4 Star Netherlands Tour Reviews — 61 to 90 of 95

4.8 out of 5

 


P. Watson
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Anna Maria Agnes South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Due to the length of the cycling routes, there should have been better quality bikes. All gears should have been in working order.

L. Roussinos
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Authentic Holland
Netherlands

This is a great route and the cycling areas are excellent in so many ways. Scenic paths through forests, parks, graphic small towns and with well defined directions given daily by the guide. The barge cabins were quite adequate in size and even though the bathroom was small it served the purpose for the week long trip. Having porthole windows that we were able to open was great in order to bring in fresh air. The disappointment was that the barge was not very clean overall (dust and cobwebs), there was very little deck space to enjoy the views during cruising and having two large dogs on board did not help matters.
The food quantity was good but hardly any quality in it. Four out of seven meals were rice oriented, little meat substance and overall not comparable to other similar meals on other barge and bike trips we have taken and the first time we have ever had "fish" lasagna!
Breakfasts were by far the best meals and there was always plenty to go around and to Read More

K. Hadley
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Some wait staff could have been more accommodating. We seemed burdensome at times. Running out of food & then having to wait for more or not refilled at all was an annoyance.

S. Breaugh
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Holland Southern Tulip Tour
Netherlands

Overall I really enjoyed our trip. However, our guide Piet left a lot to be desired. He got us from the boat and back each day but that was about it. We had very few stops during the day for water breaks or photos. He did not provide any "tour guide" type of information like history or pointing anything out of interest, or even a clear idea of the details of the following day. While we got to all the towns on the itinerary, everything was pretty much closed after dinner so we couldn't do any sightseeing in towns on our own. The guide on our sister ship "Liza Marleen" did much more with her group.

On the plus side, the barge Sailing Home was excellent and the crew was great - very friendly and helpful. Our chef Markus was amazing.

I had an electric bike and I loved it. It made the trip much easier and enjoyable. Highly recommend it for inexperienced bikers.

P. Shackleton
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

Absolutely fabulous people(both tour guide & barge owners), amazing routes and clean accommodating facilities. The food was plentiful and some of it quite good. Some meals were a bit thin and breakfast & lunch too much the same stuff. However, for the cost of this trip it was very satisfactory; I have recommended the Fleur d Bell and thank all organizers for a smooth and memorable trip!

L. Epstein
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

More hot breakfast food. The route was semi-urban and suburban and that could have been made clearer beforehand. I liked doing one or more interesting stops each day. Keukenhof day was terrific, including cycling by tulip and hyacinth fields.

Susan B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - 8 Day
Netherlands

Super trip. I was a inexperienced bicycler and the ebike made the journey very enjoyable.

Patsy Duggan
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

My sister and I loved the trip and have told many people to book the barg trip. One of the best trips I have had.

Jeffrey Douglas
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Wending South Holland Tour
Netherlands

The trip is excellent and we are now booked for our third time. However, and I know this is out of control of anyone, but our last trip was affected because of the crane accident near Gouda. This caused a rerouting of half the trip and because of that, we missed half of the sites that we wanted to see. On another note, the country should really make it illegal to dump raw sewage from the boats. This is disgusting and makes the waterways unclean. One would think that the government should do something about this and set up pumping stations. Otherwise, we really enjoy the bike/barge rides and will continue to go on them in the future.

Henry DeVries
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tulip Tour - 4 Day
Netherlands

Wonderful way to get a taste of the country, pace was ok. Nice to meet people from all over the world. Some situations which were dangerous, the guide was somewhat oblivious to them since he was always at the front and didn't really pay attention to the group the way he should have.

Craig McGowan
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

All good on our bike and barge trip from Amsterdam to Bruges - especially the fantastic boat crew (I got to spend a rainy afternoon on the bridge with the boat captain).

Robin Bagby
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Barge had bugs in drains. Lots in room every night. Aldo specifically booked comfort class boat for the AC. They turned it off before 9pm every night.

