4 Star Netherlands Tour Reviews — 31 to 60 of 95

4.8 out of 5

 


Freddie O.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

I actually crashed my bike at the end of the first day, tried riding an ebike the next day but found it too painful. Therefore I spent the remainder of the trip on the barge, totally loved it. My suggestion for others would be to make sure to train, most of the people on our trip felt that they were being pushed and that the distance biked each day was too far. Also, for myself I felt that the bike was just too big for me and that contributed to my accident. Our guide (Fred) was delightful as were the crew of the Gandalf and the meals were fabulous. So, overall a great experience in spite of the spill.

Francine G.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  La Belle Fleur Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: The people and the beer!!

Debbie H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Always have two guides. I can’t imagine having only one for such a diverse level of skills. We had one guide who lacked interpersonal skills. She lost her temper several times at several clients. I was one of those on the receiving end.

Neal P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

It was so wonderful to cycle through 2 beautiful countries taking in the scenery and ambiance.

Peter W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The trip wasn't exactly as I understood it would be. The staff were absolutely great, couldn't be any better. The guide was also very good, knowledgeable and patient. However, it seems to me that the objective of each day's ride was to get from point A to point B; we didn't stop enough to enjoy & explore the sites along the way. Also, I wonder about riding thru farmers' fields. Perhaps that was the only way to reach certain destinations. We needed better introductions in the first meeting. We should have introduced ourselves at that meeting. We were 32 strangers together for 8 days, let's start with introductions.
The food was pretty average. Breakfast was fine; once in a while there was hot food served but you had to be aggressive to get any, there wasn't enough to go around. Food available for lunch was fine, no complaints. Dinners were disappointing. We didn't need gourmet dinners, we needed substantial meals. The best meal was the Read More

Bruce N.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Flora Heart of Holland
Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: Biking the rural/countryside of Holland

Jan B.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Bruges to Merzig
Belgium, Germany, Netherlands

Great vistas of remarkable vineyards. More WWII history info prior to the trip and designated site visits would truly be great.

Jim W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Great experience, although a very large group to be riding together. The food was good but not great. Made some friends and really enjoyed the trip.

Sue N.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The most memorable part of our trip was people we met, we made some fantastic new friends. The Dutch countryside was especially beautiful, just like out of a fairy tale. Lots of other great countryside and small villages as well, quaint and old European.
The rooms on the Fluvius were poorly ventilated, and the A/C was extremely noisy. The dining room, lounge, bar and upper deck were great.
One of our rides included having to take a short ferry ride. We were all asked to pay .70 cents for this. Many of us felt that was being extremely cheap, and should have been included. Really...70 cents!!!!
For each day of cycling we were only given 1-500ml bottle of water. This is not even close to daily requirements, especially given that on several days we were riding in 30 degrees C. It should have been at least 2L/person/day.
Our guide lacked enthusiasm. He told us to fill our empty water bottles in the bathrooms, he talked about bathroom breaks in the pre-ride briefing but Read More

Doyle S.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Wending South Holland Tour
Netherlands

Most Memorable Part: The trip to kinderdijk was fantastic.

Andrew L.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Drenthe - Holland’s Venice
Netherlands

Our self-guided bike trip to Drench had outstanding scenery due to well-chosen routes, lovely accommodations with excellent food, friendly people, and the best beer in the world. There were problems with the bicycles from the beginning that were met with skepticism when I called for a replacement for one of them, and the directions were sometimes terrific, and other times terrible. There was one incident with the directions where it called for a left turn, but was actually a right. If these problems could be corrected so they don't happen again, this trip would be 5 star and I would recommend it without hesitation.

Sian W.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Anna Maria Agnes South Holland Tour
Netherlands

The biking was wonderful with a great variety of landscapes and villages to see.

Darren T.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam Bike Tour
Belgium, Netherlands

The most memorable part: The views and experiences we shared together as we ride along.

John H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Authentic Holland
Netherlands

Having been on several of these bike/barge tours, this was a different area culturally than trips south of Amsterdam. Interesting history of the area. Our guide was excellent and made the trip.

Franziska P.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Love the boat ride, also liked the bikes and bike riding as well as our tour guide.
The food was too American, it could have been more European. The scenery was
lovely and the trails terrific. Weather fantastic. Would do it again.

Rick H.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Quo Vadis Tulip Tour - Amsterdam to Bruges - 8 day
Belgium, Netherlands

The most memorable parts were Keukenhof gardens and fellow bikers. Disappointed that a week long "tulip tour" ended up being about 3 hours of tulip tour. Primarily focused on 1953 Delta Plan, interesting but spent too much time...days, on it. Enjoyed seeing Kinderdijk windmills. Would have been nice to see more small towns and tulip fields.

