Bike Tour Reviews 1741 to 1770 of 3386

 

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Gloria P. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The routes of this trip were fantastic, even though the Lavender was not in bloom the fragrances hung in the air as we rode by the harvested fields. We rode to some of France's National Monuments which was special in of itself. I thought the routes and itineraries were great. I always looked forward to what they had planned for us next. Our guide and all the staff on the barge were all wonderful and so happy to share this journey with us! The food was excellent - who knew there would be such fine dining on the barge! This is an adventure not to be missed!

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathleen H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I loved every minute of it! :) Thank you so much for a great adventure!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Andrea R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Riding through area of windmills.
    We were frustrated by the slow pace of our group.

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Diane B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Every part of this excursion exceeded my expectations. The Magnifique II is a fabulous boat, with very comfortable accommodations. The staff was excellent, all worked very hard and the teamwork was amazing. Cycling routes were fabulous and Thomas was absolutely an excellent guide. The food was first rate, LeRoy did a great job. It was a fabulous trip.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Heart of Holland
    by Bruce N. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Biking the rural/countryside of Holland

    Boat: Flora

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Beverly K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was great from beginning to end. The only thing I might suggest would be perhaps a better map on a couple of the days for our biking excursion. We found our way, but got a little confused in a couple of spots. Staff was excellent, tour guide bent over backwards for us, food was delicious, etc. Working with Susanna prior to our trip was so easy and she answered all my questions. I would do it again!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Kvarner Bay E-Bike and Boat
    by Franziska G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Highlights:
    A walk through the old city of Rab at sunset
    Enjoying the scenery from the upper deck while sailing close to the shore
    A dip into the warm Adriatic after a bike ride

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Amsterdam to Bruges Bike Tour
    by Jeanine C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our booking and trip experience were excellent. The Tripsite team were very responsive to all inquiries and questions. The trip information provide was accurate, provided information to provide to family members at home and was received in a timely manner.
    Excellent trip, staff and overall experience!

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Kvarner Bay
    by Dennis B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The guides were great. The islands were very fun to visit.

    Boat: Andela Lora

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Nancy B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The bike routes were exceptional taking us through the most beautiful and scenic areas in the Danube Valley. We especially loved the Wachau Valley and it was Reisling harvest time!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Melinda C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The ability to view many little towns throughout the trip along with the amazing historical buildings. The daily bike routes could have been clearer, or at least exact precise maps to follow.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Susan R. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Biking everyday on a different path through diverse scenery and able to stop at any time to see different landmarks. Getting to see more of the countryside than if on a tour bus. This itinerary was very doable for all ages and levels of fitness.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Mainz to Cologne
    by Denise M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Really enjoyed getting to know the staff on the barge. This made the biking (which I found somewhat challenging) to be a more memorable experience. As a result, I would do this type of trip again.

    Boat: MS Andante

    Countries: Germany

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Art R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We were on a river cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest last year, and we noticed that the rivers we were on had beautiful paved and much-used bike trails, often on both banks. Then our friends from Chicago, a couple our age, learned about a barge biking trip in Europe and went on it last fall. They invited us to join them this year on a similar trip on the Moselle River, from Metz, France to Cochem, Germany. Here's the concept: at Metz, we arrived at the Iris, a small ship fitted out for 24 passengers and five crewmembers. Besides the passenger cabins, the ship had a dining room, a lounge, and an outside deck- not all the other things you associate with a cruise ship. Each day at around nine or 10 o'clock in the morning, we would get off the ship with bikes provided by the outfitter, and bicycle about 30 miles along the bike path on the river. We were led each day by Wouter, our guide, who was a history major as well as a very competent tour guide. He and the other four Read more… members of the crew were all Dutch, as was the registry of the ship.
    When registering for the trip, we included our physical measurements so that the bikes were almost perfectly fitted to us when we arrived. I was pleased that my bike was large enough for me because I am tall. Dianne had reserved an e-bike since she hadn't had a lot of experience in doing long road rides over multiple days, and because she had just had knee replacement surgery at the end of January. Five of the 24 people in our group used e-bikes, and they were all very happy with their performance. The bike does between 20 and 60% of the work (three levels—20, 40 and 60%) and you do the rest. It's not like a moped-- you still must pedal. It also has a readout that gives your speed, distance, and battery power.

    The bikes we used didn't employed derailleurs but instead had gears inside the rear hub that worked very smoothly with the two lever system on the handlebar. Most of the bikes were Gudereit hybrids, a German brand. All the bikes had front and rear lights, which turned on automatically, and were powered by a generator device inside the front hub that involved rotating magnets, so there was no friction. I was impressed with the smoothness and comfort of the bike I was given. The outfitters provided the bike, a pannier, and a helmet for each cyclist. Helmet use was not required but highly recommended.