Noel Williams
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Trip was up to high standard and very enjoyable. Great staff and very friendly atmosphere.

Judith Frederick
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Zwaan Super Tulip Tour
Netherlands

The staff on the Zwaan was top notch. They attended to our every need. Trip was superb. Every person in our group of 10 loved the trip!!

Natadha Vickery
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Tijdgeest Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Excellent guide, staff. Very friendly and helpful. No complaints.

John Heinze
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Cologne
Netherlands, Germany

Our guide was ok but I've had better ones on previous trips. It was a lot of going through the motions since he had done 15-20 trips prior to ours it was maybe a case of being burned out. A bit more interaction on where we were going and what we were seeing would have been nice. Overall trip was top notch though as usual.

Natadha Vickery
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Excellent guide, staff. Very friendly and helpful. No complaints.

Diane Denham
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I had an amazing time. I loved everything about it and I would recommend it to anyone. In fact I have recommended it to many many people.

Linda Scotten
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

Though not a 'delux' trip the staff and other passengers made it such a memorable trip! It might not suit everyone but we loved it!

Sue Cousineau
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

1. Food was mediocre - not great...lots of canned or frozen vegetables. Meat was consistently over cooked and dry. There was lots of choices for breakfast and we especially liked the variety to make our lunches. Had to pay for hot water, tea & coffee after 4:00 pm was a ridiculous and cheap policy which angered many.
2. Room service - towels were not replenished each day as expected until the guide told us to put them in the shower to indicate we wanted towels refreshed each day. This was a problem of no signage to indicate this practice and that the guide forgot to tell us until day 4 when someone complained.
3. Maps and route descriptions - we always marvel at the signage for cycling in the Netherlands. Our country should adopt this method. But we were only given one map/booklet per room. Again, a very cheap practice as all travelers are paying cyclists and each want their own maps. Can't guarantee that those who room together actually cycle together. Read More

John Ummels
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Wending Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Cycling a wee bit fast. Most people were in fifties & sixties and I was seventy-nine.

Paul Hough
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

The nickel and diming on the boat was annoying - i.e., free coffee until 4 pm but nobody gets back before then; coffee and tea not included with dinner (extra cost); bottled water sold at the same price as a beer (one token worth 2.5 Euros). Our guide, Marcel, was clearly out of sorts and was not someone I would recommend - rude, disinterested, unhelpful, condescending, and refused to answer questions. I trust that other guides are much better.

Diane Thomson
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

The bikes did show some wear but the two mechanics on our barge were wonderful in making repairs overnight. The maps were on the whole very good but each person on the trip should be given their own set of maps and the accompanied daily itinerary descriptions.

Anne Moessner
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Fantabulous! Will be back and do another trip. Am a Tripsite ambassador!

Bob Connor
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The bikes provided were crap. You could still see the cobwebs. What was particularly egregious was the lack of a decent bicycle pump to bring our tires up to pressure on a daily basis.

Richard Krenn
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Was disappointed that there seemed to be less cycling per day that expected from the website description.

Carolyn Dunbar
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  De Holland North Holland Tour
Netherlands

This was a nice trip which I chose after research. I learned that I prefer smaller groups.

Wayne Goodman
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

I really loved: Tour guide, boat hosts, food, sights, other guests.
I only enjoyed: quality of bike (could've been a better bike, but it was well maintained)
Could've been better: speed of cycling (while I understand not everyone cycles at the same speed, there should be a ""fast"" group and a ""slow"" group
--overall rating: 4.5 of 5

Debby Repensky
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Merlijn Tulip Tour - 7 day
Netherlands

Loved the trip!!

Richard Kurtz
5 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Cabins were nicer than I expected. We stayed with the guide as found the routes hard to navigate and the guide knew all the great stops. Dinners were good, breakfast and lunches needed more variety by the end of the week. We had fabulous weather and loved the route. Lots to see.