Bike Tour Reviews 451 to 480 of 3106

 

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Carl B. 5 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Crew and Guides were exceptional! Boat was more than we could ask for.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Cycling in the Baltics - Tallinn to Vilnius
    by Mike Morin 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We are a group of ten seniors who arranged a modified 8 day trip with guide and van support for this tour. The tour was first class, the guide was excellent and very knowledgeable about all three countries. The van driver was very good as well and a character!
    I wouldn't recommend abbreviating the tour as we did because it involves too much riding in the van but in every other respect, the tour is excellent. A great way to gain knowledge and see the sights of an area of the world less travelled!

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Coert & Christelle 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    We had a wonderful time on the Iris April 2019. This exceeded our expectations by far. Excellent staff.... Gijs, Gerhard, Aline, Tina and guides Mieke and Harm-Jan. The food, boat, the scenery (Tulips!!) were great, but most of all the cycling. The weather was perfect and since we were the only South African couple, we enjoyed the company of at first strangers and then sing-along travel friends! Memories made forever!

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by Todd O. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Best part: Biking through the Dutch countryside and being exposed to the Dutch people and their wonderful culture, history, and way of life.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 7 day
    by James D. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Merlijn and her crew were outstanding hosts for our Tulip Tour. Our guide, Ilsa, was knowledgeable and full of energy and interesting information everywhere we toured.

    Boat: Merlijn

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Tulip Tour - 8 Day
    by Will E. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    The Tulip tour was wonderful. Loved the Quo Vadis and it’s crew and enjoyed the biking. Our guide Rikko was so well informed and enthusiastic about the places we saw. Everything about the tour was first-rate.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
    by Marilyn Walker 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Well-Done
    We rode the entire week independently of the 30-person group, which is our preference. We requested beforehand, and received promptly, the GPX files for each stage, which we downloaded to our Garmin bicycle computers together with relevant open source street maps. We used the GPS directions as our primary navigation, and referred to the jigsaw puzzle of a tour map and the turn-by-turn directions in puzzling moments. All three references agreed very well, which is a great comfort. Tour Guide Michela provided us a separate walk-through every evening, clarifying points of confusion and explaining where the main group would be. Several times we met the group for special sightseeing tours. Otherwise, we did our own thing, took rest stops at our own discretion and ate the picnic lunch at places of our own choosing.

    The bicycles were better than expected. We chose the e-bikes and count the expense as worth the money. The batteries were strong enough to carry us through Read more… the 30-mile days with a couple of power dots left over. The seats were comfortable and the handlebars were especially comfortable to the wrist. The gears changed easily.

    Needs Improvement
    Plating the food before serving meant that a great deal was wasted. It would be more accommodating to serve family style, in bowls, so people can serve themselves what their appetite and inclination suggests.

    The itinerary was generally okay, but we had to meet the boat or bus by appointment several times, which meant waiting around for hours at a time. Other bike-and-boat tours we went on were better organized to find the boat at the end of the day's ride.

    Unsatisfactory
    The company is proud of their cooking, but the quality was badly degraded by the excessive use of salt. Even those people who were indifferent to their salt intake agreed it was "very salty". The taste of the food was ruined by the cook's excess. Upon tasting the first night's dinner, I required that they make special salt-free dinners for me. Two nights they "forgot" and spoiled the food. The cooks should learn to make their food unsalted and let the guests add that seasoning at table. It will improve the dining experience for everybody.

    The internet service was the worst I've seen since dial-up telephone modems. People wanted simple access to email and to post photos on social media, but were continuously thwarted by irregular service and severe deterioration, which seemed to be deliberate. For example, the night we were in Zelo, they announced there was no wi-fi at all because of the remote location, which was fishy to begin with. Next morning, we decided to stay on the boat for the day, which allowed me to observe that within minutes of the big group rolling away, they switched the wi-fi back on for the rest of the day, until that evening when it went to pieces again. There is no excuse for such poor service in this day and age.

