper copies of the route are available with supplement of €15." When I asked for the map or the App I was told they were only available to self-guided participants and that I should use GPS to figure out where we were at any given point. But that is not what the website says/said. As it is, we have no map or record of the route we biked or the towns we passed through. I would not recommend this "tour" to anyone.

    PS. Do not interpret this critique as a criticism of the people who guided this tour. The people who guided us were patient, kind, personal, friendly and professional....in my opinion they had/have no impact on how this tour is/was deigned.

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Amanda H. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a great holiday, wonderful way to see the country. Equipment and resources were perfect. A friendly, helpful and conscientious crew on board made our stay truly luxurious. Tamy and Carla were fantastic tour guides. Would thoroughly recommend this trip - holiday of a lifetime for me!

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Donna A. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The staff on board made this trip a vacation of a lifetime. The boat was more like a 4 star hotel than a ‘barge’. The food on board was delicious and nutritious. Served with flair and by happy, considerate waitstaff. The only improvement in the dining would be a better selection of wines for purchase to go along with the evening dinners. The scenery on this trip was gorgeous! Everything from beautiful rural pastures, to stunning historic villages. The cycling was relatively easy and most of it was on cycle paths. Unlike Florida, cyclists are respected and given the right of way. Our tour guides were helpful and just downright fun!! Even joining in for singalongs in the evening.

    Boat: Magnifique III

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Susan P. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Gosh! There were so many! It is truly the best and most immersive way to experience the Netherlands and Belgium .... cyling along canals ... seeing beautiful gardens and flowers ...sheep, cows and horses ... beautiful architecture, and of course windmills. It was like a fairytale! Having different levels/lengths of cycle each day was good ... We liked the evening walks to see more of the town we were moored at. The staff on the boat were amazing ... all so kind and attentive. Special thanks to Marnik - so sweet and great with the guests (including my 20 year old son and step daughter). Congrats to Marnik who I believe will be captain soon - he deserves it! Let us know when he is captain so we can do his trip! Our cycling tour guides - Tom and Wilmie - were superb! They were knowledgable and handled the different levels of cycling ability well. The food on the barge was spectacular! The Chef was so sweet and talented - she even got me some gluten free bread and bars for my lunch.
    Read more… >Honestly, this is one of the best trips I have done! I liked being active and seeing different things, but do not like to have to worry about food. This trip satisfied all my needs, and the cabins were clean and comfortable.
    I am a travel advisor/planner/designer and I will definitely promote (have started already) your trips! It is easy to promote something you believe in. Thank you for an amazing experience!!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • North Holland Tour
    by Helen W. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery was great, bring a camel back if you like to drink water while riding, most bikes did not have a cage for the water bottle, instead you kept it in the pannier. Our guide, Eduaro, did not seem to know where we could stop to take a break or use a bathroom, he said everythng was closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, this was a problem for the women in the group, it was hot and we needed to keep hydrated.
    The captain, chef and assistant Vera were wonderful and did all they could to make us comfortable.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Ron B. 2 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    There were many memerable parts of this trip. The guides, the food, the carefully selected itinerary, and the comfort of our bedroom made for an excellent adventure.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • South Holland Tour
    by Jackie L. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I had never done a bike trip before, let alone a boat and bike one. Our South Holland Tour turned out be fabulous that way exceeded expectations. The Dutch landscape was beautiful. Our boat, Sailing Home, was charming and immaculate. A daily highlight was getting to know our fellow shipmates over dinner. And what dinners! They were of varying cuisines lovingly prepared by Eline, our Cordon Bleu-trained chef. Some random thoughts: 1) we brought our own helmets, but it was unnecessary as the boat had helmets of varying sizes, 2) I was anxious about the quality of the bicycles on board which turned out to be needless worry; our 24-speed bikes were in great condition, 3) we had no idea who our fellow travelers might be, and strangers became friends who shared email addresses at trip’s end. We’ve had multiple vacations in Asia and Europe; our South Holland Tour was one of the memorable.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Brooks B. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed All aspects of this Bike Tour. Thank You for all the coordination and attention to detail. We chose this as a list minute add on to a long trip to Europe and Tripsite folks worked hard to make this happen for us! We will definitely book a future Biking trip with you ASAP! Thank You!!

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Best of Holland
    by Mimi C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was well organized on this beautiful boat and the crew was very helpful and attentive to everyone’s needs. We had a great time and would highly recommend this tour.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Authentic Holland
    by Jeanne G. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the rural countryside for our biking tour. We would bike past horses, cows, swans and goats and stop in very quaint towns. I rented a regular bike because I thought the Netherlands was very flat, there was more incline and distance than I was prepared for. I was able to borrow another guest e-bike a few days and in retrospect I should have rented one. But it also made me realize I can go to other countries that are more of a challenge, I would just rent an e-bike. We also brought our own helmets, but the ones they had on the boat looked fine. My husband brought his cycle computer which was a good idea to see our distance etc. We really enjoyed the biking tour!

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Eileen E. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of our trip was the Keukenhof. Would recommend packing clothes to layer, gloves, and rain gear.

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Super Tulip Tour
    by Louis P. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part? Bike riding through countryside

    Boat: Anna Antal

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Carolyn C. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Magnifique 2 was a beautiful boat with a top-notch professional staff. The food was outstanding, the beds were comfortable and the biking was beautiful. I strongly recommend this tour.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Super Tulip Tour
    by Paul D. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    So many memorable things about our bike and barge trip through the Netherlands on the Super Tulip Tour! Our guide arranged a unique tour of a private cheese farm that was fantastic! We also passed by a MIler adjusting his windmill and our guide began conversing with him and we ended up getting a detailed explanation and demonstration about the working of the windmill from the miller. Great. No way to describe the beauty of the tulip fields. You have to see it to appreciate it!! It was a fantastic week. We would do it again in a heartbeat and have been telling our friends and family that since we returned and showed them all our photos.

    Boat: Zwaan

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by David P 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A group of 14 of us traveled on the Magnifique from Bruge to Amsterdam and had an exceptional time. The crew was lead by Capitan Bart, and the hospitality was provided by Sandra. Chef Anita provided exceptional meals each day, and tour guides Tom and Corrie plotted our daily course, lead us through the various villages in Belgium and the Netherlands, and provided both direction, cultural history, and entertainment.
    The crew was fantastic, providing context, history, support, encouragement and even a few special requests (birthdays) that they were happy to provide.

    The Magnifique was elegant and a terrific home for meals, rest, and laughter while we were not biking, touring, or walking through the villages, towns and cities.

    The bikes (ebikes, and regular bikes) were quality, and provided great transportation as we visited historical villages and towns throughout the region. We will be back, and are already planning our next trip. Thank you for everything! What an Read more… exceptional way to see and visit various aspects of Europe.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Maryanne W. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed the tour from Bruges to Amsterdam. We had a great guide who read the weather and the group well. The food on the barge was wonderful and varied. The staff did their best to accommodate everyone. Next time I would not bring my own helmet. The helmets provided seemed to be very good and no one who used them had a complaint. I would recommend this trip to those who want an easy cycling trip.

    Boat: Wending

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Marcia F. 3 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: My banter daily with one of the guides, Harm Jung. He related well to my personality. The food, boat, and accommodations were all better than anticipated. Thank you.

    Boat: Iris

    Countries: Netherlands

PWPC