Rose F.
3 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Tulip Tour - 5 day
Netherlands

After sorting out problems with the bikes I was assigned I found the tour through the tulip fields to be amazing. I only wish the biking had been more leisurely with opportunities to stop and enjoy the fields and take more photos.

Jim M.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

This was our 2nd trip this year. We signed up for a 3rd already. Barge and bike is wonderful.

Lynda C.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The the scenery was very very enjoyable as were the other guests on board the boat. The major problem or I should say the major dissatisfaction came from the fact that the bikes were too big and too heavy. I am an experienced bike rider and usually feel comfortable on most bikes but these truly were very very uncomfortable for me and I know for some of the other smaller women on the trip, dangerous. My only other comment would be about the guide..... I felt his attitude was very condescending in the first few days he was barely a guide his aim was to get from point A to point B in whatever amount of time he deemed necessary without any consideration for the inexperienced bikers on the trip. The slower bikers trailed way behind perhaps in some cases almost a quarter of a mile behind him and he barely looked back to see if they were there or for that matter even struggling. I volunteered to sweep and finally in frustration stopped him and told him he must go as slow as the slowest Read More

Brenda B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

Food and scenery fantastic! Jack, bike tour guide was rude at times. Also expected everyone to keep up with his ebike. Several women spoke to him and he got a little better and used a sweep and someone to wait at turns. I expected something a little more leisurely so could take pictures along the way. I did not expect a road race even though I could keep up. However, inspite of this, I have recommended the trip to friends as it is a wonderful experience. I do hope you retrain your bike guides to be kind.

Roberta S.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Fluvius Amsterdam to Bruges
Netherlands, Belgium

The bikes were not in excellent condition. Some needed work on them.
A guide better versed in local traditions and history would have been nice.

Robin V.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Cologne
Netherlands, Germany

Fantastic dinners & wonderful guide, captain, staff!

Susan B.
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Sailing Home Amsterdam to Cologne
Netherlands, Germany

Loved the Netherlands countryside. Beautiful flowers and farmland and great trails.
Also the friendly and professional staff.

D. Van Ruiten
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Along the North Sea - a Tulip Tour
Netherlands

The Hotel and Bike store did not know each other and the hotel had to look up on map where the bike store was. It would be better if upon arriving at the hotel, they could point us in the right direction immediately.
Our GPS on the bikes were a little old - very small- so it was hard to make out sometimes - if we were following the map correctly. We had to double check on our own phones a few times which gets into roaming charges.
The bikes were clean and had good tires/brakes so that was good.
Both staff at hotel and bike stores were good.

J. House
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Everything was A-1. I was totally surprised when our tour guide Tom managed to reunite me with my lost "zebra" luggage on a cobblestone street corner 4 days into the trip! Thanks, Tom!

J. Backes
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Fabulous trip. Great, hospitable staff willing to please, answer questions, professional, share information. Boat was clean, comfortable, well equipped. Food was excellent and there was plenty to enjoy.

J. Kister
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Princesse Royal Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

When I first heard of a bike & barge trip, I thought I would be sleeping on a cot under the stars! After obtaining more info, I realized we would have a comfortable room but I was very impressed with our accommodations. It was like being on a mini cruise. Food was great, tour guide was personable and entertaining, friendly staff went out of their way to make this trip extra special. We had an arranged canal boat tour complete with champagne after arriving in Amsterdam! I would highly recommend the Magnifique and this crew, for an awesome way to experience Belgium and The Netherlands.

J. Backes
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Exceptional staff, welcoming, friendly, informative, knowledgable. Perhaps on the rides having a buddy system so the guide doesn't need to count all the people to make sure everyone is present would be my only suggestion. I sometimes got the sense that people wanted to stop more often to take pictures and no one told them not to but then it can take time away from getting to visit town at the end of the day. Perhaps that needs to be discussed in more depth. Sometimes some of the breaks were longer than necessary. Again they were fine but took time from visiting a town at the end of the trip.

G. Dunsmuir
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Gandalf Authentic Holland
Netherlands

I would recommend this trip but only if a group of friends were going or if there was some way to know the mix of language of fellow travellers. I was the only person who did not speak the German language. I felt very isolated. A number of German people did try to speak English but it was hard work for them and they were on holidays. One English sailor on board as staff was very kind and attentive. The cook made wonderful gluten free dishes for me!! The guide did an excellent job of switching back and forth from German to English. The cycling and countryside was very pleasant. Sometimes the stops were a bit long but perhaps that was because I couldn't chat around with other travellers.

W. Staab
4 years ago

Verified Reviewer

  Magnifique II Bruges to Amsterdam
Belgium, Netherlands

Great bike leader. Have name tags for participants or for bikes to help us w names. Would like to have been brave enough to ride on my own! Some participants were not really regular cyclists. Would have been good to have a briefing re group bike rules, including spacing, passing, signaling, warnings, etc.