    Boat: Ave Maria

    Countries: Italy

    • Mantova to Venice or Venice to Mantova
      by Jehiel from Tripsite 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Staff

      Hi Marilyn,
      Thanks for submitting this feedback. We will be sure to share your suggestions related to food with our local partner.
      As for the wifi, we mention on the boat page and in our travel information that the wifi, though free, is limited and based on usage. The boat uses a mobile hotspot - the speed is based on the usage of the guests and can be spotty. To guarantee reliable internet, we suggest purchasing an international phone plan or a personal hotspot while abroad.
      I hope that despite these inconveniences you enjoyed your trip!

      Boat: Ave Maria

      Countries: Italy

  • Prague to Dresden - A Tale of Two Rivers
    by Lyudmila S. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    I was lucky both with guides and a group. The programme and route were done really well too. It was amazing experience I would recommend to everybody and I already done it and I continuing recommend tripsite.com too.

  • Tulip Tour - 5 day
    by Charles G. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I were part of the 5 day Super Tulip Tour. I can't say how amazing it was. The boat was top notch, the dinners were fantastic, the guides were AMAZING, and the route was beautiful. We are ALREADY planning our next trip.

    Boat: Magnifique

    Countries: Netherlands

  • Costa Rica Bike Tour and Adventure
    by Roxanne S. 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    All details of the trip, including accommodations and transfers, were taken care of so that we didn’t have to worry about making those arrangements. The activities were so much fun and we enjoyed the variety. Learning to surf at our age was something I might not have tried had it not been one of the options provided. The people of Costa Rica were so welcoming and proud of their country, which added to the trip’s attractiveness. I would highly recommend this trip!

    Countries: Costa Rica

  • South Africa Kruger National Park Safari
    by john ronan 6 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Are you looking for an adventure? This is the tour for you, it is visually, mentally and physically stimulating. The most organized trip I have ever been on, the day starts early and ends with a fire around the boma, just awesome. The guides are a wealth of knowledge about the history of the country and the wild life. The mountain biking rides are well planned and exciting. Accommodations and food are top notch. You will not be disappointed regarding wild life, we saw the big 5 and much much more.

    Countries: South Africa

  • Highlights of Dalmatia E-Bike and Boat
    by Tracey 7 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I loved it! Definitely the highlight of our trip. Great guides and beautiful scenery. We just booked another bike tour in the Netherlands we enjoyed this one so much.

    Countries: Croatia

  • Cycling Umbria: A Gastronomy Bike Tour
    by Dave Munro 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Wow, the article so beautifully written makes me feel i was on the trip! Well done.

    Countries: Italy

  • Cycling Umbria: A Gastronomy Bike Tour
    by Lisa Wares 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a wonderful adventure! Pedalling the countryside by day and enjoy the gastronomy by night! I had no idea these incredible tours existed! Thank you for this fantastic article! Where do I sign up!

    Countries: Italy

  • Cycling Umbria: A Gastronomy Bike Tour
    by Claire Finlayson 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    What a beautifully written article - and great pictures, too.
    Very inspiring. Makes me want to do this trip!
    Thank you.

    Countries: Italy

  • Vietnam and Cambodia Adventure
    by Karen Elliott 8 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    This is fabulous!

    Countries: Vietnam, Cambodia

  • Provence - Wilderness of Camargue
    by Cheryl M. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Amazing staff and great guide

    Boat: Caprice

    Countries: France

  • Bruges to Paris or Paris to Bruges
    by Peter D. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our barge "Fleur" was perfect in every way as were the staff. Starting from the beautiful Belgium town of Bruges you cycle along the various canals and rivers on quite country roads, paths, cycleways and tracks through countless quaint towns, villagers and towns, including the Somme (WWI battle grounds).We highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a casual cycle through stunning country side and of course the bonus of cruising into Paris on the Seine River , with all its sites and landmarks.

    Boat: Fleur

    Countries: Belgium, France

  • Cologne to Bamberg
    by Peter D. 9 months ago     Permalink/Reply     Verified Reviewer

    Our barge the Quo Vardis was nothing short of beautiful with great accommodation, great food great staff, great food and as clean as a whistle. The scenery along the Rhine valley is as you would expect. Castles, vineyards and picture perfect towns and villagers. We highly recommend this tour to anyone wanting a casual cycle through stunning country side.

    Boat: Quo Vadis

    Countries: Germany

PWPC