Germany Bike Tour Reviews 541 to 570 of 1027

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Dave C. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Passenger/participant/staff group dynamics were excellent.
    Barge had no laundry service, so go prepared with the necessaries to look after it yourself.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Gordon W. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Biking through wine country in Germany and going into the fields themselves. Take this trip!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Kristine & Joe S. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    This trip exceeded our expectations on every level. We'd never done a bike and barge excursion and decided to jump in with both feet on this trip. To say that we were thrilled is an understatement. The incredibly comfortable boat, the friendly and hardworking crew, the delicious meals, the fantastic guide, the varied and beautiful route... it was all more than we imagined. I can't tell you what a pleasure it was to experience three countries and their cultures with the intimacy that a bike tour allows.

    We're experienced travelers and think through our options carefully. The combination of activity, education, relaxation and total immersion was so appealing... and this excursion did not disappoint. To top it off, given everything that is included, this trip is a tremendous value. We can't wait for our next adventure with Tripsite!

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Gail C. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    The trip started out with high winds and rain but it didn't dampen the spirit of the group. We were always going downhill with the wind on our back! The comfort of the barge and delicious meals were outstanding. The Mosel valley was probably the highlight for scenery and seeing the grape harvest in full swing. Our wine tasting evening was one of the best we have ever experienced. The Captain wanted us to have a real experience and we did.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Linda B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Biking through the Wachau Valley was spectacular, thus it was the highlight. The staff on the "barge" were super friendly and helpful. The biking was easy if a person is reasonably fit. A little practice doing long distance biking is a good idea.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Leanne S. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Especially enjoyed the days cycling through the vineyards along the Mosel River.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Harvey C. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    We loved Germany the best. The coffee stops were the best. Great brats and pastry.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Along the Danube - Passau, Bratislava, and Vienna
    by Corol M. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Beautiful scenery! Great attention by bike staff.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

    Countries: Austria, Germany, Slovakia

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by John J. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? The people I met on board - staff and guests - and the scenery.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Bruges to Merzig
    by Jan B. 2 years ago         Verified Reviewer

    Great vistas of remarkable vineyards. More WWII history info prior to the trip and designated site visits would truly be great.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Susan W. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The cruise was wonderful supported by a fantastic crew on the ship who went out of their way to provide a very positive experience.
    I had left my phone at a restaurant on the bike route and it was returned to me within 3 hours...I was so grateful.
    Having a tour guide would have been very helpful on certain days of the trip...ie Vienna.
    I was very disappointed with the fact that the biking portion of the Wachau valley that was in the itinerary had been eliminated without our knowing until the night before.
    it was to have been a highlight for our group and the cruise company said that it was Never a part of the biking route.!
    We rented e bikes at an extra cost for the 4 of us because of the distance to be covered that day and otherwise would not have.

    All of the cycling group received the same information from Tripsite about the Wachau valley and we were all disappointed.

    Otherwise I would highly recommend this trip but do feel that you should update Read more… your itinerary so that people aren't disappointed.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by York C. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Great trip. Boat and river cruise portion of the trip was more than expected. Service and the crew on the boat were excellent, including the food.
    Quality of bicycles was excellent. They were mechanically perfect. The only down side of the entire trip were the nightly route planning meetings and the quality of the maps and route guides. It was obvious that the tour leader giving the route agenda had never ridden the bike paths. Her English was not very good which made it even more difficult to understand the route(s). We had to fend for ourselves (asking people on the street for directions) numerous times because the routes were just not made clear. Also, the route was not what was not the same as what was spelled out on the website.
    Overall, we were very satisfied with the trip.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
    by Patricia M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was magical from start to finish, the personalized service for our group of 22 was amazing , we loved it!

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Mary Lyn H. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Loved the itinerary and biking routes!
    Barge suggestions:
    Dinner seat assignments-- still place with others of the same language, but not necessarily from the same country.
    The upper outdoor covered lounge allowed smoking which meant the entire area could be filled with smoke! This type of trip is for active, healthy lifestyle people...smoking should be confined to a small area in front of the pilot house (or not at all).