    The nice thing about the bike paths along the Moselle River is that they were quite level, with only occasional small climbs when we needed to go up a ramp to cross a lock and dam for a bridge, and once when we made a little more of a climb to get up onto one of the tiered roadways in the vineyards. The Moselle Valley is wine country, and there were vineyards every day in every direction. Every morning we made a coffee break in a small town, and later we stopped again for the lunch we had packed that morning before leaving the ship. Each day, we’d see the Iris passing us on the river on its way to that day’s destination city, with Jacques, the captain, waving from the pilot house. On two of the days, we could opt to stay on the ship longer and join the other bicyclists enroute, or leave the ride early and “sag” on the ship. Guests also had the option to just stay on the ship all day and not bicycle if felt they needed a day off. But most biked the entire way.

    Our trip was in early September and the weather was pleasantly cool, usually in the low 60s to low 70s. We were prepared for rain, but never got any while we were bicycling. Most of the guests on the ship were American, but eight were Canadians and four were New Zealanders. Our bicycling speed was about 9 mph, with periodic stops to allow the group to stay together. Usually the stops were at places of historic or scenic interest, and we learned a lot from our guide about the influences of the Romans in Luxembourg and Germany, the ancient and modern winemaking arts, and even the formation of the Schengen Area (similar to, but not identical to the European Union) at Schengen. Schengen is the town at the juncture of France, Luxembourg, and Germany, like Dubuque’s placement at the intersection of Iowa, Wisconsin, and Illinois! We frequently crossed the Moselle from Germany to Luxembourg and back again. Dianne even got to bicycle through and explore the town of Wormeldange in Luxembourg, where her family came from several generations ago.

    Boat: Iris

  • Amsterdam to Cologne
    by Gordon M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had an exceptional guide. He had a lot of local knowledge and often altered our route in order to extend our cycling experience.

    Boat: Sailing Home

    Countries: Netherlands, Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Mary Ellen W. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Highlight: Biking in the Wacchau Valley

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Mainz to Cologne
    by Penny S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My most memorable part of cycling along the Rhine River was seeing the beautiful country side hills with castles and fortresses and stopping for coffee and delicious baked goods in villages.

    Boat: MS Andante

    Countries: Germany

  • Around Paris
    by Sherry M. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The guide was attentive to each rider and knowledgeable about the towns and history.

    Boat: Clair de Lune

    Countries: France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Susan H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything about the trip exceeded my expectations. In particular, the dinners were truly gourmet. Keep that chef (Leroy)!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Mona W. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The people on our tour were great. A bunch of fun people.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Four Country
    by The Doeys 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our first bike and barge and we are already looking forward to many more. We are two 60 yr old couple who all love the outdoors, adventure and travel. Our cabins were on the top deck of the Carissma, roomy enough, turn down service each night and big picture windows. Excellent food, especially the dinners. Albert was the tour guide on board and he was organized, knowledgeable and patient! No problems with the bikes or directions - we were self guiding, 21 speed bikes. Easy terrain. We highly recommend the city bike tour of Budapest and Vienna as you otherwise may miss great hidden gems, interesting stories and local guides. We stayed at Hotel Residenz in Passau for one night before departure and highly recommend the visit to this beautiful port city and the hotel! We could not recommend trying this style of vacation more. The staff on the Carissma did everything to make the week comfortable, easy and well organized. Wonderful way to see cities in 4 countries in a week.

  • Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
    by Donatella Yelda 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing tour...Loved every minute of it! The staff was awesome. The bikes were great! The hotels were all very clean, with friendly staff and great breakfast. The route was beautiful. The towns were fairy tale dreamy. Did we get lost more than once? Yes of course we did, it's a given and expected when you're not familiar with the rout and towns, no matter how good the map and directions are. Having said that, getting lost was part of the charm of the trip, we got to explore more areas/places. Most trails and routs are very well marked and if you follow the "Bike Route" marks you will not get lost too much, maybe a turn here or there. We used Google map along with the paper map/directions provided. In some areas Google conflicted with the provided directions and that's how we got lost ... but it was fun exploring. If you're the daring type who considers every turn a new adventure you will have a blast. But if you're the type that everything Read more… has to be precise then you might get frustrated.

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Marcia B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Highlights: Seeing these countries via bike paths. Going through small towns and villages with an excellent guide to highlight the history and out of the way places.
    Tip: get in shape! You will enjoy it more if you are fit to bike these distances.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kurt W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was our first bike and barge trip, and we loved every aspect of it. Yes, the weather was a challenge, but even that was rewarding in retrospect. The guide and crew were great, the food was wonderful, and the boat was very comfortable (and a good size). We got to know all our fellow passengers and that was the icing on the cake. Now I'm spending way too much time, probably, reading about where to take our next trip!

