Bike Tour Reviews 1681 to 1710 of 3391

 

  • Bruges to Paris
    by Delia D. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The food was great and loved the coffee machine. Would like dinner at 7:00 pm rather than 6:30 pm to give us more time to relax and enjoy the day. No one ever eats in France before 7:30 pm and I felt like we were being treated as young campers. The Fleur needs new towels. The existing are rough and not vey absorbent. It was a very happy and congenial crew. Bert, Petra, Ellen and Aga. Thomas was most accommodating... Bike trails were good. We had the unusual situation where the majority ie 12 out of 20 bikers were of Olympian caliper. Their preferred speed was 30 to 35 kms an hour and the rest would have liked between 15 and 20 kms. and hour. We all coped but it meant you couldn't relax and enjoy the scenery. Two guides would have been the solution as promised.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

    • Bruges to Paris
      by Jehiel 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Delia!
      Thanks for sharing this feedback. I want to clarify that under what's included for the Fleur it mentions "Tour guide (in 2018, there will be two guides)". This will allow for two groups, different cycling speeds, and will fix this issue.
      As far as dinner is concerned, the eating time is based on the logistics of the ship (routing, cooking, cleaning) and is not meant to make you feel like a young campers.
      Despite this issues, I'm glad you had a great time!

      Countries: Belgium, France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Suki G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Book from Brugge to Amsterdam to avoid headwinds. Expect riding in country with nothing special to see.

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Bruges to Paris
    by Eldon W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The excellent staff and guide combined with the great mix of rural and forest countryside and the history in the cities and towns along the way.
    Tripsite should do a better job of editing the text on their website. There were several incorrect descriptions.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Debra G. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Staff was fantastic! Amazing overall experience.

    Boat: Fluvius

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Along the Dalmatian Coast
    by Valentina L. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    I loved cycling along the paths that hugged the ocean. So scenic and beautiful.

    Boat: Odisej

    Countries: Croatia

  • Holland Southern Tulip Tour
    by Patty M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Wending is a great barge with a wonderful crew! We had superior food every day. Our guide was very smart, kind, helpful, and patient. I would do this trip again in a heartbeat.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Diane F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our bike barge trip along the Danube in October 2017 was a great experience. Biking was fabulous, the paths we're all very good for the most part. The scenery was beautiful. We were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff and all the accommodations made for us. The food was all nicely presented and abundant. Our group of eight friends definitely would like to do another trip! Great scenery, great exercise, and an overall wonderful experience!

    Boat: Normandie

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Janet A. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wonderful experience

    Boat: L’Estello

    Countries: France

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Celia H. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    It was wonderful to have all the logistics taken care of. All we had to do was get up in the morning, have a hearty breakfast, get on our bikes and head out for a different adventure every day. Not too difficult!
    On board, the staff went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. The ship amenities were great. Our on board entertainer was super and we danced most evenings.
    The cycling was scenic, varied and interesting and not too difficult. I liked the cruiser style of the bike. Sitting more upright made sightseeing while riding very easy. Overall a great experience that I can't wait to repeat!

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Bruges to Paris
    by Michelle H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike & barge trip from Paris to Brugge on the Feniks was an amazing experience. The crew was exceptional, the scenery beautiful and the price was terrific. I highly recommend this trip.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Florence to Rome - Self Guided
    by Gene C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part was stopping for lunch in little Italian towns.

    Countries: Italy

  • Mainz to Merzig or Merzig to Mainz
    by Jocelyn M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The calmness and organization of the bike and barge event was refreshing. Barge was excellent, owners outstanding, timing and biking routes very pleasurable.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Merzig or Merzig to Mainz
    by Penelope R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery along the Mosel River was breathtaking, and the staff and guide on the barge and bike tours were top notch. Very quality focused and very pleasant to be with during the entire week. This is a special experience for all.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Judith B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The Danube River is beautiful. My most memorable day was the last one of our week, when we cycled mostly through parks along the Danube in Austria. Weather was pleasant and the quietude, along with the autumn colors and few remaining flowers, was spectacular.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Mainz to Merzig or Merzig to Mainz
    by Carol T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our bike guide was outstanding.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Bruges to Paris
    by Paula Clair S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The scenery was a photograph almost each moment. Incredibly knowledgeable guide made every day a new adventure. Plus a very doable ride for all skill level.