    Boat: Normandie

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Marianne R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: the intense beauty of the Bavarian countryside.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
    by Ian & Janis M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Jantien was amazing! She was always available, ready to help in anyway, answer questions, run a tidy and very clean ship... in short, do anything to make our stay pleasant and stress free. It was obvious she was genuinely concerned for the happiness of her, as she called us, "Dear Guests". We looked forward every day to her well thought out and wonderfully prepared evening meals. The staff were all highly focused on the same things, a testament to Jantien's leadership. We have no hesitation in recommending Jantien and the Merlijn.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Lorraine Tour
    by Joanne F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We truly enjoyed this trip, with beautiful flowers in every town and swans everywhere. One night, we had a bevy of swans peaking in at us as we ate dinner!. The bikes are great, with comfortable seats and smooth gearing. The dinners were always a delicious surprise. Sanders and Els were wonderful hosts, and our guide, Seitze, was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the Mosel area, including Roman aqueducts, medieval castles, World War II sites, and, of course, the history of the EU. Nancy was my favorite big city but we also had a night time walking tour of a little town overlooking the Mosel, called Liverdun...where delicious Madelines come from! Very cute town. We went in early September and the cabins were a bit warm even at night. You can open windows, but it could be uncomfortable in the summer. Biking was mostly flat so not difficult but I definitely got some exercise. Another favorite: stopping for coffee and pastry each morning!

    Boat: La Belle Fleur

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Rita J. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: The incredible scenery and the knowledge of our guide.

    Boat: Iris

  • Frankfurt to Ludwigsburg
    by Heather L. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Jantien & Henz were supreme hosts and their barge Merlijn delightful. As for tips just sit back, relax & enjoy the marvelous holiday that they provide.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Jim M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable parts was the Saar River part of the ride, biking above the River with our guide and riding thru the vineyards. The little towns and the Roman History. Had no idea about the Roman history in this region before this trip. The Levees on the river. Just the general beauty of the area. The grapes growing on the sides of the mountains. Both our barge crew and all the people on the trip. FUN! FUN! FUN!

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Leo R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The total crew got involved in the trip and were always available to assist us with any problems or questions. It helped to break the ice with other bikers and soon we were one cohesive and fun group.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Patricia B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable are the meals. The daily ports and after dinner walks. 1 issue - directions to the barge were horrible.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Wendy & Robert K. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It is very hard to say what was the best, as everything was so great, beautiful, and interesting. The staff and bike guide went above our expectations, we would recommend this trip to all.

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Richard R. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip but the weather was a bit average - no rain but lots of cloud and a bit cool.
    The food was great as were the crew, the bikes, the other passengers and the boat. We thought Wouter (the guide) needs to "loosen up" a bit and learn more of the history etc. of the region. We also found the first couple of days on the bikes a bit boring, too much forest and not enough villages etc.
    All in all very good!!

    Boat: Iris

  • Metz to Cochem or Cochem to Metz
    by Garnet T. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The whole trip exceeded our expectations but the barge Iris and the crew were outstanding.

    Boat: Iris

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Colin M. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip? Everything: the boat, staff, accommodations, food, cycling director, bicycles were far better than I expected. The daily orientations by the cycling director were very informative, not only about cycling conditions, but also about refreshment stops and sightseeing. This trip could not have been better.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
    by John and Janet B. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was clearly the scenic routes, food, friendly people and cities selected for lodging. Great hotels! Tripsite delivered on services as promised.
    We were disappointed/frustrated with the lack of route details and direction into and out of the cities. Despite the network of paved bike trails/paths, we spent too much time confused asking locals for direction to our destination. Perhaps for persons accustomed to biking in Europe, the vague directions presented no difficulty, but for persons from America not familiar with the signage and more accustomed to turn by turn cue sheets, we were frequently challenged to find our path. Asking directions from local residents did give us an interesting opportunity to communicate across languages. We would recommend you add more detailed directions into and out of cities.
    Thanks for your arrangements to make our trip possible. We really did enjoy our bike tour around Lake Constance.

  • Bavarian Lakes
    by Patsy and John V. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Getting lost!
    The Bavarian Lakes region is lovely and not many travelers that I know have been there. Despite a cool rainy spell, we enjoyed our ride. When it was pouring rain for 2 days, Eurobike transferred us with our luggage and we were quite happy that they allowed this. The lakes and historic old towns were interesting and the countryside was outstanding. September may be a little late in the season to do this ride; the temperature was in the 50's and 60's and the rain was a problem.

    Countries: Germany

  • Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
    by Raylee F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: The scenery, food and the cycling on quiet roads or bike paths.

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Rick F. 2 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am not a bike rider and was very concerned about how difficult it really would be. Well, it wasn't that difficult and was very enjoyable. The bike trails are amazing and stunning. This was the first Bike Barge experience and it was fantastic. There is no better way to experience Germany. The staff on the Merlijn are amazing. The food was delicious and plentiful. The experience on a smaller vessel was as good or even better than on a cruise ship and I have been on over 25 cruises all over the world. I highly recommend this adventure.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

PWPC