    Boat: Tijdgeest

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Lou R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We participated on this Bike N Barge tour in May of 2017. The Carissima is a former "Viking Cruises" ship which is now doing the bike and barge tours for a year or so and it provides such luxury in accommodations, living quarters, dining rooms, swimming pool and so on that is unlikely to find on any other ship and tour of this type. The bike paths are by most standards quite good and the scenery is simply wonderful. The first day or riding the Engelhartszell - Aschach bike path is majestic and the Great Loop of the Danube unforgettable. The Wachau / Krems - Melk trail on the last riding day is by far the best and most interesting. We also rode our bikes on our own through the city of Bratislava and also through most of Budapest which is by far one of the nicest cities east of the Iron Curtain. We did not take a day of rest in Vienna. We rode our very comfy e-Bikes for 4 hours throughout the city and stopping at the huge number of venues for photos as time in Vienna is Read more… absolutely very limited. If there is something wrong with this trip is the fact that this ship does not stay overnight in any of the main stops on the tour so it lacks the opportunity to explore the city at night and enjoy some of the local events and specialties. The ship leaves almost as soon as your requested time of return from cycling is scheduled and you spend much of the time on the ship deck watching the river go by. The tour guides were outstanding and the directions given are flawless. Having been given the gps routes in advance was immensely helpful. By the way, while e-Bikes are not essential they are good to have if you plan to climb the hills to see the castles and other high up the horizon venues on this tour. If you stay on the assigned paths regular 7-8 gear bikes are just fine. The Hungarian dance evening excursion is quite good and recommended and so is the Vienna Orchestra evening excursion if it is your first ever classical music show. It provides some of the well known classical music by well known music geniuses but leaves a lot to be desired if you are well aware of this musical era. The orchestra is small just 16 or 17 musicians in a small and poorly designed venue for that type of music. 3 out of 5 for this excursion. The overall trip is well designed and gives nice riding opportunities, great views, lots of culture, great comfort and the Danube is a treat. The meals on Carissima are less than good in quality and taste but better than most for showing off. The breakfast are excellent. The rest is average at best. The crews are all top quality for service and attendance. I dislike sitting at the same table with the same 6 persons every days every meal. It supresses the opportunity to meet people and reduces the fun of getting to know others from different countries, cultures, ethnicity and customs. For the reasons of not overnight stops and the food quality and table seating system we rate this at a 7 of 10 stars or 3.5 on this scale.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Koblenz to Bad Wimpfen
    by Lou R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Once again the "Patria" gave us a wonderful trip with an excellent crew from top to bottom. The rooms are small but comfortable and spotlessly cleaned on a daily basis. The food on this ship never ceases to amaze. Breakfast and dinner for such a lot of guests it is always served with smiles, tirelessly by outstanding servers and the chef is a master in producing meals of top restaurant quality. Bravo. The guide Carsten was "spot on" with his PowerPoint presentations, never shy of answering any and all questions and always riding the course. The handouts were excellent. Not to be missed is the wine tour in Nierstein, a fun outing without the pretentious tasting and showy put-ons. Must make sure you arrive 2-3 days early at Koblenz as it is a great place to explore on your own on a rental bike. Also after Bad Wimpfen take a short train ride and stay a couple of days in Heidelberg to see and enjoy the many historical venues. Yes, it is a touristy place, but worth it. Read more… Castles and more castles the first 2 days, vineyards and fields the next 2 and rolling hills the last 2 days gives you a trip that showcases everything that is so much fun in the "Bike and Barge" style of vacationing. Enough bike riding every day to enable you to have the extra glass of wine or cold beer at dinner. This trip is a 10 out of 10 hands down, particularly if it is sunny and dry as it was for us this September of 2017. Our 6th trip with Tripsite and we looking forward to the next one in 2018. Thank you all.

    Boat: Patria

    Countries: Germany

  • Bordeaux - Châteaux, Rivers & Wine
    by Veronica H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bordeaux the best city on trip for us. Trip is not easy because of traffic and hills---scary!!!

    Boat: Bordeaux

    Countries: France

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Cynthia W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Everything was excellent! There were a limited number of available rental helmets, I highly recommend bringing one's own from home.

    Boat: Vita Pugna

    Countries: Italy

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Dave C. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Passenger/participant/staff group dynamics were excellent.
    Barge had no laundry service, so go prepared with the necessaries to look after it yourself.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

PWPC