    Boat: Feniks

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Kathi T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The entire trip was fantastic. I personally could have benefited with a few less km per day but that is my fault for not training as much as I should have. The chef and the guide, Leroy and Alfonse were amazing. The boat was comfortable and elegant. First rate all around!

    Boat: Magnifique II

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Laurence M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The daily rides were the perfect combination of distance and scenery. The ship and staff were excellent as was the food served in the dining room. We would definitely recommend this ride and cruise to our friends.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Bruges to Amsterdam
    by Cheryl T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Absolutely fabulous trip, even though we didn't see much sun. It seemed the rain always held off until we were sheltered. The clouds added to the beauty of the gorgeous countryside. Our guide, Mike, did not coddle us, so we were able to cycle in our individual comfort zones. The "Dutch Mountains" (head winds) challenged us on a few days, but only added to the flavour of the trip. Mike introduced us to some lovely spots for our coffee/lunch breaks to re-energise.
    Staff on board the Lisa Marleen were delightful & helpful too. Many good memories, but the one that stands out was in the last day when we had, more then usual, rain squalls & intermittent sunshine. This, of course, resulted in rainbows. At least 4! We deemed it "rainbow day". It was a Rainbow of a trip.

    Boat: Liza Marleen

    Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

    • Bruges to Amsterdam
      by Lorrie Gilbert 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply    

      I was just reading through reviews as I think about another bike/barge trip for 2018 and saw this one from Cheryl--a trip mate--who writes about our amazing tour in Oct. 2017 on the Liza Marleen. We had a fabulous time aboard this barge. It is cozy, comfortable, clean, and perfect in every way for a small, compact typical Dutch barge. Our crew were kind, generous, inclusive, and organized. Mike Visser, our bike guide is knowledgeable about the terrain and routes, and in a change of weather or route could get us to a great cafe or castle if we so desired. Chef Markus: all I can say is wow! Every meal was a joy and a visual feast. Myrte was an awesome member of the crew, and Jeroen captained our boat with skill and humor. The biking was easy, but the winds made each day a fun challenge. We biked through farmlands, expanses of fields and crops, cattle, canals, windmills, small lovely towns, and great cities. My husband used an e-bike and loved it and felt accomplished at the Read more… end of the trip. That e-bike made it possible for him to do this trip. I can't say enough about how much fun it was! And we were a lucky in that a random group of strangers hit it off so well and laughed, relaxed, danced and toured together--even with the crew. No hierarchy here--just crew and guests working and playing together. Thank you for a great experience! And thank you, Markus, for acknowledging not one but three--mine included-- birthdays uniquely! And yes, lots of rainbows.

      Countries: Belgium, Netherlands

  • Southern Dalmatia
    by Claudia H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: The beautiful scenery, the people and guides and the biking

    Boat: Romantica

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Shelly F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was our 35th anniversary and we had lots of alone time to tour ourselves but also met the nicest people on the boat

    Boat: Carissima

  • Heel of Italy
    by Jan H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous Trip. Well signposted for being a self guided tour. Hotels great in good locations. Beautiful scenery.

