Germany Bike Tour Reviews 571 to 600 of 1032

 

 Country: Germany • REMOVE

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Colin M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part of the trip? Everything: the boat, staff, accommodations, food, cycling director, bicycles were far better than I expected. The daily orientations by the cycling director were very informative, not only about cycling conditions, but also about refreshment stops and sightseeing. This trip could not have been better.

    Boat: Normandie

  • Around Lake Constance - 12 Day
    by John and Janet B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The most memorable part was clearly the scenic routes, food, friendly people and cities selected for lodging. Great hotels! Tripsite delivered on services as promised.
    We were disappointed/frustrated with the lack of route details and direction into and out of the cities. Despite the network of paved bike trails/paths, we spent too much time confused asking locals for direction to our destination. Perhaps for persons accustomed to biking in Europe, the vague directions presented no difficulty, but for persons from America not familiar with the signage and more accustomed to turn by turn cue sheets, we were frequently challenged to find our path. Asking directions from local residents did give us an interesting opportunity to communicate across languages. We would recommend you add more detailed directions into and out of cities.
    Thanks for your arrangements to make our trip possible. We really did enjoy our bike tour around Lake Constance.

  • Bavarian Lakes
    by Patsy and John V. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Getting lost!
    The Bavarian Lakes region is lovely and not many travelers that I know have been there. Despite a cool rainy spell, we enjoyed our ride. When it was pouring rain for 2 days, Eurobike transferred us with our luggage and we were quite happy that they allowed this. The lakes and historic old towns were interesting and the countryside was outstanding. September may be a little late in the season to do this ride; the temperature was in the 50's and 60's and the rain was a problem.

    Countries: Germany

  • Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
    by Raylee F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: The scenery, food and the cycling on quiet roads or bike paths.

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Rick F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I am not a bike rider and was very concerned about how difficult it really would be. Well, it wasn't that difficult and was very enjoyable. The bike trails are amazing and stunning. This was the first Bike Barge experience and it was fantastic. There is no better way to experience Germany. The staff on the Merlijn are amazing. The food was delicious and plentiful. The experience on a smaller vessel was as good or even better than on a cruise ship and I have been on over 25 cruises all over the world. I highly recommend this adventure.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Frankfurt to Bamberg or Bamberg to Frankfurt
    by Gwen H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Enjoyed the trip immensely. Scenery was fantastic. Ship and staff were excellent. Food was accommodating for vegetarians, non fish eaters and was plentiful. Would like to see an additional excursion included with the tour. Beer tasting night and castle tour were excellent.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Andy R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The bike journeys were terrific taking us through beautiful towns and scenery! The last day's trip to Melk was spectacular BUT it was recommended that we take the ferry across too early on the ride. This sadly led to a long and unnecessarily arduous climb to Melk that could have been avoided by staying on the other side of the river and crossing at Melk. That said, we very much enjoyed the trip!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Metz to Cochem
    by Garnet 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    A group of 8 friends from Western Canada recently completed the Metz to Cochem tour on the Iris and all of us have nothing but good things to say about the experience. The barge Iris was everything we expected and more. Immaculately clean, well equipped, comfortable rooms and beds, small but efficient bathrooms, great lounge and dining areas, outside sitting area, etc., etc. The crew was outstanding in every way from Chef Bas to guide Wouter, to crewman AJ and so on. The crew added so much to the overall experience and always with humour, local knowledge and great attention to detail. The daily rides were a feature that we looked forward to each morning and the scenery was wonderful each day. And to top it all off, the weather for the most part cooperated for the whole trip. I can't recommend the barge, the crew and the trip highly enough and as a group, we are already talking about our next barge/bike tour

    Boat: Iris

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Dale B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best Part: The ride from Vac to Esztergom! Beautiful.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Around Lake Constance
    by Larisa L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part: Biking along the forested area near Minau, biking through cobblestoned streets, and seeing a wide variety of things in such a short distance (orchards, cathedrals, castles, swans, mountains, etc).

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Barbara E. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This was my first time to cycle by the Danube and it far exceeded my expectations. The whole experience was awesome. I loved to be able to exercise while enjoying the pretty scenery and exploring villages and meeting people from other countries. Such a wealth of history and culture!! Truly amazing!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Tauber River Valley Romantic Road
    by Raylee F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We absolutely loved our Romantic Road cycle. Cycling in Germany is very scenic. People we met were friendly & helpful. Beer was great bread and pastries delicious. The route was well marked. We had a really wonderful holiday.

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Byron E. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I will definitely do another bike and barge, it was terrific. My only complaint would be that the food provided for the vegetarians was not well thought out. It wouldn't take much to make this a fabulous plant-based experience. The staff tried as best they could...but it was lacking. But, overall, the trip was fabulous.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Carolyn H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a a great time . The only feedback I would give is that most of the passengers were German and there was very little information given in English.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Linda T. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We really enjoyed our experience on the Primadonna! Food was delicious and staff were very attentive. Biking the countryside was a definite highlight! Our most spectacular and memorable part of the trip would be cruising into Budapest at night! It was breath taking!!
    We really had a great time and look forward to doing another bike trip soon.

    Boat: Primadonna

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Rachel J 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    An Amazing Adventure! I enjoyed every minute of this trip. The staff was courteous and accommodating, the food was delicious and the biking and sites were extraordinary. I'll recommend this to all my friends and family.

