Bike Tour Reviews 511 to 540 of 3157

 

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Marilyn Walker 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Well-Done
    We rode the entire week independently of the 30-person group, which is our preference. We requested beforehand, and received promptly, the GPX files for each stage, which we downloaded to our Garmin bicycle computers together with relevant open source street maps. We used the GPS directions as our primary navigation, and referred to the jigsaw puzzle of a tour map and the turn-by-turn directions in puzzling moments. All three references agreed very well, which is a great comfort. Tour Guide Michela provided us a separate walk-through every evening, clarifying points of confusion and explaining where the main group would be. Several times we met the group for special sightseeing tours. Otherwise, we did our own thing, took rest stops at our own discretion and ate the picnic lunch at places of our own choosing.

    The bicycles were better than expected. We chose the e-bikes and count the expense as worth the money. The batteries were strong enough to carry us through Read more… the 30-mile days with a couple of power dots left over. The seats were comfortable and the handlebars were especially comfortable to the wrist. The gears changed easily.

    Needs Improvement
    Plating the food before serving meant that a great deal was wasted. It would be more accommodating to serve family style, in bowls, so people can serve themselves what their appetite and inclination suggests.

    The itinerary was generally okay, but we had to meet the boat or bus by appointment several times, which meant waiting around for hours at a time. Other bike-and-boat tours we went on were better organized to find the boat at the end of the day's ride.

    Unsatisfactory
    The company is proud of their cooking, but the quality was badly degraded by the excessive use of salt. Even those people who were indifferent to their salt intake agreed it was "very salty". The taste of the food was ruined by the cook's excess. Upon tasting the first night's dinner, I required that they make special salt-free dinners for me. Two nights they "forgot" and spoiled the food. The cooks should learn to make their food unsalted and let the guests add that seasoning at table. It will improve the dining experience for everybody.

    The internet service was the worst I've seen since dial-up telephone modems. People wanted simple access to email and to post photos on social media, but were continuously thwarted by irregular service and severe deterioration, which seemed to be deliberate. For example, the night we were in Zelo, they announced there was no wi-fi at all because of the remote location, which was fishy to begin with. Next morning, we decided to stay on the boat for the day, which allowed me to observe that within minutes of the big group rolling away, they switched the wi-fi back on for the rest of the day, until that evening when it went to pieces again. There is no excuse for such poor service in this day and age.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Lyudmila S. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was lucky both with guides and a group. The programme and route were done really well too. It was amazing experience I would recommend to everybody and I already done it and I continuing recommend tripsite.com too.

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Charles G. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I were part of the 5 day Super Tulip Tour. I can't say how amazing it was. The boat was top notch, the dinners were fantastic, the guides were AMAZING, and the route was beautiful. We are ALREADY planning our next trip.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Costa Rica Bike Tour and Adventure
    by Roxanne S. 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    All details of the trip, including accommodations and transfers, were taken care of so that we didn’t have to worry about making those arrangements. The activities were so much fun and we enjoyed the variety. Learning to surf at our age was something I might not have tried had it not been one of the options provided. The people of Costa Rica were so welcoming and proud of their country, which added to the trip’s attractiveness. I would highly recommend this trip!

    Countries: Costa Rica

  • South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
    by john ronan 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Are you looking for an adventure? This is the tour for you, it is visually, mentally and physically stimulating. The most organized trip I have ever been on, the day starts early and ends with a fire around the boma, just awesome. The guides are a wealth of knowledge about the history of the country and the wild life. The mountain biking rides are well planned and exciting. Accommodations and food are top notch. You will not be disappointed regarding wild life, we saw the big 5 and much much more.

    Countries: South Africa

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Tracey 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I loved it! Definitely the highlight of our trip. Great guides and beautiful scenery. We just booked another bike tour in the Netherlands we enjoyed this one so much.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Cycling Umbria: A Gastronomy Bike Tour
    by Dave Munro 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow, the article so beautifully written makes me feel i was on the trip! Well done.

    Countries: Italy

  • Cycling Umbria: A Gastronomy Bike Tour
    by Lisa Wares 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a wonderful adventure! Pedalling the countryside by day and enjoy the gastronomy by night! I had no idea these incredible tours existed! Thank you for this fantastic article! Where do I sign up!

    Countries: Italy

  • Cycling Umbria: A Gastronomy Bike Tour
    by Claire Finlayson 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a beautifully written article - and great pictures, too.
    Very inspiring. Makes me want to do this trip!
    Thank you.

    Countries: Italy

  • Vietnam and Cambodia Adventure
    by Karen Elliott 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is fabulous!

    Countries: Vietnam, Cambodia

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Cheryl M. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing staff and great guide

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Peter D. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our barge "Fleur" was perfect in every way as were the staff. Starting from the beautiful Belgium town of Bruges you cycle along the various canals and rivers on quite country roads, paths, cycleways and tracks through countless quaint towns, villagers and towns, including the Somme (WWI battle grounds).We highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a casual cycle through stunning country side and of course the bonus of cruising into Paris on the Seine River , with all its sites and landmarks.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Peter D. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our barge the Quo Vardis was nothing short of beautiful with great accommodation, great food great staff, great food and as clean as a whistle. The scenery along the Rhine valley is as you would expect. Castles, vineyards and picture perfect towns and villagers. We highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a casual cycle through stunning country side.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Johanne P. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    It is difficult to choose the most memorable part of the trip since the staff, food, guide, routes, and activities were without parallel! The Amsterdam /Bruge trip we took several years ago was outstanding and my favorite of all the boat/barge trips we have taken.

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Groa Erla R. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We knew we were going on a different journey, that is, cycling and sailing. We were 200% satisfied with this trip. I strongly recommend this trip to everyone I meet.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Petra V. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The cycling and the amazing scenery. We opted for a local guide and Axel was amazing. We definitely would recommend this tour and already have.

    Boat: Carissima

  • Four Country
    by valmira 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Fiz este trajeto em setembro de 2018 foi maravilhoso ,um trajeto fácil ,hotéis muito bom ,cafe da manha excelente e atendimento ótimo, mesmo sem falar a língua não tive dificuldades ,o trajeto e bem sinalizado passando por lugares lindos ,a bike também e boa ,não e uma mtb como estou acostumada mas respondeu bem ao trajeto ,enfim vale a pena conferir ...adorei.

  • Along the Danube - Four Country Tour
    by Vera S. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I love everything... the routes in beautiful places, food, the freedom sensation. I already scheduled another trip for next tear!

    Boat: Carissima

  • Amsterdam to Bruges
    by Anne H. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We’ve had so much fun on our previous two trips we’re going on third with fourteen of best friends.

    Countries: Netherlands, Belgium

  • Friesland 11-City
    by Diane K. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We both enjoyed the coast line part of biking. The least would have been biking through tons of farmers fields, pretty but enough. Tips would be to check your map every morning and your trail numbers. Take your time, we tended to hurry too much. Wanting to get to the next hotel before evening. The distances look long but you eat up the miles quickly on your bike. Beautiful scenery and nice people. Good food at every stop. We recommend bringing skin cream and proper biking shorts. My husband did suffer a little with skin rashes.

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Warren K. 10 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Bruges to Paris - Visit to the Australian WW1 cemetery at Bullecourt was very moving. The WW1 museum at Perone is well worth a visit. The ride into Paris is unforgettable.

    Boat: Zwaantje

    Countries: Belgium, France

PWPC