    Countries: Italy

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barbara M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Scenery que sheets needed to be more precise. Several of us got lost on our last day and therefore couldn't tour the Melk Abbey. I was very disappointed we ended up biking 50 miles instead of 26.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Algarve
    by Ed N. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    As you know from our past two trips, Romantic Road Austria/Germany and Provence, France, we thoroughly enjoyed both of them, both for similar and different reasons. We do enjoy the self guided component on these trips. In France, we found the e-bike addition to be worth the cost. All in all, both trips were great, including the very rideable off road trails and paths.
    That brings us to the recent Algarve trip. First of all, the bikes were, by far, the best quality that we have experienced and the staff at Portugal Trails were all very friendly and helpful. Also, the gps addition was great! However, the off road trails were almost unrideable and dangerous with a thick layer of large particle gravel on at least 75% of their length and many deep erosion created gullies. On our two previous trips, as I mentioned above, the trails were in very good condition. The Algarve off road trails were not at all, in our opinion, suited for hybrid bikes, maybe mountain bikes, but not hybrids. In Read more… fact, we missed most of the scenery along the way because we had to concentrate on the surface so we didn't slide on a piece of gravel, especially downhill.
    On a positive note, all but 2 of the hotels were very enjoyable, especially Herdade da Corte Tavira. We loved the personality of the people and the culture of Portugal very much. One final disappointment was that all of our luggage was not delivered to the final hotel until 7:30 PM after we had to call to point out that we were missing 2 suitcases, causing us to miss touring Sagres.

    Countries: Portugal

    • Algarve
      by Carla 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Ed,
      Thanks so much for your feedback. We've taken a good look at the tour, and although the on-road itinerary has always been offered as an option, that will be the primary route for 2018. It will also be possible to explore the off-road route where we feel there is much to discover.
      We sincerely apologize about the luggage transfer mix-up and hope you enjoyed the dinner on us!
      We hope to help you plan your next cycling adventure.

      Countries: Portugal

  • Famous Villages of Provence
    by Bill & Kristy C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was a wonderful trip! My wife and I did the trip in late September 2017 and we had a great time. It was the first time that we have used e bikes and we loved them! The maps were good but using the GPS made the trip, taking us on quaint back roads and side alleys so we didn't even have to stop and look at the maps! Hotels and scenery were fabulous, and of course the wine and food as well. We give this trip a 5/5 and look forward to our next Tripsite adventure

    Countries: France

  • Camino de Santiago E-Bike Tour
    by Mike Tansey 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I have taken many Tripsite bike/barge tours but this was my first van-supported tour. Sergio and Enrique, did a fantastic job of guiding our group of 9 along the route. The hybrid bikes provided were sturdy and in good condition. As others have noted, the coastal portions are relatively easy and flat - on beach promenades and boardwalks - but, once inland, the difficulty level increases drastically. The 20%+ grades on narrow lanes were a challenge but fun. Well, they were more fun going down than up :) You will ride on every type of surface - good pavement, wooden boardwalks, cobblestones, loose sand, rocks, gravel dirt tracks, forest trails, city streets, dodging traffic in the many roundabouts ... The daily distances are not that long but you are guaranteed to be tired at the end of the day! I would highly recommend this trip to any experienced and fit cyclist! The accommodations and food were first rate all the way. And the fact that we were riding the Camino de Santiago, the same Read more… route as the pilgrims walk, make the trip extra special.

    Countries: Portugal, Spain

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Tammy K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Visiting the Wachau valley was my favorite part of the trip. Entertainment on the ship was the only down side and that was just a small part of the trip.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Dalmatia from Dubrovnik Plus
    by Steve S. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking in Dalmatia islands is spectacular, and Harmonia crew and guides were particularly accommodating. We never could have seen these places on our own. That's a point worth reinforcing: don't expect to go off on your own too much--you need to stick with the group to make sure that you're at the boat at the time of departure, but the payoff in info and support from the guides is well worth it.

    Bikes were excellent quality--make sure you make clear whether you want a regular bike or e-bike well in advance--staff will strive to meet your needs but it pays to be sure.

    It was also a treat to get to know an international group of similarly inclined people--very friendly people who all meshed well.

    Boat: Harmonia

    Countries: Croatia

PWPC