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Along the Danube-Iron Gates
    by Jim S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We traveled aboard the Theodor Korner, a classic river boat with loads of character and an extremely helpful and courteous staff. We enjoyed sharing the experience with fellow travelers we met on board. Dinners were great as were evenings spent on the deck relaxing with a drink and discussing the day's ride and excursions with our new friends. There is no better way to see and experience places - villages, cities, and rural countryside - than by bike and a boat and bike trip can't be beat for convenience and comfort. We also liked that this tour lasted for two weeks, allowing us to feel truly connected to the places we were visiting.

    Boat: Theodor Körner

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Alex B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing scenery, fantastic hosts, first class accommodations - a winner all around! Highly recommended, and would take another trip on the Merlijn in a heartbeat.

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Breisgau & Alsace Wine Road
    by Diane H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It was a fantastic way to experience several new cultures, communities and cities all while loving the interactive journey! We loved the challenge of finding our way and the delightful anticipation of our next destination and accommodation - which always truly splendid! Without speaking the language, ( German or French ) we met several wonderful nature loving and kind ppl who helped us when we seemed to veer off the route. We always got to the next destination and spent time exploring area and local cuisine. The best part of my experience was the sense of overwhelming ahh and appreciation I experienced when I had my 'around the corner 'experiences' - meaning that I suddenly came upon a fantastic site that I did not anticipate in magnitude or beauty and there I was, right there with it! Beautiful.
    Thank you sincerely for the amazing trip! We loved every moment and strongly recommended to to all the soul inspired adventurers out there!! Xo

    Countries: France, Germany

  • Prague to Passau
    by Duncan B. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic countryside, towns and beers!!

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Jenny S. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Highlights: Our daily biking trips, having a varied ride each day with different kms, visits and scenery, plus even a hike to a castle as well. My only suggestion is to keep this spontaneity as each day is an adventure with the known luxury of the barge awaiting us at the end of each ride.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Gina F. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most Memorable Part? That is so hard to answer because there were so many of them. I do plan to enter your contest very soon. As for tips or suggestions for others...By all means considered a Tripsite bike trip for your next vacation. It has so much to offer. And don't let your fear of being able to complete the daily bike rides stop you. We had in our group of 21: an 80-year-old, a person with a "boot" on his foot due to an injury, a person with a sore back, and several people who don't bike regularly. All of them were able to not only complete our daily rides, they did so with no struggles and enjoyed themselves. E-bikes can be used by those who have trouble with longer or more challenging rides. There is something about riding in a group that bonds cyclists together. You go slow enough to have conversations and see all the details you could miss when going by bus or car, yet fast enough to cover miles of interesting terrain.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Judee W. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Riding the Danube was the most memorable part. This trip was trying to do too many things for too many diverse folks at one time. A bike trip and a boat trip are different experiences. For biking, I think a smaller boat with more cycling is important. The staff worked hard with several languages, those who wanted to sun, those who wanted to tour cities, and those of us who wanted to bike: tough job. They did a great job, but for bikers, I think another option should be recommended. There was a great deal of confusion because of the diversity of activities. The cyclists actually lost a full day of cycling due to conflicts/changes/who knows? Descriptions of the next day's activities were very confusing, because they were trying to give instructions for a variety of different folks. We were always wondering, confused about our ride instructions for the next day. Thank goodness for the bike guides who tried their best to keep us informed!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Along the Danube - Passau to Vienna
    by Barbara H. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fabulous bike/barge adventure in Germany/Austria! We'll be back! The cycling was on beautiful paths along the Danube. The food and service onboard were extraordinary.

    Boat: Normandie

    Countries: Austria, Germany

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Paul R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Most memorable part: Discovering new and very interesting places with good friends.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Deborah M. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Biking through the wine country around Melk. The villages were amazing and the people were friendly. I'm only 5'2" and the bike's weren't a good fit for me I needed a smaller frame but none were available. The bike I was given for the 1st day of riding was in very poor condition which made the first 27 mile ride rather uncomfortable but several people complained and the staff fixed the bikes. Make sure you get on your bike the 1st day as early as they will let you so there is time for fixes if needed before the boat leaves and you need to ride off on your first journey.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Danube Bike Path - Regensburg to Passau
    by Lynn L. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Not only was the bike route scenic, it felt very safe, even for the short periods we were off the bike path. The Regensburg to Passau route was perfect for our group of four adults and four teenagers. None of us are experienced cyclists so three days of biking on a flat path was a perfect introduction to bicycle touring. We loved touring each of the cities on our trip.

    Countries: Germany

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Charles O. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Traveling on the Merlijn is always a delight. The accommodation are great and the food was delicious. Our trip along the Mosell was utterly charming. This was my third sailing with Jantien and Henck and I hope it wasn't my last.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Mainz to Metz
    by Noel J. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Memorable and very satisfying tour. The Merlijn and her crew were wonderful, friendly, and efficient, even while operating one member short (due to illness). The route along the Rhein and Moselle Rivers was beautiful, historic, and made for great cycling. The extras offered by the tour, wine tasting trip, winery tour, Roman mosaic and others, were highlights, and the food on board was great. I'll be back.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Germany, France

  • Four Country
    by Michael R. 3 years ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Cycling through the countryside, seeing Stein-am-Rhein, the Rheinfalls, taking the boat across the Wallensee, seeing the Schattenburg in Feldkirch, and visiting the Abbey Library in St. Gallen were all highlights.

PWPC